reviews for: listing #26024 - Olympia, Washington House rental

Fernbrook Beach House---Puget Sound Executive Estate
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Johnson Point
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $600 - $650 /nt
    $3,000 - $4,550 /wk
    $4,000 - $16,000 /mth

sort by:

Our family reunion at Fernbrook Beach House

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

The setting of Fernbrook Beach House was absolutely perfect for our family
reunion with regal Mt Rainier rising high above the calm bay, visible from
anywhere in the house as well as the lawn.
Because I live near an airport I am beset by noise so that I basked in the
quiet surroundings with just the flutter of leaves in the cooling breeze or
the lap of the waves on the beach. The entire scene proclaims, "Rest here,
enjoy each hour in the company of family you seldom see. Do not rush for any
reason--all will be well. Spend an hour or two in the hammock, go pick some
of those juicy wild black berries--so good with ice cream for dessert."
Then in the evenings, there were tables large enough to accommodate the
Scrabble and cribbage games for all.
As if that weren't enough, the library was extraordinary. If it hadn't been
such fun talking with my family I would have spent evenings reading.
You already know that it was clean and well stocked on our arrival. I did
have to remove the down comforter on my bed in the 85 degree weather even with
the practical fan turned on.
All of our family expressed great pleasure in the house, its setting and privacy.
The entire visit was a joy in every way. Thank you for providing such a
comfortable home for us travelers.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow Syd! Thank you for the eloquent review!!! We loved having your family and look forward to hosting you all again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Choice for our Thanksgiving/Wedding Retreat

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

Fernbrook=Amazing!
We hosted Thanksgiving and our wedding for 20 people at Fernbrook and it exceeded our expectations! We stayed for 5 nights and hosted four other couples in addition to our selves. We were all so comfortable, had plenty of space and everyone was happy with their bedrooms etc. Everyone was impressed with the space and the view! We lucked out and got a few days of sun with Mt. Rainier in the background for our wedding ceremony down by the water. Oh ya, there is a fire pit by the water, it's amazing! We also have a 2.5 year old son and our friends have a 1.5 year old daughter. The kids were so comfortable there, it is an easy place for kids to hang while adults cook and gather. We felt like we were staying in a close relatives house and many of our guests commented that they felt the same way! It was a treat to have our celebration week at Fernbrook, the manager Michelle and the owner were so accommodating and helpful. The owner even stopped by to check in on us and give us a few pointers about the fireplace. You can feel that this is a special property and very well loved. It is quiet and serene but just a short drive away from shops. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a large family gathering or just a weekend away. Enjoy!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Views

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We had 11 family members stay at Fernbrook for a 75th bday party. We had intended to get out and do things but it was so beautiful there that we ended up staying in the whole time. We cooked meals in the large kitchen and were happy to see that they had some things like spices, etc that we hadn't thought of. The downstairs apartment was great for the family with small kids, since they could hang out on their own or go to bed early. We had great weather so a magnificent view of Mt. Rainier, and even Mt. Adams and a tip of Mt. St. Helens on one day! The jacuzzi was just a bathtub- so I think I read that wrong in the description- because there wasn't one outside. Lots of space for family members to get away or stay together. They even made sure that the cable had our favorite channel queued up so we didn't miss the premier of Breaking Bad. Thanks for a great experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you so much! Your whole party was a delight to work with and have. I do apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the tub. Yes, it is in the master suite. We certainly hope to have you back in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beyond Wonderful!!

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

We are so impressed with every aspect of Fernbrook! Our family of nine found the house to be much more than we expected. The house was very roomy for all of us to have our "space" when we needed it. The house was immaculately clean and well stocked. We were there for our daughter's wedding in Yelm, WA. If we would have known at the time that Fernbrook hosts weddings we may have changed the venue to Fernbrook. We hosted the rehearsal dinner and the Sunday brunch gift opening. Everyone was very impressed. Fernbrook provided us with recommendations for caterers and we used "Occasions Catering." They were Phenomenal! The grounds are lovely with beautiful greenery and flowers. The beach was fun for the grandchildren to "hunt" crabs. Our grandchildren hugged us even before we saw the inside of Fernbrook, they were so happy with the place. Working with Michelle was a delight. We highly recommend staying at this fabulous place! I wish there were more words to describe our experience, however, the place is beyond your wildest dreams. Peace Always, The Cary Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you for the glowing review! We think it is pretty special and are so glad you and your family had such a delightful time. It always makes us smile to hear that guests have enjoyed their time at Fernbrook. We hope you have many memories to take with you and we would love to have you back again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unforgettable! Stunning, you won't be dissapointed

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2011

My husband & I got married on the most STUNNING, BEAUTIFUL Fernbrook property back in July of 2009. We stayed here for four night with both our immediate families, and each person had a bed to sleep in! It was so idyllic and perfect. We got married in the beautiful yard off the house, with stunning views of Mt. Rainier and the Puget Sound. The house was in great condition, the hosts unbelievably hospitable and generous!! For example, the day before our wedding, the actual owner of the house came to the property to water the lawn. When I approached her to thank her, she said, "I can't imagine it not looking especially beautiful for your big day!". It was so touching, and kind.

There is plenty of room for tons of people, perfect for a reunion or large get together. We had the rehearsal dinner there as well, and at the wedding there were 130 people and no one felt cramped or crowded, it was amazingly perfect. We swan on the private beach, had bonfires at night, and grilled during the day.

We plan to make this a place where we go back to time and time again, as it has held such an important place in my family, friends and our hearts. Thank you so much for such great service, and anyone who is on the fence about whether to rent it or not - YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. Everything about Fernbrook is beautiful and pristine.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Your words are so kind and express just what we hope for all of our guests. We look forward to hosting you again and wish all the best for you and a long happy life ahead.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Place For a 4 Generation Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

We loved this amazingly unique house. We had checked it out before renting it 8 months ago and couldn't wait until the rest of our family could see it - they were all amazed at the house and the view. Mt Rainier was beautiful at all hours - even in the full moon and before sunrise!! So much room to spread out and so many little areas both inside and out to relax and read. We appreciated how clean it was and the nice linens too. Thanks Fernbrook for all the great family memories!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: You are so welcome! Please come again as we would love to host you and your family for more wonderful memories!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

In town for a wedding

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

We were in town with family members for our daughter's wedding. We came from all over the country to be together for this wedding. We really enjoyed our weekend at the Fernbrook Home. Information provided beforehand was just what we needed and was provided in a timely manner. The amenities at the home are wonderful and the view is perfect. We would come back without a doubt.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words! It was a delight hosting your party. Please do come again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wedding retreat

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

We had a wedding in the area and needed a place for family from all over the country to stay. For three days old and young alike had things to do and space in which to do it. The three levels gave the kids a place play while others read or cooked. The view of the sound in front of the house and the bald eagles in the trees just outside the living area made everyone want to stand at the enormous windows and simply enjoy the great northwest.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please let us know the next time you're in need of a Bald Eagle viewing or a weekend to stroll the beach.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely Fantastic!

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! It was the best decision to choose this beautiful house instead of other vacation rentals in Olympia. Great view, huge house, awesome interior decorating, it had everything! It was super easy to get down to the beach and go kayaking that is provided, or even nice to stay in and read one of the hundreds of books they have in their library. It has something for everyone - adventuring on the acres for the kids, or even just a nature walk for my husband and I. This is one of the best places we have ever stayed.
The owners were very accommodating - every time we wanted/needed something, they were there to help. It is a good place for families, couples get away, or even just friends getting together. Will definitely be booking here again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay! We had several generations of family there for four days for a family wedding - and there was enough room that no one got on anyone's nerves! The views, the accommodations - everything - was wonderful!

We are hoping that we can make a family tradition every year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Wedding House

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2008

We had our wedding here several years ago and absolutely loved this idyllic retreat! The house is beautifully furnished with a kitchen to delight any chef. The property itself is well maintained and has stunning views of Mt. Rainer at an angle not often viewed. We were treated as well as if we'd been personal friends while making the reservation and upon our visits to the site. I would highly recommend this gorgeous house to anyone who wants a quiet retreat without having to stay in a rustic cabin in the middle of the woods.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A fabulous place to stay

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

The home is a private estate on 200 ft of waterfront, with a knockout view of Mt. Rainier. The house is spacious and nicely furnished. The library is a wonderful room...warm and inviting. Charming greenhouse on the property. A great place to get away!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wow!!

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Great place for families...and couples. Nicely furnished. Beautiful location. Feels far away...only 10 minutes from shopping center. On the beach, with a view of Mt. Rainier that is not believeable. Quiet, peaceful...a very special place. Kayaking, fishing, hiking.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review