reviews for: listing #24787 - Jamaica, Caribbean Condo rental

2 BR Oceanfront Condo In Ocho Rios With Million Dollar Views
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Condo Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $145 - $279 /nt
    $1,015 - $1,953 /wk
    $4,350 - $7,812 /mth

sort by:

The Sanctuary of Sandcastle Ocho Rios Jamaica

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 4, 2014

This will be very difficult to find just the right words to express our 3 week stay..I will therefore make it simple..It is and was- PERFECT..in every way..Upon arrival we were greeted by the condo manager Ms Raquel...To go along with her million dollar smile- she swung open the door of the condo and indeed , we were greeted with a million dollar view- the condo amenities were as advertised and spot on first class...everything worked perfectly that mattered. note- some MINOR condo repairs are needed (ie upstairs shower door is damaged and the toilet runs on once flushed)..but outside of that- the condo had awsome Wifi , flat screen tv in living room and upstairs master bedroom, cable tv, cd player, dvd (we could not get that to work) ect-ect....
The property grounds itself is going thru a renovation, as it is true the current appearance is bit dated..Nothing but fresh paint outside is needed..Our condo support staff member- Ms Winsom is a beautiful attentive person -professional, always ready to help and guide us in the right direction...Ocho Rios is a wonderful town-- we rented a car to go to different towns but if you dont..you can walk to some great places to eat..I would recommend Ms T's Ktichen--the authentic Jamaica, Shaw Park Gardens- wonderful waterfalls, Duns River, green market by the clock tower...would we go back???? YES-YES-YES
Helena

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Girls Getaway

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

My girls and I stayed at the Million Dollar View condo for my 26th birthday and we truly enjoyed our vacation! The view was so amazing to wake up to the beach/sunset every morning. The condo was comfortable, clean and neat. The location was in the heart of Ocho Rios. We were only a few seconds from the beach and started each day on it. The gated community made us feel secure as this was our first trip to Jamaica. The security guards were very helpful and available throughout the day to let us in and out the community. On the beach, we enjoyed drinks from a nearby restaurant with a swimming pool bar! Initially, we were a bit nervous with this being our first trip and being so embedded in the community but the staff Raquel and the driver, Orville, were a tremendous help with showing us around and giving us a few options of fun! In walking distance was the BEST restaurant Mama Marley's and Margaritaville for the younger crowd to party and grocery stores to stock up on necessities for our week stay. Although we will like to try a resort next time (just for comparison sake) we definitely enjoyed our stay in Ocho Rios and will certainly recommend this condo for family and friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We look forward to having you girls stay with us in the future..So glad we could make your first time in Jamaica a memorable one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us as we know there are many other choices out there..

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Beautiful & Updated Condo

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

We were very pleased with this condo unit which has the most amazing views from the living room and bedrooms. The tropical vibe and breathtaking ocean views makes it one very cozy unit. We immediately felt comfortable and right at home.

Unlike most of the other condo units on VRBO that have ugly dated furniture and tasteless home decor from the 1980's this unit is updated beautiful inside and nicely decorated. We had a wonderful experience working with the owners who were very accommodating and warm spirited.

The exterior of the condo complex could use some paint and better maintenance of the common areas but the minute you step into this condo unit you forget the buildings' exterior.

I would recommend renting this condo unit you'll feel right at home and very relaxed.

The Campbell Family
Miami, Florida

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our 1st Vacation in 3 years

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

This was out 1st vacation in 3 years. We chose this condo because of its proximity to many of the Cruise Ship activites and we didn't want to do an all-inclusive. Nothing but good things to say about the condo, everything about it did not disappoint. It was clean and homey and we spent a good deal of time just relaxing. We walked to get groceries and also go to the tourist locations in Ocho Rios. We did swim with the Dolphins at Dolphin Cove and climb Dunn River Falls and both are a must do if going to Ocho. We rented a car out of the airport and the road to Ocho wasn't as bad as I was led to believe, so overall we completely enjoyed ourselves. We liked seeing the chickens and goats along the road. Driving in Jamaica is not for the fainthearted, but I drive just as crazy, so I felt right at home, but throw out your drivers handbook in Jamaica as all rules of the road are also thrown out the window. Driving was an adventure unto itself. The only bad portion connected with the condo was the beach swimming itself. Don't go if you want to actually enjoy the water, full of seaweed/grasses. Beach was nice, but even there we were accosted by a Jamaician wanted us to buy something. This leads me to the only bad portion of the trip and has absolutely nothing to do with the condo. As soon as you hit any public spot outside the complex, you are immediately hit up for 1) a taxi ride 2) CDs 3) Pharmesudicals/drugs 4) Prostitutes 5) Anything else that they may be selling 6) Just give money 7) Beads 8) They give you something and then make you feel obligated to buy something. And they want a tip for everything/anything they do. Take away the beggers and hawkers and we had the perfect trip.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

As beautiful as the picture shows

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

This was my first condo rental and I was hoping that it would be as clean as the pictures showed. It was even better, all that was written was the truth. My girls and I enjoyed Ocho Rios even more for being there in the heart of town and at the edge of the ocean. It was awesome. Dealing with Sophia throughout the reservation was always a good experience. She was always kind and very helpful. I would definitely book through this company again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Patti,
We enjoyed having you and the girls and hope to see you all again in the near future.....

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Get the facts before renting this unit!

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

We booked this condo based mostly on previous reviews and I must say that they are a far cry from what we experienced. According to answers.com the opposite word for Sanctuary is Battlefield and this is a far better description of this facility. NOISE, NOISE and more NOISE. What they call music was continually blasting from boats coming in and out (sometimes staying for hours) of the bay at all hours of the day and night. Add to this the unrelenting subwoofers at an adjacent outdoor party venue that pounds out brain rattling bass that you can actually feel from 7pm to 4am Friday and Saturday. On rainy days when we went back to the room we were serenaded by hammers, drills and saws but we were able to drown these sounds out somewhat by turning on the air conditioner which in turn was so loud that it required us to crank up the volume of the TV in order to hear it.

Now, lets go to the beach - not as easy as you would think from the pictures which cleverly do not include a barb wire fence. First we had to get out of the resort which had a secured gate which was supposed to be manned from 7:30 to 4:30 according to the sign. There was someone there maybe 50% of the time. When there was no one there we had to either wait until someone came (15-20 minutes) or try to track someone down. Twice we had to leave the complex via the front and walk down main street to get to the beach (what a treat)!

Once we got to the beach we had to rent a lounge chair or take one that was set aside for our resort. “These are for Sand Castle, they are all broken” was the quote we got from the beach attendant our first day there. So in order to have something half comfortable we forked over $10 per day + tip.

The condo complex itself is in dire need of a facelift including the staff and management. We never felt welcomed and it was like we were more a nuisance than a paying guest.

Not much better from the owners. After a couple of complaints the first week, we never saw or heard from them again (3 week stay). One complaint was the phone in the room not working and it was still broken when we left. We were provided a cell phone to use but had to pay to put time on it.

Unfortunately I am running out of space - there is much more to say but I have to cut it short.

Do some research on Sand Castle. Unlike the raving reviews seen here, there are some truthful reviews that will paint a much clearer picture.

Helpful votes: 30 / 31

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

"The Sanctuary" is a clean and comfortable condo situated in the heart of Ocho Rios.
When i drove into the compound great service was already evident, it came in the form of helpful security guards ushering me to the appropriate parking entrance and Raquel who was sweet and kind and answered any question i had at any time of the day.
Upon entering the condo i was truly amazed at the tastefully decorated unit. It was cozy with lots of windows that boastfully showed the ocean views.
Most mornings i spent on the rooftop patio sipping coffee and getting lost in thought. It was peaceful and tranquil.
I had family staying @ an all inclusive resort and every morning without fail they arrived at my condo and stayed the whole day enjoying lounging poolside or on the beach building sandcastles.
If you are concerned at all about the pictures on the site being different, rest assured that its just as great in reality probably better.

"The Sanctuary" was and is a very relaxing and serene place to stay.
It feels like home away from home and the staff is like family :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tee, It was great having you and I am so glad you had a great time. We strive to provide the best of service to every guest we host so that they will want to return. We look forward to having you in the future..Thank you.

Sophia

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Ocho Rios Vacation

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

Dear Sophia,

I just want you to know that our stay at Sanctuary from June 14 through June 22 was great. The accommodations fit our needs perfectly. We needed a comfortable, relaxed place to stay that allowed us to prepare some of our own meals, and to be able to dine at other Jamaican restaurants, or visit family as our plans allowed. So many of the hotels are all-inclusive and that just doesn't work when we're trying to visit family and dine at local restaurants. And, thankfully there are still local places to try. My daughter wanted to stay longer because we hadn't tried every restaurant yet!

We loved relaxing on the balcony with coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening. The view of course was spectacular.

We appreciated the attentiveness provided by your sister, Raquel, as she responded to our requests or inquiries.

Our airport driver, Orville, was wonderful also. He provided good information, including some of the new sights and venues that have appeared since my last visit 14 years ago. He was very prompt both on our arrival and departure.

The entire experience of reserving our stay and staying at Sanctuary was wonderful.

Thank you!

Sincerely,

Susan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susan,It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and we look forward to having you stay with us again should you decide to visit Jamaica in the future. We definitely set out to make each guest feel at home and comfortable and glad we accomplished that with you and your family. Thank you for your kind words.

Sophia Ratushny

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ocho Rios Vacation

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Hi Sophia,


I wanted to THANK YOU so much for the stay in your beautiful "million dollar view" condo!! My friend and I had the most incredible vacation (I am sure you figured that with the extension of my stay :) ). Our other friends had a similar penthouse condo that did not compare in yours to the least bit! Everything about our stay, including sweet Raquel, was perfect!


I did want to apologize for not getting in contact with you before leaving for JA, I turned off my emails while in Montego Bay so I did not see that you had written me. Small confusion when we arrived, but no worries-no problem!


So, we are looking to possibly returning in June :) and I was wondering the availability of the condo?


Thanks again for everything Sophia
Jennifer

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jennifer,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We do all we can to make sure our guests have a great stay. Hope to have you stay with us in the future..

Sophia Ratushny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

Hi Sophia,

We wanted to write you and thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful villa while in Jamaica. I also was so happy you introduced us to Orville. He is truly a class act and took us on a day long trip to Kingston. He is an incredible man and a great "first impression" of Jamaica to newcomers.

Thank you for a great time and we will be back!

Please send my thanks to Raquel as well. She was wonderful!


Sarah

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Thank you

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Greetings Sophia,

Just a note of thanks to you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at "The Sanctuary" in Ocho. I and my husband will definitely return soon. The location was perfect and the people the greatest. We especially appreciated our cook Karen, I think we have found a new friend for life.
warmest regards,

Alice P

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Alice,we hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Hi Sophia!
Just wanted to send a quick note to tell you that the condo was everything we could of dreamed of and more! We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Sanctuary! Orville, Raquel and the staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel at home :) We all had the most wonderful time experiencing all that Ochi had to offer!

Thanks Again!!
Maia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ocho Rios

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2009

Good Morning Sophia!!!

I just wanted to tell you that we had an absolutely wonderful time staying at the condo. We are actually looking at booking another trip.
Amy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My stay at The Sanctuary

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

I've stayed at many different places in Jamaica and I must say The Sanctuary is the BEST! The condo is clean, modernized and cozy and the roof terrace is perfect for sitting enjoying a drink and looking up at the stars at night. It is so close to the beach and situated in proximity to everything needed in the Ocho Rios area. The view from the condo is PERFECT. We spent many evenings watching the sun go down from the most perfect window view in Ocho Rios. My stay at The Sanctuary is memorable and I will definitely be returning, hopefully very soon. Thanks Sophia and Raquel for making my family trip extra special.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

I've stayed at many different places in Jamaica and I must say The Sanctuary is the BEST! The condo is clean, modernized and cozy and the roof terrace is perfect for sitting enjoying a drink and looking up at the stars at night. It is so close to the beach and situated in proximity to everything needed in the Ocho Rios area. The view from the condo is PERFECT. We spent many evenings watching the sun go down from the most perfect window view in Ocho Rios. My stay at The Sanctuary is memorable and I will definitely be returning, hopefully very soon. Thanks Sophia and Raquel for making my family trip extra special.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

The Sanctuary was exactly what we wanted for Christmas and New Years 2009/10. Met great people in and around the condo. The condo was exactly what we imagined. The Sanctuary was clean, spacious, great location, great service from Raquel. Douglas our driver was informational, charming and helpful. Security in and around the property was excellent. We felt very safe in a foreign Country. Sophia was great to deal with, open and honest. We want to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 23, 2009

Hi Sophia!

Our week at your condo was wonderful! I loved every minute of it. You have a really beautiful spot. We couldn't have asked for a better view. I miss waking up every morning, looking out the window at the ocean.Thanks for everything! I will be in touch next time I go to Ocho Rios.

Katie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

Hello Sophia!
I wanted to thank you and all of the people in Ocho Rios again!!! It was beautiful and amazing. I am so happy we did not stay at the resort. My family and I were able to experience so much more local flavor!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2008   Date of arrival: November 14, 2008

Hi there! We had a great time at Ocho Rios. The condo
was everything we expected and the weather was pretty
darn good. Was not happy to come home to 40 degree
temps! . By the
way, Winsome and your Sis were wonderful. WE had a
great time. Thanks so
much. Teresa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 29, 2008   Date of arrival: June 29, 2008

Sophia, My family would like to thank you for a wonderful experience in Jamaica. We enjoyed our trip immensely. I am writing to you especially for a favor, we would like to send Winsome a thank you note for all of the help that she gave us and for all of the advice she offered us on our vacation. She is a tremendous person and you are very lucky to have her, as were we. We had a vacation that we will never forget thanks to her. We would like her address or email so that we can send her a personal note. If this is not possible, we understand. Thank you very much, once again. Cynthia Avrill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 19, 2008   Date of arrival: February 19, 2008

Hello Sophia -

I wanted to thank you, Jeff, Raquel and Winsome for a great vacation! Everything went off without a hitch - flights were on time, the drive from Montego Bay was easy, and Ocho Rios was fun and beautiful! The condo was perfect for our needs, and while we tried a few different beaches, we kept coming back to the one directly in front of the condo!

We will definitely recommend your condo to our friends. We already mentioned it to a family on the beach and a couple in the airport!

Thank you again! We will certainly return to The Sanctuary Condo the next time we're in Jamaica!

Brennan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 5, 2006   Date of arrival: August 5, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Sanctuary. It made our first group trip to Ochi an entirely pleasurable and relaxing experience. Neil, the driver waited at the gate patiently for more than 2 hours for us to reach our destination. Winsom, the cook and housekeeper, was able to accomodate the four of us in our different tastes in food and Jamaican cuisine. I highly reccomend her Escovitch red snapper for dinner and ackee and saltfish dish for breakfast. Thank you Jeff and Sophia for your hands in making this a memorable trip to beautiful Jamaica.
-Kandyce

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 2, 2006   Date of arrival: July 2, 2006

I had an excellent time while staying at the Sanctuary at Sandcastles. It is a wonderful, beautiful, roomy, and very clean condo with a fantastic view of the ocean. It also had a wonderful patio upstairs. The condo is centrally located and we did not have to take a taxi once. We were able to walk to everything; clubs, stores, bank, restuarants. I would recommend anyone to stay there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 11, 2006   Date of arrival: June 11, 2006

This was the best vacation ever and have been to the Carribean over 20 times. The cook was great, Whatever you do make sure you hire Winsome to cook your meals. She was the best. Great time, Great clean place and most of all the crew took great care of us. We will be back.
-Steven

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 30, 2006   Date of arrival: April 30, 2006

"The Sanctuary" was wonderful! The condo is absolutely beautiful and the view is breathtaking. Ocho Rios has alot of fun things to do and the location of the condo made it easy to do stuff. We will definitely return again and recommend "The Sanctuary" to all of our friends! THANKS FOR A GREAT VACATION!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2006   Date of arrival: April 16, 2006

We had a great Vacation at the Sanctuary in Jamaica. This Condo has a fabulous view in a great location. Winsome is a great cook and has a lot of information regarding Ocho Rios. Raquel was very helpful and provided us good information on the local spots. Our entire family had a great experience and are looking forward to visiting again.
-Raj

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review