reviews for: listing #25003 - Half Moon Bay, California House rental

Executive Half Moon Bay Vacation Home next to Ritz-Carlton
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Ocean Colony
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $900 /nt
    $3,000 - $4,900 /wk

sort by:

It's so pristine and peaceful and the air so fresh

Review submitted: February 27, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

Hi
Anna,
Thank you for a truly wonderful weekend experience. My Dad had an
unforgettable birthday. He was completely surprised when my brother's
answered the door to your lovely home.
Also, thank you for the dining recommends. We had THE most amazing
brunch at the Ritz to end our stay!!! Dining at Cafe Gibralter was an
absolute feast for the taste buds. We enjoyed Cetrella on Sat., the
food and music were delicious and delightful. We enjoyed shopping in
Half Moon Bay and a horseback ride on the beach...picture perfect. What
an amazing place to have a vacation getaway. It's so pristine and
peaceful and the air so fresh. Thank you for sharing it! I've never
rented a private home before but will definitely do it again soon.
Most appreciatively,
Cindy

Helpful votes: 10 / 14

 

great location

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

Great location walk to the beach and the Ritz Carlton. Enjoyed the Ritz pool facilities (for extra cost but worth it). The house was nice but yard very overgrown... hard to use backyard putting green. The beds were Not comfortable, more like a futon than a bed. No carpets downstairs so the accoustics were loud with our 3 grandchildren under the age of 5.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We rented the house for about 6 weeks in the summer of 2011 and could not have been happier with our experience. The house has four upstairs bedrooms and a down stair den that has a pull out couch for conversion into a fifth bedroom. The kitchen was absolutly lovely, with all of the appliances one could ask for, and two dining areas, a formal dining room and a breakfast table. The backyard was nicely sized for kids to run around in and it has an excellent fireplace and BBQ that is more than accomodating. However, the best part of this house is the location of this property, in a very well secured gated community and about a 10 minute walk to the Ritz and another 10 minute walk to the beach, but you can drive 2 minutes and be right at the beach. HMB downtown is about a 5 minute drive and there are so many restaurants up and down the coast line, you really can't ask for a better location.

The owners were very accomodating and easy to work with. In fact, we had one of the fire alarms sounding for a new battery late on a Saturday and they owners has their property management team within 2 hours to take care of the matter quickly. We would love to lie and say we would stay here again, but due to our outstanding experience, we purchased a home nearby!

Great place and I really couldn't recommend this home any higher.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

beautiful house

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Our family stayed at this beautiful home in September in preparation for our daughters wedding which was held at the golf links. We had 12 members of our family staying in the house and it was quite roomy. There are 4 bedrooms upstairs, and 2 baths, and down stairs theres one bedroom and one bathroom. Some of the bedrooms have true beds and a few have fold out type beds. The beds were comfortable, and the furnishings,bathrooms, kitchen are upscale. It has a really nice backyard that has a 4 hole putting green, a gas BBQ, and a fire place. The house with it's spiral staircase and beautiful mirror in the living room were the perfect setting for photographs on our daughters big day. Within walking distance is the Ritz Carlton, and beach access, along with the golf links for golfing. Its a beautiful home, and I would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

"This was a lovely place for us to celebrate our love. We will always have some beautiful memories of this place. Comfortably furnished clean, spacious and a very quite retreat. Easy access to downtown Half moon bay, or a spectacular sunset around the corner. And Anna(owner) made the last minute reservation seamless. Thank you Anna!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Wedding week home

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

We were in Half Moon Bay for our daughter's wedding. Having a beautiful home to stay in for the week we were there was perfect. It also gave my daughter a great place to dress for the wedding, she used the spacious master and master bath.

We had 4 children and 5 adults staying at the house and were close enough to the Half Moon Bay Best Western that we could have events there and visit other relatives staying there. We also took many walks to the Ritz to see the beautiful neighborhood and the ocean views.

On arriving we found that everything was exactly as described by the owner. She was so easy to work with and provided us with a beautiful clean well kept home with everything we needed even a portacrib. Having the backyard and patio area was a big plus too. I wish we would have known that there was a playground in the neighborhood because we did not find a lot of activities for children in Half Moon Bay.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reunion at Half Moon Bay

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

We couldn't have been more pleased with this property! Its location and all of the amenities were more than we could ask for. The property owner is extremely gracious and easy to work with. The gated community is immaculate with beautiful paths to walk to the ocean cliffs, down to the beach and around the quiet, well-kept grounds.

We were a party of 12, and the dining room as well as the living room were large enough and had the right furniture that allowed us to be together and we all shared meals, conversations and laughs as a group. So much fun!

All of the rooms are very classy and comfortable, and the bedrooms and baths accomodated us comfortably. One of our members is disabled and there is a small, private bedroom and full bath downstairs which was perfct. Everything we needed was there. The backyard is great with a fire pit and putting range - we didn't use it this time because of the weather.

The Ritz is a short walk away and a great place for a sunset cocktail on the patio with fireplaces, or a meal at Navio, a restaurant with views of the Pacific. Getting downtown is a short drive where there are some nice restaurants and great shopping! I wouldn't be suprised if we plan a future reunion here; I'd return in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great house for a big family in a great location.

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

7 adults and 2 kids stayed here for 3 nights. The house is in a great location within walking distance from the Ritz Carlton and just minutes away from Main Street. The layout is great with 4 bedrooms upstairs and one downstairs. We had plenty of room for all of us. The kids enjoyed the putting green in the back yard and we bbq'd one night which worked out well. The kitchen is well stocked with most everything we needed including 2 sets of dishes, cooking utensils and a coffee maker.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

It worked for 9 women

Review submitted: February 21, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

The size and style of the house was wonderful for our annual women's weekend away. The location was very convenient. The layout was great. Those of us that wanted to watch movies could do that in the family room. Others caught up with one another over wine in the living room. The dining room table was spacious enough for 9 to dine with ease and grace.

The property is clean, well maintained and nicely appointed. Because it was a rainy and cold weekend we were also able to take advantage of the fireplace.

If you like to cook at home I recommend you bring spices and baking pans or dishes just to be on the safe side. You'll also need a coffee bean grinder. Other than that we had everything we needed.

Check out Sam's Chowder House for lunch and Cetrella for brunch. The Signature massage at the Ritz gets two thumbs up.

Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review