reviews for: listing #2481 - Cape Meares, Oregon House rental

Cape Meares Oceanfront Charm W/Hot Tub and Fire Pit!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $475 /nt

sort by:

Spring Break Getaway

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We loved that the beach was so close. The steps down the beach can be slippery but manageable if careful. The house was very clean and comfortable. Loved the views from house! A very relaxing and quiet getaway for the whole family. No cell service with AT&T-which was perfect for us! Would love to have separate beach towels for hot tub/beach. Hope to come back again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay. Your tip about AT&T service is so helpful. Some of us enjoy being able to unplug but for others it's a problem. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the beach and would love for you to visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

Lovely, cozy little, well cared for house. We enjoyed all types of weather on our visit, inside by the fire, and out walking the beach with our dogs. I think what we appreciated the most was being "off the beaten path", so remote.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad that the home worked out so well for you. Thanks for taking the time to share you experience with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Clean, and Memorable

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

This place was amazing! The house was clean, yard well kept, and the hot tub warmed up and ready to use! The view was spectactular and the beach uncrowded. A very relaxing atmosphere and we will definitely be back soon!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy that everything worked out to perfection during your stay with us. That's how we envision our guest experience to be. Thanks again and please do come visit us again sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better then Cannon Beach

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

My husband and I along with our dog had such a wonderful time, This part of the coast is so much more remote feeling then Cannon Beach. You really feel like you are away from it all but if you need a store Tillimook is just a few minutes away. Our timing on the weather was perfect as it was sunny, beautiful and in the 50's. Not to bad for the first week of January. The view is so incredible from the house that even if it had been stormy it would have been great to watch the waves. As it was, I never tired of watching the changing colors in the sky especially at sunset. The beach is to die for. Our dog enjoyed taking us on long walks. Hot tub was relaxing for watching the stars at night and the beach and waves in the morning. We had contact with the property manage for one small issue and they where very quick to help. The place was perfectly clean and as advertised. It would be defiantly large enough for two couples. I only wish we could have had a tad later check out as we where not ready to go by 11 without feeling rushed out door. Then again, we didn't want to go at all so any check out time would not have made it perfect! We loved every moment and can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had quite the enjoyable time. It surely is a beautiful area and it sounds like the weather was perfect for this time of year.
We do want to let you know that for just a small fee you are able to check-out late all the way until 12:00 midnight if no other renters are coming in that afternoon. Just give us a call and we would be happy to assist you. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Beach Front Getaway on the Oregon Coast

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

Unlike other houses that say ocean front, this house is really ocean front. This place had a spectacular ocean view that my elderly parents watched for hours. This place was clean, charming and had direct beach access if you weren't afraid of steep stairs. The house was immaculate and well stocked. It is very close to Cape Meares lighthouse which was a great excursion for the day. It's nice and remote so it's great for stargazing, especially while in the hot tub.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your time at this beautiful home. Thanks for the feedback.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Getaway Spot

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

I rented this beach house off the internet and wasn't sure what we'd find. We found a lovely spot right on the beach. The house was immaculate and very well cared for. We spent three nights and enjoyed every minute. We went sightseeing and took long walks on the beach--collecting rocks and sea shells.
Our 12 year old lab loved it. I would recommend this as a very private getaway for rest and relaxation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just what we needed!

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

My wife and I run and own a very busy restaurant and wanted to take a little break for our anniversary. We looked into going to the coast but, we had some requirements. It needed to be pet friendly, done. It needed to have WI-FI, done. It needed to be on or close to the beach, done. It needed to have a hot tub, done and it needed to have a grill outside, done. We were so pleased with our stay! Very relaxing, mostly because the cellphone reception is limited and the TV was very limited. We watched movies, played board games, cooked and took fantastic walks on the very large beach. I wish the hot tub was hotter and they need to fix the blinds on the doors, but all that is pretty petty stuff. Totally worth every dollar! We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad that we could help you relax and celebrate your anniversary at this beautiful home. Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cape Meares

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Our family enjoyed the stay so much. Everything was as they said it would be. Very relaxing and quiet, the town was close enough that we went to dinner one night. Definitely will be staying again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

This is a nice beach home with nothing between you and the ocean. you can walk directly to the beach down a small hill, or half a block down the road. Cape Meares is entirely non-commercial, houses only at the end of the road, so a very quiet beach, 5 miles long. Very enjoyable.

We walked on the beach morning and evening, read books, and otherwise relaxed.

House is reasonably modern, but as others have mentioned, slider in master bedroom needs fixing. Otherwise very good.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommend

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Beautiful spot, relaxed company, great weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

This house is wonderful. It was clean when we got there. We had two kids and our dog with us. My wife and I took the downstairs and the kids took the upstairs. We really liked the layout with the upstairs main living area, kitchen with the deck just outside the slider. The hot tub was excellent and big enough for the four of us to enjoy comfortably. What we liked most about the house was the very spacious backyard leading to the beach. The large yard was a nice place for the kids and our dog to play. The beach is just a short walk down some steps from the yard. Our kids liked playing in the driftwood along the beach and looking for rocks. We went to the beach early in the morning (about 8:00) and the tide at that time was super low and we had easy access to a really cool tide pool about a quarter mile or so south of the house. My dog also loved going to the beach in the mornings as we had the entire Cape Meares beach to ourselves. The beach is pretty secluded which we liked. The location of the house is terrific. The house is close to Tillamook and the cheese factories and petting zoo (at Blue Heron). It is also close to the Cape Meares lighthouse and just a short drive along the beautiful Three Capes scenic route down to Pacific City. I'm a cyclist and I brought my bike with us and I did about a 49 mile loop starting at the house, around Tillamook, down 101 and back up through the Three Capes scenic route. This house has everything. We will be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

This house is wonderful. It was clean when we got there. We had two kids and our dog with us. My wife and I took the downstairs and the kids took the upstairs. We really liked the layout with the upstairs main living area, kitchen with the deck just outside the slider. The hot tub was excellent and big enough for the four of us to enjoy comfortably. What we liked most about the house was the very spacious backyard leading to the beach. The large yard was a nice place for the kids and our dog to play. The beach is just a short walk down some steps from the yard. Our kids liked playing in the driftwood along the beach and looking for rocks. We went to the beach early in the morning (about 8:00) and the tide at that time was super low and we had easy access to a really cool tide pool about a quarter mile or so south of the house. My dog also loved going to the beach in the mornings as we had the entire Cape Meares beach to ourselves. The beach is pretty secluded which we liked.

The location of the house is terrific. The house is close to Tillamook and the cheese factories and petting zoo (at Blue Heron). It is also close to the Cape Meares lighthouse and just a short drive along the beautiful Three Capes scenic route down to Pacific City. I'm a cyclist and I brought my bike with us and I did about a 49 mile loop starting at the house, around Tillamook, down 101 and back up through the Three Capes scenic route. This house has everything. We will be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and really enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great spring vacation weekend

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Our weekend stay at this oceanfront house was spectacular! The house was clean, well appointed, and you just can't beat the beautiful and quiet setting. However, I would say this rental is BEST for 1 or 2 couples that go to bed at the same time. The floor squeaking is incredibly noisy downstairs in the master bedroom and the extra couch-sleeping tv room. (Additionally, the floorplan makes ONLY access outside through the extra sleeping area... which may or may not be a problem, depending on who is sleeping in that extra area. It just happened to be a problem for us with some light sleepers that we didn't want to wake, which left us feeling caged in at times! Wish there had been a staircase down from the deck! But then again, what a view from the upstairs to be CAGED to!) So, with all that said and done, everything else is SO amazing that I would STILL highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for giving us a review. We are sorry about the creaky floor from upstairs. We will contact the owner and see if there is anything they can do to correct that problem. The input about having a staircase from the deck sounds great and we will share that recommendation with the owner. We are glad you enjoyed your stay anyway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous, Secluded Location

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

I loved how secluded the house was, and the amenities were great. The only issue was that the upstairs floor was very creaky, and I am a light sleeper, so the downstairs bedroom was an issue. But as long as everyone goes to bed at approximately the same time, the noise shouldn't be a problem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oasis that the family needed

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

Everything we wanted in our family vacation--->
This place was just that. Breathtaking views upstairs and down. The pictures I took were exact to the website (only my dog were in my photos). It was great to be able to bring our dog- I think she had the best time out of all of us. Miles of beach to ourselves. The place was super lean and everything was there for cooking including crab cracking! The place was easy to find and there was no one to interrupt our perfect weekend away. For ppl that don't own or have never used a hot-tub it wold have been nice to know how long it takes to heat up, but we were in no prob the 2nd day. Thank u so much I only have one question- when r u selling because I would live there!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

The location of the house was better than expected! It was absolutey beautiful and so peaceful. We will be staying here again for sure!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and relaxing - lovely accomodations

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

This is a great house with a woodstove, a hottub, and oceanfront. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect quiet location and SUPER clean

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

My family had a fabulous time in this house. I am very fussy about cleanliness, so having a super clean house to walk into was nice. The heaters were fast to heat up rooms, so it was nice to feel the heat after coming in from the cool spring weather or from the hot tub. A little scary event that happened, after being in the house just 4 days after the Japan earthquake and the tsunami threats that hit the west coast, we heard the sirens go off for a few seconds and then again for a few seconds. In a frantic, we called the caretakers, apparently every 2nd Monday of the month, there is a siren test. Unfortunately, nowhere in the house did it say that, it would have been very helpful to have that information posted on the refrigerator or by the phone. Also, having the house super clean, we added an additional night to our stay, this is a house of choice for us, and we will definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic beach view, wonderful hot tub. Nice setup for two couples.

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

We were two couples with two babies, plenty of privacy, fantastic views, nice kitchen. Hot tub was lovely. We could have stayed a week.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review