reviews for: listing #25158 - Pahoa, Hawaii House rental

Mahimahi Street Vacation House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hawaiian Shores
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $85 /nt
    $550 - $550 /wk
    $1,700 - $1,700 /mth

sort by:

Great!

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 3, 2014

The house was great. Lots of little things that made it so, condiments in the fridge, an assortment of snorkeling gear in the carport closet, as well as coolers that we used on a daily basis, an assortment of sunscreens and bug sprays. We were 5 people total and had plenty of room for everyone. We also loved the book selection and the frog songs at night. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words Jula. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and the book selection. I hope you had a wonderful trip all around.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

house was great!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

Clean, Very comfortable. Had everything we needed and more. Thanks for the great time and comfortable beds. The Scott's

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place!

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Our family of four (girls ages 11 and 14) had such a nice time in this lovely, comfortable, well-equipped home. The house was very clean, on a quiet street and near the laid-back little town of Pahoa (excellent iced coffee at Sirius Coffee and if you need a haircut, check out Jan's Barber and Beauty Shop). From here we explored the black sand beaches, tide pools, Volcano National Park, Hilo, Kalapana, and especially enjoyed the excellent Sunday farmer's market near Pahoa.

The description of the house was exactly accurate and we were pleasantly surprised by how much space we had in the living room and kitchen area (can't quite tell this from the photos). The owners were prompt with all questions and concerns and we would highly recommend this vacation property to anyone and everyone. Some people have commented about the frogs at night, but we got used to them pretty quickly. Some may call it noise, but we call it live music! The temperature was lovely at night, especially with the fans in each room.

We would definitely return to this house if/when we can get there again. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words. I'm always happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful trip.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hilo House

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

The house is about 10 miles outside of Hilo but it's easy to get to. After three of the four of us read the description of the house, no one picked up that it did not have A/C so that was a bit of a surprise. It was clean and stocked with necessities for our stay which was nice. It is fairly close to groceries and gas and is a great 'base". Be aware that the frogs are VERY loud!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything I ever wanted

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

The house was everything I ever expected. Love the fact that past guests had left aloe and sunscreen! The neighborhood was wonderful and since staying in the vacation rental I have decided this is the location I wish to move to. Don the owner was great at communicating with me even so much to let me know when the grass cutters were coming. Talking about grass cutting-Alohi and Keri are fun and if you have a chance to meet them you should. We didn't find any avacados while there but, my son highly enjoyed playing with the coconuts from the tree in the front. If you are thinking of renting here do so...before buying anything check out the house and the little shed... snorkel gear, mats, chairs, ice chest, bbq grill (which we used twice). Appreciate the little things like ziplock bags and all the wonderful cooking gadgets (my daughter oved the rice cooker). I promise that once we move if I have too many guests I will have them book with Don. If you are worried about the distance to things, there is a Burger King and an awesome Sushi place(try the Volcano) just across the highway. You have so much to do that is so close you don't have to worry about going to Hilo daily. I wish I could tell you more but, I will leave some suprises. Thanks so much Don for helping my family have a wonderful Vacation and Christmas!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It's so nice to hear comments like these. We try hard to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible by providing a clean and nice house along with recommendations for sight seeing, shopping, food, etc. The Big Island has a lot to offer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very comfortable stay

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

Our family loves this house, it's very clean, comfortable and has everything we need as a home to stay. The towel, sheets, everything in good quality. The guidebook of Big Island in the house is useful. The house is located in a safe, quiet neighborhood, but conveniently close to the Kapoho Tide Pools, Volcano national park. And, when we had question, Don was responsive and helpful. We had a great time in this home! Thank you, Don!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Easy to find Home in a Quiet Neighborhood

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

The home was easy to find from Hilo and in a very quiet neighborhood. The home was prepared for our arrival (open windows with fans on!). We really appreciated the three bedrooms (and twin beds for the twins!), washer/dryer, wifi and available guide books. We had a great time at the Kaphoho Tide Pools and the National Park. The owner was very responsive and resourceful. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Puna Hale

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

The house is clean, comfortable, and completely furnished with everything a family needs for a wonderful Big Island vacation. The stove and refrigerator are not as large or as new as the appliances pictured on the website, but both worked well so it's not a problem. We did miss having an icemaker, though!
Conveniently located in a safe, quiet neighborhood, the house is close to sightseeing, swimming & snorkeling, shopping,and dining. Every weekend, the island's best Farmer's Market is just a short drive away.
We picked fresh pineapple and sweet coconuts right out the door, and enjoyed the lush back yard. There are enough lawn and beach chairs for the whole family!
The tree frogs seemed loud at first, but after the first night we didn't even hear them.
We are looking forward to coming back again next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Many thanks Nancy and Ron. We always appreciate a good word. And I couldn't agree more about the Farmer's Market, there's nothing better than freshly picked fruits.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly as promised

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

This property was exactly as the owner had promised. It was clean, roomy and close to the ocean, Volcano National Park, the hot pool, the tide pools, the restaurants in Pahoa and the markets in Kea'au and Hilo and the zoo. There were no bugs and the yard was well kept. We enjoyed our daily walks in the neighborhood very much. I would recommend this property for a family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Audrey and Jim,

Thanks so much for the kind words, and glad to hear enjoyed your stay. I think you've spend enough time in Puna now to be tour guides!

Thanks again,
Don Oates

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 29, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Don & Carla's vacation home.

The house was spacious, clean, and well furnished. We found everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The linen closet was well-stocked and the kitchen had all the utensils we needed to prepare our meals. We even used the grill in the shed one night.

One feedback is that the screen doors in the master bedroom did fall off, so that can be fixed. Otherwise, it was a treat to stay in this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mahimahi Street

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

We stayed in the house on a holiday of the Big Island from New Zealand. Just what we wanted, a house that felt like a home.
The place was spotless and had everything we needed. We used it as a base to explore the south east side of the island and went on a day trip to Volcano.
Everything was as described. We would totally recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mahimahi Street

Review submitted: April 28, 2009   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

We went to Hilo for our grandson's 1st BD party and searched for a rental near the event site. I found this rental and loved it. The owner's really take pride in their property. The setting is comfortable for the renters especially if they're traveling with family. We did and everyone was comfortable even my little infant. Awesome place, keep in mind that you want to rent something nice and the owner's would like the same respect too!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review