reviews for: listing #26166 - San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico House rental

Views, comfort & luxury features: This casa has it all!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Obraje
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $750 /wk
    $1,350 - $1,650 /mth

sort by:

Home away from Home

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

This was a great property for us! Far enough away from El Jardin and it's noise level but close enough to walk to the Jardin every day.. There is a hill to climb on the way back (1 block only) and by the time we left we didn't even think about climbing it plus it allowed us to justify desserts....always delicious.
You automatically become part of the small community, both Mexican and Expats and it was fun to experience different aspects of life that way. We were there for 5 months and we're sorry to leave.
As far as amenities, it has a great kitchen, equipped with everything I needed. I enjoyed experimenting with my New Mexican recipes. The Master Bedroom was comfortable and spacious. There were only two of us so didn't use the guest bedroom, but it looked pretty and comfortable. Downstairs was great...loved the fireplace for chilly nights. The patio and views were lovely and we were able to see beautiful sunsets over the cathedral in San Miguel. Just breathtaking.
It is an amazing town to visit. Lots of different activities...great language schools ( we went to Habla Hispana and loved it!) and wonderful art teachers and galleries. So colorful and unique.
I would stay here again and would absolutely recommend this home to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet Oasis on the Edge of Town

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

The casa is a lovely, calm oasis on the edge of SMA proper, not far from L'Aurora. This two-bedroom casa is ideal for two couples or small group of friends traveling together as there is ample private and shared space. The kitchen is beautiful and beautifully stocked with everything you need for a short or long-term stay. Terraces on all three levels have wonderful views of the city and are a lovely place to watch the sun set and do some stargazing. The decor colors are peaceful, though with a Mexican flavor. The walk to the Jardin and central tourist area takes about 20-25 minutes at a leisurely pace - and a leisurely pace is strongly recommended when navigating SMA's cobblestone streets. For two days of our stay, SMA experienced unseasonably cold weather. The in-floor heating on the second floor and gas fireplace in the living room were a godsend and made for cozy evenings. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in SMA and would happily come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay in your home. It was very enjoyable. The views, weather and amenities were perfect. The area was very safe, we walked to the downtown area each day, ate lunch and did all the tourist things. We plan to be return, maybe for a longer period.

Your pride of ownership shows in the little details, the library and the wonderful artwork and decor.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house in SMA

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The house was lovely, the views a constant pleasure and we especially appreciated how well organized everything was. We will probably rent this house again next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All the comforts of home .....

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

I stayed here for a week end of May, beginning of June. The house is very beautiful, with all the comforts of home. Stephanie left a notebook detailing where everything that you may need is,(down to details of where to find a kit to fix your glasses). Very nice house on the edge of town - a nice walk (15 minutes) to El Jardin. Might want to catch a cab on the way back if you're not in shape, last few blocks are uphill. Taxis are cheap ($2.50 - $3.00). Beautiful views of the mountains and cathedral from the roof top terrace. The house is immaculate, with maid service twice a week. Nice outside breakfast area with running fountain. Comfortable furniture with nice linens on the beds. Slept like a baby in the master bedroom bed! Woke up to nice view of the mountains. I would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved our stay in this beautiful home

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending a month in this lovely home. The furnishings and finishes are beautiful and the layout was roomy and easy to live in. We made frequent use of the terrace for breakfast and just lounging, and enjoyed stargazing and watching lightning storms from the roof deck.

Even on the hottest days, we could open the sliders to the terrace and prop open the door to the entry courtyard and get a lovely breeze through the main level of the house. We didn't cook a lot of extravagant meals, but he kitchen is nicely outfitted with everything you might need for cooking, including beautiful Talavera ceramic dishes and mugs. Having a washer and dryer was fantastic; I could have gotten by with about half of the clothing that I packed.

Although it was just the two of us, the house would have been very comfortable with a third person or maybe even another couple, since there is a full bath for each of the two bedrooms.

The location was good if you like to be a bit away from the city noise. There is the expected neighborhood noise of dogs barking and roosters crowing, and the occasional fiesta, but we found it to be relatively peaceful for San Miguel. It took us about 20 minutes to walk to El Jardin in the center of town, and just about 5 minutes to walk to the Fabrica la Aurora art gallery/shop/restaurant complex.

The last bit of the walk home from downtown is a bit steep; if you have difficulty walking it could be a challenge. We looked at it as permission to eat whatever we wanted without worrying about calories :) but it is a bit of a work out. However, taxis are very plentiful downtown and we used them whenever we didn't feel like making the hike. The rate was about 35 pesos (less than $3) so it is an easy alternative to walking.

The neighborhood is mostly Mexican, which we liked. We had some fellow Gringo neighbors to talk to, but also got to interact with neighborhood kids and the very sweet lady who runs the little bodega a couple of blocks away (which is also handy if you need a drink or snack and don't want to go back into town).

The property manager, who speaks excellent English, can by to introduce himself, and while we didn't have any issues during our stay, it was nice to know that there was someone we could call if we had questions or problems.

All in all, we loved staying in the casa and hope to return sometime in the future.

We enjoyed

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review