reviews for: listing #25684 - Aptos, California House rental

Casa de Las Palmas
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Rio del Mar
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,050 - $1,550 /wk
    $2,150 - $3,100 /mth

sort by:

Excellent house, Excellent location!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

This is our second stay at Casa De Las Palmas. The home was (again!) completely charming with all of Palm tree decorations and little touches throughout that make a vacation rental feel more like home. To start, the house is kept up and was immaculate and smelled great when we arrived. We enjoyed all of the modern amenities - hard wood floors throughout, fresh paint, modern appliances and plumbing fixtures. TV's with Direct TV and DVD/VHS players were in the living room and main bedrooms downstairs and there was a small, but nice collection of DVDs and VHS tapes available to play. The kitchen is fully equipped with granite counter tops, and has a flat top range and oven. All appliances worked fine, although we didn't use the coffee pot as we preferred to use the French press that we brought with us. The upstairs deck became our 'al fresco' dining room for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The chairs were large and comfortable enough to spend hours reading or doing puzzles. We could see the ocean from the deck. The retractable awning is a wonderful bonus as we were able to have shade or full sun when we wanted it. My kids and I especially enjoyed being able to walk to the beach, every day, twice a day. Usually, going to the beach means packing a car, circling a lot, paying parking fee and lugging all kinds of paraphernalia. Here, we simply grabbed our towels and boogie board, locked the front door, and walked three short blocks. When we wanted to go home, we were there in minutes (and that is timed with a slow walking speed, maybe with a stop at Pixie Deli for gelato.) I enjoyed using the outside shower that had both HOT and COLD running water and a hand-held shower head. We kept a small bottle of shower gel nearby so the sand was really washed off and we didn't have to 'make do' with the cold public showers.

Was there anything bad about Casa De Las Palmas? The heaters (gas wall heaters) worried my 19 year old daughter at first, but once I explained how they worked, she was fine. The heaters in the house are modern - but just an older type of heating system (much like radiators were, pre-central heat and air) - and perfect for the layout of this charming home. The house is on the main road, so there is traffic during the day, but you can hear the ocean at night.

We like to think this is our home away from home. As such, we loved being there, building happy memories and enjoying the ocean and salt air. We hope to be back again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beware of this rental

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

I had booked stay at this rental with the owner Gerri. It turns out there was a change with management during my reservation from Gerri to her daughter Kathy. When i arrived there was there was no one there to sign paper work with me because the woman was busy at a party, so we planned to meet at her house nearby the next morning, then changed the plan once more to meet at this listing in the morning. No big deal, but i noticed on the rental contract that the dates were longer than I booked, but we just changed them. I thought the place was nice and had all the amenities I could ask for. There was a problem with the coffee pot but i did not think is was a big deal and picked another one up. Over the next 5 days I received texts and emails about Kathy wanting to change the length of my stay and my rate. We ended up getting to the bottom of it by realized there was a miscommunication on their part about my reservation dates after sending them a screenshot of my original message to Gerri and told her to check Gerri's phone to verify. So they had been bothering me for 5 days because they were upset at me for changing my dates upon arrival when it turned out I had not. I was relieved and hoped she would say sorry and we would be done with it, but no apology! I ended up accidentally leaving the coffee pot there. Boy I have explained the description of my coffee pot twice now per her request and Im still not sure If I'm going to get it back. They also still have my deposit that I will keep posted about. The maintenance man came by one day and was shocked to see me surprised by his visit. When i explained to him that no one had told me about him coming over he gave me the first apology of my stay and said that the new management is going to run the owners rentals to the ground the way she was been dealing with customers. He said he would talk to her and I hope he does. Talk about a headache on vacation, i really hope the owner picks a real management company instead of a family member.

Owners response: We did have a communication problem with Desiree. She rented this house from my mother for a couple of months. Three weeks after leaving she called (after my mother had taken ill) and rented a different house. It was a last minute rental and she was not specific on the dates that she wanted to stay. She checked into the house on Jan. 5th, but we were not able to meet her at the time she was arriving due to a prior engagement. We gave her the key code and agreed that we would sign papers in the morning. I found out the morning after she checked in that we both had different expectations. We agreed to her stay at a pro-rated rate that she set. Later, when she wanted to extend her stay, we were unable to agree on an extended stay rate. That's when she became frustrated.

With regards to the coffee maker she left at the house three weeks prior to this stay, she gave us a description of a silver and black coffee maker. I asked her three times for the brand to make sure that I returned the correct coffee maker, since they were both silver and black. I offered to leave it at the back porch so I did not disturb her privacy. She sent me a text back informing me that I need to give her 24 hours notice it's the law. So I text her the next time I am in Santa Cruz I will give her 24 hours notice which I did and now she has her coffee maker.

It was unfortunate that the Aquarium passes were missing from the rental. We hope that she mistakenly took them with her and will return them because the only people that are affected are the next vacationers.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Wonderful vacation at tis property

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation at this property. The home is very well furnished and comfortable, very clean. We had no problems with anything in the house and were very pleased with the outside deck and retractable awning. Having the tickets to the Monterey Bay Aquarium proved a nice advantage. We are hoping to return next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Do Not Rent this Listing

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

This rental was rented for a family vacation, however, it turned out to be more of a nightmare. The home is in a poor state of repair and unclean at best. Within 1 day of our vacation, we noted plumbing issues and issues with the heaters (namely the fire alarms were set off by the heat which rendered them inoperable and there was a faint natural gas odor). Th owner was notified right away. A repair person was sent to the home the next day and "fixed" the problems. The following day, the washer flooded and ruined an entire suitcase of clothes and the walls. Again, the owner was immediately notified and the issue remained unaddressed for another day. The same evening as the washer overflowing, there was a gas leak in the home in the chidren's bedroom! Again, the owner was notified immediately. Her response was to "just open the windows" becuase "gas isn't dangerous". In good faith, the owner was given 24 hours to fix the gas leak and plumbing problems. When the repairs were not made we vacated the property mid-vacation. Do not rent this home. Home is in need of major repairs, including gas lines, and is not safe.

Owners response: No one wants to have problems on vacation and it is unfortunate that they had a perfect storm of maintenance problems with the house. The prior renters had not noticed any maintenance problems with the house. When a problem was mentioned to the owner, a maintenance man was sent to the house to repair it. For them to imply that the owner did not take any of the repair problems seriously is dishonest and spiteful. Our repair man turned off the gas until he could make the repair. It is clear that they were frustrated with the house and our repair man even commented on how rude they were to him. The owner worked with them regarding whether they wanted to find another place or to extend their stay once problems got fixed. They elected to stay and ended up staying 5 of the 7 nights of the contract. The owner recognized that they were inconvenienced and paid them fair compensation for their inconvenience. We happen to love this beach, this house and enjoy sharing it with people who want to stay in this type of accommodation.

Gerrie Ritchie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

graduation wekend

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

We would definately stay here again,it's well decorated had everything we needed. Great deck with retactable awning when you've had enough sun and still want to be outside.Short walk to nice beach with fire pits and good walking path along beach. Pixie's restaurant 2 blks away had a good menu. Von's and rite aid a short distance away. A little noisy durning the day but nice and quite at night. 15 minute drive to Santa Cruz and 1/2 hr to Monterey.
Great place to stay

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review