reviews for: listing #259977vb - Carlsbad, California rental

Carlsbad Village Vacation Rental Walk to Village Walk to Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 149 - $ 228 / night
    $ 948 - $ 1,599 / week
    $ 2,799 - $ 5,400 / month
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

OUTSTANDING! Great for families

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

Our family of five stayed in this cottage for a week and it was perfect. Our three young kids loved the backyard and we enjoyed many meals outside. The house is adorable and convenient to the beach, restaurants and shops. You couldn't ask for more. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay close to beach!

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

My husband and 3 kids came here for the 1st time to Carlsbad and we loved it! It was so convenient and close to the beach lots of cute little shops to walk around and browse in. The house was very nice with 2 large comfortable beds and a nice little grassy outdoor area that my kids ran around in. I loved that they had a hose outside to clean off all the sand after we'd spent the day at the beach. Had such a wonderful time and Michael was really kind and friendly! Thank you for letting us stay at your place, we will be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Spring Break

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

The house and location was perfect! Everything you can think of is close by - beach, town, the Coaster Train, Legoland, good food, etc! The house was very comfortable, the yard was a perfect size for relaxing and eating outside. Plus everything thing you could ever want for a fun beach experience is waiting for you … including a wagon to help carry it all. Thank you for everything … we will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Perfect!!!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

My husband I loved this rental! It had so much to offer and was walking distance to great resurants and shops! Were already planning a trip back! Mike was more than accomadating and made us feel at home!! Would highly reccomend!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Canada

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

excellent stay...everything is as advertised...owner maintains everything to the very best standards...and of course the location is fantastic...

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home away from home!

Review submitted: November 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Great place to stay. The owner/manager is fantastic to deal with. Good WIFI, good oven, walking distance to good coffee at Vinaka's cafe. Everything you need for convenience is at this place! We have stayed there twice and will return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

loved the cottage in Carlsbad. Even with my bum knee we were able to walk to the ocean, parks, music festival, shops, restaurants, the train and Ice cream shops. we cooked out in the back yard on the grill one day too. The cottage was comfortable and spacious. Thanks so much for providing the perfect place to relax and enjoy the company of my two grown sons who live nearby in Encinitas.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful as Always

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

This was our third year staying in the cottage and we could not imagine staying anywhere else in Carlsbad. The location is perfect--walking distance from the beach (1.5 blocks), downtown Carlsbad Village (a block) and the Coaster train system. We took the train into San Diego, went to Legoland, and spent a lot of time at the beach. Carlsbad City beach is very accessible and not as crowded as many I've been to. Michael also makes the stay very comfortable by supplying high quality boogie boards, beach chairs, wagons, coolers, umbrellas, etc...you name it, he has it.

The beds are VERY comfy--and we are bed snobs ;) There is a nice enclosed backyard with grass, a patio set and grill---we had many meals there.

Thank you Michael for another great year and for keeping such clean and welcoming cottages.
Adam, Shannon and Hayden Wilke

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Desert Dwellers

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

This is our third year vacationing at this location. As always everything is clean and well maintained. Enjoy our daily walks along the beach. We will be back every year as long as we are able. Michael is the best!!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cottage in Carlsbad Village

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

My family of four stayed in this unit for a week and we had a wonderful time. The unit is true to the photographs. It is clean and well equipped- everything you need in the kitchen, plenty of bath and nice big beach towels. The beds were very comfortable. All the beach supplies you would want is available as well: umbrellas, chairs (with shoulder straps) boogie boards, sand toys, and a cart to haul it in if you wish. The backyard has a grill. There is a washer / dryer available on site for your laundry. The owner is very accommodating and was around if you needed anything.
The location is great for walking to a beautiful beach and into the village. We did not eat out every day but if we wanted to, we could have eaten somewhere different every day within walking distance. (We did eat at Pizza Port and Café Elysa, and would go back.) Wednesday afternoon/evenings there is a farmers market in the village (I think State st?) which was nice. Bike rentals (electric too) are down the street, there was a yoga class on the beach a couple times a week, and surfing lessons. You are also close to other beautiful beaches and destinations in a quick car ride. We enjoyed the Botanic gardens in Encinitas very much! Cardiff State beach was a great family beach with gentle waves and a lagoon that goes under PCH.
We would go back! Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Place

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

The home was excellent, had everything you could need and more including beach toys and a wagon to take them all to the beach 10 minutes away. The owner was very accommodating making sure if there was anything we needed. The laundry room was great to have use of since we spent almost three weeks there. It was so nice to move into a home that had everything, we only had to bring the food and soaps. We would recommend this to anyone. Awesome location, just off the strip. We loved our stay there and will be going back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING as always

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This was our 3rd stay and as always, it was perfect! I will try never to stay anywhere else in Carlsbad.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The place was great.It had everything that we could possibly need! The beds were comfortable. The beach accesories were a HIT! (and it helped to have them) Carlsbad was a wonderful family friendly town. You could walk everywhere and get what ever you needed.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location - Great Place!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

This vacation rental was in an ideal location a couple blocks from the beach. With the property manager providing beach chairs, boogie boards, and beach toys, it's no wonder we spent 4 out of 6 days at the beach. Plus, we could walk there faster than if we drove and had to deal with parking. The unit was a perfect two bedroom duplex with a private fenced in yard with a gas grill and patio furniture where we relaxed in the evenings. There was also a hide-a bed in the living room and satellite TV with movie channels. The landlord was easy to reach and ready to please if we needed anything. We highly recommend this choice and will plan to use it again. Stay classy San Diego!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Carlsbad Village Vacation Rental

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a week and had a fantastic experience. The home is in an ideal location to walk to the beach and to all the Carlsbad village shops and restaurants. The rental is quaint, clean and equipped with all the essentials. We would love to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun spot, cool host!

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

We had a fun time in Carlsbad. The beach and village were nice and close. We were with out kids so the beach toys and boogie boards got used. There's even a wagon to take everything down to the beach. Legoland is a five minute drive away. There are so many great places to eat within walking distance. On the weekend the town is even more vibrant - lots of great outdoor live music and talented local musicians on every corner. We didn't need to look for anything to do - just walk in to the village or down to the beach. Be advised, the unit is right next to the railroad. No long trains running through but there are frequent commuter trains that pass through the town within seconds. Not without blowing their horns though. The first night was a bit much - I'm not sure of the schedule but it seemed like one came through close to midnight and then again shortly after 5am. Don't get me wrong, its a great spot and we had a good time, but my heart sank a bit when we were first unloading our luggage and a train rolled by blowing its horn. Our kids dropped their bags and covered their ears with a look of panic. We got used to it after a day. I'd go back. The unit was well priced for what we got. Thanks Mike!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation rental

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

We have rental from Michael on two separate occasions now and I would recommend his places to anyone. They are clean, well stocked with everything you could need, and Michael goes out of his way to accommodate you. Walk across the street to the beach or down the road to the Carlsbad restaurants. This is not an absent landlord, he lives on the property and takes special care of it year round. Kids have plenty of tubes, sand toys, and boards to use.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Stay at the Ocean Mist Cottages

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

Had a wonderful time on our recent visit , much thanks to Michael for making our stay so enjoyable. I would highly recommend this spot for anyone, its location to the beach, shops and dining are excellent.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

lots of little extras make all the difference

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We stayed for a week at the house. The location was perfect in that we could walk everywhere and were a few minutes from the beach. Michael added so many extras for going to the beach including a buggy to kart everything down. There were two body boards and one was a bit older but perfectly fine yet he replaced it one evening for a brand new one!
The house was clean, we had everything we needed and all the furnishings in the house were mega comfortable.
Carlsbad itself felt really village like and safe and was pleasant to wander around. The beach is a state beach so has life guards and you are not bothered with people selling to you. Also, the whole place is teeming with runners and road cyclists so a great place for the sporty.
Thank you for having us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An Amazing Month!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We had a great stay for one month and would go back in a heart beat. Our baby and young daughter had a comfortable stay and we all slept well. Mike has everything one needs, which made our stay perfect. He is always around to help and get you whatever you might need. The kitchen is well equipped and there are tonnes of towels and even toys for the kids to use when going to the beach. The wagon to get your beach stuff down there is so helpful and our daughter loved riding in it after a tiring day at the beach. Yes, the train does come by and at certain times it is loud but nothing that would deter us from staying again. The photos are an exact representation of the place. We would definitely recommend this property to our family and friends as the location is perfect and Carlsbad is a lovely town to visit and relax in. Hopefully, we can come back again one day. Thanks again Mike for a lovely time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another great stay

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

I have stayed with Mike before but in the smaller rentals. Given that the weekend was rainy and cold having more space was greatly appreciated. This rental was well equipped, just like the others. We do VRBO so we can cook for ourselves and Mike's kitchens are the best equipped we've been in. The location can't be beat. You are a block from the beach and you can walk to all kinds of shops. If you like to cook "The Fish House" around the corner has a fantastic fish market in the restaurant. Mike's barbecue grills are always in good working order, so be it fish or burgers you are good to go. The rentals are always clean. You can also do your laundry for free, with soap provided. I have no trouble recommending renting with Mike.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

We rented this house for a family vacation and had a great time! The house was exactly what we needed with a fantastic location. It was an easy walk to the beach, restaurants and shops. It is also located right off I-5 so it worked well when we wanted to drive somewhere too.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Christmas gathering 2011

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We rented a condo for a week over Christmas and invited my two adult sons and daughter in law. We completely enjoyed the space in the condo and the proximity to that beautiful beach! Michael was very helpful and always just a phone call away. The condo was beautifully arranged and clean and everything we needed was there - dishes and cooking utensils, full fridge, full size gas stove, microwave, dining table and chairs, bedding, beach towels, linens, comfortable living room furniture and beach toys. Thank you for helping make a beautiful memory! I very much appreciated the no pets rule within the condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location/Great price

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

Overall great experience. Everything we were expecting and more. It really is very close to the beach and to the Village. We weren't even sure what the Village was but we found it. Michael was very helpful and brought us anything we needed. He even showed up with a free pass to Legoland when he heard we were going. I don't know why anyone would stay in a hotel when you can stay in a two bedroom house for less, especially with a 6 yr old. Our son loved the bunkbed and the patio was bigger than it looks in the photo. We will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Street Faire Digs

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

This was a perfect property for my husband, son, his wife, and baby. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We were vendors at the semi-annual Carlsbad Village Street Faire and found the location perfect for this event; being close enough to walk from the heart of downtown easily. It was wonderful to have a fully stocked home (except for food) to come into. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable and convenient. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun and Fantastic!

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed here at the end of May in 2011, and we had a fantastic time! We visited Legoland, the USS Midway Museum, the San Diego Zoo, and drove to LA for a day. The location of this unit is perfect. We walked to breakfast just about everyday (highly recommend The Daily News Cafe), and the kitchen in the cottage allowed us to eat many dinners in our home away from home. The bunk beds were perfect for our two daughters, who took turns sleeping on the top bunk. With the beach just a 5 minute walk away, we spent quite a bit of time there and really appreciated the beach towels, toys, and wagon provided for us. We enjoyed our final dinner at the Armenian Cafe (right up the street), which was quite an enjoyable and a unique experience. We miss California already.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the traveling gypsies

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

A place to call our own for the wk. Cozy, comfy...all the amenities that we have never seen before in a wk rental..supplies were abundant..towels, blankets, beach paraphanalia for the kids, free washer & dryer & detergent too! Cable, DVD, Ipod hook-up for sound system, great beds, outside patio for meals & AM coffee. Walking distance to Carlsbad restaurants & shopping...Albertson's grocery store up the road & even a card to get better prices there on the house key ring. Plus Michael is just a call away & stops by to see if you need anything & I swear if you mentioned that the place was lacking something, he'd get it for you. Kitchen is fantastically well stocked...even w\ a crock pot. We'll be returning there without a doubt....Don't miss this great place. Ann & Dennis from RI

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wow! what a find!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

I can't tell you how much we enjoyed our stay. Beach and shopping were easy walking distance and all the beach amenities were included. Mike our host was easy going, helpful and friendly. The cottage was perfect for our family of 5. Coffee on the patio was one our highlights. We loved it. Thanks Mike.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review