reviews for: listing #25734 - Woodland Park, Colorado House rental

Superb Three Acre Mountain View Home for Reunions/Families
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Ridgewood
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $1,495 /nt
    $995 - $1,495 /wk

sort by:

Woodland Park Retreat Vacation

Review submitted: November 1, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Our family stayed in Mid-October, 2007 and found the retreat a most inspiring experience. On our first night, we had a small snow shower, which looked incredibly beautiful on the trees, etc. The jacuzzi on the deck was a family favorite; nice and hot, with picturesque views. The house was incredible, especially the kitchen, with all its wares. We fixed some very appetizing meals while at the retreat. My children just loved the loft and the playroom downstairs. All in all, our time at the retreat was more than we could have imagined and we can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great for All Ages!

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Our party of 8 included ages 5 months up to grandparents. We LOVED our stay in your beautiful cabin. We saw the varied local sights during the day, In the evenings, we enjoyed the hot tub and spent time on the deck breathing in the fresh, pure air!! We saw deer nearly every time we went out, and the boys even found a buck antler in the woods!

We were so pleased with the hospitality of the owner and the property manager, and we were also THRILLED with the kid-friendliness of the cabin! The swingset/playset was completely unexpected and much appreciated! Also heavily used were the books, kids table and chairs, pak-n-play, the kids card games, and the toy guns that we discovered in the closet:). Everyone in our group loved staying at "the cabin". Thank you for facilitating the perfect family vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Retreat

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

What an amazing retreat! A get away from everything in a serene and relaxing place! The Woodland Park Retreat was just as promised on the web-site... quiet, spacious, very clean and fully stocked with everything we needed for our weekend. There is a comprehensive binder telling you all about the operation of the retreat house as well as everything in the area that was really helpful. As we walked through the quiet neighborhood/area, neighbors greeted us and were friendly too.The Retreat House was close enough to Woodland Park to get any last minute things you might want. We definitely want to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Getaway in Beautiful Setting

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at this home in August of 2011 and had a fantastic experience. It is remote enough that we felt the serenity of nature, but the house also had all of the modern comforts and amenities one might hope for. The house was very clean and well maintained. There was plenty of space and we regularly encountered deer and other friendly wildlife near the house. We would definitely recommend this place highly. Very good for groups and comfortably accommodates at least 8.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy retreat!!

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time at this woodland park retreat! The home was very well cared for, clean, and had all the comforts of home. The owner was very helpful with any questions we had. The hammock and hot tub were a huge bonus! Don't forget to buy a little bird food for the sweet bird box on the porch, we had a great time watching the nuthatches, stellar jays and chickadees.
Please visit hungry bear in woodland park for the best breakfast in town, if your not making it yourself at this well stocked, amazing retreat.
Hope to be back soon!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to stay Woodland Park Retreat

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

The property was perfect for our stay! Everything was clean and well maintained upon our arrival.The information/welcome booklet gave clear instructions on things that one might need to know while staying at the retreat.

We had a very busy weekend and unfortunately didn't have time to do sightseeing or tourist attractions.

I would definitely recommend the property to friends and relatives, and most certainly would stay again if the opportunity should arise to need a home away from home in that area again. It was fantastic!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls get away

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time and the cabin was lovely.
We questioned the 4th bedroom locked when the listing was for 4 bedrooms and loft.
We did not know what to do with the trash and did not want to leave it outside with animals.
The amenities were all there and more, the property very clean and well maintained.
We love the walk around the lake and the nature and animals (deer) around the house.
I would recommend this place, very nice and cozy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We appreciate feedback and strive to make Woodland Park Retreat the best home away from home possible. Although the loft is a room with beds, we have better clarified this under VRBO's 'Amenities' section. For trash disposal, there is a large garbage bin outside that is secured to prevent animal access. We will check with our property managers to inquire why the bin was not available for your use. Thank you for your review, and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

woodland park retreat

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

Our stay was wonderful a quiet place to stay while in town for our sons wedding . Extended family came to stay plenty of space . My grandaugther really enjoyed having the swing set. The hot tub got used daily as did the message bed . Wildlife came everyday we even had a red fox come visit very clos to the house we could hear coyotes singing everyday which might freak osome people but they werent all that close the only problem was the drive way might want to let future renters know its long an a bit bumpy they might want 4 wheel drive or all wheel drive rental vehicles

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful relaxing place

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

We had a great time at the retreat. It was very clean, quiet, and well stocked, and the views were fantastic. The hot tub was awesome, and the grill worked perfectly too. House was not too far from shopping, and only about 45 minutes from Colorado Springs. We would definitely come back to this place if we ever get a chance to visit Colorado again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous spacious house!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

Kitchen is well stocked. Lots of room. Love the long driveway-adds more privacy! Kids loved the loft and the playscape. Feels secluded yet close enough to town. Would definitely consider staying there again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfy, Cozy Retreat - Great Getaway!

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 22, 2013

Comfortable, roomy stay in the beautiful mountains of Colorado. Enjoyed by my family from age 2 to 85!!!
The kitchen well stocked for cooking, baking, serving. Adequate seating inside as well as outside on the deck for a bar-b-q. Hammock and hot tub a bonus!!
Home well kept and clean. Anything you need for a "home" away from home!!
Was not disappointed at all and looking forward to a return visit- saw deer everyday, got one night of snow and was picturesque- great place for R&R , family gathering or to experience Colorado and sightsee.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

retreat

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

I spent the weekend with a group of girlfriends here. It is a lovely property tucked back in the woods in a quiet subdivision with a good supply for cooking and enjoying ourselves. We had fun making use of the massage bed and hot tub. I do wish that there were information of areas to hike/walk in the neighborhood. We found a forest service road that was a beautiful walk.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Mom, Dad, brother, niece & myself vacationed at Woodland Park

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

On the day we arrived 8 deer crossed the road in front of us. It was snowing & very beautiful
The next morning we were building a snowman and about 12 deer came up pretty close to us.
Later in the day about 25 turkeys came up close to the house.
Beds were very comfortable, washer & dryer looked new & worked great. Top notch kitchen appliances
With everything you need to cook with. We absolutely loved the house & will return sometime. My 9 yr old niece was the first to say we must come back here. Again, loved Woodland Park

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful retreat in the mountains

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

This home is set in a beautiful setting. Everything was perfect. We used the hot tub on the deck which was very clean. Several people used the massage bed. The refrigerator talks to you. both the living room and basement have fireplaces which made the whole house very romantic. We had our small group retreat there this past weekend. The home was very comfortable for all four couples. I would definitely recommend this property if you want a wonderful time away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mike M

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We stayed at the beautiful Woodland park Retreat Dec 28 thru Jan 1st 2013 I could not have imagined how unique and wonderfull the home in the woods would be the unit was wonderful CLEAN- and WELL SITUATED IN THE PINE FOREST-COMFORTABLE-THE MOST RELAXING TIME MY FAMILY HAS HAD FOR MONTHS. Just when I saw it all we woke every mornimg to see wild turkeys (9) and Deere (4) in our back yard.
It was GREAT look forward to returning!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Trip

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

Our vacation to Colorado was totally enjoyable. The Woodland Park Retreat was more than advertised. There was nothing we wished we had had. Saying the kitchen was furnished is understating what we found. It was great. The hot tub was very enjoyable as well. We had hoped to see lions and bears (while inside of course), but they decided not to come out. As we turned onto the road leading up to the retreat, there were a couple of deer. They were cautious, but still grazed. The pictures we got were unforgettable. Thanks for making the vacation such a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic Getaway!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

My husband and I were there from Monday through Wednesday on our own and enjoyed the peace and quiet, the hot tub, massage bed and of course the beautiful, tranquil scenery. Then our kids and their families joined us Thursday through Sunday.
The house was spacious, everyone had their own bed, bath and space... It was simply perfect! It was within driving distance of all the sight seeing places we wanted to go, and the town of Woodland Park is close and has all shopping places you'd need. However, the kitchen was stocked with just about anything you'd need - including spices, coffee filters, trash bags - everything!
There is so much to see and do while there. We rode the Cog Railway up to the top of Pikes Peak, visited Garden of the Gods, shopped in Manitou Springs, toured Cave of the Winds, the Cliff Dwellings, and Seven Falls.
If you're looking for tranquility, beautiful scenery, and a place you can relax and call "home" for a week... you will LOVE Woodland Park Retreat. It is reasonably priced for all the amenities that come with the property! We plan to return!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Family vacation for a week

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We decided for a Christmas gift this year for our 3 adult kids and their significant others, that we'd rent a cabin in the mountains for a week's vacation together. Your Woodland Park Retreat was everything we hoped for! It was spacious enough for all of us and with plenty of bathrooms for everyone! We made all of our meals there, so the dishwasher really got a work out (I do not have one but now I want one! Hee hee!) We spent the majority of the time on the spacious deck enjoying the peace and quiet that the mountains bring. The first day out there, my husband and I got to experience the dusting of snow which was forecasted...but it turned out to be 11 inches! It was beautiful tho and only stuck around for a couple days. Cassie was very prompt and helpful at any questions we had when we were inquiring about her place. Charlie and Sue, the caretakers, were also very helpful and we enjoyed meeting Charlie when he came to scoop the snow! The property was very clean and well maintained. We spent a day and went to Garden of the Gods and up Pike's Peak which was just a short distance away from the cabin. We also took a drive thru Decker to Pine Junction which is a beautiful drive. We do suggest 4 wheel drive for the lane getting to the cabin...especially when there is snow on the ground! Also there are quite a few steps so if someone can't do steps...this wouldn't be for them. Thanks again, Cassie for sharing your Woodland Park Retreat with us and our family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tucked away!

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Our family of 9 enjoyed the quiet tucked away large home. Every one had a place to get away whether it was inside with the many available bedrooms and large open den or out on the porch. Younger famliy members were happiest in the "kids cabin" or the woods. We were visiting our son for parents weekend at the USAF Academy so this was a perfect escape. It was a bit of a drive to the Academy, however, once we landed back at the house after the football game we were glad to be away from the freeways and noise. My personal favorite memory was lingering over my morning coffee delighted by the thirsty humming birds just outside the window!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unbelievable

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We stayed in August 2011for nine days and this place is amazing. No detail forgotten. Beautiful home with lots of property and wildlife. VERY clean and the hot tub and massage bed is great after a day of exploring. I could go on and on about this property but do yourself a favor and book it. We have been to the area many times and this is the only place we will be staying from now on.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Woodland Park Retreat

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This wonderful home worked perfectly for our family of 7. It is very well maintained and was exactly as represented in the description and photos. It is far enough out if you enjoy your privacy and quiet, but still close enough for an easy drive to all the Pikes Peak area attractions. The drive out from Woodland Park is just beautiful. The remodeled kitchen is very well stocked and the grill out on the deck is new, large and of good quality. We enjoyed the view from the deck, especially the sunsets behind the mountains. There was a hummingbird feeder that was frequently visited by 1-2 little guys. We also enjoyed the visits by at least 3 does; one with a fawn and the other with twins. Another spent a whole morning sunning herself by the driveway. The hot tub was great and we enjoyed some quality family time putting together the puzzles and playing with the cards that were supplied for us.
Cassie was very helpful and friendly and responded promptly to all communications. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kansas City and Virginia Beach Family

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We are home after the most amazing 2-week Colorado vacation in this beautiful home. This property is perfect for 8 adults; giving everyone room to join together for meals and fun, while providing enough space for each person to be on their own when wanted. The house is beautiful. with everything plus more than was described in the listing. It was very clean and well furnished and the kitchen was well stocked with the basics. We did a lot of "home cooking" and the kitchen was great to work in.

Cassie was wonderful to work with during the time we were making arrangements for the trip and Charlie and Susan were great to answer questions during our stay. The deer came every day and even lay down at the foot of rhe stairs on hot days. Woodland Park is a very charming town -- don't miss the incredible donuts at the Donut Mill. The house is located close to so many activities and attractions (Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, hiking trails, etc). It was also centrally located to Estes Park and Royal Gorge and we found it the perfect place to come home to again. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a large home with great accommodations in a centrally-located area. Thank you for helping to make our Colorado vacation so comfortable and memorable!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We loved the Woodland Park Retreat

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Our family of 8 fit perfectly in this home, and we loved both the home itself and the Woodland Park location. The kitchen was well supplied, the home was comfortably furnished, and there was plenty of room for all of us. It was centrally located, offered picturesque views, and even the deer were accommodating. The property is well maintained, and both the owner and property manager are friendly and responsive. We spent two weeks there and loved every bit of it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved the Woodland Park Retreat

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Our family of 8 fit perfectly in this home, and we loved both the home itself and the Woodland Park location. The kitchen was well supplied, the home was comfortably furnished, and there was plenty of room for all of us. It was centrally located, offered picturesque views, and even the deer were accommodating. The property is well maintained, and both the owner and property manager are friendly and responsive. We spent two weeks there and loved every bit of it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation stay!

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Our family of 7 adults and 3 children all stayed in this house and fit perfectly. The house had everything we could need and was well cared for/maintained. The only trouble we had with the house came with the upstairs bathrooms. Only one shower upstairs-other full bath has only a bathtub-and no locks. This made for some embarrassing moments and my in-laws had to go downstairs to shower rather than using their own attached bathroom:( Other than that little glitch it was amazing! We will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Woodland Park Retreat

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

We used to go to Gulf Shores, Alabama for spring break but we have found a new destination! This vacation rental was just awesome. There was plenty of room for us (7) and we didn't even use the entry level bedroom or bathroom.The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to cook with/eat on and linens were also provided.What a bonus the hot tub and massage bed was!This home is nicely decorated and clean. The view from the upper deck was beautiful ,especially the view of the mountains. Mule deer visited us a couple of times and one day they spent the whole afternoon observing us and visa versa! There are many things to do and see! The Garden of the Gods, Cave of the Winds, the Cliff Dwellings,Manitou Springs,Seven Falls, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo and the Air Force Academy are within an half hour to an hour's drive.The only downside to this retreat is that we had to leave!! We will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Woodland Park Retreat

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Our family really enjoyed our stay in Woodland Park. The house was comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. It was clean and tidy - great for kids. We found a Park around the corner from McDonald's by a school which was fun for adults as well as kids - big and little. We also enjoyed the dinosaur museum. I reccommend the Casino's house for family get aways. The kitchen was great and the table was a perfect size for large family gatherings. Personally I enjoyed a nice nap in the hammock. We played games and thouroughly enjoyed our time in Woodland Park. Jan Henry, Tucson, AZ

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved it!!

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We loved our stay at Woodland Retreat! My husband, two kids, mother-in-law and parents had a wonderful time at the house. We were greeted with a mama deer laying under the deck stairs! We got moved in and looked off the deck to see her baby run up to her! Deer visited everyday! The house is even better than the pictures reveal. Beautifully furnished, beds are very comfortable, kitchen is outfitted for just about anything. The house is surrounded by trees and nicely secluded. The view is great! Close enough to grocery and attractions. Couldn't ask for more!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

We loved the Woodland Park Retreat! The setting is quiet and peaceful. There was plenty of room for the whole family and we didn't feel cramped together. The updated kitchen was well equipped, and the hot tub was great after tiring day hikes. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway with things to do within an hours drive, this is the perfect place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location - very nice

Review submitted: August 26, 2009   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

The house is great for families and groups. The setting is perfect - close enough to Woodland Park to be convenient but still provides the woods and quiet of a forest. Kids love the tree house and large outdoor area...bike trails nearby and Colorado Springs attractions less than :30 away. This is the way to spend your Colorado vacation

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Vacation GET-A-WAY

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

The description did not do this property justice. This was a top notch home, extremely comfortable, plenty of room. This home was very clean and well maintained. Caretakers were very friendly and accomodating. We visited Pikes peak, Cliff Dwellings, Cave of the Winds, Horseback riding in the Garden of the Gods (outstanding), White Water Rafting in Buena Vista (Aquired Taste Rafting)- cheapest and best quality!!! We also visited Royal Gorge, and shopping in Manitou Springs (Navajo Souvenir Store) was the best around, biggest selection and resonable prices!!! This vacation was stress free, relaxing, and a wonderful way to get caught up on quality family time!! Woodland Park is a beautiful town (Above the Clouds). All necessity's close by, even a Wal-Mart!! This property is located in the Pike's Natural Forest, so you have privacy, quite and peacefulness. Hiking the area was a great adventure and watching the deer in the moring roaming the landscape was truly inspiring. Thank you for allowing us the opprotunity to stay in your beautiful home. Gormet Kitchen and appliances with stocked cabinets>>>>> AWESOME, i enjoy cooking, which we did and save a TON of money doing so>> was in HEAVEN!!!! The only complaint i have is that the sleeping limit is 8, but plenty of beds to sleep 10 comfortably. I would have liked to bring more of the family with us which we could not.
Thank you again for EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family wedding

Review submitted: May 31, 2009   Date of arrival: May 13, 2009

I booked this house for my (parents, cousins, siblings) for a family wedding. It had several bedrooms and bathrooms on different levels. We needed a place that everyone could go to and have their own space yet still be all together. It was a perfect home. The furnishings and ammenities were over the top. I would definately recommend this place to everyone.

The wildlife is great and the house is right next to the forest.

This locations requries a vehicle to get to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful time over Spring Break

Review submitted: April 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Woodland Park Retreat. The birds and wildlife we're so fun to watch and the kids enjoyed some great "pinecone baseball" games. We loved relaxing in the hot tub at night and would definitely recommend this home to all our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Woodland Park Retreat. The birds and wildlife we're so fun to watch and the kids enjoyed some great "pinecone baseball" games. We loved relaxing in the hot tub at night and would definitely recommend this home to all our friends and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Christmas Getaway

Review submitted: January 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

My family met at the Retreat from 3 different states, long drive but well worth every mile. We had 6 adults and 4 children and the sleeping arrangements were perfect! The loft upstairs had 2 twin beds and a queen bed as well. The kids took the loft and the 3 adult couples each got their own room for privacy. The house was beautiful and fully stocked. Everything you may need has been anticipated by the owners and provided for you. They even provided a christmas tree and decorations for our use! The snow covered the ground making everything picture perfect and very inviting for the children to go spend their days playing outside. There was a family of deer that paid us a visit everyday during our week long stay. We saw elk and what we think was a lynx or some type of bobcat on our last night there.

There are stores within 10-15 minutes drive (we made quite a few trips to the store for things we forgot so it was nice having it so close!) and we enjoyed the quaint town of Manitou Springs, it was lit up so beautifully at night with Christmas lights. We went sledding at Mueller State Park, drove to Cripple Creek. The kids (and adults, truth be told) loved the Dinosaur Museum in Woodland Park.

My family felt completely at home and so thoroughly enjoyed our stay that we will be back! If you choose to stay here you won't be disapointed!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for a relaxing getaway

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

Our family of 6 adults and 2 children spent last weekend enjoying the Woodland Park Retreat. We had plenty of room to spread out, and the description online was very accurate. The foodies in the group made great use of the well-stocked kitchen and the grill. The kids loved the sleds that were graciously provided. The dining table was plenty large and could have fit a couple more. We all had fun spotting the deer outside in the morning and checking out the mountain view through the trees. This place is meticulously and lovingly maintained. We all felt relaxed and rejuvenated after our stay and would highly recommend it for a great family getaway!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We just had an idyllic stay at the Woodland Park Retreat. 3 inches of fresh snow made it a winter wonderland! It is exactly as described, and I must agree with the prior comment that it is exactly as described. Our family of 6 adults and two small children had ample room to spread out, and the kids loved sledding. The adults enjoyed the tranquility, the deer outside in the morning, and the well-stocked kitchen. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 8, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We recently enjoyed the use of your home for our family vacation. Everyone's eyes just opened wide as they went inside and you could hear a collective "WOW" as they walked around and saw everything that was there. It was much more than we had anticipated. It is rare that things are better than advertised, or even just as good as advertised, but in this case it was everything and more. The kitchen was fully supplied with utensils and dishes, the upkeep was fantastic with everything recently stained, even the towels were better than any motel you could stay at. We had our three grown children and their families with us and there was room for everyone to spread out and not be on top of each other. And finally, you even had sleds to use. How thoughtful was that! Our damage deposit was returned within 7 days with no hassle at all. We'll be telling everyone we know about your home for vacation. Thank you for everything. We'll be back!!!
Steve Smith and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Our family wants to thank you for use of your fine home. We were able to go down to Colorado Springs and other nearby towns each day to see the sights
and then spend relaxing evenings as a family in your home. It is a beautiful and tranquil area. We will have no hesitation to recommend it to friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 22, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

The accomodations were first class and the scenery was spectacular. The location was perfect - not too far fram town but it seemed like you were way up in the mountains - great for our two grown sons who love to flyfish - every morning they fished the South Platt River near Deckers (only about 15 minutes from the retreat). Our 4 year old grandson thought it was really cool being in the mountains and going on an "adventure". All in all, it was a wonderful experience and we'll definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 31, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Very much a 1st class home. The privacy was great, the accomodations very comfortable. 3 full bathrooms and 3 private bedrooms with an additional loft that had 2 T and 1 D bed made for a week where 6 people could have their own space. Washer/ dryer conveniently located on the main floor. Kitchen very spacious and had everything we needed and then some! We played in the snow with the sleds and had a ball. We played board games every nite and watched a DVD movie every nite also. Both are provided. We all had massages on the professional massage bed. All in all, this was the BEST home we've ever rented. We will definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 28, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home. We were there in Feb 2008. The house was absolutely wonderful. We loved the hot tub and the massage bed. We had about 3 inches of snow while we were there and it was beautiful. The house has everything you need and more. We will definitely be back. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 25, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

First of all, I just wanted to thank you for opening your beautiful home to us. We had a wonderful stay and experienced Colorado and the mountains like never before. The snow fell and blanketed the area with a white layer of beauty and majesty. We have been to Colorado many times, but have never gotten to see it with snow (except on the mountain tops of course) – so it was a dream come true. Our family enjoyed meals together without the hustle and bustle of a restaurant. We hiked and explored during the day and came in for wonderful family evenings together. We enjoyed football on the flat screen TV and just had a wonderful time of rest and refreshing. We also enjoyed meeting Charlie and Susan – they are wonderful, sweet people. You are very blessed to have them as caretakers.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fabulous Place to Stay

Review submitted: January 7, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We spent New Year's week at this wonderful home. Easy to get to, comfortable to be in, and beautiful to look at--inside and out. Everything was perfect--hot tub was warm and waiting for us, the massage table was a fabulous way to relieve stress, and the furniture--tables, sofas, beds, etc.--were all soooo comfortable. The pictures were enticing, but they don't do it justice. The wildlife and light snow added to the magic. Don't hesitate, this is a great place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 4, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We just spent Christmas week of 2007 at the retreat and it was absolutely wonderful (white! white! white!) We had lots of snow for the kids to play in right there on the property. The retreat was really comfortable and the kitchen was missing absolutely nothing. My kids really enjoyed the game room downstairs. I am really hoping to go back in the summer time and enjoy all the water activities available in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Mtn View 4-bedroom home

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

It was a fabulous vacation home - well-maintained, clean and wonderful views.
The owners were accessible and prompt when needing a reply.
I highly recommend this rental property. It adds to the enjoyment of visiting Colorado.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Woodland Park

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

A little hard to get to but well worth the effort. Up in the woods all by yourself, except for the bear. Ha, he did wake us u one morning but made for a great story. The home is well furnished, kitchn has everything. If you are looking for a great vacation place, wth a lot of peace and quite, then ths is the one. We put this at the top of the list of all the places we have stayed.

The home keepers are exceptional, clean as you could ever want. Try this one, you wont be dissappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 6, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

From the 10th to 17th of Nov. 07, we totally enjoyed our visit to your wonderful retreat. The house was great and
the views were spectacular, also the quietness was unreal. We wanted to see more snow so next time we should visit after Christmas. We did not use the hot tub because it was outside and too cold for South Georgia people to walk upstairs after getting out of the tub, but it looked very nice. We loved the kitchen and the furniture was very comfortable, wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 24, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving here ! Beautiful and tranquil, with a couple of inches of snow - plenty for fun, but not so much as to be inconvenient.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 9, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We had a great time. The house is in a fantastic location and is a very nice property, well cared for.
Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 30, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We had a great time! We only stayed a few days, but we wish we had stayed longer so we could relax at the retreat more!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Would definitely go back!

Review submitted: March 30, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

We took a family of 6 (2 older 21 year old kids who loved their privacy downstairs and 2 12 year old boys who loved the loft) and had a great time just staying home. The boys had sledding trails right outside the door! The older kids enjoyed long romantic walks admiring wildlife (deer, and some big things that looked similar to deer although we never were quite sure what they were! Birds and fish are what we are used to being from Florida!
We also drove to several places for day trips while staying here including the Royal Gorge, Breckenridge, Keystone, Pikes Peak, Florissant Fossil beds and Mueller State Park. Yes, we were busy but enjoyed every minute of it. Woodland Park (the town) has everything that we needed in a grocery store and restaurants as well.

Roberta is always quick to email back and very easy to work with. The managers of the property when Roberta is away are awesome to work with and very helpful, too.

Thanks for everything again, guys!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent amenities coupled with natural beauty

Review submitted: March 28, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

This is a tremendous place to stay! There is peace, quiet, and tons to do. Roberta has guidebooks galore so it's simple to explore the area. It's pretty close to Mueller State Park, and other great scenic hiking. The retreat itself is spectacular. Very clean and sunny, it has just about anything you could want, including mountain views, sunsets, Scrabble and other games, a kitchen full of spices and plentiful cookware, and a fantastic collection of books. The deck is a relaxing place to be... sipping morning coffee, or having a sunset dinner near the bbq. The hot tub on the lower deck was perfectly relaxing as well. While there, we saw deer, fox and many birds. It was so quiet in the evening that you could hear the birds whooshing as they flew just overhead (the upper deck is about even with many tree tops). There are even some sleds for fun on snowy days.

Lastly, the caretakers do a great job. They are available if you need them, but otherwise give you your privacy. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation and hope to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beatiful mountain home in relaxing setting

Review submitted: March 28, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Woodland Park Retreat. It is very clean and comfortable. There are three full baths in the retreat and they are beautifully decorated. There are more than enough towels and blankets provided. The kitchen is well-equipped for making meals in the home, including spices and utensils, bowls and pans. The kitchen appliances are top of the line. There is an espresso maker, too!
The hottub was a good way to soothe muscles after hiking and sledding all day. You won't believe how many stars there are at night.
The Rocky Mountain Dinosaur Resource Center is just 20 minutes away, in Woodland Park and was great fun for a little boy and his father. Mom liked the giftshop.
Three of the beds are in a loft over the living room, which was not an issue for us, but might be if not everyone in your group goes to bed at the same time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

So much more than a normal rental

Review submitted: March 27, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We stayed here in March a few days after a snow fall. The kids loved playing in the snow that was still out back and took advantage of the sled left there to use. The weather was in the mid 60's and beautiful. The pictures online do not do the house justice as it is much prettier in person. The gourmet kitchen really has everything you could possibly need and the bedrooms are very comfortable and stylishly done, bathrooms too. We almost wished we'd had more family with us to take advantage of how big the house is! The home is very clean and looks like it has been recently redecorated/remodeled. The location is excellent! Very close to Garden of the Gods, Cave of the Winds, Manitou Springs, Pikes Peak and the North Pole. We did it all! They even have a cool Dinosaur museum in town that the kids loved. Oh yeah, speaking of kids, the little playhouse out back was a real treat. My daughter played house all afternoon one time - she was the mom and I was the kid - hee hee. We used the very nice BBQ grill provided to cook steaks and burgers one night and had a blast. The deer that passed by every morning and evening were a thrill to see. Oh yeah - the sunsets are AMAZING! The whole back of the house on the main level is windows and faces Pikes Peak - too cool. Not only would I stay here again but I have written all my friends to let them know that I foud a vacation home I can truly recommend. Go check it out but save some dates for me to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 25, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We stayed the week of 9/9/06. It was everything you said it was. Very peacefull and quiet. So much better than any hotel. I would highly recommend your place!

Joe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We had a fantastic time at Woodland Park Retreat. The home was as advertized; it was great to be in the woods and still have all the comforts of home. Many exciting activities were nearby to keep our adult children busy, but we often stayed home choosing to be entertained by the hummingbirds and awed by the beautiful sunsets. Roberta was very easy to work with; she responded to our e-mails promptly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 22, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

We enjoyed the Retreat very much!

John
IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2006   Date of arrival: March 29, 2006

The place was wonderful, we had a wonderful time and only got a small bit of snow on Sunday. Thanks—we will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 1, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Thanks. We had a wonderful time. We couldn't even see everything there was.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

The weekend we stayed at your home was so very relaxing and therapeutic. We were very impressed with all the little details that helped make the stay feel like home or like welcome guests: the towels put out just right on the corner of the tub, the all inclusive “your stay” manual (I forgot what you called it), and especially the fireplace on and the house already warm when we arrived. Since we arrived closer to 7:30 instead of 4:30, I was so relieved that we didn’t have to bundle up and wait for the house to warm up before we could relax. We noticed that you even had left some videos for our viewing with a short description on the label. Thanks for the non-perishable items for cooking (although we did none) and a full stock of dishes. Something about having the place lightly decorated (not cluttered) also added to making the stay more like we were coming home instead of to a sterile hotel. (Too many decorations would’ve made me feel like I was intruding, but that is probably just me) I appreciate that you had the hot tub filled for us, whether we visited for a couple days or not and whether it was busy season or not. Also, it seemed that we were treated no differently in the things that were available to us for our short stay versus if we had stayed longer. Thank you, also, for your kindness and understanding for letting us change the date of our stay. Because of our few little emails, I enjoyed knowing that we were staying at a house were the owners were kind and gentle.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 30, 2005   Date of arrival: October 30, 2005

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home. We had a fabulous time. Getting snowed in was an adventure for us and our children who never see this kind of snow.

You have a wonderful piece of property and it was a delight to stay there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 20, 2005   Date of arrival: September 20, 2005

"Dear Roberta,
We had a simply fabulous time, Thank You! As we suspected, it turned out to be an engagement party for my daughter. We are all so very pleased!
Your place is a delight, beautiful & well stocked. We did have a tense moment trying to pry the bunny from the front bedroom, out of a 3 year old's grip! It worked out okay & everyone felt so bad, she has since made out like a bandit!
Working with you has been a pleasure & you have chosen well in your caretakers!
I hope you make it back to Colorado soon, yourself! I can't imagine the culture shock from Henderson to Woodland Park...
We listened to wolves howling one night & woke to deer meandering by in the morning. Everything was as perfect as anyone could hope for!
Bright Blessings, Carol"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 21, 2005   Date of arrival: July 21, 2005

"You have a beautiful home and we enjoyed our stay there."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 25, 2005   Date of arrival: June 25, 2005

"Your home was wonderful and better than we could have hoped for. It was so nice having the secluded feeling while still being so close to so much. We are already making plans for next year. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2005   Date of arrival: June 8, 2005

....just wanted to let you know your home is wonderful! We had a great time. Thank you...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 30, 2005   Date of arrival: March 1, 2005

This was a great place to stay. Lots of room with great scenery. Owner easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2005   Date of arrival: February 28, 2005

"Thanks so much for the use of your home. We had so much fun - being able to be together in the house made it even more enjoyable"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 31, 2004   Date of arrival: December 31, 2004

"We just got our pictures back from our xmas at the Retreat. We had such a good time spending those days together"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 30, 2004   Date of arrival: October 30, 2004

"We had such a wonderful and enjoyable time. I hope we will be able to use your home again in the future when we plan another vacation out to the Colorado Springs area."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 21, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

Woodland Park Retreat is a wonderful place to get away from it all and still have all the comforts of home. We had a fantastic time just relaxing and enjoying the views. We will go back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 19, 2004   Date of arrival: August 19, 2004

"My family and I had a wonderful time in Colorado. The home we rented from you was simply outstanding. The property has everything we could have possibly hoped for and more. The views were great and the location was perfect for our travels around the Colorado Springs area. Thank You Roberta for all the prompt responses to any and all questions we had. We will definitely want to stay here again if you are still renting the property in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 20, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

Our family had a great time staying at your wonderful home. We enjoyed all aspects of your home: kitchen, hot tub, grill, wildlife (deer, fox, raccoon), location in relation to sites/activities. We could not have hoped for better location to retire after a long day of activities.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 13, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

What a wonderful place to take a vacation! Close to attractions but very private and lots of room for a family to relax. The kitchen is fabulous and owner provided lots of basic amenities that aren't often included with vacation rentals. Loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 25, 2004   Date of arrival: June 25, 2004

The home was very tasteful and would make every guest want to stay".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 14, 2004   Date of arrival: June 14, 2004

"We really enjoyed the time we spent there. Everything was wonderful. The house was very well furnished.
Thanks again, its a wonderful place to visit."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 9, 2004   Date of arrival: June 9, 2004

"We had a wonderful time at the retreat. The accommodations were lovely....and we do appreciate all that you did do make our vacation a relaxing time"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2004   Date of arrival: June 5, 2004

"My family and I just love your Woodland Park home and thought it was the perfect spot for our reunion"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

"We had an absolutely wonderful time. The retreat was great, much better than staying in a motel. We are seriously considering coming back next year because we had such a wonderful time. You have a great place."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review