reviews for: listing #24786 - Seattle, Washington House rental

Seattle's Popular Alki Beach / Walk to Restaurants
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Alki Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $900 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

We LOVED the Alki House!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

The Alki House was extremely clean, well stocked with the basics, half block walk to the beach and restaurants/bars - it was perfect! I thought it worked really well for two people. The property manager was very accommodating when our arrival plans were continually changed by the airline. We are already planning our return trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cottage on Alki for Families

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

The Alki Cottage was awesome for my family of four. Kids shared sofa bed - and we had our own room. The location can't be much betterfor Alki - centrally located to the best Alki has to offer - restaurants, coffee, walking/running trail and the beach/water. Fenced in yard adds peace of mind for when kids are outside. Public transportation extremely close and easy - free shuttle to water taxi to downtown Seattle was so great. Bus stop also takesyou up to Admiral for groceries- don't really need to move the car - which you don't want to do anyway during the summer to lose your parking spot. We are totally coming back! Thanks Janet!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Popular Alki Beach House

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We love this little house and will rent itas often as possible!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great location and great value!

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 26, 2013

As former Seattle residents, we know West Seattle is a hidden gem, so the Alki Cottage is a gem within a gem! The location can't be beat, particularly if you are traveling without a vehicle since there are express busses, footferries, and lots of parks/walking areas.

PRO - Obviously, the location only 1/2 block from Alki Beach and all the amenities there (restaurants, bars, etc.) is the main selling point. The house is very clean and has everything you might possibly need, including free wireless. We never had a problem finding parking nearby and the patio would be lovely in the spring/summer months. An added bonus was the washer/dryer - a definite must when traveling with kids like we were. The auto-door lock was also convenient - no lost keys! Janet was terrific with accomodating us with very little notice, too.

CONS - they are few. The bed is just fine, but the sofa sleeper in the living room is not the most comfortable. Also, if you have limited mobility, the shower entrance by the toilet is very tight. It wouldn't be an issue for most people, however.

Overall, I would stay here again in a minute! I only wish we lived in this area!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Nice and Cozy

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Our short five day stay at this lovely little house was great. So close to the Sound, coffee shops and restaurants that the walks are fun. We had great weather, were able to kayak in the Sound and have our morning coffee with a view of the mountains across the water. The house was set up comfortably and efficiently. The owner was great to work with and we will definitely be looking to stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review! It was nice you were able to kayak and take advantage of the beautiful weather.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great experience and location

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

We enjoyed this property for its outstanding, walkable location, for its cleanliness, and for its charm. We also appreciated the flexibility of the owners in that they permitted us to enter a bit earlier than customary. We loved the nearby restaurants, the water ferry to Seattle, and the bonfires on the beach. We also could walk to the Alki Bathhouse for a wedding. The weather cooperated as well!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home & excellent location

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay again. The home was quite clean, well stocked and had a great outdoor space. The owner was very gracious, helpful, and easy to work with.
Parking was tricky at times, as no designated parking space.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Gem on Alki

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

We booked this for an important business client coming into town. When leaving for the airport he said, "I have to say I love your guys work, but staying at that little house on Alki was the cherry on top".
It is a nice private retreat where you can get up in the morning and walk along the crashing waves, or have an evening drink on the patio. Thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

alki beach house

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

stayed in April -- weather very cold and rainy
House has space heaters but remained warm, dry, cozy.
space enough for 2 -- would be crowded for more
queen bed OK
spotlessly clean -- everything worked well
will stay again next trip

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Stormy weather creates a wonderful opportunity to cozy-up after a long walk on the beach!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A wonderful retreat!

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

Staying at this sweet little cottage was just what I needed. The owners have made this place a very clean, cozy and comfortable place to relax and enjoy what Alki Beach has to offer. They were very helpful in giving me advise about sites to see as well as how to get to those sites. All you do is step out the door and into the breezes off of the Puget Sound. A few doors away are several choice places to dine, along with coffee shops, places to rent bikes, along with a nice sandy beach where the view of Islands and mountains are just beautiful. The house is decorated perfectly and not a bit overdone or underdone as some rentals may be. This was a nice place for me to rest and take in Alki, one of my favorite places to visit in the Seattle area, but if you like to shop, just head for the far end of Alki drive and take the water ferry over to downtown Seattle. This is a perfect location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

Cute little bungalow in perfect location 1/2 block from Alki Beach. Very convenient to public transportation and local restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

The Best Beach Cottage

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

I love this little beach cottage. I have now stayed here several times and also purchased a gift certificate for friends. The location is fantastic for dining, beach activities, and great access to downtown Seattle on the foot passenger water taxi.
The cottage is clean, well equipped, and easy to find. I would recommend this getaway to friends and family. It's great for a few days or even a week. There is so much to do and see.

Jean

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The Best Beach Cottage

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

I love this little beach cottage. I have now stayed here several times and also purchased a gift certificate for friends. The location is fantastic for dining, beach activities, and great access to downtown Seatte on the foot passenger water taxi.

The cottage is clean, well equipped and easy to find. I would recommend this getaway to friends and family. It's great for a few days or even a week. There is so much to do and see.

Jean

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Perfect place!!

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

I have had the opportunity to stay at this beautiful place twice and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to enjoy Alki Beach. The house was always very clean and set up with all the amenities you might need. The great thing about the location is how easily you can walk to everything. The private courtyard is a real plus for a relaxing afternoon cocktail or an early morning cup of coffee. There was never any noise around and the house provides you the opportunity to visit any of the great restaurants or to cook and stay in - enjoying the courtyard. I would highly recomend this property to a friend or anyone wanting a great getaway. It is turn key and Alki has so much to do for everyone. Thank you for a great weekend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review