reviews for: listing #256839ha - Playa Prieta, Costa Rica rental

Breath taking views in every direction ~ Flamingo N.ridge-
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 315 - $ 714 / night
    $ 2,199 - $ 4,999 / week
    $ 6,000 / month
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

This was our first visit to Costa Rica and would highly recommend this house. We spent 3 night here on our 2 week vacation. Barbara was very nice to work with and answered all of my questions before arrival and Renee was great when we arrived in Costa Rica. Everything was very clean and just as the pictures show. The views were amazing! We spent our days on Flamingo Beach (a 10 min. walk) which was not very busy and had great lunches at Coco Loco (which is at the far end of the beach). One morning we saw a dolphin jumping in the ocean. Our afternoons were spent around the pool where our kids played for hours and we relaxed. The area is nice and quiet and we felt very safe.
Thank you Barbara for sharing your beautiful house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kelly, we are always happy to hear how much someone enjoyed our house. Hope if you come back to Costa Rica you would want to enjoy it again and again.
Barbara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Geat House, Spectacular Views

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

We had a great time at casa redonda. The location is excellent, 5 minutes walk to the beach but the views are spectacular....very few houses will allow you to view the Potrero Beach and Flamingo Beach from the balcony.

We are looking forward to rent this house again! The paperwork was easy and Julio the poolboy was amazing, very friendly and nice.

Thanks,

Hector

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous House and Views

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

I rented Casa Redonda for one month with friends coming for 10 days and my family of 9 others coming for the last two weeks. We all really enjoyed our stay in Costa Rica even though the weather was extremely hot, and the winds during the first week or so rather extreme. The pool was very welcome and my grandkids just loved it. Upon returning from trips out and about the first thing they did was jump in the pool. Everyone loved the house and the view was just spectacular. Renee and Julio were so helpful and I really appreciated their efforts. Julio's garden is just gorgeous. I highly recommend Brian for all your tours. He is without exception the best tour guide one could have. My family really enjoyed going to Tamarindo and renting surfboards and boogie boards there - the surf was awesome. I would highly recommend renting a car as most things are within driving distance. I would love to go back to Costa Rica, but earlier in the year when it is not so hot and windy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Casa ReDonda (round house). Hopefully one day you can return and again enjoy the views and gardens with Julio and Renee. They try to make all of our guest feel like they are at their home away from home. Thank you for your appreciation of our Casa. Barbara & the Gang

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Vacation Home!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We stayed at this amazing home for 1 week in March, 2012. The inside is absolutely beautiful, very spacious and very clean. We went with 2 other couples and it was nice to have the big open space so we felt like we were together but didn’t feel crowded. There are several areas to sit and enjoy the amazing views, from the living room, the kitchen, from the balcony or by the poolside.

There are several great restaurants close by, actually within walking distance. We chose to eat out most dinners except for a couple of nights when we decided to order in! A few short cab rides brought us to some other great restaurants in the area. We felt like we were centrally located so could go to other areas and attractions relatively easily and quickly.

We did a lot of walking around during our stay. Our only challenge was the walk up the roadway to the house as it goes uphill and then the driveway is a little steep. It wasn’t too bad in the cooler temps in the morning and in the evening, but in the full midday sun, it was a big of a struggle. It was well worth it though – just to get “home”, have a cool drink and enjoy the breathtaking views!

Barbara and Roy were very helpful right from the time we started inquiring about this home as it was our first experience renting a house and going to Costa Rica (as opposed to going to an all-inclusive resort). We have many fond memories of our stay at this house!

Owners response: It was our pleasure to help out in every way possible to make your visit the best vacation ever!! Thank you so much for sharing this information with others.
Barbara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Journey To Another World ~ Pura Vida ?

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

I write this review while sitting on the verandah with a delicious cup of Costa Rican coffee. There is a warm tropical breeze blowing the coconut trees and if I turn my head to the left I have a breathtaking view of the Marina and Potrero Bay. If I turn my head to the right I have a beautiful view of Flamingo Beach and the Pacific Ocean….Casa Redonda cannot be truly described in words but if I had to pick just one it would be panoramic.

My husband and I are here for three wonderful weeks to celebrate our 20th anniversary and my birthday. From the very start as I planned this trip I couldn’t have asked for a kinder person to work with. Barbara Paine is wonderful and helped me plan the perfect trip. She and her husband Roy even helped me get a guitar for the villa to surprise my husband.

We spent months dreaming about our visit and upon arrival realized that it was even better than we could have imagined. The house is absolutely beautiful and in such a unique location convenient to everything….beaches, fishing, scuba, shopping, restaurants etc. The pool and gardens are like something out of a magazine. The Gardner, Julio is a master. Every day we find something new and beautiful.

There is so much to see and do yet we find some of our favorite times have been right here at Casa Redonda. Cozy, comfortable with all the amenities you need to feel right at home. Quiet dinners on the verandah and sunset toasts have been magical. We have declared that “stopping life” and celebrating the sunset should be a law! Each sunset is unique and so amazingly beautiful it takes your breath away!

We can’t say enough about how special this home is and how special the owners are too! We were so fortunate to have our stay overlap during a week that they were also in town. Barbara and Roy are truly wonderful people and as much as we will treasure the time we’ve spent here we will also treasure our new friendship!

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We are enjoying every minute of it and have only one complaint…We don’t want it to end!!!!! I wish we could bottle the magic of this place and take it home with us but one thing for sure it will always be in our hearts AND we will be looking forward to coming back again and again!!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thanksgiving stay in Costa Rica

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

Great house with incredible views, great pool and beautiful gardens. Little difficult getting suitcases up the circular staircase but well worth the hassle. We really enjoyed our two week stay at the round house. Julio the gardener kept everything in top shape. He and Anna were very helpful. Nothing like coffee on the deck in the morning and cocktails in the evening enjoying the beautiful views. This house is a great value for the price.
Playa Flamingo is a beautiful beach and a great spot to spend the day. It is a short distance from the house.
We visited Lake Arenal, the volcano and hot springs. We went zip lining, scuba diving and visited other beaches.Our favorite beaches were Flamingo and Conchal.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: We are very Happy that you enjoyed your stay in our round house! Hope you will want to come again. Thank you for doing the review.
Barbara

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rental for Sept. 5 nights

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Hey Barbara, Just wanted to let u know that we had a great time at ur home in Flamingo. Great location and the home was excellent. Thanks again and maybe we can do it again! We loved Costa Rica!


James

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best deal in Flamingo

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Since our original trip in '08 we've been back two more times. I like to bounce around a little so I'm always looking at the different rentals available and this house really is the best deal. It works especially well if you are travelling with extended family or other couples. The house was recently remodeled so that was nice. There is also wifi, which was great. I'd watch the sun go down while swinging in the hammock and goofing around on my computer. How great is that? There are plenty of loungers and chairs around the pool, a little putting green and the grounds are beautiful. There are so many pluses to this vacation rental. We will stay there again on our next trip. I also think it would be a wonderful place to have a small wedding.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for returning to our Casa for 3 years in a row now. This has to say something for the place. Thanks Michelle for the compliment. We strive to make the house more like your "home" while you are there.
Barbara

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: February 11, 2008   Date of arrival: February 11, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in Jan (9 family members)and we all agreed that the view made the trip. It really is breathtaking. We all hope to go back within the next year.
They had 2 airbeds that a few people just set up in the living room and it worked out fine. Our own pool was very nice as well as being able to do laundry after a week. Also, using the bbq and kitchen helped on saving a little $ (plus we all wanted to enjoy the place as long as possible) I also recommend going to Mar Y Sol, which is right next to the house. Great sunset happy hour upstairs and a not having to drive back after is a good thing! You can also walk to other resturaunts and a small grocery store. This was the best price I found that would work for our group, we felt it was a bargain.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2005   Date of arrival: September 11, 2005

There were 3 couples of us staying here in March '05. Our adult son stayed one night with no extra charge! Barbara (the owner), and the Management company were all very helpful. It was wonderful having a maid service and the gardner even washed our rental car! The house was equipped with everything we needed and then some including washer & dryer and laundry soap. We have the same type rental house in San Diego, CA. and expect the same high standards that we maintain. We were not disappointed. We recommend this house to anyone who is looking for something "above the rest"!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2005   Date of arrival: March 16, 2005

Wow! My wife & I traveled to Costa Rica with our three children and stayed at this fantastic house. Very roomy and very nice. The views are awesome postcard type views in every direction. Unforgettable!!!! I highly recommend staying at the Casa Redonda to everyone. Lots to do and see in and around the Flamingo area. The people of Costa Rica are very nice and friendly. The owners of the house live in the US and are very helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2005   Date of arrival: March 11, 2005

David has been to Costa Rica 6 times in the past 10 years. This property is one of the most beautiful that we have seen. The view is unsurpassed. You can view both the sunrise and sunset from the second story patio. The staff was friendly and most accomodating. The property manager was very helpful in recommending restaurants, fishing and other activities. I would highly recommend this property for the first time or veteran traveler to Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 22, 2004   Date of arrival: September 22, 2004

I visited this property in July of 2002 and I had a wonderful time and the property is just gorgeous. You have a wonderful panoramic view from the patio and all of the windows give the property so much light and allows the tropical breeze to flow through. There were all sorts of activities that we engaged in like the canopy tour, riding 4 wheelers through the jungle, shopping, scuba diving, etc. The marina is right down the street and there are outfitters that can take you deep sea fishing, diving, snorkeling, etc. This was one of my best vacations ever. I would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2004   Date of arrival: August 23, 2004

WE HAVE OWNED THIS HOUSE APPROX. 2 1/2 YEARS. THIS IS THE BEST VACATION SPOT IN THE WORLD AS FAR AS THE RELAXATION AND VIEW YOU HAVE FROM THIS HOUSE. WE HAVE BEEN TO EUROPE, CANADA, ALASKA, HAWAII AND MANY CARRIBEAN ISLANDS BUT THIS IS TOPS! FEEL FREE TO ASK ANY QUESTIONS ON E-MAIL ABOUT THE HOUSE OR LOCATION. WE WILL BE HAPPY TO ANSWER PROMPTLY.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review