reviews for: listing #25887 - St George Island, Florida House rental

Beachfront - Last Minute! Save $660 for Mar 29 -Apr 5, 2014!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $140 - $307 /nt
    $995 - $2,250 /wk
    $2,250 - $2,250 /mth

sort by:

Beautifully decorated

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Nicely decorated with everything related to the Monopoly game and Boardwalk.
Nice beds, old style tube TV in living room, otherwise comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FABULOUS!

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

While staying at The Boardwalk, we were so comfortable! It was very clean & the Monopoly themed décor was great! The location of this home is ideal. You can walk almost everywhere. We fished on the beach, flew kites, watched dolphins in the surf, visited the lighthouse & park, & walked to have ice cream almost daily. Also, we contracted a fishing guide for a day, and visited Appalachicola's Estuary. Both were awesome! We would highly recommend this property. Thank you for allowing us to feel so at home while we vacationed. We will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best beachfront location !

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We stayed at Boardwalk for January and February. The home is spotless and comfortable. And fully equipped for a long term stay. You can't get any closer to the beautiful beach. I watched the sunrise from our comfortable King bed every morning. The beds are comfortable and each of the three bedrooms has its own bath if you are entertaining or have a large family. Reggie was very professional and easy to work with. You never have to use your car if you stay on the island as all restaurants/bars/grocery stores/lighthouse are an easy walk. But you must to go to nearby Apalachicola. So many shops and great restaurants. Something for everybody. Including a theater and art stores. Golf at St James Bay is a blast. Very challenging but great course about 35 minute drive. St. George Island and Boardwalk are completely pet friendly. The outdoor shower is great for sandy paws after beach walks. We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

FUN!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

Would highly recommend this property. It was very well-furnished, with comfortable furniture and super-comfy beds. It had a well-equipped kitchen with everything you need. The location was close to shops, restaurants and everything else on the island but you felt like you were far away from it all with the beach at your back door.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Private Getaway

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Everyone in our group had a very nice time. Everything you need was there, except we only had one bath towel each, but there is a washer and dryer. Boardwalk is in the perfect location on the island. We were able to walk to most of the restaurants in the evening. Monopoly decorations were nicely done without being over the top. The only downside was I didn't realize there was so many steps. I didn't mind, but it was very hard for my mother to get around all week. If you don't have a problem with steps I would definitely recommend Boardwalk, and would like to go back myself.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Relaxing week

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Had a lovely relaxing week.
Accommodation clean, well equipped, home from home. Bed in main bedroom
so comfortable.
Loved living so close to the beach. Real treat watching the dolphins.
Owner professional, very prompt with communications.
Weather amazing during our stay, real treat for us with the rain in the UK!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful home away from home!!

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this clean well furnished home on the beach. We love to eat in so it was so nice that the kitchen was well equipped! Slept like a baby due to the ocean breeze and oh so comfy bed! The house is steps from the beach, playground and stores!
The owners made the business part of our rental a breeze! Great cusomer service for sure! We would love to rent Bordwalk again in the future. We are so happy to have spent our 25th anniversary at the Bordwalk!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Congratulations on your 25th anniversary! While St. George Island and Boardwalk's location deserve much of the credit, we're always happy to hear that our efforts at making Boardwalk comfortable are fruitful.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Already planning my next trip!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

I am here RIGHT NOW and am already planning my next trip! If you have dogs or young children, this house is especially wonderful. If you love to cook (and please, take advantage of the fresh seafood available!), I can assure you that the kitchen is well-equipped. Last year, I'd rented Boardwalk and had to leave 24 hours later because of Hurricane Isaac - but was so impressed even in that short period of time, I was determined to make a return trip. In the process of finding Boardwalk, I had really struggled to find 'the house' to rent here - so many say they are dog-friendly, but aren't - and if you travel with your pups, you understand what I mean. Boardwalk strikes the perfect balance of a nice place to stay that doesn't feel like a museum; you are comfortable, your pups (or children) are comfortable, but you are in a clean, welll-kept home. If you have particular kitchen gadgets or special equipment, feel free to bring but Reggie keeps the knives sharp and has just about every pot, pan, and gadget that you would actually need while on vacation. And the mattresses are so, so nice! They have taken great care to make Boardwalk a wonderful place to stay!! (And let me reiterate, I am here RIGHT NOW and am already planning my next trip here!)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review! Our goal is to make the Boardwalk experience first-class comfortable and welcoming, and we are happy to hear that we seem to be doing well towards that goal.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful home away from home!!!

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

Would highly recommend this property. It was very well-furnished, with comfortable furniture and super-comfy beds. It had a well-equipped kitchen with everything you need. Owners made the entire transaction a breeze - from start to finish. The location was close to shops, restaurants and everything else on the island but you felt like you were far away from it all with the beach at your back door.

Owners response: Thank you for the review! We've tried to make Boardwalk comfortable and the experience welcoming, and such pruogress reports let us know how we're doing. And one of the reasons we chose Boardwalk because of it's location, we don't know of anywhere else that you can "be in the middle of it" and still have a nearly-private beach.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Time at Boardwalk

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Boardwalk was a great place for a week vacation. Being steps from the bars/food and also having the beach right out your backdoor is an ideal situation. I went for the fishing and it just wasn't happening much that week. Mostly whiting, but other people on the beach had a few big hookups. Couple of very large black drum on the beach and then some black tip sharks down at the east end. The east end is definitely worth the visit and cost (was like $18 for the two of us to get access) if you want to do some fishing and collect some huge shells. We ate at Blue Parrot, Harry A's, Eddy Teaches (just drank there), Beach Pit and the Pizza Place. My favorite has to be Blue Parrot. All of my meals were really good and the view can't be beat. If it is raining, I wouldn't go there b/c the inside portion is pretty lame. They have about 8 tables in a tiny room. That was our st patricks day. Me and the girlfriend sitting inside at the blue parrot during a downpour. Lots of toddlers sitting around watching us. Surreal. We had one crazy night that started at blue parrot, went to Eddys and then ended up at Harry A's. Met lots of fun people. All of the neighbors were wonderful. Often had conversations from them and also had to borrow a corkscrew.

All reviews need to have a "could have been better" section to be legit, but it doesn't take away from Boardwalk at all:
- More trash bags would be nice.
- There are some games in the house, but they are missing pieces that make them unplayable.
- Corkscrew.
- Watch out for the icemaker. Before you realize it, the whole thing is overflowing and filling up the freezer. Kind of a good problem I guess.
- Dining room chairs match the boardwalk theme I guess, but aren't comfortable for a sit down dinner.

That does it I guess. Boardwalk is highly recommended. Enjoyed it!

Owners response: Thank you Jeff, we're always happy to hear what people like about the island and the house. Sorry you had such a soggy St. Paddy's day! And thank you for the heads up on the corkscrew and icemaker, we'll address those next week.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

I didn't get in my car all week!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Boardwalk condo over Thanksgiving week. The master bedroom was perfect for me and my two dogs because the sliding glass door opened right up onto the porch that led straight to the beach and I could take them out very early in the morning (to see the sunrise) and not disturb anyone else in the condo. The second bedroom was perfect for my Mom, who likes a darker, quieter room and her own bathroom. And the loft worked perfectly for my sister-in-law and 12 year old niece because it had a king sized bed for them to share. Because it overlooked the Living Room, my niece couldn't sleep until noon (like teenagers will do!) once everyone was up and around.

We had everything we could've asked for in the condo except a puzzle, but luckily we brought our own. Television service is kind of spotty - I don't know if it's the cable company or the connection but it got fuzzy from time to time.

We had the beach to ourselves for the early part of the week, but it started to get crowded the day before Thanksgiving, so we had to keep the dogs on their leashes. All the dog owners near us were very responsible and polite; it was refreshing!

We rented bikes on the second day and because Boardwalk is so close to the center of town, we NEVER had to get in the car for 8 straight days - it was bliss. I actually had to go out and check to make sure the car would start the night before we left, since we hadn't driven it in so long! We rode our bikes all over the island - it's a good workout to ride down and through the State Park.

The only downside I would say is that Eddie Teach's, while a really fun bar, is REALLY loud if it is a still night with no breeze. You can hear the music through the walls of the bedrooms and on Saturday nights, they play until well after midnight.

We went to either Doug's or Dail's almost every day to get seafood and cook it ourselves. One day we went to the Blue Parrot for oysters and they were fantastic.

All in all we had a wonderful time and we're already talking about when we can come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Loved It!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We had a great time at Boardwalk...we were well situated in this spacious three bedroom right on the beach. Upstairs was colorful with a fun Monopoly theme(which our son loved) and the downstairs master had a romantic 30's beach theme (which we loved!)with enough privacy off the back deck for an outdoor couples massage overlooking the ocean. The beach was lovely and never crowded and every convenience the Island offers is right out the front door. Great relaxing family or couples getaway!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Spring Break Time had by All!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

We had a great time at the Boardwalk. Very cute and comfortable place to stay. Well equipped. Pans not great for making pancakes though. I'd bring a waffle maker next time. We LOVED being in walking distance of all shops and restaurants. The kids loved being able to walk to get ice cream daily. Enjoyed the Blue Parrot's atmosphere and the new Restaurant on the Bay had the best food.

A lot of stairs so not great for those who don't like or don't do stairs. The main time they were a challenge was move in and move out time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Two family get-away!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

My family and I along with my wife's brother's family from Montana stayed for three nights. The house was great and the beach was awesome! The house is very kid friendly and quite spacious. All the tile flooring does cause sound to echoe some, but makes it easier to clean. We had a great time and would definitely stay in this house again. We do wish that the island had a better coffee and ice cream place though. When we went, they were always out of coffee and almost out of ice cream.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We won Boardwalk!!

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

We won Boardwalk!!
More...
By Myrna Dial from Atlanta, GA on 01/31/2011

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Old friends together after 2 years!

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

I visited St. George last year and stayed at Boardwalk. My friends from Ohio and Kentucky had never been to St. George. They were impressed to say the least. We had an awesome time. We rented bikes, walked the beach, collected shells and ate great sea food. Only wish there were more restaurants. The greatest thrill was a cruise with Journey's, a sunset boat that took us to see dolphins, Little St. George Island to collect sea shells and the best part to the oyster beds where Captain Dave gathered fresh oysters and shucked them on the boat for all to eat! Awesome!! Took Cris's dog Blaze who also had a terrific experience. Thank you Collins and St. George for a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic!

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

Our time here was Great1 great service, friendly staff, and quick to respond when problem arouse with major appliance.

We loved it there and love ST. George!
(just the steps are a bit much for old folks like us. Lol) More...

· By Steve from McDonough, Ga on 5/29/2010 for a stay in 5/1/2010

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most satisfied

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We were very happy with our stay!

There were a few things that we thought should have been included being
vacation property renters ourselves.

Salt and Pepper is a must! I never dreamed that we would have to bring
those.
Extra garbage bags to ensure that all garbage is disposed of properly!

The reception staff, especially Helen, was so very helpful!!

The home was clean and inviting.

The beachfront was perfect!

We were surprised but delighted at the same time that there were so few
commercial buildings on the Island. The seafood at all restaurants was top
shelf in taste. ( we tried them all ;)

It was refreshing to see how well behaved all the dogs were, in fact, there
was only one dog that barked!

G. Haynes RN

We'll be back with our grandchildren.

· By G. Haynes from Melrose, FL on 5/19/2010 for a stay in 5/1/2010

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Good Time Was Had By All!

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Great location! Walking distance to everything! The house is very cute! Could be a little cleaner,but overall, very nice. We will definitely be back! More...

· By Family of 3 from Atlanta GA on 4/14/2010 for a stay in 4/1/2010

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Boardwalk at St. George Island

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Staying at the Boardwalk for the month of February was a great vacation time for my wife and I and our two Bichon Frises. Even though it was a little colder than it has been in privious Februarys it was still delightful. More...

· By Kelly & Murlene from Huntsville, AL on 3/4/2010 for a stay in 2/1/2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

almost perfect

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

The only problem I had during my month stay was with the internet service. It took three days to resolve the problem, but then was fine. The home was well-equipped and all systems worked well. Its design does involve a lot of steps up and down so that could be a problem for some visitors. The rental company services were efficient, friendly and very professional.

· By pj from dayton, ohio on 2/3/2010 for a stay in 1/1/2010

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

Wonderful experience with Collins Vacation Rental personal. They are very helpful (i.e. had problems setting up my laptop for the internet connection and Collins spent some time helping until it worked), very personable & friendly. The St George Island locals are too very friendly & welcoming as well. Really enjoyed the quaint/small town atmosphere. (i.e stayed in Apalachicola last year, & then did some sight seeing in St George Island deciding we had to come back for next year's family vacation) Boardwalk is a very welcoming home away from home. Cleverly decorated, well furnished kitchen, beautiful view, conveniently located to shops & restaurants, & very close to park (great for my kids ages 2 & 4). Only one but. . . . the steps were a bit steep for the kids and our elderly dog and other dog who was recovering from back surgery. Nonetheless, would seriously consider the Collins and Boardwalk again!!! More...

· By sherilu65 from Miami, FL on 12/2/2009 for a stay in 11/1/2009

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Game-Time at Boardwalk

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

What a charming house! Decked out in Monopoly themed items, it was the absolutely fun and adorable. With the water right outside the door, it was the perfect location on the island to walk to restaurants/shops/etc. What a wonderful weekend with friends at the perfect weekend getaway house!

· By St. George Fan from Tallahassee on 9/30/2009 for a stay in 9/1/2009

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great family home.

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Boardwalk is decorated to appeal to children and adults. Perfect beach house that has everything you would need. Its location is within walking distance to shopping and the playground. We would stay there again.

· By Kim from Kansas on 8/13/2009 for a stay in 8/1/2009

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great property for a family getaway!!!

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

Downstairs master suite with covered deck access is perfect for privacy while vacationing with a larger group. Two covered decks with shower at boardwalk access was convenient and had great views of the Gulf. We played monopoly more than once!!!

· By Doug from Chicago on 8/1/2009 for a stay in 7/1/2009

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

pet friendly

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

We, including our precious Annie had a great week on the beach. I'm so happy
to find a pet friendly beach, We have gone to Cape San Blas in the past, but I
liked the fact that we could dine out without having to drive 25 min. The
condo was nice and had everything we needed.

· By Anniegirl from Nashville, TN on 7/16/2009 for a stay in 6/1/2009

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

The Boardwalk was perfect for us because of the split level. We had our teenagers and two of their friends. There are three bathrooms which was great.And this property allowed our pet to come, it made our vacation complete knowing she was with us. The home is a perfect distance from the beach and activities on the island. The decorations were whimsical. I would highly recommend Boardwalk on the Beach!!!
By TWINS from Lexington,SC on 5/23/2009 for a stay in 6/1/2008

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Experience!

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

i would recommend this unique property to anyone looking for a spot on st. george island to stay. the location is great, the view is wonderful and the house itself it AMAZING. if i ever return to the area for a vacation, i would definitely consider re-renting this property. More...

· By plumeriaflower from Leesburg, Florida on 5/18/2009 for a stay in 4/1/2009

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun place

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

This is a nice home and the kids loved the "Monopoly" theme. The showerhead in the master bath was broken, as was one of the televisions. I mentioned this to the rental agency but neither were fixed during our stay.

· By Brett from Atlanta, GA on 5/13/2009 for a stay in 7/1/2008

===============
Manager Response to Brett
Thank you for your feedback on Boardwalk. We are sorry for the lack of attention to these issues. The showerhead has been repaired and the TV replaced, unfortunately not in time for your visit. We appreciate your comments to help us "do it better!" We hope you will plan a return visit soon and let Collins Vacation Rentals show you our true customer service!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great beach house - close to everything!

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

Great house, clean, comfortable, and full of fun Monopoly themed decor. It is just half a block from the lighthouse and shops & restaurants. Right on the beach, wonderful spot. Be aware that there are plenty of steps, as this is a three level house. If you're okay with that, you'll love it. More...

· By Pilgrim Entrepreneur from Kentucky on 5/12/2009 for a stay in 3/1/2009

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review