reviews for: listing #2585 - New Orleans, Louisiana House rental

Kerlerec House
  • bedrooms  9
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  30
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $89 - $1,400 /nt
    $623 - $12,600 /wk

sort by:

Great stay at kerlerec!

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

I stayed at the Kerlerec house with a large group of 20ish people; we rented out the entire complex for just under a week. It was the perfect place for our large group and we really enjoyed all the amenities the place had to offer. The hot tub was perfect on the cooler days, and relaxing on the many patios with a drink was always a good time. The location of the place is terrific; the Port of Call restaurant was right around the corner and a hit with our group. There is a convenience store right across the street from Port of Call as well. The place was a short walk to Bourbon street and an even shorter walk to Frenchman, where we spent most of our nights listening to great live music and enjoying good food. The number of beds and bathrooms was great and there were many areas in the house large enough for our big group to congregate. Scott was a great host to us as well, and I'd definitely return to the Kerlerec house for my next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay at kerlerec

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

I stayed at the Kerlerec house with a large group of 20ish people; we rented out the entire complex for just under a week. It was the perfect place for our large group and we really enjoyed all the amenities the place had to offer. The hot tub was perfect on the cooler days, and relaxing on the many patios with a drink was always a good time. The location of the place is terrific; the Port of Call restaurant was right around the corner and a hit with our group. There is a convenience store right across the street from Port of Call as well. The place was a short walk to Bourbon street and an even shorter walk to Frenchman, where we spent most of our nights listening to great live music and enjoying good food. The number of beds and bathrooms was great and there were many areas in the house large enough for our big group to congregate. Scott was a great host to us as well, and I'd definitely return to the Kerlerec house for my next visit!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect spot for a large group, Kerlerec is where its at!

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

I came down to Nola with a group of 17 guys for a bachelor party, we rented the entire compound. The grounds offers everything you could want or need. Very old house with lots of character, clean and spacious. Plenty of rooms and bathrooms, hot tub outside and great kitchen/dining area to hangout. Location is great, being that it's so close to Bourbon and Frenchmen. Scott and Trinna were more than helpful in every way, and helped make our stay a fantastic one.

If you're going to New Orleans for a trip with a lot of ppl, book the Kerlerec House. You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Like staying with family

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Guest House. The "Scotts", Wendy, Trina, Sharon were fabulous. Their main objective was to be sure we were satisfied, comfortable and all of our needs were met as soon as they knew of them. I really did feel like I was staying with family. The antique furniture was beautiful, the beds were very comfortable and the other accommodations were perfect. It was convenient to Transportation, French Market and Quarter and had a market a block away for us to buy anything we needed. Restaurants/coffee houses nearby also. Will never stay anywhere else when going to New Orleans. Look forward to my next trip!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

Perfect New Orleans Weekend

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

Rented the entire compound for 3 nights for my cousin's bachelor party. I was amazed when I walked through the door and laid eyes on the awesome character of exterior landscape and interiors of house. Absolutely beautiful. We had 15 guys all together and we had more than enough room. This place was so fun that we spent an entire day (without leaving compound!) outside on terrace/patio. Scott and co. including Wendy & Don were over the top nice and very accomadating. Would love to visit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

Diamond in the rough! Fun and a great value

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We had so much fun staying here. We did not meet scott (the owner), but his assistant (wendy) and her husband were incredible. So welcoming and nice.

First: For a 200 year old house, the place was spotless. And it was such a cool house, really a french quarter experience. It made me feel like a local. We stayed in the jazz club room it has a stained glass window in the bathroom and at least 12 foot ceilings.

second: the best location I can imagine. Once you park, you do not have to get into your car again because everything in the french quarter is easily in walking distance. However, unlike staying anywhere else in the quarter, it is very easy to drive to. You don't have to cross bourbon street, or drive anywhere else in the super congestion. The house itself is on a very nice residential block. quiet and safe area so you can go experience the crazyness and then come back to your room and get good quiet sleep.

I would say this is an especially great place to stay if you have kids. Overall, we really loved it and do plan to go back. I dont feel like my review can really capture how much we loved staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Great Property For a Group

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

This property is great for a large group, especially if you rent the entire complex. The Scotts are top notch owners who definitly make sure that their customers are satisfied. We had a problem with our booking and they made sure we were taken care of. Couldn't for better people to deal with.

The property's location makes it convenient enough to walk to the heart of the French Quarter should you desire but very reasonable for cab rides if you're feeling lazy. The property itself is a little rough around the egdes but in overall good shape, the interiors were all kept very clean and had all the necessary amenities. Jacuzzi is a great touch and very relaxing.

There's a local grocery store with a free delivery service, definitly take advantage of it to stock up on anything you want for the house. The store is reasonably priced, especially for beer, and they deliver pretty quickly and are willing to work with you to make sure you've got everything you need.

Spacious, private, good location and reasonably priced especially if you book for the offseason. I highly recommend this property for anyone looking to stay in the Big Easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Great location and lots of private room for guests

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

This is a great property - a bit dated on the outside (that happens when houses are 200 years old), but the inside has several independent rooms/suites that can accomodate a very large party.
The walk to the heart of Bourbon St and the French Market is about 10 minutes - it's nice to be a few blocks away from the constant party.
Scott, our host, was very informative and helped pick some local places to eat, etc.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Kerlerec Awesome!

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

We rented the entire property for our church group, working in the 9th ward. The accommodations available through the church were not suitable for some in our group with health problems; no a.c., bunk beds, few bathrooms for the numbers, etc. I found Kerlerec and the "Scotts" who own the property were the greatest.

Here are some great features:

The Scotts were open and honest with the accommodations, very flexible with our ups and downs about who was coming and how many.

Keep place in great shape, fixing anything that is needed

House is amazing - a museum.

Kitchen and common areas gave us the space and flexibility needed.

Private outdoor places were great

AC worked fantastic

Location unbeatable. Minutes to 9th Ward and walked to French Quarter

Neighborhood was amazing - all houses were old.

The greatest.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 74 / 76

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review