reviews for: listing #25041 - Lake Norman, North Carolina House rental

Beaverdam Creek House: 1 or 2 Bedrooms-You Pick!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $90 - $250 /nt
    $300 - $950 /wk

sort by:

perfect spot

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We recently rented this adorable guest house for a family reunion where some family members stayed in a bigger home 2 doors down. It was the perfect set up for that. The configuration of this home works great for one or two couples with privacy for both. The owner's were so nice and we had use of their kayak and paddle boat plus an outdoor kitchen and great lake access. It was the perfect week! Thank you for use of your adorable home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We feel so blessed to have such wonderful people come and stay in our guesthouse. We enjoy seeing families gleefully splashing in the water and boating. We look forward to your return!

Jim and Vivia Tatum

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this property! Everything exceeded our expectations. Owners are truly great people and the property and lake provided a relaxing enjoyable stay. We hope to return in the fall :-)

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We enjoy having guests and always look forward to their return. We hope you have a good year and it was a pleasure to meet you. Jim and Vivia Tatum

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best of Everything

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

The roms were clean and comfortable. It was a great base for exploring the Lake Norman area including a quick drive to Charlotte. We were so comfortable with our friendly hosts that we ended up playing cards with them in the evening. I would love to come back in warmer weather when we could enjoy the lake and the boats they offered to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoyed your visit immensely and we hope you will come back so we can visit and play cards again! The best to you! Jim and Vivia Tatum

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pet owners.... here's your place! Oh and it's amazing for humans too!!

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

There are limited options for pet friendly accomodations and wow did we get lucky with Beaverdam Creek House! Since it was myself and my husband along with my Mom and Dad and their Westie Jake the enormous downstairs bedroom made this just the ideal accomodation for all of us.

The house was lovely, clean, spacious, well equiped and Vivia and Jim are wonderful hosts in every way and we very much enjoyed our conversations.

I have but two regrets... 1) that our stay was not long enough so that we could have enjoyed taking out the kayaks and exploring Lake Norman and 2) that we didn't get the opportunity to cook up those fresh eggs Vivia and Jim offered.

With or without Jake this is the place we will return to should our travels bring us to Lake Norman again and we will highly recommend Beaverdam Creek House all friends and family.

Beth, Marc, Norm, Elaine and Jake

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: We were delighted that you chose us as the place to celebrate your special birthday (s)! Your are a lovely family and we do hope you'll have a chance to come back. Tell Jake the chickens miss him and are calling for him! Vivia and Jim

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Get Away!

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

This was the perfect get away for some antique shopping and relaxing. The accomodations were perfect and the lake is beautiful. Would definately return with the "Fishermen" in the family and stay longer. The owners are so nice and really make you feel at home.

Owners response: It was a pleasure to meet you and we're glad you enjoyed antique shopping. That is an interest that is supported by a number of places here and in Mooresville, close by. Usually, no matter who comes to our guesthouse, there is something everyone finds to enjoy! We look forward to your next visit some day! Jim and Vivia

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Wonderful trip!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

We had such a fun and wonderful New Year's trip! My husband also really enjoyed the great fishing!! Jim and Vivia are wonderful! We are already talking about when we can go back! Thanks for a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We so enjoyed seeing you out in the boat pulling in the fish at this time of year! Perhaps if we were younger we'd be out competing with you! it was a pleasure having you visit and we do hope to see you again.

Jim and Vivia Tatum

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Charming cottage

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

Our family enjoyed the stay at this little getaway during Thanksgiving. We had plenty of room for 6 people and the amenities were great. we also enjoyed the fresh eggs from the chickens out back. We ventured out to the countryside and hiked at Lake Norman state Park, drove into Charlotte for shopping at the mall and NoDa district. The owners are there for anything you need since their house is right next door. Thanks again for your hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We really enjoyed getting acquainted with you, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll come again. Let us know how you're doing and have a very Happy New Year! Jim and Vivia

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Most enjoyable stay!

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

We had such a lovely time on our vacation and loved Beaverdam Creek House. You are such gracious hosts and we appreciated the fresh eggs and tomatoes! Thank you again for such a wonderful experience on beautiful Lake Norman. Say "hi" to Henrietta and the girls for us.

K & R

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's so good to hear from you! The "girls" are doing well and thank you for remembering them. They're enjoying the cooler weather but still producing 3 0r 4 eggs a day! Have a good fall and we hope you'll come by again and enjoy quiet time on a great lake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Retreat!

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Very relaxing week & we had great weather! The house is very clean and well equipped, even with a W/D. We combined our vacation with a college drop-off for our daughter. It was a great idea because the location was convenient to all necessary shopping (Target, Bed&Bath,etc...) Jim and Vivia were great host and we found that we had similar crossroads in past careers & destinations. We were able to use their kayaks and enjoyed the lake very much. Our host gave us fresh eggs, home grown peppers & wonderful restaurant recommendations. We highly recommend this place as a great escape to a lake front property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We enjoyed your visit, too! Nothing makes us happier than seeing our guests boating and swimming in our beloved Lake Norman. It was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to your next visit. Jim really enjoyed your macaroni and cheese and we'd love to have the recipe! The girls (chickens) send you their regards... Jim and Vivia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SNOWBIRD PARADISE

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

Having lived in the Lake Norman area for three years we were excited to find the Beaverdam Creek House. The fact that we could bring our pet Miss Maggie with us was an added bonus. We enjoyed our month stay and the privacy afforded us. The guest house was a big step up from a hotel room! We were able to connect with our friends and family and enjoyed the warmer temps. Hope we can come again next year! Jackie & Tom
Hamburg, NY

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

My three fishing buddies and I spent a week at the Beaverdam Creek House and were more than satisfied with the accomodations. Everything was first rate!
Vivia and Jim are very gratious and friendly hosts. The additional grilling and kitchen space was a nice bonus. We hope to return soon. Good luck with the chickens Vivia!
Dennis, Bill, Charlie and Steve

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Owners response: We always enjoy having fisherman stay at our guesthouse! Our deep water is an asset for the fishing boats that are brought here. Of course, we don't usually have the added excitement of a mother duck moving into our bass boat to create a nest and warm 10 eggs! We've all enjoyed checking on her, but the babies aren't here yet! We'll let you know when the happy arrival occurs! We're looking forward to your return trip in the future. There are many lakes, but none like our beloved Lake Norman! Glad you had a safe trip home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Place

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We travelled from Canada to attend the Nascar race and festivities and had the pleasure of spending 8 days at this location. Everything that other reviews and/or the description said about this place was true plus more. It was very clean, organized and had everything you could need. The owners are a pleasure to deal with and take such great pride in their property and are a pleasure to get to know. This is definitley the best place we have ever rented and were so pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, pride of ownership and the way the owners made sure we were comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. We plan on returning to Lake Norman and this property will be number one on our list of places to stay.

Jim and Vivia - thx again for all you did to help with our surprise, making us comfortable and providing us with a very cozy safe place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased we have happy visitors. We do try our very best to provide our guests with the comfort, convenience,and care we would want if we were the vacationers. We look forward to all who would enjoy some time on Lake Norman. Come and see us!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful relaxation spot

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the lake. The hosts were very gracious and made sure you had everything you needed. The property was very well maintained and nicely equipped with different types of water craft for your use. You could swim off the dock or just sit and read. This is one of the best, most enjoyable locations we have ever stayed at. Thank you Jim and Vivia.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place! Gorgeous views, so much fun!

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

This place is sooooo awesome! Jim & Viv have a piece of paradise here, it's a beautiful place in a great location. They made us feel so welcome! The views cannot be beat. The trees provide a shady, relaxing atmosphere as you just sit, relax, watching the boats and the water. We made good use of the kayaks and the paddle boat and cooked on the grill and in the nice kitchen off the main house/patio. We really LOVED it! & will definitely return, hopefully with our daughter next time. We rented a jetski and had a great time on the Lake Norman waters. The guest house is cozy, well appointed, comfortable and so convenient. Their wifi was excellent, TV had a great picture. We really felt at home! Hope to own a place like this on Lake Norman someday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lake Norman's Best Deal On the Lake!!!

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

This location is sweet! I have stayed here twice. The first time was just perfect, but the second stay was after remodeling and opening up a huge 1st floor bedroom. That stay was just fantastic. The house was as clean as a whistle. I have rented other places on the lake and been disappointed in the cleanliness. This house was pretty much spotless. The new bedroom downstairs is about as good as it gets. You get a comfortable feeling staying in this place. Jim and Vivia are great neighbors, and they do all they can to make your stay great and memorable. My family is definitely planning on a return visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation and fun

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

What a gem! The hosts take great care of their property and it shows. The guest house is impeccably clean, and very well-stocked. We had so much fun exploring the lake on the paddleboat, rowboat, and kayaks. The setting on the lake is perfect for relaxing--in a quiet cove away from most of the boat traffic.

I would highly recommend staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

This was one terrific week!!!!! Jim and Vivia were great host and very pleasant to talk to. The place was very clean and well equipped with cookware,dishes and appliances,even washer and dryer. We were able to use their rowboat which was very comfortable and enjoyed the lake. We were informed by our host where good places to eat and different area attractions.We did take a trip to Latta plantation and nature preserve which was very interesting and great walking trails and wildlife. Will definitely tell our friends and family about this gem of a place we found.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

This was one terrific week!!!!! Jim and Vivia were great host and very pleasant to talk to. The place was very clean and well equipped with cookware,dishes and appliances,even washer and dryer. We were able to use their rowboat which was very comfortable and enjoyed the lake. We were informed by our host where good places to eat and different area attractions.We did take a trip to Latta plantation and nature preserve which was very interesting and great walking trails and wildlife. Will definitely tell our friends and family about this gem of a place we found.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review