reviews for: listing #26134 - Galveston, Texas Condo rental

New Renovation Beachfront Seascape Condo Unit1305 Free Wi-Fi
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Seascape
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $116 - $202 /nt
    $679 - $1,225 /wk

sort by:

New year's getaway

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

Even before our arrival, we had a very positive impression of what our experience would be like. The owner was very quick to respond to all of our inquiries and made planning our stay quite easy. We had some difficulty with the rental agency, however, regarding some details of our reservation. Apart from this, there were no problems. The staff here proved to be very efficient in other cases - the can opener in the unit was broken, and they replaced it with a new one within a couple of hours. They were very willing to help.

The unit is very cozy and functional. There were two of us staying here, and we had more than enough space. The bedroom is small but comfortable, with a good-sized bed and closet for storage. Everything in the unit is labeled and some basic amenities were provided (such as dish soap and toilet paper), which was a really nice touch. Everything has been really well thought out, and there is a great attention to detail in decor and items provided for use. We felt very much at home!

The large balcony overlooks the beach, and you can hear the waves coming in from the living/kitchen area. Unfortunately, the weather has not been in our favor in terms of enjoying the beachfront location!

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay here. Just one problem - the bathroom door does not close completely (probably due to humidity - this can be fixed).

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Week stay in October

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

This unit is exactly as advertised: clean, ready for occupancy and a good view of the gulf. Some reviewers have complained about having a RV park next door but we found it interesting to watch them come and go as it is limited to transients only. Additionally it is only about one third of the total view from a nice sized balcony.
The unit is very adequately stocked with dishes and utensils, the king size bed was very comfortable but the bedroom was too small for it. You can get around it but it is close to the walls. This is not a deal breaker, just be aware of it.
We had read that the staff was not friendly but we found just the opposite; perhaps they, like most of us, return smiles when they receive them. The grounds were well kept and the pool looked inviting although we did not use it.
The only negative items were: we were unable to open the dish washer, the bottom of the bathtub was very slick, there was no cover on the electric outlet behind the bed and the pricing. We didn't come to Galveston to cook so being unable to use the dishwasher was not a problem. We bought a tub mat at Walmart and took care of the tub.
As for pricing, the initial on line advertisements show only what the owner charges, not what you are going to pay and does not include a multitude of additional charges. We expected tax would be added but the total, including tax was almost 40 percent higher. We were given the total, including add ons, when we made the reservation, but it should be clearly shown in the website.
Will we return? You betcha!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Seascape Abc rentals unit 1305

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Dust on most everything inside unit,Private beach needed to be cleaned(large fish heads from fishermen, dog feces),trashy beach. Had to complain to security about children running up and around complex, up and down stairs and elevators yelling and screaming for 3 hours.Pic of unit we rented was not the same as pictured. Pool was always overcrowded. We were disapointed. People at the office were very friendly.Setting up reservation with Aaron was quick and easy.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Pictures of the unit and view are correct. Guest inquired about another unit that was occupied and reserved Unit 1305.
Regarding the complex, unfortunately your visit was during the peak summer period which is the complex's busiest season and 100% occupancy. It can be overcrowded and noisy at times especially late morning and early afternoon during the summer which isn't unexpected on a nice day. The complex is very family friendly so there can be quite a few kids but it is not always overcrowded or noisy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great location, well furnished

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We had a great time. We had everything we needed for a girls weekend with my daughter and granddaughters. The unit is small but efficient, nicely updated, and very quiet. The king bed in the bedroom was comfortable and the girls loved their cozy bunks.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Seascape Condominiums

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

The condo worked well for us. We particularly appreciated the bunk beds as we brought our granddaughter with us. Everything was as described and comfortable. The view from the balcony was unobstructed and private. The pool area was well maintained and supervised. No problems with the check in or out.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful memories!

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

The location of this condo is prime! Beachfront view from the third floor with no one above you, so it was very quiet. The property is very clean and safe and staff makes sure that only owners or rental guest have access. The condo itself was beautifully updated and very comfortable my girls absolutely loved the bunk beds and my son enjoyed the pull out bed in the living room. I loved the bright kitchen where every morning I could brew my coffee while enjoying the beautiful view of the beach! Priceless! My teens enjoyed the sunsets on the balcony and the many attractions along the Sea Wall. Everything is so close including Walmart and Signature Kroger if you'd like to cook and save money for other activities as our family did. We also drove a little further down historical district and ate at Mosquito Cafe, we highly recommend the food and the prices are reasonable and if you're in the mood for something sweet they also have pies, cookies, scones, and other treats.The owner was wonderful, prompt to respond all inquiries and communication was optimal. He also had communication with the front desk staff via email, so by the time I checked in everything went smooth without wait time. This was our children's' first trip to the beach and they had a wonderful time and we created unforgettable memories. We are already planning another vacation and hopefully this condo will be available so in short we would definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Good unit

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

Very nice unit. Well equipped and maintained, attractively decorated. Bed comfortable. A small unit, large enough for two adults but not much more. Easy access to the beach. Nice pool, very clean, deck chairs in good condition. The condo has been around for a few years and shows some age but is still in good condition and I would definitely stay there again. It is at the end of Seawall Boulevard which is a good thing I think. Less traffic and noise and you don't have to cross the road to get to the beach.

Not related to unit but check out the Mosquito Cafe and especially the Sunflower Bakery/cafe. They are great and off the beaten track.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

I have stayed here twice before, this was the second time in the same unit- because of my previous experience, chose this one again.It is easy to find. The owner Aaron is easy to work with, property mgt. pleasant and helpful as well. The unit itself is clean, had lots of towels and as described in amenities. The internet worked very fast.The view especially from this 3rd floor unit is great--we had a west view. There were no safety issues on the property, the heated pool was great as was the temp of the hot tub.Property is clean, well maintained. Beach access simple especially being right on the beach.
We drove all over the island, can't really get lost. We went to the Epicurean Evening 2012 and would go again.
I look forward to coming here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyable stay

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

The location really lived up to our expectations. We have a 9 and 79 year-old and some middle-aged adults in our party and we all had a wonderful time. The pelicans, dolphins the 3 pools and jacuzzi and of course the very easy access to the beach made our vacation unforgettable. The condo we stayed (1305) was well equipped and stocked with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Every kitchen tools and gadget is there with ample supplies of pots,pans cookie sheets, bowls even kitchen cleaning stuff were present. Did I forgot to mention the beds..? They are so comfortable after a tiring day of swimming and gallivanting. We had a shrimp and crab feast getting our stuff from Sanford and Son at Pier 23. The treasure isle pink trolley was very informative and all we need for a short stay. NASA was just 45 minutes away and had a good time there too! But I have to mention about the little problem they had about he elevator not working for several times during our stay, but the other good things far exceeds that one little drawback. We will definitely be back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great little get away

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Great condo, everything just as promised. Clean, newly renovated, ready for you to unpack and relax. We drove from the Dallas area, and packed lots of extra - just in case - type items. (coffee pot, blender, bath towels) We didn't need any of them.
Very comfortable king size bed. The bunk beds looked great, we just didn't have a need for them, but thought how much our kids would have loved them when they were little!
Yes, the view is over the RV park - but it does not detract from your view at all. No noise issues either.
The private beach was exactly what we hoped for - not overly crowded, and more relaxing than the public beach offered by most resorts. What a bonus not to have to cross the busy road to get to the beach!
It was our first time in Galveston. We found it fun and charming, with much to do, even during the rain! This included a 30 minute drive to Johnson space center. a must see!
This was perfect for the two of us.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved the location!

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Seascape Condominiums was a great location straight on the beach. #1305 was a great view and very nice. Comfy king size bed. Cute bunk beds. Kitchen had any utensils and pots needed. Loved the pool available to the guests. Seaweed was in abundance while we were there but I read that is normal in late Spring and early Summer. I hope to come back in the Fall sometime since I was told it is the best time of year to be there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet and cozy

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Upon arrival the late check-in process was simple and quick. Our condo was on the 3rd floor with a west-facing balcony. The unit was clean, well appointed and a good deal for the price. The only problems we had during our weekend stay were the internet didn't work and our balcony overlooked an RV park on the beach. Location is great, away from all the traffic and crowds. The pool is a bit small but in good condition and well maintained. Although we didn't particularly care for Galveston, if you are going there I would definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Condo in Galvistion

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

We arrived very excited to be in Galvistion. We were able to check in early as our condo was ready..this was a plus. The desk gave lots of great ideas of places to go and see with maps...a plus. Driving directions was great except now it is the second place on the beach nothing a u turn couldn't fix:). We were all very very pleased with the location. Right on the beach and not so busy! There was plenty of room for 4.
There was a couple of items that needs attention ~ the toilet was not clean we notice right away which was obvious and could not find the house maid so had to clean ourselves ~YUCK. The drain in the tub needs cleaning ....slow water. The cabnet in bathroom is dirty with toothpaste and such. This bathroom needs cleaning attention as does the kitchen cabnets dirty on the outside. I pulled out a pan the next morning to make breakfast and it was obviously dirty! YUCK.
There is no dish soap to just wash dishes so you might pack some or stop on the way in. There is no paper towels or kitchen towels THIS WOULD ALSO BE NICE!There is not enough towels for 4 people to be staying for 4 days. I asked if they change them out and was told there is a wash room.....sorry I don't want to waist my vacation doing laundry. Sorry a pet peeve I like a clean towel everyday especially if want to take shower twice a day. The bands they want you to wear is crazy ~ way oversized...stretched out...if you try and wrap twice too tight. In Mexico they have plastic bands cut to size or even the kind you get in a bar would be much better!
Over all WE ALL LOVED THE PLACE. A LITTLE TLC COULD DO WONDERS. PEOPLE LIKE CLEAN PLACES. I DON'T THINK THE CLEANING STAFF IS SPENDING ENOUGH TIME IN DOING THERE JOB.
YES, I WOULD RECOMMEND ALSO MIGHT JUST TAKE MY HUSBAND WITH ME NEXT TIME:)

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the stay

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2012

It was very hard to leave this condo, it was great and had everything I needed. The property was very well maintained and the location is perfect. I highly recommend it and I look forward to when I can return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

dance competition - galveston

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

We loved this condo. The description was accurate, actually in reality it was much better. The location is perfect. Far enough away from the seawall to be not too touristy, yet close enough to enjoy the attractions. The property was well maintained with easy beach access and a pool on the premises. The owner provided excellent customer service. I would and have recommended this property to my friends. We really enjoyed the pool and the wifi during our stay. The unit was clean, beautifully decorated and spacious. We felt right at home. The only problem we had was the kitchen sink was a little slow to drain the last day we were there, but other than that everything was wonderful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

nice condos

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

real nice

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

weekend stay

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

very nice place to stay . nice clean beach and the owner was extremely helpful.the condo was well equipped for cooking and had a nice pool.the 3 days we stayed was fairly quite and restful

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Nice Condo

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

This property was very nice, and will definitely book again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2nd visit to same unit and still wonderful!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

This was the 2nd year we spent our mother's day weekend here. We liked the unit so much last year that we stayed in the same exact one. It is so tastefully decorated and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need. The owner of this unit is awesome. He always answers emails promptly and is very friendly and helpful. I really enjoy the Seascape complex. The pool area is wonderful and the beach has recovered nicely from the hurricane. This time they had the barbecue area completed which is new since last year. The staff at AB Sea Rental is very friendly. The only complaint I have about this stay that I did not have last year is.....They have a policy that you have to wear arm bands when on the property. This is fine, I understand why...but they are very large and even fall off my wrist. We had a 6 year old with us and the bands are very hard to keep up with. My sister in law actually got in argument with the security guard because in the office they said we did not have to wear them as long as we had them with us. The guard said that wasn't true and argued with us for a while over it. We actually had to tie the band around my niece's bathing suit. The guard made the comment..."I'm about to get off, so I don't care what you do!" Then she came back and started arguing again...along with the pool monitor. 20 minutes later the shift changed and the pool monitor was back around questioning everyone. It really was bordering on harrasment. when you stay somewhere nice you expect to be treated with respect, not like they are assuming you are doing something wrong. This is totally not the owners fault, it is the management company. It will not keep me from staying there. We will be back next year, same unit.... I really enjoy it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

Do not believe any of the negative reviews. Our condo was spotlessly clean, fantastically decorated, beautiful view. Very comfortable bed. Super friendly security. My child got stung by jelly-fish(her fault). The office was kind enough to provide a home remedy for the stings. GREAT TIME

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place

Review submitted: September 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

Had a great time at this condo , really nice view and fantastic pool area !! The management team was very helpful and courteous. 24 hour security guard was super cool !!! Close to beach too , i would highly recomend this condo , Thanks

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Very Impressed. Better than expected! Lovely!

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

Wow! We go to Galveston quite often as we only live 40 minutes away. We have stayed in several of the condo complexes and a couple of beach houses. This was my first stay at Seascape and I LOVED IT. I am not sure what the complex was like before Ike, but it is beautiful now! The pool area was wonderful, with a large pool, two hot tubs a baby pool, a water feature, four swings, two bathrooms, and tons of chairs and tables. Beach access was simple and very quick to get to. The condo itself was so much better than I ever expected! All 1 bedroom condo's in Galveston are small, but this one used it's space to the maximum. The decor was beautiful! There were storage cubby holes everywhere. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need and more. The bunk beds were adorable and very comfortable. The view was terrific! I took my mom and family here for Mother's Day, and we could not have asked for more. To the owner of this condo I want to say thank you, for thinking of the renter and not just trying to get by with some half a__ decorating and hotel like decor. Your place is beautiful and I will be back for sure!!! Oh and everyone working at Seascape was wonderful too. Thank you Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review