reviews for: listing #25243 - Lincoln City, Oregon House rental

High Tides Beach Bungalow with Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $130 - $175 /nt
    $800 - $1,175 /wk

sort by:

Honeymoon Paradise

Review submitted: August 20, 2008   Date of arrival: August 10, 2008

My first impression of the area the house was located was impressive. I couldn't believe how close we were to the beach and how friendly the neighbors were. The interior of the home is an open floor plan with a loft and was so comfortable and relaxing. My husband and I found ourselves just sitting and enjoying the house. I really liked how previous renters left business cards or brochures about restaurants and activities to do around town it really gave us an idea of what was out there. The hot tub is a wonderful touch. It was a great way for my husband and I to relax after a day of wandering the beaches and shopping. We were able to listen to the surf and watch the stars in privacy. The owners called during our stay to confirm that everthing was alright with the house and to answer any questions we had. I would highly recommend anyone to reserve this rental. It is extremely comfortable and the homeowners are very easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 22 / 23

 

Great House But a Bit Unwelcoming

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

The house and location were terrific. Beautifully decorated, everything you need in the kitchen, clean, and a wonderful hot tub. However, I found the signage really over the top. There are instructions in ALL CAPS with highlighting about how you will be charged for your "negligence" for a variety of "infractions." For example, instead of saying, "Please use the towels in the laundry area when enjoying the hot tub" the sign reads "DO NOT USE BATHROOM TOWELS IN THE HOTTUB!!!" We've stayed in a variety of vrbo homes throughout the years and understand what it means to be good guests. The signage made us feel like two teenagers who'd been left alone for the first time with signs from mommy and daddy all over the house warning us to be good. Very unwelcoming. That would be my ONLY complaint. Cindy was lovely to deal with and the house, as mentioned, is really really wonderful.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your nice comments about our house. We are very sorry that your were uncomfortable with our requests. Over 8 years we have been very fortunate to have mostly responsible and respectful guests such as yourselves. I am sorry to say that we have also had a few that were not so kind to our home and belongings. Because of that we now try to be very clear about what we would like our guests to do and not to do. I will reevaluate our requests and I am very sorry you did not feel welcome. Again thank you for all your comments.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Second Time Around

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

My first visit at High Tides was a girls' week. Four years later my return visit with my partner Ken, and our vey good friends was every bit as pleasant as the first visit. We did a lot of sightseeing along the Oregon coast, and returning to this comfortable cottage and the hot tub every evening was like coming home. Our only regret was not being able to stay a bit longer. I certainly hit a home run as far as our friends were concerned with this rental, and they are still talking about this being one of their best vacations ever. We are all hoping to return for a longer stay before another four years pass, and High Tides will definitely be our residence of choice!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful location, nice home

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

This house was wonderful, hopefully we will get a chance to stay here again. There's a little walk-in entry to the beach just down the street. We were able to open the windows and hear the ocean waves crashing. The hot tub was our favorite place, where we could also hear the wavebut there is s no view of the ocean from the hot tub. We saw deer in the yard on quite a few occasions. You can't see in the pictures, but the ceilings are vaulted and there are two windows at the top so you can see the ocean perfectly from the loft room. We watched a few sunsets from up there. You can see the ocean from the dining room window, but it's minimal compared to the upstairs.

The owner did have some people come and trim the shrubs while we were there and other landscaping, which was slightly unsettling at first because we weren't prepared for that, but luckily it was during the middle of the day and we ended up being gone for most of it. The t.v. is also updated to a nice flat screen since the photo shown was taken. I have to say my only disappointment was that the kitchen had no seasonings! We've stayed at a few other houses, and they've always had seasonings to use. Obviously, a completely silly and minor issue, I just got spoiled with other houses in that aspect. They did have every kitchen item you could find aside from that though. They had beach toys, which my daughter enjoyed tremendously, and we used the barbecue a few times. Overall very nice place, and we would definitely stay here again if they'd have us!

Owners response: We are always thrilled when the guests enjoy their stay in our home. Our goal is for you to want to come back over and over.
It is always difficult to keep extra seasonings in the home as they tend to go home with many guests. I always stock the basics but I will try to add some more extras for your next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is the PERFECT beach cottage.

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

This well-cared cottage is adorable and SO inviting. It has all the amenities you will need or want - and then some. The furniture and beds are top quality and so comfortable and clean. The location is perfect and within a 3 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute drive to the casino. No detail was missed here. Thanks for providing us with such a great place. We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place for a Girl's Trip

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

My sister and I surprised our Mom with a trip to the coast and we couldn't have found a more perfect home to stay at. The size was perfect for the 3 of us and we loved the decor and furniture. The home is even more adorable than the pictures. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the hot tub and it was larger than it looked in the pictures. The Owner was great to work with. We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional Rental House!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Very nice house perfect for a couple to get away or for a few friends. King bed VERY comfortable, house very clean and accommodating, hot tub was so relaxing! There was just about every dish/untensil/etc you could possibly need in that cupboard! Modern and very cute! And very close to the beach, what more could we ask for!? My boyfriend and I went to escape the city for a weekend. On a hike up Cascade Head he proposed! Thank you for the getaway we needed so badly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have had many honeymooners, couples celebrating their anniversary but I think this is the first proposal. It is a great house in a great location and we are very happy we exceded your expectations. We hope you will come and stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a wonderful property

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

We stayed there a few weeks ago and it was a wonderful place. It made us feel at home and was very clean. The beach was easily accessible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good times

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

Very nice and cozy. Everything you need is there. Had great weather and the fresh oysters were fantastic.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

High Tides Weekend Vacation, January 27, 2009
By Kim Bower (Milwaukie, Oregon)
This home is very quaint and clean, we had a wonderful time, and would come back again..... Great for 4 people!

Wonderful Vacation, October 5, 2008
By Marie (Southwest of Chicago)
It was great to actually get what you pay for! This home was everything it was promised to be and I appreciate that! There is nothing worse than being promised one thing and receiving another. I am grateful for the owners for being honest and trustworthy and delivering what they promised. Great vacation home, very comfortable and quiet. My daughter and I had a great time, great location on the beautiful Oregon coast, plenty to do! I am sure we will be back or will possibly rent their larger house and have a sisters vacation! Thanks, again. Marie and Emily

Great beach house!, August 17, 2008
By Dennis and Deborah Treibel (Auburn, WA USA)
We LOVED this house. Owners have a talent and gift for decorating and making everything cozy. Quiet end of town and was perfect place for beach visit and time of R & R. They have house furnished with everything you could need. We will be back for future visits.

Lincoln City Bungalow was wonderful!!, August 12, 2008
By Darla Huddleston (Liberty Lake WA)
This was our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better place. Close to beach, hot tube, yet a very peaceful area. The house was very nice and comfortable. We felt right at home.

High Tides Bungalow (HTB), July 31, 2008
By Costa (Sarasota, FL USA)
HTB is located in a nice, quiet area of Lincoln City called Roads End. It has easy access to the beach where a short walk north brings you to driftwood piles, tide pools, and cliffs. It's a quick, easy drive to get groceries and visit the casino. The house itself was very clean and modern. We loved being able to cook dinner at home (especially the halibut we caught in the Pacific) and star-gaze while sitting in the hot tub at night. We highly recommend HTB to couples and small families (1-2 children).

Great house, July 2, 2008
By Linda Passmore (Albany, Oregon)
This was a wonderful vacation house. It was so well decorated and close to the beach, too. Although it was a little confusing to figure out how to run it, we loved the Hot Tub. The house was equipped with almost anything you could ever need. They have an amazing array of movies, board games and even video games. We would love to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

Awesome!, January 9, 2010
By Brandyce (Grants Pass, OR USA)
This house was totally AWESOME! My friends and I had so much fun. The hot tub was nice, although the weather wasn't so nice, we still had fun in there. I will definitely be recommending this house to other people. It's in a great location and very cute! Great deal also! Thanks again for renting it to us!!

great time, September 25, 2009
By Tracy Points (clatskanie,or)
Our stay was very nice.The house was very cute,with lots of extras. It was so close to the beach,and very reasonably priced.Cindy was more than helpful and easy to work with.Looking forward to staying again,so much better than a motel.A home away from home.

August vacation, August 24, 2009
By Mat Loup (Vancouver, BC)
A fine week's holiday.

Vacation was actually relaxing!!, June 17, 2009
By Jessie (Portland, OR)
The house was amazingly decorated, well-appointed with practically everything provided (towels, soap for laundry, spices, sugar, etc...), and the owners were very thoughtful and sweet. The beach access was closer than I thought - literally at the end of the hill, and the hot tub was AMAZING! We'd listen to the ocean crash and roar from the comfort of the hot tub every night. Can't praise this place enough - beach is secluded and quiet as most tourists don't stay in Roads End, and the tide pools at the north end are not to be missed. Stop looking elsewhere, and stay here!

Awesome, May 12, 2009
By C. Koski (Lethbridge, AB, Canada)
Can't imagine why anyone would choose a hotel/condo when this beautiful, comfortable little cottage is available. The area is beautiful and quiet! Wish we could have stayed longer and/or could visit more often. Unfortunately travel distance prohibits frequent visits. One of the best "get away from the rat race" weeks I've ever had. I have already recommended High Tides to friends and will continue to do so!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family retreat

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

The house if perfectly located within the lovely town of Lincoln City. You are at the most a block and a half away from the beach. Great for building sand castles, meeting new people or just relaxing with your loved one.
The house had everything that you would ever need to make your vacation the best that it could be. The couches are comfortable as are the beds. The bathroom is small but very nice. The kitchen is open to the rest of the living area which is very nice.
The master bedroom is extremely nice and welcoming. The books are wonderful and it is nice to lay back and watch tv.
The hot tub was great - morning, noon and night. The deck is also welcoming with chairs and a BBQ area.
We were there during the 4th of July and were able to view the fireworks right from the front porch. It was wonderful!!
Extrememly great retreat for a family, couples - young and old, even the girls weekend.
Great neighbors as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Beach Getaway!

Review submitted: October 22, 2008   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

My friends and I enjoyed a fabulous weekend at this cozy, clean, wonderfully decorated beach house. The kitchen is fully stocked and then some, and the beds were extremely comfortable.The owners have obviously put alot of thought and care into making the place very accomodating and have added extra amenities that we haven't experienced elsewhere. The hot tub was a nice compliment to our relaxing weekend and the sky was so clear, you could see a million stars. It has great beach access and not far from town or the casino. We would definately recommend this great beach house! We look forward to our next stay there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Darling beach house!

Review submitted: October 22, 2008   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

What a lovely weekend we had at High Tides; perfect accommodations, with a touch of class as well as the comforts of home. The attention to detail, decorating that reminded me of a Bed and Breakfast, and the great location with a view of the ocean and short walk to the beach made it so enjoyable. Soaking in the hot tub under a starry night sky and morning coffee on the deck was relaxing. An excellent choice for a beach get-away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Beach Home

Review submitted: August 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 27, 2008

A great ocean beach home with everything you need to make your stay relaxing and fun. Also a great location with oleny to do.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful time. Exactly as described.

Review submitted: July 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 20, 2008

We had a great time. The place was beautifully decorated. Everything was just as described- very close to the beach. Beach toys for kids. The hot tub was great. I would definately recommend to friends. Cindy was great- even called to check on us and make sure all was fine.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

High Tides

Review submitted: June 5, 2008   Date of arrival: May 23, 2008

This HOME was really wonderful. Had everything needed for a getaway and more. Wonderfully decorated, extremely clean, close to beach & casino. Nice and quiet at night as well. I would DEFINITELY recommend this to anyone for a getaway. The hot tub is in a nice private backyard area and the view of the evening sky while soaking is awesome. The pictures don't even do this home justice as the owner has exquisite taste in home decor. We loved staying here and will definitely book again--that is...when there is availability !!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Untitled

Review submitted: January 13, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Your house in Lincoln City is the perfect getaway!! It was obvious as I first walked in how much hard work and care you and your husband have put into making it a wonderful place to go and relax at the beach. It was also such absolutely amazing weather, I could not have asked for anything more!

It was exactly the weekend I needed to recharge again. I understand why you already have repeat reservations. I have already started to look for my next excuse to go down and stay there myself. J I have already told 2-3 of my friends as well that they need to go and check it out too!

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Untitled

Review submitted: January 13, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Just a quick note to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at your house. Everything was so new and clean! I felt like I was in a Pottery
Barn magazine!

I was also thrilled to see that there was a "Broken Trail" DVD. I had wanted to rent that and thought about bringing it along, but didn't. I love westerns and Robert Duvall.

My 21 and 18 year old girls enjoyed their privacy in the loft.

Again, very nice job on your remodel and decor!

Helpful votes: 8 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review