reviews for: listing #26139 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Studio rental

Poolside Mediteranean Villa at Wyndham Rio Mar Beach Hotel
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Rio Mar
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $250 /nt
    $750 - $950 /wk
    $1,500 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful Villa,Very affordable-perfect location!

Review submitted: March 13, 2009   Date of arrival: March 2, 2009

In A word -Fantastic! This villa has a beautiful view of the Golf course, is very comfortable and nicely finished and has a perfect location right next to the pool with a nice easy walk to the beach and members beach pool club. We opened up the windows and had the cool Caribbean breeze blowing through the villa while we were there and then at night we didn't evan need the 2 AC units that the villa has. My wife and I slept on the Queen bed and our 2 kids slept in the loft area which has a low roof but was perfect for our teenagers and would be a great option for younger kids too.
We found everything to be in perfect working condition (not sure how the folks below didn't) and towels, linens and furniture was all in great shape and seemingly new. The villa inside and its surrounding area has a really nice Mediteranean feel and the grounds are beautiful. The hotel has great restaurants and amenities that we made full use of and we found some great restaurants just outside the resort. The owner Richard was very helpful in giving us direction on things to do and we found the Rio Mar area VERY convenient for the Rainforest, Horseback riding and ATV Rainforest tours, Bioluminescent bay kayak tour(at night!) Catamaran day trips snorkelling on the reefs and of course Old San Juan!
Strongly recopmmend this villa to families of 4 for activities and beach vacation and also to couples for a nice quiet romantic getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Josh and glad you liked the place! I hope we can help you with your vacation next year!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Excellent villa in a great location!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

My husband and I just got back from one week of renting Richard's villa on the golf course at Rio Mar. It was perfect for our needs and we would definitely recommend it for anyone who either wants an alternative to staying at the Wyndham hotel, or would just like to be in a beautiful location to visit the various sites in the area. The windows open onto the golf course on one side with a spectacular view, and the pool/street on the other side. The gentle breeze that flows across the bed as you are sleeping gives the impression of being outside 24/7 and the birds....they are like a beautiful symphony!
We had a conference to attend at the Wyndham Rio Mar hotel for 3 days and the villa was very convenient as guests at the villa are permitted to use all the hotel facilities (take towels from the villa). We would drive down to the waterfront pool, parking lot there for the day, and walk the five minutes along the beach to the hotel to attend the conference. The parking fees at the hotel are very pricey and we were thrilled to be able to spend that money saved on more important things!
We ate breakfast at Antojito's near Hwy 3, lunch at Richie's (spectacular view) up the hill from the villa, and lunch and dinner in the same day at Boardriders (awesome build your own tacos) at Luquillo Beach (across street from the water, great way to spend the day watching the surfers). The conference took us to the Hacienda Siesta Alegre, up in the rainforest (where it rained right through the roof!), which was super beautiful! We ate at El Jefe Hamburgers at the Kioskes. Spent a day in Old San Juan and ate at the Cafe la Princesca, another great place with atmosphere and great food.
El Yunque rainforest is 10 minutes away, Fajardo was about 20-25 minutes. We flew to Culebra for the day....Flamenco Beach was our favorite. We thoroughly enjoyed Luquillo Beach which is also just a 10-15 minute drive. It was wonderful to come back to the villa, open all the windows and enjoy the last portion of our day listening to the birds and sipping a glass of wine. If you need air conditioning, there are two, but they are noisy. We used them for a time and then turned them off and opened the windows. Yes, it was hot but that's what we were there for....a break from a very cold, long winter in Canada!
The photos are exactly reflective of the villa...small but clean and provided all the necessary amenities for a great week in PR. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Know what you are getting into

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

I was pretty worried going in on this rental. Only recent positive reviews are "owner entered" and there are a number of negative reviews. The lack of recent VRBO reviews made me worried, but I took a chance. Glad I did.

Read the reviews carefully to understand what you are getting. In terms of the loft area, you crawl into bed. Really not a problem and kids love it. As for the main floor, the bed is actually a full, not a queen as claimed. The beach pool area described as a "five minute walk" is a little over a half mile away (0.62). The hotel pool and amenities are a 15 minute walk down the beach once you get to the beach pool area. Note that you will not have towel privileges at the hotel. I spoke with the two different managers on two different days and both indicated towels are only for hotel guests, not condo owners. Hotel guests get a "towel card" and the towels are strictly checked out/checked in, so you will not be able to get one. Make sure to take a towel with you. OTOH, the cluster pool is literally across the street, steps away.

The architecture of the villa cluster is very cool. The buildings are set into the hillside and have a Spanish theme with tile roofs, white washed walls, and awnings. You enter this unit through stairs in a turret. Excellent tiling and materials.

The unit is very centrally located to the rain forest, horseback riding (there is a place just down the street which combines ride through dense forest with a ride on the beach), zip lining and restaurants. Definitely recommend Antojitos, but Richies Cafe, not so much (great view, but touristy and overpriced). About four traffic lights toward Luquillo you will find 65 "Kiosks" which are small restaurants in a strip where the locals go. Amazing local food, amazingly cheap.

The reviews for this villa and Richard's other unit say he is hard to get in touch with. I think that's a fair comment, although he clearly has regular job. It is not a problem as ultimately any concern is addressed. There is not the friendly "I want you to have a good time and will help" vibe that you get most VRBO owners -- it is more like renting from a company, not that there is anything wrong with that. The criticisms from both units regarding the directions are also fair, but you'll find it eventually.

Overall, there is a bit of hype to the description, but if you read carefully and know what you are getting, then you will be most satisfied. Recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thanks Thomas,
The only thing I have to add is that the bed is definitely a Queen. Full size linens do not fit this bed and the linens that do say queen! I can guarantee this bed size to future renters for whom this may be a concern.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location and perfect for us!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

My best friend and I came to the Rio Mar for a conference and wanted to stay in the villas instead of the hotel. Since there were only two of us this was great! I am only 5'3 so I chose to stay in the small loft while Matt slept downstairs . The loft was def on the short side but as I only slept upstairs I had no issues! There was an ac and multiple fans- but we chose to keep the windows open most of the time and it was great. The pool is right outside, the beach was super close... the hotel we had to pay parking so you may want to check into a golf cart if you are spending a lot of time on site. We traveled a lot through the week so got a rental car. Richard was great about getting back to me and everything was as expected! Considering the price compared to other options- this was perfect for our stay and if we make it back I would certainly stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See you next year

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

We enjoyed this villa so much and the price was so good we will be back next year. Eat at richies cafe and antojitos and make sure you don't miss the junglequi zip lining. The villa is very close to all puertomrico's top attractions but we found kicking back at the villa and enjoying the cluster pool deck area the best part of our vacation. Thanks to pizarro (landscaping manager) for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best location- villa best value

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

Having researched the best place to be to see bio bay, old san juan and el yunque we knew Rio Mar was the right choice. When we researched your villa we did see the negative comments but because of the price we decided to take a chance. We are delighted we did. Not only was the location perfect but we decided to stay at the villa for more time than we anticipated because the amenities of the resort were perfect for us. And the villa itself was so charming. We loved the classic wooden style of the villa and all the finishing a made it feel upscale but the price was the best part about it. Thanks for the great directions and smooth check in and check out. Stay here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEWARE!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 8, 2013

Pictures are deceiving and owner is difficult to reach!!!! Do not expect a clean place or air conditioning to work! The loft is TINY, you actually have to crawl in it!! As a native puerto rican I was embarrassed and disappointed! I've used VRBO all over the world and never experienced this unprofessional service!

Owners response: Jerri did not actually stay in is villa so i feel this feedback Lacks credibility and is a little unfair however We take all feedback very seriously especially negative.
Admittedly I just changed cell phones so while jerri had the check in details, the number on check in info was my old number. a quick conversation with the 24 hr guard or any of the friendly neighbours would have resolved this.
I try to represent the loft space in pictures as best as possible and while a picture speaks a thousand words I have also added the dimensions of the loft to our website. If jerri would have looked at the dimensions she would not have been surprised by the loft space.
On inspection the ac's work. I think jerri did not turn the main plug on and jumped to the conclusion that it didn't work. Again, unfair feedback. I have been renting this property for 6 years and never had a complaint about the cleanliness of the property. I inspected the property after e complaint and I found it to be to a high standard and a standard that all previous renters have found to be satisfactory or more. I always provide service to the best of my ability (I am a director at the new Ritz-Carlton reserve so I know service) but in this case as mentioned jerri did not have my correct number.
As a native born Puerto Rican jerri knows that this property is priced very competitively for Rio Mar and is great value.
I urge you to not let this one negative review out of 6 years of very positive reviews and satisfied renters review put you off what is a really great deal for such a fantastic villa.

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Awsome Villa!!

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

In a word -Awesome!! I stayed at this villa with my wife for 5 days to celebrate our aniversary.This villa has a beautiful view of the Golf course and mountains. It is very comfortable and is perfectly located right next to the pool with a nice easy walk to the beach and members beach pool club. We opened up the windows and had the cool Caribbean breeze blowing through the villa while we were there and then at night we only neede 1 of the 2 AC units that the villa has. My wife and I slept on the Queen bed and ejoyed the great breez with the calming soulds of the coqui.There was a nice loft for children or teens. We found everything to be in perfect working condition. Towels, linens and furniture was all in great shape.We especially ejoyed the wi-fi. The villa and its surrounding area has a really nice Mediteranean feel and the grounds are beautiful. The security in this place was outstanding, they were friendly and always made sure the apropriate people were entering the grounds. The owner Richard was very helpful in giving us direction to the Villa. The Rio Mar area is VERY convenient to El Yunque Rainforest as well as all types of activities in the near by town of fajardo. We would highly recommend this villa for couples and small families. We will defenitely be back. Thanks Richard

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great view, close to beach, closer to pool

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

In A word -Fantastic! This villa has a beautiful view of the Golf course, is very comfortable and nicely finished and has a perfect location right next to the pool with a nice easy walk to the beach and members beach pool club. We opened up the windows and had the cool Caribbean breeze blowing through the villa while we were there and then at night we didn't evan need the 2 AC units that the villa has. My wife and I slept on the Queen bed and our 2 kids slept in the loft area which has a low roof but was perfect for our teenagers and would be a great option for younger kids too.
We found everything to be in perfect working condition and towels, linens and furniture was all in great shape and seemingly new. The villa inside and its surrounding area has a really nice Mediteranean feel and the grounds are beautiful. The hotel has great restaurants and amenities that we made full use of and we found some great restaurants just outside the resort. The owner Richard was very helpful in giving us direction on things to do and we found the Rio Mar area VERY convenient for the Rainforest, Horseback riding and ATV Rainforest tours, Bioluminescent bay kayak tour(at night!) Catamaran day trips snorkelling on the reefs and of course Old San Juan!
Strongly recopmmend this villa to families of 4 for activities and beach vacation and also to couples for a nice quiet romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Villa in Excellent Location

Review submitted: March 19, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

We would strongly recommend this villa to anyone looking for some peace and relaxation. Villa has a fabulous Mediterranean feel and is much like a loft. You can open the windows in their entirety and intake the beautiful views of the golf course. It was very well kept with all the necessary amenities. The pool is steps away with a grill and area to dine/entertain. It’s very quiet and secluded so for action you have to head over to the resort where you have access to most of their facilities such as their pool and poolside tiki bar, beach, casino, restaurants, and concierge service. Resort is gorgeous and you get excellent service… iguanas everywhere! The property is very close to most attractions and excursions…10 min to Luquillo beach, 10 min to El Yunque… 30 min to San Juan…40 min to Old San Juan. Make sure to go to a gift shop across from Rte 3 past the Eureka gas station… I believe it’s called Coqui International… for some awesome souvenirs to take back home. Staying in this villa is an excellent alternative to paying the high room prices at Puerto Rico resorts which don’t include much. Beds could have been more comfortable, but who’s worried about sleeping with so much to do?! When we arrived it was exactly as Richard, the owner, had said. He was very helpful and answered all our questions. Can hardly wait to go back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beautiful Clean Villa in great resort location!

Review submitted: March 15, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

Wow! Me and my husband have just returned from a week at this villa and what an awesome experience we had in Puerto Rico! The villa was immaculate with beautiful furnishings and an amazing view of the Golf course. Richard the owner was always available for any questions we had about the local attractions and tours.
The villa was right next to the pool which we enjoyed every morning and then of course the nearby hotel beach and members pool are which was really private.
The hotel restaurants were pricey but there were lots of well priced alternatives outside the resort serving local style food. Richies was expensive but great view...Also try Hacienda Carabali's grill. Its a ranch close to the villa in the foothills of the Rainforest that offers local food and also Rainforest ATV and horseback riding. Also a go kart racing track for kids.
The description of the villa was right on and we found the property in a neat well made up clean state.
This villa was very affordable compared to the nearby alternatives and we definitely recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Poor Villa, Excellent Resort

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

First let me mention that the Rio Mar resort is fabulous. So many activities and excellent beaches and restaurants. We will definitely stay within the resort again. As far as the villa is concerned,it does have a beautiful view, however,the villa pictures and description are misleading. The property description never mentions that the loft doesn't actually have a king bed, but that it has two twin mattresses laying on a wood floor. Nor does it mention that you can barely sit up on the bed, let alone stand up in the loft. The picture does not show the bottom of the bed so you have no idea that it's that short up there and that what you are looking at is not a complete bed. We had a terrible time trying to get sleep. Spoke to the owner early in the week then could not reach hime the rest of the time even after leaving messages. Also, many things were not working (A/C, fan, microwave, toaster). The owner's only response to that was "thanks" for letting him know. He's certainly not concerned about getting return customers. Lots of other options for this resort, go with someone else's villa!

Owners response: Since this review I have added a Queen Bed to the downstairs main area so the sofa bed is not necessary. The above rentor chose to sleep in the loft and not on what was the sofa bed which is a questionable decision. I am always honest and upfront about the upstairs loft arrangements as you will see from the description of this space here and on my own website. Its more like a bonus for 2 kids. Adults should sleep downstairs on the Queen Bed. (which unfortunately was a sofa bed for the above rentor since the proper Queen wasn't added) However I have to add that 99% of visitors are VERY satisfied and I have many positive reviews and great letters from rentors who stayed BEFORE the queen bed was added. I also have many repeat rentors. I have testimonials available and you can also call any of my repeat customers who can tell you that the villa is VERY good value for the price and perfect for a family vacation or romanitc getaway for a couple. I live in the area and am always available to help with any requests

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

I have had very good experiences with previous rentals on Home Away. I was very disappointed with this Studio. The mezzanine was not as pictured. You have to go up a short narrow stair and crawl into the mattress that is situated on the FLOOR. The space between the floor and of the mezzanine and the ceiling is not much (you need to crawl to get in bed). The sofa bed was an alternative but even that was pretty old and in bad shape. I called the manager and asked if another villa was available and I would pay the difference. Was told no, and he would not give us our money back. We left that day to and found a hotel, never used the villa.
I am writing this review because I would not like anyone to go through this bad experience while on vacation.

Owners response: Out of 54 satisfied rentors since Jan 2006 and 36 positive reviews (available at your request) Dianes is the first negative one. I still take it very seriously. If you have read this far you will hopefully also have read/go onto read the other review published which is very positive. I have 36 other positive reviews which I can e-mail to you after scanning from the visitors book in the villa. I'm not sure how the Mezzanine can not be as pictured! A picture speaks a thousand words and is not really open to interpretation. If Dianes review casts any doubt about wether this villa is right for you please feel free to contact me and allow me to send you information/pictures that will eliminate any doubt you may still be having. This villa is a true gem and apart from Diane ALL rentors have been very happy. I think Diane forgot about the (new!) sofa bed option when she arrived and since it was not made she assumed the Loft was the only option. The loft is great for kids and also adults who come with poetic souls and a fun spirit. An unhappy rentor is unacceptable to me which is why, since Dianes review I have changed the sofa bed to a Queen size bed. (now pictured). The sofa is still there as folks love it. I truly hope that this negative review will not put you off this villa as people who have stayed have really enjoyed the villa, Rio Mar and its location and proximity to all the hotel amenities and local attractions. I believe that by helping people and providing a great product, people will come back to the villa and the island. I work in tourism and we rely on word of mouth for our success. Having satisfied rentors is of the most importance to me. By the way...I am the owner not the manager as Diane states.

Helpful votes: 22 / 24

 

Why a small hotel room when you can have a Villa?

Review submitted: August 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

I absolutely loved my stay here! Richard's description of the villa is on point. It has a charming Mediterranean Style very clean, convienient, comfortable, and safe. The view from the villa outside is spectacular. Has all the amenities anyone can need from coffee to beach towels, you name it they have it. The pool is right outside the villa and the beach is a short walk away. El Yunque Rainforest is about a 5-10 minute drive away, definately worth visiting and enjoying a nice hiking trail with beautiful views take a camera. Give Richard a call if you need a bigger place he can help you with that also, very kind and professional. All one needs to do is relax and enjoy your Home Away from Home! Richard & Margie thank you for making my stay so enjoyable, I will definately recommend this place to all my friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review