reviews for: listing #25293 - Seal Rock, Oregon House rental

Wonderful Beach House with Fabulous Views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $225 /nt
    $1,225 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Everything We Needed!

Review submitted: August 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

This wonderful house had everything we needed: beautiful views, a marvelous location near Newport with great restaurants and things to do, the ability to walk the beach any time we wanted and the comforts of home. The owners had thought of everything one could possibly need from books to extra kitchen and bathroom supplies, to maps and menus, comfortable beds, and anything you could need to prepare and serve dinner - I think more than I have at home. Although it was only my husband and myself using the house for a week, it would have been easily comfortable for 6 or 8 people. The house was clean and neat when we arrived and the owners, who we met in person, were lovely and helpful.We loved staying there and would definitely go back if return to Oregon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a view

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

This incredible property is totally a wish come true. From the moment you reach Seal Rock, you know you will be experiencing a life of total relaxation and peacefulness . Exactly what anyone would want out of their vacation. The kitchen is stocked with all the utensils that you could ever imagine . You totally involve yourself in the atmosphere of the outdoors as you look out of the kitchen window and see the beautiful breathtaking scenery of the ocean and the tranquility of the waves. The owners are the best anyone could imagine. The Seal Rock coffee shop down the way from the property has great cofee drinks. My favorite the mocha was delicious. Just a few miles down the road, you can visit and have lunch in Florence. The shops have curious artifacts like glass beads and Various other goodies. There are many lovely trails in the park a few miles rhe road. Worth the hiking just to see the breathtaking views from the top. In conclusion, a very comfortable house with gorgeous views of the ocean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Return to Paradise

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

We (two couples, one 11-year-old, and a dog) recently had a second great visit to this wonderful beach home in Seal Rock, located in a quiet area between Newport and Waldport. The spacious deck afforded views of whales passing by and a pair of eagles roosting on a nearby rock, not to mention incredible sunsets. Once you learn the way, the beach, which is magnificent at low tide, is readily accessible; Seal Rock State Park is close by. The house itself is clean and very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped, and the owners have provided a variety of books and games for entertainment for all ages (that is, if any is needed beyond the beaches!) The owners are also very responsive to guests’ needs. Last year we reported a dysfunctional burner on the stove, and this year we enjoyed a brand new oven and stovetop. (We may have even been the first to use the oven!) Olson’s Beach House is a destination we love to return to when traveling to the Oregon coast!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing views in a wonderfully stocked home!

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

You will not be disapointed in this home! It is only one room deep, which sounds small but this house makes it work beautifully! The house is a work of art with fantastic ocean surf and rock views from every room. Our 3-genneration boy-girl teen grandkids group fit with room to spare. No complaints about who got the better room, everyone was satified. There were enough different sitting areas that where to hang out was never a problem either! The kitchen has everything, and usually two of, whatever you could want to use to cook with. There was also food storage wrap and bags as well as spices and a little oil. The bathrooms also had soap, shampoo and more if you forgot anything. It is a fairly easy walk to an interesting sandy and rocky beach as well as up the highway up to the shops. The woodstove warmed up the winter chill and damp. It was a great time for everyone and we would stay here again without hesitation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family weekend with lots to do

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Most rental houses we’ve stayed in are pretty bare bones - that’s not the case in this house.

Our three generations of family liked the space in the house, with a large master bedroom upstairs and two bedrooms plus hide-a-bed in the living space downstairs. Our grandson liked his unique auto-blow-up sofa airbed – and the stove and large-screen TV with great speakers in “his” living area!

Every room has fantastic light pouring into it, each with a room-full view of the ocean. Our 12-years-old granddaughter practiced her en pointe ballet dancing out on the deck while taking in the view.

It seemed that any device, appliance, or implement that we wanted was there – and not a dime store version – some of it pretty high-end. We decided that we could probably eat all weekend and not have to do dishes till we left – and not run out of dishes or flatware. We played some of the in-house card and board games, watched some TV, worked a 1000-piece puzzle, and did a lot of sightseeing.

There’s a plethora of things to do in the area. Saturday morning we walked down to the beach below the house and hiked north far enough to climb onto the rocks at the end. From there we walked into town. A few miles north in Old Newport, we ate about $40 worth of taffy and ice cream cones! There’s a cool kiddy park en route to the Historic Nye District of Newport. It has the neatest tube slide, some spinning cups that are an absolute blast, and other perpetual motion toys to ride! Just north of Newport, we spent a lot of time at the Yaquina Light House and its surrounding area. The tide pools there are great and designed so that the disabled can actually see something up close.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You Will Love this Home!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

We have stayed in this home twice now and just love it. I couldn't think of a single complaint if I tried! The home is stylish and modern, but has enough personal touches to keep it feeling "homey" and cozy. We particularly love the multiple fireplaces, the crab pots, the ping-pong table, the ocean views from almost every room and the gorgeous back deck. The owners do a wonderful job of taking care of the house and property, all while being mindful of all of the little things that their guests might need. This means we just got to relax and enjoy our time at coast. We highly recommend a stay here; you will NOT want to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful place for 7+

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

This home away from home was a great value. The home was generously stocked with kitchen ware, spices, oil, etc. There were DVDs & VHS & board games & books galore for kids and adults. 2 large screen TV upstairs and down enabled the kids to watch a few shows on their own while the adults hung out. Every bedroom had an ocean view - WOW! Everything was clean and well-maintained. We went 10 min up to Newport and Waldport for groceries, went to the close-by natural areas, and walked from the house on two amazing beach walks as well as shopped at the wood gallery, glass gallery, and little espresso/muffin place (for which our hosts gave us a gift certificate!). My disabled mom felt like a queen on the spacious ground floor. WiFi worked easily, but mostly in the kitchen/dining area. Plenty of room for 5 adults and 2 kids. Ping pong table a blast and brought out the kid in everyone. Kitchen design very open and excellent for family conversation. Made a huge thanksgiving dinner there effortlessly. Awesome fireplace upstairs and wood stove downstairs. One mattress downstairs seemed way too soft for me but my mother and father in law said they slept wonderfully on it so diversity is good I guess! Quiet neighborhood. Phenomenal view of ocean from deck and inside living/dining. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My Best Birthday Vacation

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2012

I have been coming to this beach house for 10 years and each trip I make is exceptional. Everything you need is in that house down to the tanks in the bbq being full. I love the feel of the house and quiet surroundings. It's a perfect location for a relaxing getaway. I will always continue to come here and bring my family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

WONDERFUL OREGON VACATION

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Wonderful house with lots of things for us to do. We had 3 generations all together and between, ping pong, books, movies and view we were very happy here. We had everything we needed and the view changed every day. Quiet beach but was a little challenging getting around. Great rental experience which is a huge positive right there! Thanks Gary and Kathy for a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beware Renters - You will never want to leave!

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This is like coming home even though it's not your's (but I wish it was). Comfortable, beautiful, awesome views, ocean views from every room (except the ping pong table room). All the beds are like sinking into feathers while listening to the ocean crash on the rocks. The deck is unbelievable with a vast view of the ocean, sea lions are parked on the rocks during low tide, refusing to leave until high tide takes them away. Just a hint - when walking down to the beach,cut through the immaculate RV park below to access the steps that lead you directly to the beach. Thank you Gary and Kathy for sharing you beautiful home with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

This is about the 5th time we have stayed here and It is like coming home. This is the most relaxing place to stay. You have everything you need so even if the weather is bad there is plenty to do. I could just sit and stare at the view all day long. But if that is not enough, they stock up the kitchen so you can make or bake anything under the sun. There are books, movies, and puzzles galore. I love this place with the comfy bed and wonderful layout for 2 to 8 people. The location is perfect. We will continue to come back "home". Thanks for a great time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

It's All True!

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

I loved everything about this house! The description was spot on (believe the reviews!) The sound of the ocean from every room was soothing. The rooms were very clean and the beds were all beyond comfortable! Gorgeous views from the entire upstairs, nice big deck if you desired to be outside soaking up the sun, everything was there from bathroom supplies (soap, shampoo, etc) to laundry facilities (soap, towels, etc.) Loved the big open kitchen that had every dish, knife, pot or pan (and nice ones!) needed. From phone to wifi to supplied movies and books, to the crab pots and extra coats/slickers, down to the ping pong table, fireplace, woodstove, comfy furniture and decorations, nothing was needed. Could not find a nicer owner or house! Do not hesitate to stay here (although I really don't want it to get so booked up that I have to fight to find a vacancy, lol) Thank you so much to the owners for sharing your lovely home! (sorry it took so long to leave a review, though!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a great holiday

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

First we want to thank Kathy and Gary. Right from our initial correspondance they were quick to return emails and even phoned us to give us information that we requested.
The house is spacious,clean and bright and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The kitchen had pretty much any tools, appliances, pots, pans etc you could possibly want including stuff you wouldn't expect like a martini shaker and sushi serving supplies. The bbq was great and started on first try. My son enjoyed looking through the telescope on site and we watched whales spouting offshore from the large deck.
The house is well situated. Newport is only 20 minutes away where you can get groceries and fresh seafood. The house was in a quiet location and despite being near the 101 hwy we were not bothered by any traffic noise. The sound of waves and birds offshore was all I remember for noise. The fudge shop around the corner has good well priced ice cream.
The neighbourhood was good for walking the dog which we were gladly allowed to bring and the beach was only minutes away. We enjoyed many runs in the early morning hours and exploring the tide pools at Seal Rock State Park which was right across the hwy.
There are lots of natural attractions within an hour either north or south of the house. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ideal Location

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2011

This comfortable house has an ideal location on a hill looking out to the rocks in the ocean. It is a wonderful getaway site even in stormy weather with a cozy wood stove and scenic vistas. There is plenty of room, the beds are comfortable, and the kitchen is well stocked for cooking the local seafood.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Will be going back

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This was our second time staying at the beach house. We absolutely love it! I can't imagine any more perfect view and the sunsets are gorgeous. The house itself is very bright and comfortable. The location is perfect because it's very central to the more "famous" northern and southern beaches. This time we were there during a neap tide and the sea stars and anenomes are too cool. I never get tired of exploring the rocks. Did some pretty good agate hunting this time too. Thanks for letting all us land lubbers into your wonderful home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a phenomenal place to stay!

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this fantastic home. The house is spacious and manages to be elegant and cozy at the same time. There's plenty of room to stretch and relax and an AMAZING front deck that offers a breathtaking view! Each bedroom and living room had an ocean view, as well! It was just too perfect. The ping-pong table was a real hit with our guests, and the house is nice and close to the beach. Renting this home is well worth it - it's a great price and the house has pretty much everything you'd need!! Be warned - it will be very hard to leave:)!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful experience, start to finish!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

I had the privilege of spending a week at the Olson's beach house. It was a tremendous experience. The house was big enough to allow me to read quietly upstairs while the kids (18, 18, and 19) to play video games downstairs. We enjoyed ping-pong tournaments, trips down to the beach (not tough to get to at all), plus daily trips into Lincoln City, Newport, Waldport, Yachats...loved it all. The house is everything the other reviews mentioned and more. I didn't find anything lacking, and all of it was perfect for our time away. As has already been said, I can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relax and enjoy

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

This house is so comfortable you think you are at home. They have any and everything you can imagine to make your stay as easy as possible. The beds are fantastic and there is no way to ever get bored... there are games galore, dvd's and just that view will keep you relaxed and happy. If I could I would just move in!!! Loved everything about it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

I love this place!

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 20, 2009

This house is much nicer than it appears in the photographs! The kitchen is equipped with quality cookware, dishware, appliances and utensils, many herbs and spices, paper/plastic goods, everything needed to create a feast, except the food. In the bedrooms, the sheets are a high threadcount, beds very comfortable and beautifully appointed. The Olsons supply all the towels and paper products you will need, and others have left a variety of soaps, shampoos, lotions, etc. You truly could just bring your clothes and food and find everything else you need waiting for you.

For entertainment, the house has it all! The ping-pong is fun, there are drawers full of games, DVDs/videos to be played on the three flat screen TVs if you get sick of cable TV, several well-stocked book cases, crab pots, fishing gear, rain gear, cut wood for the fireplace and/or woodstove, and of course, Seal Rock boasts one of the most spectacular views on the Central Oregon Coast. Sitting on the deck watching the ocean was the best part of my trip! Oh yes, and the Milky Way! Living near two large cities, I hadn't seen the Milky Way in years. Watching the stars on a clear night was nearly as exciting as watching the surf during the day.

Yes, there is a downhill walk to the beach and you do have to cross the highway to reach it, however, there is a parking area near the beach access so you can safely drive down and walk to the path. Or there are State Parks just north and south of the house; both are dog-friendly, offer parking, picnic tables, restrooms, and beach access. The one to the south – I think it’s Driftwood Beach– has an easy, nearly flat path to a long, wide beach.

In regards to cleanliness, it should be noted that (1) on the coast, the wind blows a LOT of fine sand around and it sticks in the salty film that covers everything, and (2) some spiders work fast! My second morning there I walked through a cobweb into the bathroom, and I’d been through there several times the day before with no cobwebs. Except for one light fixture (an obvious oversight on the part of the housekeeper) the house was quite clean when we arrived.

This is a lovely oceanview home and I sure wish I could live here year round! Thank you, Olsons, for sharing with strangers!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Time together in great house -- priceless!

Review submitted: August 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Beds very comfortable. Two bathrooms, 3 bedrooms. Kitchen well equipped. Gas grill great! Had young grandchildren, glassed in deck fantastic! Great for adults too, cuts down the wind that is always present and makes it enjoyable to sit out and visit while watching the ocean. Didn't notice highway noise. Lots of movies if you desire, games, cards. Ping pong table set up as well. Son and wife took grandchildren to beach and thought it was easy access (easy to see when tide's out from house.) Oldest son and fiance joined us midweek. Washer and dryer made it easier. Would definitely recommend. Owners easy to deal with. Sent clear directions + restaurant recommendations. Also included map to find and how to get to beach. Telescope set up and used quite a bit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun place

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

The beds are indeed comfortable as was the other furniture. The house has many activities— ping pong was great. The kitchen was easy to use.

The view is fabulous, but the highway is close enough to hear.

Mostly it's clean, but when we got there a dead crow had been left on the deck for some while; and the baseboards, tops of heaters and cover plates hadn't been dusted for months.

I don't want to be harsh because overall it was a great place to stay with the family. The floors, bedding and general living space are very clean. The linens are nice. In addition the laundry room is really big, and has some general tools so that it is a very functional home away from home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Seal Rock House

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: November 26, 2008

We all really enjoyed our stay,the house was large,plenty of room. The kids & adults used the ping pong table alot! We made use of the telescope to watch the birds out on the rocks.The beds were comfy,kitchen had loads of dishware ect for us to use. What was really nice was the views,lots of windows,very bright & cheery.
I guess the only 'downside' was the beach wasn't very accessable,or we weren't able to find the 'walkway' unless the owners were referring to the road up the hill to the house. ( which is how we went) Plus my husband, grandkids & I, had to cross HWY 101,a ( very busy highway) then very carefully climb down rocks to get to the beach. I really wouldn't recommend this house for the elderly unless they were in good health,as the walk to & from the beach isn't flat even ground. We had no problem in that area.
We had a relaxing time,which is what we wanted more than anything.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We always draw a map so that a person can locate the house when arriving and get to the beach when beach combing. It is an easy down the hill walk to the highway. We have never had any problems crossing. My parents, who are in thier eighties , have a house in the area and do not have any problems going to or from the beach. The stairs down to the sand are right at the end of the guard rail and easy to find. I think these people took a different route to the beach.. I also have a video that shows the way to the ocean.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Seal Rock Beach House

Review submitted: November 4, 2008   Date of arrival: October 11, 2008

Great location! Beautiful house with all the amenities. Enjoyed the restauraunts in Yachats, great coffee at the Green Salmon. Best of all, the tide pools at the beach were tops!! Would recommend this house to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review