reviews for: listing #257098vb - Playa Hermosa (Guanacaste), Costa Rica rental

Spectacular Ocean View Villa Walk to the Beach!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • sleeps  12
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Family Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

Hi Gina-

I feel remiss that I have not contacted you to tell you what a wonderful time we had in Costa Rica in November. Your condo was amazingly comfortable and accommodated our group perfectly. We loved the club and enjoyed the beach and a river cruise. Thanksgiving day our daughter took us to a wonderful French restaurant where they served an American Thanksgiving dinner, but with panache! I can’t say enough about the staff down there and how responsive they were when we had our plumbing issue. They fixed everything promptly and the remainder of our stay could not have been more enjoyable and relaxing.

Thanks again for you Hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 13, 2014

Hi Gina: I wanted to thank you for allowing us to use your Villa. It was so spacious and afforded us privacy-nice having private baths, view was amazing, tours excellent, kids really loved the Club with waterslide/ beautiful place. Pops was so helpful and friendly. Our busy schedules didn't allow us any time to see new development my-hubby loves the weather and climate.
Mrs. K

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, Clean Condo, Loved the nearby beach

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We stayed with 8 people here and really loved it. being June it was the transition between peak season and the rainy season so teh weather was beautiful (with only a few showers) and we had just about every place in the neighborhood to ourselves. Father Roosters at the bottom of the hill was an excellent go to restaurant and we really loved to hang out at the private beach club next to the beach which was a simple infinity pool with a covered area with tales and couches. They had paddle boards there that they let us use.

Steps to the beach means that it is a short walk down the hill to the ocean which is where the restaurant and infinity pool is. And easy walk but far enough tat you can't simply run back and forth between the condo and the beach to grab a snack or towel or drink. You would probably want to bring everything with you. Also in respect to proximity to things it was a short drive inland and then back to the next beach. It only took us 30 minutes to get here from the airport.

The condo was clean and the hot water and AC worked excellently. We had maid service half way through our one week stay which was great and the deck was large enough for all of us to sit on and enjoy the views. I think I speak for everyone when I say we loved this place. For the sake of people reading this to shop for a vacation rental, I'll list a few downsides. One is that the condo was a little short on laundry detergent and I would have like the jacuzzi water to have been warmer.

Other than that I would highly recommend this condo to a group that is looking to have the vacation of a lifetime. It's clean, comfortable, safe and easy to get to. It's truly Pura Vida,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pura Vida at Villa Las Olas

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

Word description of our 10 day trip to Costa Rica- AWESOME! This complete review is too lengthy to include everything so it will be split into 2 parts. Part 1 under vacation rentals will focus on Gina Correll's "Villa Las Olas" plus some of the restaurants and attractions around Playa Ocotal & Playa del Coco. It will also note some of the planning issues for a group of 15 people. Part 2 under things to do, covers several excellent tours with Ranal Umana's Shaman Tours as well as comments about transfers from the airport.

To start, the owner, Gina Correll was easy to deal with and very responsive to numerous questions that were emailed to her ranging from safety to renting a car or not, shat sights to see, and travel time to various locations to a question about drinking water from the tap (yes you can).

Location- Villa Las Olas in Playa Ocotal is about 30 minutes from the airport. Situated on the lower part of a cove overlooking the ocean, surrounded by million dollar homes sprinkled into the hillside. The condo is about 2 blocks from the ocean and about 1 1/2 blocks from Father Roosters. Playas del Coco is an adjoining town with about 6,500 inhabitants. It is about 1.5 distance although due to slow speeds it tends to seem farther. A taxi will charge you about $5 for a cab that carries 4 persons. There are a couple of micro bus taxis that hold 5-7 people- one named Oscar was very pleasant who charges about $8.
Appearance- The villa/condo is al that the pictures portray and more. Accessing the condo you enter a neighborhood street that has a 24 hour security guard, then the condo sits behind a large metal gate which requires a code to enter. After climbing several steep stairs, you enter into the lower level which consists of 4 bedrooms -with another bedroom upstairs for a total of 5 bedrooms. There is a spacious open kitchen, a family rooms, as well as a great covered patio with a large hot tub which is not heated yet the water is bearable and the views are magnificent.
Amenities- Villa Las Olas is well appointed with stainless steel appliances, a microwave, dishwasher, a blender, a coffee maker, granite counter tops and a washer and dryer. And there is a nice pool just steps from the front door. Plus there is a delightful maid, Rosa who visits a couple of times a week to clean, empty trash and wash sheets & towels. And after experiencing very hard beds during trips to Mexico, these beds were a very pleasant surprise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Marvelous accommodations in Costa Rica

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

My 10-day stay in Costa Rica with friends was delightful due to the marvelous accommodations at this condo. The living areas were clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cookware. The room layout worked well for the eight of us vacationing there with the number of bathrooms and bedrooms. The porch and pool adjacent to the condo provided nice social gathering areas. A fun restaurant with good food and within short walking distance gave us a welcome choice for dinner after a long day at the nearby beach. We would book this unit again as well as recommend it to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation at this condo with friends

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

I had an incredible winter vacation at this condo this past Jan.-Feb. with friends. The condo accommodated us in grand fashion and we were most comfortable. The view was outstanding, and we were within walking distance to a great restaurant. The kitchen was well-equipped with every thing we needed, and the sleeping quarters were especially good. The furniture was comfortable and we never lacked for a thing. The condo was well-maintained and safe and I would recommend this property to a friend or relative with no qualms whatsoever. This condo was one of the major reasons my vacation in Costa Rica will always be memorable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Eva Texas

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

This is a GREAT condo with the best setting!! Loved the howler monkeys, sparking clean pool, beautiful walk along beach to several restaurants and gentle bay water for snorkel. Amazing bedrooms, large and so clean. Very safe and comfortable. Our week in March ended way too quickly. Still had many things on our list to do!!!! Will be returning ASAP! Car rental at airport was easy and inexpensive. Quick and easy return for our early morning flight! Have traveled all over the world and Costa Rica is a great place to kick back and relax or tour the coffee plantations, or play tennis. Everything is there, it is up to you and this condo is in the best location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful condo!

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay in this spacious condo. The cool morning breezes and magnificent view from the balcony while enjoying a cup of coffee were delightful. The layout is such that the bedrooms are on a different floor than the kitchen/living area, thereby allowing a quiet area for sleeping. Access to the condo pool was convenient, as it was just down the steps from the front door. The fact that the condo is in a gated community provides additional security. The condo location was great, requiring only a 3 minute walk to reach the Beach Club (with its own pool and bar area), the beach itself, and Father Rooster's Restaurant (good food, good view, friendly staff). I would highly recommend this condo to my family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Valderee

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

Have just returned from another wonderful stay at this beautiful spacious condo. Had 6 friends with us from North Carolina and they were all most impressed with everything about this property - the location, cleanliness and the fact that guests now have access to a beautiful beach club 3 minutes walk away. The beach club is just behind the famous Father Roster Restaurant. You can either order from the restaurant and have it delivered (or walk the hundred yards or so to have a delicious meal on the beach). Ir truly is a little bit of heaven to be able to stay in Ocotal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Propertry 2570958

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

I have just returned from a 10-day stay in this condo in Ocotal, and I was extremely pleased. The condo overlooked one of the best views of the ocean, beautiful landscape, and great views of the sunset. I would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting/needing luxury, spacious accommodations, and all the conveniences of home. Also, having access to a very private pool, and clubhouse was another plus. I took advantage of many of the activities that very available through this rental whenever I felt the need to leave the rocking chair on my patio.
The condo was clean with all the necessities needed in the kitchen, bathrooms, and for doing your laundry right in the condo.
This will not be my only trip to this condo in Ocotal! It is definitely a thumbs up!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unspoiled Paradise!

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

Words and pictures can not do this unspoiled paradise justice. The condo is like an oasis with all of the amenities that a resort can offer and there is a work out facility you can join during your stay that is within walking distance. From your balcony you look down on large flocks of parakeets flying through the orange blossom covered trees. We walked 2 or 3 miles every day through the surrounding mountains. The views of the bay and ocean were breathtaking! We explored the rocky sides of the beach and snorkled and swam in the bay. We got to know where the troop of howler monkeys and big iguanas hung out. Playa del Coco is only a couple of miles away and it has a shopping center and two really large nice grocery stores. It also has a lot of tourist stalls/shops that were fun to poke around in. An overnight trip to Tabicon Hot Springs Resort, Arenal volcano at night, and the Sky Tram zip line, was fantastic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely splendid!

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

The description of this wonderful condo is "spot on". What a wonderful place to staywith out friends for their first visit to Costa Rica. It is beautifully furnished, immaculate and has all the comforts of home. The huge kitchen is a joy to cook in(if you have to cook on vacation) and is extremely well equipped. Take a 2 minute walk to the beach and you will find Father Roster's restaurant, which serves up great fresh seafood, and is a wonderful place for lunch or dinner - and especially to watch the magnificent sunsets. Two other restaurants are also close by. The owners (American) live in Costa Rica so are available to answer any questions. I cannot recommend this lovely condo too highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review