reviews for: listing #25848 - Galveston, Texas House rental

12 palms
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Terramar Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $550 /nt
    $1,600 - $2,350 /wk

sort by:

Great Get Away!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

What a great beach house! We really enjoyed it! Great location close to the beach. The house was a nice layout and was clean. We had plenty of room and enjoyed the indoor and outdoor space. The two decks where great and we really enjoyed the views. We would love to come back and stay here again sometime. Kathy, the owner was quick to answer my emails which I really appreciated. Thanks again We loved 12 Palms!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much Kristin! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are putting new floors in next week and switching out linens. It will be spic and span for you to come back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing family vacation

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

My family and I didnt want to leave, we were ready to move in! I was pleasantly thrilled with our short weekend stay and plan to return next summer but stay much longer. Not one complaint from any family member. Kids were happy, grandparents and great-grandparents were even more happy. The best features were the top deck view and the outside shower! The kids loved that! This home is perfect for any family vacation. Lots of good family quality time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your visit!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Perfect for family Vacation

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

Four generations of our family enjoyed this property over the past 5 days and we could not be more pleased. Not one complaint even from the two 70+ year old great grandmothers and aunts and that is a miracle in itself. The house is just fabulous, super clean, comfortable beds, great A/C, deck with ocean view, short drive or walk to the beach. If you drive, beach access is just across the road and you can park and leave your car right next to the beach. Swimming pool is nice and well maintained, plenty of deck chairs for sitting outside (bring bug spray, mosquitoes are the size of sparrows,) and neighbors are very quiet, I don't think we heard anything but the wind and the sea gulls the entire time we were there. Kathy, the owner, is a super sweet lady who went out of her way to accommodate us, but all communication was by e-mail and we were completely left alone at the beach house. I could easily live there it was so nice and we can't wait to go back. TIPS: Take a bag of ice, ice-maker is painfully slow, the TV in the master bedroom will only work with the switch on the wall turned on (second switch from right, it took us 2 days to figure that out)and needs several minutes to warm up and don't overlook the outside shower because it is great to wash the beach sand off your body, suit, and shoes. We all had a blast and hope you do too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 

Great time in Galveston

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

Our large family had a great time at this beach house on our Galveston vacation. Everyone had ample space to move around and the kitchen and counterspace were large. The beach was just a short walk and having the outdoor shower was very nice. The only drawback was the bunkbeds positioned under low ceiling fans. Not 5 minutes after our arrival our daughter was struck in the head badly which created a catastrophe the minute we got there. Other than that we had a great time and have many wonderful memories.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: I'm so sorry your 4 year old was hit by the fan! Our daughters sleep in that room and have never had a problem. However we didn't let the youngest one sleep up there until she was 7 years old. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and had some good memories to take with you.

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Great time in Galveston

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

Our large family had a great time in Galveston at this house. It was large enough for all of our family's needs and the large kitchen and ample counterspace were a dream. It was a very short walk to the beach and the outdoor shower was a definite plus. The only drawback was that the ceiling fans were too low over the bunkbeds in one of the rooms. Not five minutes after our arrival our 4 year old daughter was struck in the head which caused quite a catastrophe 5 minutes into our vacation. You could not sit up without being scared to death that this would happen so nobody slept up there but other than that our stay was full of beautiful memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: You can sit up in the bunk bed and get up and down without hitting the ceiling fan. However if someone tries to get down without the ladder or leans over the edge they could possibly be struck by the fan. We have never had this issue with our family or guests. There isn't a side rail to prevent kids from falling off so I would think kids under the age of 7 or 8 shouldn't sleep up top.

Helpful votes: 2 / 7

 

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

This Beach house was perfect for my family plus my brother's family from Michigan and my mother. The location was perfect. Close to the beach, plus a fishing pier where we caught plenty of fish and even caught some crabs in some nets we set out. The pool was wonderful and the people were all very nice that we met. The house and view was awesome! This was the best family vacation we've had in a very long time. Only thing wrong with this house is we hated when it was time to leave. Thanks Kathy for everything and letting us make lasting memories as a family. We will definetly be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your vacation. Come back anytime! The beach is beautiful in the winter.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great Family Vacation!

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

This was the best vacation I have been on since I was a kid! The house was beautiful, the view was beautiful, and the weather was awesome. It is obvious that the owner of this house takes a lot of pride in the beach house and the comfort of her guests. My family lives all over the place now and we met up here to have a family vacation. Leaving was so hard I thought I was going to cry. I would recommend this place to any family who wants to have beautiful family memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We love the compliments and the wonderful lasting memories that are made at our house! It's the whole package! Thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

I rented this house for the weekend for my 30th birthday. My friends and i loved every minute we were there! The house is well kept, updated, and accomodating. We had a total of 8 people there and never felt crowded and everybody had a comfortable bed to sleep in! We took full advantage of the fishing pier/boat ramp and caught a few fish. My buddy caught his first fish ever there! The owner is very prompt at responding to questions and was very helpful, which helped make the experience that much better! We all agree that we will definitely be coming back at least every year for my birthday but hopefully before then!

Owners response: Thank you Kris! I am so glad you and your guests enjoyed our house. We love it and hope that others do too. Come back anytime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Vacation House very roomy and new!

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

This is a fabulous vacation rental inside and out. Recently redone and very comfortable. The house is very clean and no clutter! Have to cross main roadto get to the beach; but it is easy and within 5 minutes.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you Stephanie! We are so happy you enjoyed our home. Come back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Family Vacation Ever

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

The owner was great to work with and very flexible. The house was amazing and exceeded our expectations. I went with my husband, parents, brother, and 4 children and we all had the best time. All of the kids are still talking about it and want to go back this year! I am getting ready to book another stay.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you! That's what we want to hear! Come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Excellent Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: June 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

The owner of this property was extremely helpful in helping me get this home booked at the last minute when we had to cancel our reservation at Orange Beach due to the oil spill. The house itself has newly refurbished interior and was large enough to accomodate our large family with all the amenities of home. We especially liked the lower level carport area with outdoor shower and the middle and upper level decks. Terramar Beach was private and not very crowded; in fact, many times our family was alone on the beach. I would highly recommend this property for anyone with a large family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you! We are so happy you enjoyed our beach house. We always want our renters to feel relaxed and enjoy themselves. Please come back!

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Excellent Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: June 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

The owner of this vacation home was extremely helpful in booking her home to us at the last minute after we had to cancel another reservation at Orange Beach, AL due to the oil spill. The house itself was very nice with newly refurbished interior. It was large enough to accomodate our large family and had all the amenities of home. We especially enjoyed the lower level carport area with outdoor shower and the middle and upper level decks. Terramar Beach was beautiful and very private. Many times we were the only ones at the beach. I would highly recommend this property for a large family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review