reviews for: listing #25957 - Sugar Mountain, North Carolina Condo rental

Spectacular View--Top of Mtn---Save 40%
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Banner Elk
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $600 /wk

sort by:

Great view!

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

I just returned from a short vacation with my 2 grandsons and we loved it. Boys loved the swimming pool jacuzzie. I enjoyed the fitness room and sauna. Views were breathtaking and condo was close to everything. Staff was great and handled all of our questions. Looking forward to returning soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mountain Front not ocean front

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

We spent a lovely weekend. The views are million dollar views. A nice quiet get a way on top of a beautiful mountain. The pool and hot tub was nice. The place was very clean. You can see the building from Grandfather Mountain. It is a great place for a quiet get away. We will go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Getaway!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Spent an amazing spring week here and all I can say is wow! The views alone were captivating and truly serene. Our family's favorite pastime at the condo was swimming in the indoor heated pool while taking in the views and soaking in the hot tub. I honestly can't say enough positive about this condo. Great location ( close to many state parks and attractions) and did I mention the views! :). Also enjoyed the convenience of having washer and dryer in the condo. Our family will definately be booking again soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The very best!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

We just came back from leasing this rental for a weekend trout fishing trip. This was the very best short vacation! The condo was absolutely fantastic and had everything we needed and then some. The views were beautiful and I took several pictures! The staff at the front desk, guard house and elsewhere on the property were so friendly and helpful. Felt like home every night when we returned. We will definitely stay here again if available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

ski heaven

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

What a beautiful view - you are truly at the top of the mountain. We arrived just ahead of the snow and woke to a white blanket everywhere. The kids took ski lessons and were on the slopes before you knew it. Close to Beech Mountain as well. We will certainly be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Nice getaway

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

A good home away from home. Nice amenities and comfortable rooms with the necessities.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Would Recommend

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this unit. Weather was fantastic, unit was nice and spacious, and amenities were better than expected. The surrounding area has plenty to do within easy driving distances. The owners were very easy to work with, everything was as described, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was also very helpful in providing directions or recommending restaurants. Overall a great trip. We will return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Sooo much fun!

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2011

We had an absolute blast staying at sugartop this winter. We made the trip initially to go skiing however, we were bummed when we didn't see any snow. Then, much to our surprise Ski Sugar had snow on their slopes that they were making every few nights or so. They also groomed the slopes twice a day. It was very nice being able to ski and snowboard all day and then come back to the condos and workout, swim, get in the sauna, steam room, or jacuzzi!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving at Sugar Top!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We stayed at this condo over the Thanksgiving weekend. We had a wonderful time and made many memories with our small children! The condo is decorated in a little bit older decor but not a problem. The layout worked out perfectly for us. My son (6 yrs old) was so excited to sleep in the bunk bed. There were no rails on the top bunk so my other child couldnt sleep there. The kitchen had the basics; mugs, glasses, plates and a few pans and pots. If you are planning on staying longer or eating in more you may want to bring your own supplies. We did this and worked perfectly. The kitchen table has room for 6 and a leaf you can remove if you want a more intimate setting (or if you are in a competitive UNO game!) The view is amazing and the balcony is pretty large (very long). We watched them make snow for the slopes and watched the most beautiful sunset. This unit is a short walk to the elevator which is nice. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The pool was awesome and right in the lobby! It was very clean and very big. The waterfall was beautiful. There are pool noodles in the condo. There is also 2 snowsleds in the condo.
As far as activities in the area, there is lots and lots of stuff to do in the area. The condo is very close to the ski slopes and to Grandfather Mt. It is about 15 mins to Boone and Blowing Rock. We ate at the Daniel Boone Inn for Thanksgiving. It is worth the wait!!! Yummy! We also went to the Christmas activities in Blowing Rock. It defintely got me in the mood for the holidays!
We had a wonderful time and look forward to going back sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great time at the Sugar Top condo.

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at this condo up High at Sugar Top in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The condo was very nice. The view was the best looking over the Blue Ridge mountains to Northwest. There are a lot of things to do and see in the area. We liked Grandfather Mountain the best. The Fall colors were at their peak during our stay in mid October. We very much recommend the condo for those looking for a Great view high up in the Blue Ridge mountains. One other item is the Great Pool and Hot Tub along with a very good Fitness Center.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review, Jim. We are happy that you had a good time and after speaking with you were told that you were not quite certain how you marked 4 stars instead of 5 since you were unfamiliar with the rankings.
Denise Moen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great for family!

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Our family (3 young kids) had a wonderful time in Banner Elk and the property was a great, central location. While decor was "older", it was perfect for a family - no worries about breakables or fancy setups. The bunkbeds were a hit with the kids and we had easy access to food and local attractions. Thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

I took my sister for a weekend after she lost her husband a couple of months before. We loved sitting on the balcony looking out over the mountains and talking over a cup of coffee. The condo was so comfortable, we felt right at home and the people were absolutely wonderful!

We loved hiking at nearby Elk River Falls, laughing and enjoying the beautiful sights. After hiking all morning, we stumbled upon a new restaurant, Times Square, that had the most delicious sandwiches and homemade chips.

Thank you for sharing your special place with us. We can't wait to visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

On Top of Sugar Mountain, Banner Elk, NC on Sept. 13 - Sept. 16, 2010

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

This was our first experience visiting the mountains. We picked a excellent place to start. Our condo was every thing that was listed and then some. Great views from the 8th floor windows and balcony. We enjoyed the facilities, especially the heated indoor pool. We visited some of the nearby attractions. Enjoyed Grandfather Mountain and the attractions there. Blowing Rock had great views of the mountain side. Many good resturants in the area. Condo was easy to find. If you get anywhere you can see a distance you can see the condo on top of the mountain. The only negative thing, we had to leave and go after our short stay. It was GREAT!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Already visited two times!

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

First we visited in 2008, we had a great time.We wanted to go again. In July 2010 revisited, this time for 2 weeks. We had a wonderful time. You really need at least 2 weeks to see everything!
The owners are very nice, they keep in touch with you. Give you all the in formations you might need.
About the condo; comfortable,clean, has everything you need to make your stay comfortable and easy.
I love the views of the mountains, sunset. You have to see it! Nice people in the lobby, heated pool, gym.
The weather is very comfy. It was 96 - 104 F in the surrounding cities, but up on the Sugar Top we enjoyed the wonderful 74 F degrees.
There is a lot to do, fishing, hiking... I loved the mining, we stopped almost at every mines. We found lots of beautiful rocks, gemstones. You'll have lots of fun, lot of attractions around.
I would suggest to visit Grandfather Mountain of course, you can't miss the Blowing Rock, Emerald Village, there is a store to visit in Valle Crucis, for kids or adults The Tweetsie Railroad, beautiful falls around. and Mount Mitchell State Park! Tennessee is very close. Find the Elk River Falls. You see local guys jumping off the rocks , good swimming spot.
I would definetly recommend this to all my friends, relatives and all the people who love nature!
Go there, enjoy your vacation and have fun!
Noemi and Zoltan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Place to stay!

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 25, 2010

We celabrated our 28th wedding anniversary with a Spring get away to Sugar Top. We were very pleased with the accomodations. They were quite roomy,comfortable and clean. It was a very relaxing and peaceful experience. We especially enjoyed the surprise snow fall Tuesday afternoon. It was beautiful to view from the 8th floor. Thank you Denise and Ed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: March 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 7, 2010

We celebrated my son's 18th birthday and were priviledged to stay at this beautiful condo. We had a total of 4 teeneagers with us and it was perfect! The kids loved the second bedroom with the bunkbeds as they were able to all stay in the same room! The condo had everything we needed and the staff was great! They were very informative with any questions we had and really went above and beyond expectation. We all loved the wonderful pool area and weight room. The hot tub was a much needed amenity after a long day on the slopes and the view is spectacular!! Only word of caution, if you go in the winter, make sure you have a four wheel drive or snow chains to get up the mountain. We really enjoyed staying at Sugar Top and will definitely return to this condo in the future! Thanks Denise and Ed!!!!!!!!!!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind comments. This year was a record year for snow and ice. Snow chains or four wheel drive usually are not needed during the winter months...........mostly this year due to record cold.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

My husband and I and our two small childern ages 2 and 4 had a wonderful visit to the area just last month. The condo was clean and comfortable and the view off the balcony was spectacular!! I think the highlight of the trip for the childern, (besides spending most of the day in the snow), was the pool, they loved the pool and it was very convenient for us because the pool was in the lobby, there was no need to leave the building which was great! The only regret we have is not being able to stay longer...maybe next we will!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

My friends and I stayed here for Super Bowl weekend to do some skiing. We went there to celebrate all of our birthdays, which occur within 3 weeks of each other. One of the guys that went with us had been skiing at Sugar Mountain before, but had never stayed at Sugartop. He had always wanted to, but could never find a group to go, until this time. The unit was very nice and had a great layout. It was very clean and provided a peaceful, relaxing environment. The condo is located at the top of the mountain, so the view from the balcony is absolutely gorgeous. You could see some of the slopes from the balcony and if you have your own equipment and pay for your lift ticket the night before, you can get up in the morning and walk to the intermediate slopes when they open. All of the people that we met that live at Sugartop were wonderful and the staff was very friendly as well. My friends and I all agree that we would stay at this unit again if we go back to Sugar Mountain.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

Your place is a wonderful place to call home. It has alot of room to host a good size family and everything you would need, (utensils, pots, pans, washer, dryer). We really enjoyed the views and have never seen anything like it! Sitting in a hot tub looking out the window while a snow storm is going on is the best! Great Weight room also! Staff at desk was extremely helpful for any question we had! 5 star place! Will come back for sure! It is decorated very nice! Thank you for opening your doors to your place so others can enjoy this area!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

It is a wonderful condo with ample room and a beautiful view from the balcony! Extremely close to the slopes and overlooks the summit of the ski slopes. We had an incredible time and will try to get back someday.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 7, 2009   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

We just returned from a wonderful vacation at this condo. The unit was large, clean, well equipped, and extremely comfortable. The owners and the staff of the resort were both extremely helpful. The resort facilities are beautifully maintained. The views are what this place is all about. They are breathtaking. Be sure to take a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway to Canyon's restaurant in Blowing Rock for a delicious burrito with a view.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

The Sugar Top Condo is VERY comfortable and cozy! We felt right at home as soon as we walked in. The views are AMAZING! Our first visit to the highlands was to Beech Mountain. It was wonderful as well, but we did prefer the more central location of Sugar Mountain and the wonderful views this condo has to offer. We will definitely return to Sugar Mountain to stay in this condo. The owners are very nice and easy to work with! Thank you for a great vacation! :) Heather + Phil

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 23, 2009   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

This place was just what the doctor ordered!!! Beautiful, long range views with the twinkling lights of Banner Elk at night. We awoke in the morning above the clouds! What a peaceful place. The owners were great to deal with and very accommodating! We can't wait to return and highly recommend this unit and these owners!!! Thanks again for letting us experience your beautiful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

We have had the pleasure of staying at this condo quite a number of times. It is one of the best we have stayed at Sugar Top. The owner(s) have been most kind and cooperative with us. I would reccomend you check it out. Great views and accoomaditions.We are looking forward to spending time there next vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 30, 2007   Date of arrival: July 30, 2007

This was a wonderful way to spend our vacation. The accommodations we clean, comfortable and what a view! We would definitely use this condo again. It was also close to many other attractions.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review