reviews for: listing #25077 - San Francisco, California Villa rental

Classy West Coast Villa - Safe, Quiet, Relaxing
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $500 /nt
    $2,800 - $3,500 /wk
    $8,400 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful family-home for vacation

Review submitted: February 11, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

My family and I spent our Christmas (2006) and New Years (2007) at this beautiful home, and we could not have asked for a more comfortable, well-equipped and well-located property. We were close to shopping, highways, and the train station. The owners are gracious and very helpful and helped make this one of our most memorable vacations.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks, you're making us blush! Many of our guests appreciate the recommendations we make that come from our 25 years of living in the San Francisco Bay Area. We are always available to help our guests without being intrusive. This is truly a remarkable place to be for family vacations and coupled with our larger 5 bedroom home we have sleeping for up to 21 guests. It's an outstanding location for family reunions, corporate meetings, or group retreats. Thanks again, Don & Krista

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome home!!!!

Review submitted: November 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

This is a amazing house! This home has everything you need! Everything you need for kids too! It's very spacious! Very clean! Very organized! The owners were EXCELLENT!!!! The backyard is gorgeous!!! There is a supermarket just 2 blocks away. You will not go wrong with this house! The kitchen had everything you need. All rooms have there own bathroom,
Washer and dryer located on the second floor. Playpen, high chair, cable tv, everything you need! This is your home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded Our Expectations!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

This home was everything promised and more. Don was the perfect host. We were met at the house and given the "guided tour". Three bedrooms, each with it's own bath, plenty of towels and even extra soap, shampoo and conditioner. The kitchen was huge and fully equipped. Plenty of paper products, spices and all the utensils you could ask for.

The house is located in a quiet residential neighborhood that is within a mile of the freeway. There is a small shopping center within walking distance. Just a short drive down the main street brings to you every type of eating establishment you could think of.

The bedrooms were very well appointed with each room having satellite TV.

My group consisted of my wife and I, our son and daughter-in-law and there two children (ages 8 and 9). Even with this group, there was plenty of space for quiet time for me and Grandma as well as a huge living room for us all to congregate.

The West Coast Villa really did exceed our expectations. PLUS, with the cost of hotels in San Francisco, this was really a cost effective way for us to have a marvelous time. We would absolutely do it again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home Vacation Rental

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

This by far made our trip to San Fransico wonderful. The home was immaculate and the owners were wonderful in accomodating. The home was well stocked with all amenities you need in traveling. We could not have asked for anything better. I would recommend them and if ever in the area again, they will be the one I will contact. Thank you Don & Krista!
The Haynes Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

We rented this house in conjunction with Villa I for our daughter's wedding.
The home is warm & comfortable. The rooms are well equipped & so is the kitchen.
The photos are true to the house. We could not have been happier when we arrives. The owners are wonderful & will do all they can to make your stay top notch.
This is the way to go!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

This place was wonderful! Rather than having to book multiple hotel rooms for family members, we got to stay all together in a house! It was like a home away from home. The owners were very easy to work with and we would highly recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent rental house

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

We found the rental house on the internet and the description was quite accurate. The house was clean and all that we needed was found. Allthough the adjoining house was rented out part of the time we stayed to a large party we didn´t hear any noise and the street was also quiet - maybe because it was summer vacation. The location is very central to the highway system and it is very easy to get to the sights around SFR. The only reason why we didn´t give 5 stars is that the garden is quite small so we didn´t use it much.

The area is nice and Safeway is only 2 min walk away.

We would like to return and would recommend it warmly.

Don and Krista very friendly and seemed very dedicated to make sure that we enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Travellers from Nova Xcotia, Canada

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We stayed at this property with my sister and her husband. It is exactly as described. The owners were so helpful prior to and after our arrival.
The property is close to major highways making sightseeing very easy.
There is a handy supermarket. The amenities in the unit were excellent. It is a great property for a vacation but also very suited for anyone who was going to be in the area for a longer period.
I would highly recommend this property to my family and friends and would stay here again myself.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Visitors from Nova Scotia Canada.

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This property was everything we hoped for and more. The condition of the property was super. Don and his family were very accommodating in helping of us out with any questions. The property is close to the major highways in the area so easy access to any where we were headed. Close to a supermarket and kitchen in the unit had everything you'd need. I would recommend this property for a short or long term stay.
We'd love to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely, well-equipped home

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

A beautiful home in Castro Valley furnished not only with bedding, but also enough towels for 3 people for a full week, paper products, and a fully equipped kitchen. The owners were happy to answer any questions we had, and we enjoyed vacationing there with our 2 adult children. Only 2 minor "surprises": 1) The first floor consists only of 1 bedroom with attached bath--everything else is on the 2nd floor. This was fine for us but might be a concern for families with small children. 2) We were told the drive into San Francisco would be about 30 minutes during rush hour, but it's ALWAYS rush hour on the Bay Bridge, so the drive was usually more like 45 minutes. Net, this home exceeded our expectations and I'd highly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: For young families we do provide a safety gate, a high chair, pak n play cribs and other amenities.
The brand new Bay Bridge is scheduled to open in 2013. That will definitely ease some Bay Area wide traffic issues.
We are also 1 mile from the BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) for a different way around the San Francisco Bay Area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family from Ireland

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

The house exceeded our expectations. A very clean and well equipped home. We enjoyed our week here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow and Perfect!! Two words that come to mind....

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

Our family of 6 (4 teenagers) had the opportunity to stay at the West Coast Villa for our 3 day visit to San Francisco. The Villa is conveniently located to all amenities including a Grocery Store within walking distance. The Villa was spotless and well equipped with everything that you would need.

It is also a short drive across the Bay Bridge into San Francisco which makes it an ideal location.

I would definately recommend this home to friends and family who are planning to vacation in San Francisco or the surrounding area. I would definately stay at this home again!!

Don was an amazing host!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We'll Be Back

Review submitted: October 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2007

Thanks so much for the rental of your lovely home - you made travelling with a small child so much easier! We have really enjoyed our time in San Francisco and could really have done with more time here - I'm sure we'll be back. The house was perfect for our needs, space, well-equipped and a garden for our son to run around in. Thanks so much for your hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Don't Want To Leave...

Review submitted: October 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2007

Hi Don & Krista!
Thank you very much for allowing us to stay at your lovely home! It is beautifully and tastefully furnished and really helped to make our vacation very comfortable! Who would want to stay in a hotel when one could stay in a such a lovely home like this!
We enjoyed our stay in San Fran going to Chinatown, fisherman's Wharf and the Great Mall in Milpitas. Great times in the city.
We aren't quite ready to leave this comfor, beautiful views and fresh air...but we'll definitely remember this place and recommend it to others.
Thanks a bunch for your generous hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Easy Access

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2007

Thanks for the wonderful home! We enjoyed the beautiful rooms, comfy beds and great TV's :) The location was just right...easy access to all the places we wanted to go. Thanks so much! We are two couples from Missouri and Montanna.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cured Of Hotel Stays

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2007

Dear Don & Krista
We are never staying in a hotel room again if we can help it. Thank you for your superb hospitality and all your great directions. The best to you and your family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2007

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. You made us feel so welcome. We have truly been blessed by all you did for us. Our trip to California was even more special by staying here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Choir Loved It

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2007

Thank you for blessing us by opening up your home to us. I pray that the Lord will continue to bless you and keep you...it was the best homestay I've ever had and your story last night was so incredibly encouraging - everything was wonderful. Your family made me feel right at home

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

West Coast Villa is a wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: May 25, 2008   Date of arrival: May 20, 2008

Our family just returned from four wonderful nights at the West Coast Villa ll and the Garden Suite. The house is beautiful in every way; lovely furniture, attractive rooms, beautiful kitchen, big bedrooms and bathrooms. We especially loved the attention to details and efforts made in adding all the extras to ensure our stay was comfortable and easy on all of us. We have so many nice things to say about the house and the Robertsons as the owners, we think we might run out of space! Suffice it to say, we highly recommend this lovely house to anyone coming to the bay area. You will be very happy you decided to stay there. A true Northern California treasure!
Thank you Don and Krista for your caring and hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great experience!

Review submitted: May 21, 2008   Date of arrival: May 7, 2008

My family had such a great time stay at West Coast Villa II. The house is extremely clean and well-maintained, more beautiful than in pictures and way beyond our expectation.
Don and Krista are great hosts and very patient with our requests. We will definitely recommend this place to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Great time at Villa II

Review submitted: March 30, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We had a great time staying at this home away from home. Everything is well kept and clean. We would highly recommend this place and would choose it again ourselves. You'll not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for a Family Getaway!

Review submitted: March 14, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We used the Villa as our home-away-from-home during my brother's wedding. It was such a comfortable, beautiful place for our family to come together. My sister and husband, my husband and I, and my parents filled the house, along with our two toddlers.

The house is filled with quality furnishings (beds, bedding, tv's, kitchen, etc.) The kids and guys loved the dish network and flat-panel TV's in all the rooms. We also made great use of the wireless internet access - "Mapquest" was our friend!

Although it was "full", it was never cramped. The bedrooms are set away from the livingroom and kitchen area. We each felt like we could retreat to some quiet when we needed it, and we all had separate bathroom quarters.

It was a perfect location for all of the events we had planned: from a Giant's game and ocean fishing in San Francisco to our Rehearsal Dinner in Walnut Creek and the Wedding south of Oakland. It is located close to free-way access, so it worked well for us. We went in all directions, but found it a wonderful place to return to each day!

There is a nice grocery and coffee shop just a block away, which was so convenient. A stroll in the morning and a hot cup of joe was ideallic on a summer morning.

We would definitely book again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 22, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at the Villa II with my family. The kids (21, 22, 24, 26yo) had their own bedrooms, the washer & dryer was such a blessings. The provided amenities were so helpful and much appreciated. The gardens were lovely and the kitchen was fabulous. We were right at home and fully intend on using your facility again, once we plan another trip to California. Thank you so much for the terrific job, directions to area malls and the BART and taking family photos for us! We loved becoming a part of the West Coast Villa family! Peace & Beauty, Kelli Johnson of Johnson's Manor - Winter Springs, Florida

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Home" Away From Home

Review submitted: February 24, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your gorgeous home! Everything was absolutely perfect from the moment we arrived to our departure. You have thought of everything to make our stay comfortable. It was truly "home" away from home. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean and Comfortable

Review submitted: February 24, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

It was certainly our pleasure being your guests. This is definitely a 5-star in every way. It is the cleanest, best equipped, best organized and most comfortable place we've every stayed in. When we are back in this area, we'll try to make our reservations early so we can stay here. We'll also tell our friends. Thanks for all your help and directions.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: January 26, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

If you want to be part of a home away from home this is the place. The place is beautiful, anything you need is at your fingertip. Great location to any place you want to go. The Robertsons are great Christian People. Trip was 5 Star Plus!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Untitled

Review submitted: January 26, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

This home is very attractive and we felt comfortable as soon as we arrived. The decor is fabulous and furnishings are first rate! The photos don't really do the house justice.
We had a very relaxing 4 days at Castro Valley and the owners were a wealth of information.
We were so very impressed with the location. Walking distance to the market and a fantastic pizza place. It gave us a chance to experience the true way of life of citizens of the San Francisco Bay area.
Trips into San Francisco were effortless and quite entertaining. The surrounding area is filled with wonderful destinations for day trips, the owners have some great information about the area included in their welcome package.
We would definitely stay there again, without hestitation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Wish I Lived There

Review submitted: January 26, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2005

We had the privilege of staying in the West Coast Villa II during the Thanksgiving week. We were very impressed with the wonderful accommodation provided and the hospitality that we received from Don and Krista. They made us feel very welcome and were readily available to help us find everything we needed in the Bay Area . The Villa is beautifully furnished with everything we needed to make us feel right at home. There is a washer, dryer, dishwasher and all the amenities that one would have at home plus the beds were so comfortable. Having three bathrooms was a bonus. We're so thankful that the Villa was available to us upon our visit to the Bay area and we will certainly stay there again. Truly a lovely vacation home and we would highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience!

Review submitted: January 25, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

This home is every bit as beautiful and cared for as is evident by the pictures shown. The location couldn't be better, close to freeway access and within a reasonable driving distance to San Francisco, the Wine Country, Carmel & Monterey and all the sites and culture of the Bay Area. The home owner was gracious and very accommodating. Everything we needed for a week's stay was provided. This is truly a five star home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Superior Value

Review submitted: July 29, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

They should be charging twice as much! Fabulous, luxurious! West Coast Villa II is masterfully designed and so comfortable.

This property is one of the most outstanding places we have stayed. The amenities are all accurately described, but are of higher quality than we imagined.

It is a very convenient location for travelling to all San Francisco Bay Area spots. It's great for day trips to San Francisco, Monterey, Carmel, Napa, the Redwoods, and even a long day trip to Yosemite National Park.

The photos are good - but the home is even better than the photos.

We would definitely stay again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 9

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 29, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Your home is beautiful, your hospitality so warm and inviting. We enjoyed our visit. This was definitely 5 star!
Sandy & Jerry - Palo Alto, California
Martha & Don - DeQueen, Alaska
Monty Jo & Vicki - Kenton, Oklahoma

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 29, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Thank you so, so much for the use of your home. It is so comfortable, cozy and more than we expected. My family had a wonderful vacation and this house made it! We would definitely return whenever we're visiting. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 15, 2006   Date of arrival: May 15, 2006

This is a great location for visiting Berkeley. I-580 is a great freeway. Everything in the house seems new and fresh. It is very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 25, 2006   Date of arrival: April 25, 2006

Our stay was quite wonderful. Your home could not have been more comfortable or convenient.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2006   Date of arrival: April 8, 2006

Thank you. You have a beautiful, comfortable home. We enjoyed our stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2006   Date of arrival: March 22, 2006

Thanks for your hospitality. Very useful local knowledge and directions. - Mark & Sophie

A lovely 'home' to come back to and a very comfortable and spacious place to stay! Many thanks! Liisa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 15, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Don and Krista, Many thanks for the use of your villa. We had simple goals when looking for lodging in the Bay area: clean, safe, and comfortable. Your villa exceeded our expectations. Not only was it beautiful and luxurious, but we also enjoyed the warm family atmosphere. My husband especially enjoyed chatting with Don and meeting the entire family. Best of luck in your future endeavors. We shall return in the near future to do it again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 15, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

You should be charging twice as much! Fabulous, luxurious! West Coast Villa II is masterfully designed and so comfortable.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 5, 2006   Date of arrival: February 5, 2006

Thank you for the use of your home. It is lovely and is so inviting. Your hospitality was so much appreciated

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 19, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

We had the privilege of staying in the West Coast Villa ll during the Thanksgiving week. We were very impressed with the wonderful accommodation provided and the hospitality that we received from Don and Krista. They made us feel very welcome and were readily available to help us find everything we needed in the Bay Area.

The Villa is beautifully furnished with everything we needed to make us feel right at home. There is a washer, dryer, dishwasher and all the amenities that one would have at home plus the beds were so comfortable. Having three bathrooms was a bonus.

We're so thankful that the Villa was available to us upon our visit to the Bay area and we will certainly stay there again. Truly a lovely vacation home and we would highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review