reviews for: listing #25489 - Pioneer, California House rental

Great Setting and Location close to Kirkwood
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $175 /nt
    $900 - $1,050 /wk
    $2,550 - $2,900 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time !!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovey cabin. We had an awesome stay!! It was great to be in such close proximity to fun attractions like caves, lakes and even theater productions. Not to mention the cabin itself especially the set of colorful plates. Staying at this cabin has made our vacation better than ever and we have you to thank!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun for a group!

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

We spent a four day memorial weekend celebrating a 50th birthday for my best friend. There was 8 of us and I don't think we could've found a better place! It was fun, food and fellowship! Thomas is a very gracious host! Very personable! Warm and beautiful during the day and a wonderful mountain breeze at night! Go! Go right now!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing time

Review submitted: May 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

I Had such a wonderful time at the cabin. It was recommended to me by a coworker an couldn't have had a better time. It's Very spacious and plenty of activities to do. Wether it is hanging out in the game room with a full pool table, table hockey or even sitting down around a poker table and relaxing with friend over a game. This cabin has it all. Also close to Jackson Rancheria and casino, the national forestry and even an hour away from Tahoe. The cabin itself has plenty of space for those big family trips with three level with full bathrooms and bedrooms. This cabin has a modern feel with a cabin look.
I would highly recommend this cabin to any friends or family as the experience I had was very wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I t is always great to hear that other families enjoy my place as much as ours. My wife and our cleaning staff make it a top priority to have everything just right for our guests. We take the business very seriously which we have been doing for over 10 years. Thanks for the great review.

Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic House!

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

This home was a wonderful get-away for our family get-together. We loved the tri-level set up. Each family had their own floor- we were a party of 6 adults and 4 young children ranging the ages of 63 to 1 year old. We found the home to be spacious, clean and very inviting! All of the bedrooms were absolutely beautiful. There were many spices in the cupboards, an adequate amount of baking dishes, plenty of pots and pans and even a large roasting pan. The fridge was great with an ice maker, the dishwasher worked fantastic and so did the washer and dryer. We walked through the woods,took advantage of the awesome game room and cooked every meal at home. The only thing that needs improvement is the living room couch.

Thomas was very friendly and easy to work with. We have already recommended this home to a friend.

Thank you Thomas for sharing your beautiful home with our family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Almost WAS but did'nt quite make it

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We arrived at this location around 4:30 in the afternoon..It was very warm..The directions were accurate from Thomas..What was not accurate was the musty mildew smell upon opening the front door. No air conditioning, but fans in various closets. We were with our 95 year old father and did not expect the narrow stairways . This made it necessary to go outside to bring him upstairs. We stayed downstairs with him as my sister and her husband were on the main floor as she could not negotiate the stairs. The downstairs bathroom smelled of mold and there was mildew on the floor. Also a resident lizard in my Dads closet..
The main porch did not have the outdoor furniture shown in the photos and also no umbrella for the table. As far as a pond it had about a foot and a half of brown liquid in it, nothing you would want to get wet in. The grounds were in need of watering and we saw no fruit trees just mildewed sweetpeas.
The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen had what we needed for our needs.It was a very quiet location and the trees were wonderful
I would not recomend this house to 55+ people at all.

Owners response: Immediately after reading this review I had my cleaning person go into action, along with my Pest control company. We found that the mildew smell is not from mold or mildew at all, but coming from the basement wall which apparently has a musty smell; nevertheless it has been scheduled to be sealed the week of 8/25/2013. Along with the repair of the pond in the same week. However, the staircase is up to code and does have adequate space and railings. In addition, I am looking into installing elevators and ramps outside for more accessibility for handicap and the elderly. As always I advised my guests to have anyone with disabilities to stay on the middle floor which provides better access to kitchen and bathroom. The umbrella has been replaced and the furniture is located in the upstairs bedroom.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Loved This Location!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We just returned yesterday from our week long vacation at this property. We had a wonderful time. We loved the set up of the house....The tri-level setting of the house was perfect for our group. It offered privacy but still offered good family gathering time. It was very quiet and peaceful throughout our stay. We loved being greeted by the deer that frequently visit the property. The onsite lake/pond was absolutely beautiful. The beds were very comfortable and the house was very clean. We ate dinner out on the deck every evening enjoying the breeze and the beautiful sunset. Thomas was very helpful in answering all my questions prior to our arrival. We will definitely return to this property. Thank you Thomas for allowing us to stay at your property. We will recommend it to others.
Cristina from Los Angeles

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Presidents Day Weekend

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Was way better than I was expecting it to be. The house was even better than the pictures showed! Plenty of room in the house to spend time as a group without feeling crowded. The house is secluded from neighbors and your can have your privacy, yet it is not far away from stores, gas stations, and people. The whole town was very friendly where we went. Overall it is an amazing place and i would recommend it to everyone! I cant wait to go back another time!
Thanks Thomas, Had an amazing time. The house is Perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoy my place. We try very hard to make the cabin comfortable, clean and pleasant. I Have many projects planned in the near future to make it even better.

Thomas

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Great place for large group

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

3 Generations of our family spent Thanksgiving here and we had a great time. Room enough for all and the game room is a real plus. Thomas is very easy to work with and was very accomodating. The afternoon of our arrival we walked in to a fire in the fireplace and the table all set. Quite a nice welcome. The beds were made up, nice that we did not have to do it. We simply arrived and were able to get ourselves situated and relax. There is a very nice little grocery store about 5 miles from the house on Hwy 88. One day we went over to the Black Chasm mines and enjoyed it. We would recommend this property to anyone that has a big group, it is roomy enough for all and yet there are areas that provide private "getaways" for family groups. There is ample parking for multiple cars.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Retreat

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We all had a wonderful pre-Thanksgiving gathering. There was plenty of room for all 8 of us. The cabin is well-outfitted and clean. The property is beautiful and so peaceful. We did have a little trouble finding the turn-off as it is quite a way past the town of Pioneer, but it is well worth the drive! The gameroom was a real hit also.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Five couples enjoyed comfort and beauty

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

Thomas, our stay at your cabin was more than we expected. The location is just beautiful and the house had plenty of room for all ten of us for the extended weekend. It was late may but managed to get the whole range of weather, including rain, hail, snow and just the right touch of sun. We spent half the day on Sunday on the big porch enjoying the view and each other.

Thank you for getting back to us on each question and for following up with a phone call at the cabin, after I emailed a question. I suspect we will return on a regular basis.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Russ,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!! It nice to hear positive feed back and remarks. Hope to hear from you and your group again.

Thomas

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

HI THOMAS, I WANT TO THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR HELP, AND TELL YOU THAT WE SPENT 5 WONDERFUL DAYS, IN YOUR PRIVATE PIONEER CABIN, WE APRECIATED THE DEERS, WILD TURKEYS, QUAIL, AND ALL THE PINE TREES AROUND THE HOUSE, FOR SURE WE WILL COME BACK AGAIN, IN OUR NEXT VACATIONS.HAVE A WONDERFUL DAY!
MARIA

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

We had a great time at the house for a second year
in a row. Thanks for the great communication so
we knew exactly what to expect. Once again I'm
impressed at how well this house accommodates
three families without feeling crowded. Each family
gets their own separate floor and it's so nice to
have a group trip without sacrificing privacy. It also
helps when children are crying in the middle of the
night, you don't have to worry about waking the
other families.

The kids loved the game room, but they also just
loved running around the property and being
outdoors. We did a day trip to Silver Lake, and also
spent an afternoon at Indian Grinding Rock State
Park. Perfect local destinations.

We're all looking forward to coming again next year!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 17, 2008   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

We have stayed at this house in the last two winters. We really enjoyed our stay. The view and the surrounding ground are awesome! We will come back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: June 29, 2008   Date of arrival: June 29, 2008

We enjoyed are stay at this cabin during the summer. Quiet, serene and easy accessible. Grocery store within 10 minutes from cabin. Close to many lakes for fishing in the high sierras. I am sure we will stay there again in the future and I will recommend the cabin to friends and family.

Owners response: I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!! With the many improvements plan this summer I am sure you would enjoy my place even more during your next stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: February 24, 2008   Date of arrival: February 24, 2008

WE have rented the cabin a number of times and it is excellant. well stocked and can sleep alot of people.
The view is fantastic, the deer come down on to the property. It is close to alot of things to do from 4 wheeling on quads to playing in the snow.
WE will rent it again .

Owners response: I am so glad to hear such positive comments. We want everyone to enjoy the place as much as us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review