reviews for: listing #247548ha - Holualoa, Hawaii rental

Luxurious Oceanview Home with Private Pool - Kona Big Island
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 350 - $ 400 / night
    $ 9,500 - $ 12,000 / month
  • sleeps  12
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Perfect for all ages

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

We loved this property. We were there for 4 weeks with various guests. Each and everyone of them loved the home and the privacy of the decks and pool. A pool to ourselves - how nice!
Our young grandchildren said having the pool was the best part of the trip.
The owner was very attentive as were her property managers. We all love to cook and the kitchen did not disappoint! Like being at home. Our weather was great so all in all it was a greata vacation.
Thanks,
Rose and family.
We recommend this home for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Aloha Rose,
I'm glad you and all your guests loved my home. I hope you'll be able to return for another holiday in Kona. Mahalo, Kathy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loving Kona

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

This was by far the best vacation!!! Eight of us rented Kathy's home for two weeks March 1-15,2014.Kathys home is beautiful has everything you need,kitchen was stocked with all appliances,there was plenty of room for us all,a couple of the overhead fans didn't work but house has air conditioning so not a big deal about the fans,we would recommend this home and would definitely stay there again,Kathy was on top of any questions we had,and very quick to call back if you needed anything.Thank you Kathy for sharing your home.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Kona Home!

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 3, 2013

Kathy has done a marvelous job making her home both welcoming and comfortable. Everything you need to feel relaxed and right at home is provided for you. It didn't take us five minutes to settle in and start unwinding after a very long day. I would definitely consider renting this home again. Mahalo Kathy for doing a good job and being so very up front on the details of the rental agreement!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect vacation rental

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

Our stay at Kathy's vacation rental was perfect. We are three couples who vacation together annually and we agreed that we couldn't have found a better home to rent. The rooms are all spacious and clean and the décor is wonderful. We enjoyed the warm comfortable pool every day and night--couldn't have been better! The kitchen is fabulous, we cooked all of our meals there and 4 cooks could easily be accommodated at once! I was so inspired by the great kitchen and cookware that I baked a coconut cream pie! The linens and beach towel are all or high quality instead of the cheaper variety often found in rentals. We all appreciated the warm hospitality and aloha of our hostess and her representatives. Kathy had arranged for twin beds to be converted to king and obtained a couple more lounge chairs prior to our stay. The fresh tropical floral arrangements and chilled champagne on our arrival was most welcome. When we needed propane for the grill, Char was there within minutes. We will certainly be back! Mahalo, Kathy and Char!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawaiian Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

What a wonderful family vacation! The home is as presented - clean, well set up and ready for a great vacation. There were ample beach towels, linens, books, games, condiments, spices, pool toys, and beach toys. In fact, it would behoove you to check on the condiments and spices (before shopping) to make sure you are not doubling up. Loved having the beach umbrella.

When you look at the first picture of the house, it looks like a 3 story. Thankfully it is not. The very top of the roof line is the elevated main living room. This home is well lit with several skylights and has a motion detector for those times when you arrive back at the house at dark. We had one experience when we came home of someone parking in the middle of the driveway, which forced both of our cars to park on the street. Never did find out who it was, but the car was gone in the morning. The owner, Kathy is wonderful to work with. I can't praise this house enough. It was truly home away from home.

Now to Home Away Rentals: Please add to your tips page the fact that people should plan on bringing their own bath soap for the tub/showers. This was my first time renting a house and had no clue. It is also important for new time rentors to know that replacing paper products (toilet paper, paper towels, paper napkins, etc.) is the responsibility of the rentor. Again, I had no clue.

Kathy, thank you for letting us enjoy your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

There's no exaggeration in this listing - the description of the property is dead-on, and it was absolutely perfect for the five of us. Each of the kids had his or her own bedroom (all downstairs so my wife and I enjoyed quiet evenings.) The location - in a very quiet residential neighborhood just minutes from town - was excellent. I had been worried about the heat, but between the fans, the pool and sleeping with A/C, we were quite comfortable. In fact, the place was so relaxing, we ended up staying home more than we thought we would. Dinners were out on the lanai every night, and there were enough little extras (condiments in the fridge, sand toys in the garage, Hawaii guide books, etc...) that we were spared those annoying little store runs that can suck up vacation time. The owner, Kathy, was very helpful with recommendations and we even appreciated that she accepted credit cards...) We regularly stay in VRBOs, but this one was exactly what we were looking for.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Return to Paradise

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

23 family members flew over to have a reunion. We were spread out between 3 rentals. This house was by far the one everyone seemed to want to be at. My grandson caught an Ono fish and we had fish taco night at "our" house. Plenty of dishes, lots of room on the lanai and dining table and everything we needed for everyone to be comfortable and have a great dinner together. The solar heated pool stays comfortable enough to even take an evening swim. This house was the main gathering place for us all. I loved that it was so centrally located to shopping. Close to shops on Ali'i Dr. , Costco, Walmart, a Starbucks , Island Naturals (health food store) , farmers market and many beaches. We all agreed this was the best place to watch the sunset unless you happen to be on the beach. Would definitely stay again. Kathy provided us with great directions from the airport and how to get to all the local stores. The extra kitchen downstairs came in really handy. I wish my own home was as well equipped.The only reason I rate it 4 stars is because it wasn't actually on the beach. About the only way it could be better.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The stay at Kathy's place

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

All of us had a great time with the grandkids particularly enjoying the pool when not at the beach. Thee home has all the amenities one would want while on vacation and the maintenance staff where hardly noticeable as they ensured a great vacation.
Thanks Kathy for everything

Owners response: Dear Brian and Brenda,
I know how important is was for you to have the time with your grand kids. Mahalo for choosing my home as a wonderful place for your family time. Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Locatiion

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

We were six adults staying in Kona for a week of relaxation and tourism. Our host and her staff listened to our concerns and were there quickly to resolve problems. Prompt support is the biggest plus no matter where you stay. We would not call this house "luxurious"; an older home with some deferred maintenance issues is more like it but it's big, comfortable and easy to use. The outdoor spaces (upper deck and by the pool) were wonderful. Staying here gives one easy access to the shopping and dining in the Kailua-Kona area and is not too far from other interesting sites. You can't beat the sunsets! We can not recommend this house to older folks with hip or knee problems as your entry is on the main level and your luggage must go down steep stairs to three of the bedrooms below.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad we were able to support you. We take pride in our rapid response to any issue our guests have. This home has a new roof, new solar, new pool equipment, a new septic system, new electrical panels, and new furnishings all within the last five years. Our koa kitchen has stainless appliances, a cork floor, and silestone counters.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just the place I needed

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

After doing volunteer dentistry in the Phillippens I needed to unwind before returning to my normal life.
I found my retreat here in Kona. Beautiful neighborhood, house was perfect, had fresh flowers cut for my arrival. There were food items that I could use although I didn't really cook it was a beautiful kitchen. The garden is Beautiful.
So nice not to stay in a fancy hotel or 40 year old condo. My first time not staying ocean side but I would stay in this house again in a heart beat. The pool was warm all night so evening swims were perfect and quiet. In fact, I didn't hear another sound except birds the entire time.
Just a perfect spot to relax and be out of the touristy places.
Thanks for everything I will be back!!!! And don't change a thing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely setting in great location

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

We stayed at this house for 10 days with 8 adults. We had plenty of room and enjoyed dining on the deck where we had a great view of the ocean. The kitchen was roomy and well-equipped and allowed for more than a few cooks. The furnishings were of good quality and showed exquisite taste. We appreciated the added touch of fresh bouquets of tropical flowers in several of the rooms. We found the location perfect for our many excursions around the island, ending each day with a refreshing swim in the pool. Our host was prompt and attentive and we would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house on the Big Island

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

We loved this house. It really suited our family, three adult children and their families. The bedrooms and downstairs living room were larger than they appeared in the pictures. The furnishings, especially the upstairs living room and dining area, were lovely. The pool was a good size and even had a deep end. It was great for keep-away and other games, and the temperature was perfect--even for an evening swim. Our family likes to cook, and the upstairs kitchen was well equipped, large, and great for group cooking. There is a second kitchen downstairs that we didn't use, but did use its refrigerator for overflow supplies. There were also a couple of small beverage refrigerators that we found useful. The upstairs deck had a beverage refrigerator and a bar area. During a larger family gathering, we used the outside counter space as a bar and were able to blend pi?ña coladas right outside near our guests. I also wanted to mention that the view of the ocean from the deck was more spectacular than the photograph showed. It had great sunset views!

This was a wonderful house. If we return as a family to the Big Island, this is where we would love to stay.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

I'll be back...

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

My whole family stayed here for a week of family vacation in October. We had a great time and this house is one of the big reasons.

The description of the place is very accurate. It's a nice, spacious house in a good location and comes with just about everything you would want. Lots of useful space in living areas, bedrooms, and kitchens.

It's only minutes to town, the airport, the marina, the markets, etc.

The owner is very friendly and helpful, as were the two caretakers on-call.

We had no problems with the place at all, and would recommend it to anyone who needs a similar-sized home for a vacation stay. In fact, I hope to do it all again soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

This house was absolutely beautiful. Whilst not on the beach the elevation of the property gave everyone beautiful views of the ocean. The decor of the house gave a real relaxing vibe. This was accompanied by a lovely pool which remained at a great temperature the entire time we were there, this made our niightly swims all the more enjoyable. The house is not far from anything, kona is less than a 5 minute drive, as is all the supermarkets and shopping. The beach was approx 10 minutes walking and the uphill on the way back to the house ensured we were all creating room for cocktails buy the pool. When we had our days at the beach there were ample coolers and beach stuff we could use which was really helpful. I would recommend this house to any one.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Thank you!

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Dear Kathy,
First of all, I want to thank you allowing us to use your wonderful home in Hawaii. We, all of my family and friends, loved it and were so happy. It was really the ideal place for our family reunion. Your solar heated pool is so comfortable and our grandchildren enjoyed it every day. The barbecue grill is nice with strong power and we enjoyed 2/3 or our dinners using it with beef, chicken, lobster, abalone, etc. The family room was perfect for our kids and they really liked being able to sleep all together. Thank you again for making our summer vacation so nice and we look forward to staying in your home again in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Third stay at this house - feels like home

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

We are two couples who have now stayed at this home for the third time. We hadn't been here for over two years but the house was as well maintained as ever. Jeri made sure we were welcomed with fresh flower arrangements and we had arranged for her to do some basic shopping for us as we had late arrival. It was so wonderful to know we would arrive and everything would be perfect and in order. The kitchen is well-stocked and the bathrooms and bedrooms are well stocked with linen. The beds are comfortable, the pool is wonderful and we start our early mornings and finish our days looking at the wonderful view from the lanai. It is private and quiet. There is a wonderful walking/running path nearby and it is a short drive to golf, snorkelling, shopping and groceries. We are all ready to book our next holiday there! Can't wait!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family reunion

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Our family stayed here July 2-9 2011. It was perfect for us. We cooked family dinners at home and enjoyed the beautiful view and pool. The kitchen is so well equipped. The property manager is very helpful and accessible. The home was very clean and well maintained and in a convenient location.
.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

Our family group of 7 adults had a fabulous time while staying at this beautiful home. It is well-equipped and very spacious. There is a wide ocean view from the lanai and yet access to the highway is very convenient. Everything was so nice, in fact, that we traded some of our sightseeing time to spend more time at the pool and relaxing on the lanai. It was wonderful to have so much room to spread out. I would definitely recommend this property to others, and I hope that I will have the opportunity to stay here again myself.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

This home exceeded our expectations in every way. There was plenty of room for the whole family, giving space for those who wanted it, as well as great communal areas for socializing. Whether it was lounging by the pool and BBQ, or enjoying our home cooked Christmas dinner prepared in the gorgeous kitchen, everything was amazing. This is definitely the perfect entertaining home, with the most stunning views and tranquil setting. Both the owner and the property manager provided top notch services with a personal touch. We will definitely be back. Aloha!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Worth Every Penny!

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

YES, it really is as good as the pictures look!
We were two families consisting of four adults, two 14 year olds, and two 16 year olds, and we LOVED this house. This CLEAN, beautifully decorated, spacious house had room for both the adults and teens; its layout provided each with their own space. The main living area upstairs has a fully equipped and gorgeous kitchen that leads out to a balcony that overlooks the pool; perfect for the adults. The is even a mini fridge right on the balcony! The poolside bedrooms and familyroom is ideal for teens. Having your own private pool is fabulous. It is a good size with good depth and a beautiful deck area.
The property manager was available, friendly, and very helpful, even taking away our trash and recylcing.
The house is located in the heart of a beautiful neighborhood, so if you enjoy early morning walks with plenty to look at, you'll love this location. It is also not far from one of the best snorkeling spots that we have experienced any where in Hawaii, Kahaluu Beach Park. It is even superior to Hanauma Bay on Oahu or Molokini on Maui. You can rent your gear right at the beach and simply wade into the water! You never have to go over your head if you don't want to! Go early though, parking is difficult to find. The other excellent snorkel experience is Captain Cook's Monument, but you have to take a boat there and it is deep...still, it is worth it and you'll see dolphins and whales. Don't forget to go to the Volcano National Park and, while there, walk through the laval tube.
Safeway is not a far drive away and has every thing you need in way of groceries. And, at the bottom of the hill from the house is Ali'i Drive which parallels the oceanfront, where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. Our favorite restaurant was The Canoe Club...right on the ocean for spectacular sunsets, with teen-friendly food as well as "fresh catch of the day" meals...good food, reasonable prices.
I would highly recommend this house to everyone! Having our own little private slice of heaven made our first trip to the Big Island one of our best trips to Hawaii!
Thank you so much for sharing your home with us, Kathy and Jack!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacation Home in Paradise

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

We stayed at this wonderful two-story house in Kona for two weeks in August, 2009 and found it a great place for a family vacation in Hawaii. Our oldest son and his family joined us for the first week, and we were all impressed with the comfort and spaciousness of this house. On the upper level is the master bedroom and bath, a large modern well equipped kitchen, counter dining area, dining room and a large great room. The house is immaculate. There is also a very nice lanai, which is a great place for dining, with wonderful views of the ocean and Hawaiian sunsets. On the bottom level are three bedrooms, with two bathrooms, and a small kitchen. The adjacent patio has a good-sized pool that is beautifully maintained.

This dwelling is centrally located and is within easy driving distance of shopping and downtown Kona and nearby beaches.

This was our first trip to Hawaii, and our stay in this house helped to make it a wonderful vacation. We would not hesitate to rent it in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This home was perfect for us !

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

This home was perfect for my family. There were eight of us and we all had plenty of space to sleep, shower, cook, swim, relax, etc. It had everything we needed for the pool and for going to the beach.
The kitchen was well stocked with plenty of cooking utensils, pots and pans and even spices! The house was clean and stocked with plenty of towels and all the luxuries of home. We could not have improved on one thing ! The owner and the caretaker are really wonderful people to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review