reviews for: listing #26251 - Snowshoe, West Virginia Condo rental

Low Early Prices, Ski-In/Out, In Village, Pvt Parking-ML 235
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mountain Lodge
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $500 /nt
    $450 - $1,995 /wk
    $650 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Outstanding room! Owner has added alot of extras!

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Can't say enough about our stay...the beds were comfortable, and the rooms are in great condition. They even had a sofa-bed which is top notch and sleeps like a normal bed. The kitchen and bathrooms were immaculate, and they had lots of extra family games and other kid friendly games in case the parents want to sleep in a bit. The owner also has put in a quality entertainment system with a wide selection of quality movies. The master bedroom is fantastic and you have your own computer set up in case you need to check e-mail, and your own bathroom. This lodge gave us the best view of the lake, the deer walking by the treeline, as well as a front row view of the fireworks set off 100 yards away. It is also right next to the Snowshoe town center where most of the restaurants and shops are located, as well as the ski-lift. This location has easy paths to the amenities of Snowshoe that allow you to avoid stairwells which was great for my Dad who has knee issues. The quality of the room and the accessibility of the Mountain Lodge make this room the place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: "Thanks for the descriptive review. Guests can definitely take in the lake view from one of the cozy alcoves in the building's common area."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

MI2WV

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Excellent value. Hall bathroom is a little claustrophobic.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

Clean condo, good beds, convenient to slopes/restaurants. Enjoyed my stay and will have no problems staying here in future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family unit

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Spent President's weekend in this unit. We have been coming to SS for several years and have stayed in several different condos but prefer Mt lodge for a family event. This unit is set up really well with comfortable beds, pull out couch and TV's and DVD players in every room. Also have xbox for the older kids. Ski rack is handy and allows space to hang up your gear to dry. We like the open common areas where you can spread out and the close proximity to the Split Lake pools. New twist this year is SS is charging those who don't rent direct 20 bucks a day per person to use the pools. This used to be free for anyone staying in the property but apparently SS doesn't like VRBO beating them on their rates. The 20 charge is ridiculous, but we found the pool attendant to be flexible when we brought a group of kids in. Also, we discovered a new place to eat (new to us) if you are looking for food on the way into SS - at the bottom of the mt near Ski Barn is Fiddleheads. They put a unique twist on regular menu items. Prices are reasonable, food is good and we had outstanding serice from our waiter Ben. A nice alternative to the village eateries on top of the mountain. Overall a great trip and a great unit that sleeps 6 very well.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

condo 2014

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

another great experience working with Tim, mountain lodge and Snowshoe. Enjoyed the new additions to the condo and the whole experience was hassel free just like always

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place and price

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

First of all, the condo manager was very responsive in working with our last minute request for staying at this unit.

The beds are comfortable, kitchen is sufficiently equipped, bathrooms are well supplied, and living room easily accommodate 5 adults. As Snowshoe season pass holders, we stay at Mountain Lodge at least 2 – 3 times a year, and this is one of the better units that we have stayed.

It is hard to find a place that have the combination of good management service, great price, and comfortable unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location and Quality Rental

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

A group of friends and I did a quick 2-day trip up to Snowshoe for a guys skiing trip. The condo we rented (2-bed, 2-bath) was of great quality and perfectly positioned. We could walk right out of the condo and start down the slopes. Even with sub-zero temperatures, the condo was constantly comfortable. With a restaurant in the lodge, and even more a short walk away, we wanted for nothing during our trip. The staff of the lodge and the manager of the condo were all exceedingly courteous professional. Highly recommend staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good location; easy in-out

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

Good location; easy in-out
Condo was adequate, we had 5 adults -- dining table was for 4 but was manageable
Bedrooms are a little dark, beds were comfy
First night the heat was stuck on and it was ~95 degrees inside; maintenance was called int the morning and was fixed quickly
Front desk attendants were very friendly

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a blast!

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

My husband and I and my three adult children went skiing for our first time and stayed in this nice condo. The instructions given to us by the owner were very informative and the check in process was easy. Mountain view was very convenient to the slopes and just as advertised. The beds in the bedrooms were comfortable although my 29 year old son did not sleep well at all on the sleeper sofa. The room was very warm regardless of how low we set the thermostat. We had to leave the patio door partially open to get fresh cool air during the day but at night it was fine. We would have liked to use the walkie talkies that were furnished but we could not get them to work. The condo was very clean and we were given fresh towels daily. For the number of rooms in the lodge it was pretty quiet and peaceful with a nice large fireplace in the lobby. It was a shame that they only light the fire each day after 5pm. We were walking distance to the Snowshoe village and enjoyed eating pizza and having drinks each night in the village. Tim was really great to work with and always answered my emails promptly, especially when I needed to know if the condo had a crock pot, which it did. The kitchen was well stocked except for a large casserole dish and you do need to supply your own dish soap. The condo has a decent selection of books, DVDs and VHS movies and a few games. Overall everything was fine and we wont hesitate to rent this unit again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy customer

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Condo was fully equipped and exactly as portrayed in description. Very easy check in and check out. Owner was very quick to respond and helpful. I would highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience for the end of the season!

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

We had great time! It was such an easy rental experience. Tim, the owner, is very nice and easy to contact. The condo is clean and very easy to hop onto the slope. It's just right outside the resort's back door. The only thing that we didn't like was the pull out sleeper sofa, it's a bit uncomfortable...but I guess it's like that at most places. At least there's an extra foam toper for you to place on top of the sofa mattress. Thanks again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Ski Vacation March 11 to 15 2013

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the condo. Everything was just as it was in the ad. The renter was easy to get along with and had great communications. If there was anything that could have been better and the renter really has no control over this I thought the people at the front desk were less than pleasant. I would have expected them to have been more helpful being they were the front desk people at the resort. One interaction we had was to ask them the hours of the restaurant in the resort they told us the hours and when we went down the restaurant was closed for the season that would have been handy to know and also why is a restaurant closing for the season on March 11th. Seems there should have been a lot more ski season left. Other than that our experience was very nice the skiing was great and out interactions with the renter was great. I would highly recommend renting from him

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Week of Skiing

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Got into Snowshoe Monday 3/4/2013 and found the unit just as described. Noticed the living area was cool and eventually found, after seeing the curtains blowing, the back sliding was not fully closed. The only issues we had with the condo was the fan light in the master bedroom burned out (we believe, it worked when we got there but did not work the last day) and the closet area was dark. I had noticed the PC wasn't working due to some type of registry corruption but that was OK, had my own laptop and phone. I let Tim know and he was going to take care of that. The wifi, which has nothing to do with this unit, provided by Mountain Lodge was extremely slow between 8:00 am and 11:00 pm. I don't know if it was so many users eating up the bandwidth or what, but it was SLOW.
The bed was comfortable, having a ceiling fan was nice because it got warm (our heat never came on - didn't need it) at night. Nice supply of kitchen utensils. Oven/stove and microwave all worked (ate breakfast and lunch in condo). It was nice to have cleaning crew come by and ask if there was anything we needed (towels, soap, TP, dishwashing detergent, etc.) and didn't just come in.
As far as our stay, this was the best and most snow we had ever experienced at Snowshoe. The crowds weren't bad and the snow was light powder (discovered I don't ski well in 12" of powder).
Tim has been great to work with, prompt at getting back with me everytime I have corresponded with him. I would recommend renting from Tim.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Week of Skiing

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Got into Snowshoe Monday 3/4/2013 and found the unit just as described. Noticed the living area was cool and eventually found, after seeing the curtains blowing, the back sliding was not fully closed. The only issues we had with the condo was the fan light in the master bedroom burned out (we believe, it worked when we got there but did not work the last day) and the closet area was dark. I had noticed the PC wasn't working due to some type of registry corruption but that was OK, had my own laptop and phone. I let Tim know and he was going to take care of that. The wifi, which has nothing to do with this unit, provided by Mountain Lodge was extremely slow between 8:00 am and 11:00 pm. I don't know if it was so many users eating up the bandwidth or what, but it was SLOW.
The bed was comfortable, having a ceiling fan was nice because it got warm (our heat never came on - didn't need it) at night. Nice supply of kitchen utensils. Oven/stove and microwave all worked (ate breakfast and lunch in condo). It was nice to have cleaning crew come by and ask if there was anything we needed (towels, soap, TP, dishwashing detergent, etc.) and didn't just come in.
As far as our stay, this was the best and most snow we had ever experienced at Snowshoe. The crowds weren't bad and the snow was light powder (discovered I don't ski well in 12" of powder).
Tim has been great to work with, prompt at getting back with me everytime I have corresponded with him. I would recommend renting from Tim.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Value!

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

We stayed at another unit owned by the same owner (T.W.). He was responsive to email inquiries about availability and the logistics of Snowshoe where we had not been before. He also arranged a half-day rental at the end of the trip so we could have a home base after checkout on the last day of skiing before driving back to Ohio. The front desk personnel were helpful with questions about where to pick up lift tickets, helping us get a ski locker, etc. We took advantage of the 20% rental discount at Snowcreek Mountain Sports.

The only issues regarding the Mountain Lodge were the noise and the internet availability. The bedroom was adjacent the inner courtyard in which noise reverberates and some guests in the public spaces late at night completely disregarded the quiet policy (though, admittedly, we could have but didn't call to complain). Regarding the internet, connecting to the wifi was easy but getting to the internet was nearly impossible due to the number of available connections being maxed out most of the time (except sometimes between about midnight and 6 am). Skype via wifi was going to be our alternative to the absence of cell phone coverage but that plan did not work. Conceivably, Mountain Lodge management could upgrade the service to better accommodate the demand.

The main thing is that the owner seems to provide great client service and I am sure will follow up on any issues noted by his clients. I would not hesitate to rent a unit again from this owner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Place to Stay!!!!

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

When we arrived the mountain was covered with fresh powder! The condo was amazing! the kitchen was fully equipped, the bedrooms were great a great size and comfortable. The only thing that was bad, was mother nature dumped a ton of snow on the balcony and you could not go out on it. But other than that the experience was amazing and the skiing was great. We even got to pet two 5 week old baby bears in the lobby of the hotel!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter rental

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

Location to access ski trails is very good. The room was clean and hospitable.
The hotel was lacking in several areas. No hand towels were given. Both nights were difficult to sleep due to noisy people in the hallways and wearing ski boots on floors above us. The ceiling was leaking around the windows. No soap was provided for the bathroom, restaurant was open for dinner only.
Would recommend to young adult skiers

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: I apologize about the lack of towels and soap, Bonnie. Housekeeping is usually great about stocking these items prior to your arrival. But Housekeeping is always responsive, so a call to the front desk will result in a quick fix to this on your next stay. Security is also great about enforcing quiet hours beginning at 10 PM, so if you hear anyone in the hall after 10 PM on your future visits, a call to the front desk will quickly rectify that problem too. Quiet hours end at 8 AM, but folks are understandably anxious to hit the slopes as soon as they open at 9 AM. So it's not unusual to hear a few people moving about in their clunky ski boots as they get ready to head out to buy their lift tickets. But I'll admit Mountain Lodge might not be the best place to stay for those guests whose goal is to sleep in during their vacation to a ski resort. The ceiling leak was beyond my control to prevent, but Mountain Lodge has an on-site maintenance team which responds immediately when notified of problems like this, so again, just a brief call to notify the front desk and they can fix something like this quickly if it happens on your future visits. There are eight restaurants/eateries within a few minutes' walk from the condo. So if one of these serves dinner only, folks who don't want to take advantage of the full kitchen in the condo are welcome to try any of the other restaurants which serve breakfast and/or lunch. Thank you again for staying with me and taking the time to offer this review. I continue to work to improve the vacation experiences of my guests, so I hope I'll have the opportunity to accommodate you again. -Tim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

very enjoyable

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

Great rental and everything we needed is already there. Tim, as always was great to work with and extremly helpful. The front desk people were helpful and the staff did an improved job of getting the room cleaned up each day in a timely fashion.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay once again!!

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

This was my second time in Timothy's condo. We try to go skiing every February and this place is the most affordable, convenient place to stay on the mountain. The two bedrooms were perfect for our four person group and with two bathrooms, we didn't have to wait to take hot showers. The kitchen has all of the things you will need to stay inside for all of your meals and avoid the pricier options. The heat definitely works, so no worries there. The front desk was helpful and informative. Checking in and out was quick and easy. And all this just steps away from one of the main lifts on the mountain! Finally, no one communicates faster and more thoroughly than Timothy. Highly recommend his place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The ski trip that did not happen!

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

The guy who owns this condo is truly a professional! 3 days before we were to leave for our week of spring skiing at Snowshoe, the management at Snowshoe decided to close the mountain...we had been planning this trip since June of 2011! All along, the owner was prompt, clear and very, very helpful with questions, lift ticket and equipment rental discounts. Don't rent from anyone else...you will be very pleased.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and price!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

This place was perfect for the price and location - right on the mountain top and just steps from town. It was able to accommodate our 5 guests perfectly but would not recommend more than 6 people. Most amenities were available including towels, hairdryer, coffee maker, etc. which was a plus in that all we had to do was worry about bringing our clothes and boards! The grocery store is kind of far but if you stock up right, 1 trip was enough for the weekend. The walkie talkies were a hit and a cute bonus for the slopes - the guys absolutely loved them!
I will absolutely stay here again and would recommend Tim's place. He was very easy to work with and the place was great!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Convenient, Cozy, Complete

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

A quick weekend ski trip with my sons was made even better by finding this place. This condo was so convenient. Basically, you take the elevator 1 floor down and walk out the door and start skiing. It is literally right next to the Ballhooter Lift. Cozy, warm bedrooms with everything you will need after a long day of skiing. Also, complete with all of the cooking gear you will need if you prefer to stay away from some of the expensive eatery's. TV's in every room made it easy for everyone to relax and watch their own shows at night (movies included at the condo). Tim was great to work with and will communicate with you every step of the way !!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect place to stay

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our whole trip to Snowshoe. The condo was in the perfect location, SUPER clean, and had lots of extras (movies, xbox). There was plenty of room for our family of 5 ( three kids 11, 9, 7) and being able to ski right in and out from the Mountain Lodge door was awesome. We are already planning our next trip up! Thanks Tim!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay at Snowshoe

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

This was my family's first trip to Snowshoe and it was great. The condo was suprisingly spacious and very comfortable. The owners have done a great job making it feel like the perfect moutain home. It was a great place for my family (I have three young kids) and it would be just as great for a group of adults. There's plenty of room for at least 6 people, with extras to make the time indoors fly by.

The condo is literally steps from the slopes and the main shopping area at the top of the mountain. We'd definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Owner Great Rates

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Tim was very easy to deal with. All of his communications were prompt and professional. You will feel very confident about your rental through him. The unit was very clean on arrival and the Mountain Lodge staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a great last minute getaway at this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantasic location!

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

The ski-in and ski-out was just that! You could ski right to the door of the condo complex and then they offered lockers right near the door to stow your gear. Very nice! The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The living area was a little small (not enough comfortable seating for 2 couples), but it was okay for the few days we stayed. The location of the condo was GREAT. You could easily walk to the grocery store or to town...no need to take the shuttle. I highly recommend the snowmobile tours for those of you that do not ski or need to take a break from the slopes. All in all - a great place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Snowshoe 2011 Trip

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Another great visit to Snowshoe. This was my first stay at the Mountain Lodge and although it's an older facility at Snowshoe, the building and grounds are well maintained and the staff was friendly and helpful. The unit was the perfect size for our family of 5. In reviewing the unit, it was well stocked in terms kitchen needs and bedding, some of the appliances seemed like they might be the original but everything worked great and the owner seems to be in tune with updating the unit when necessary as I noticed the beds, furnishings and electronics seem new. Tim, the owner, made the rental process simple and was AWESOME on providing info on discount lift tickets, other promotions and info regarding the Snowshoe area and Mountain Lodge. Hope to return soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Will definitely return.

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2011

I loved the convenience of the location. The condo was nothing fancy, just the basics, and VERY clean. It was a great deal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great price for the location!

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 18, 2011

Very helpfull owner and everything was delivered as promised in the advertised article. X-box games and movies (along with three tvs) made for a good way to pass some time when you are to exhausted to keep skiing. We brought our 1 and 2 year old children and they enjoyed the children's play area in the lodge. A wonderfull experience and we hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Everythng As Promised by the EXTREMELY Helpful Owner!"

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

"We can't wait to go back! This was our second year at Snowshoe and I promise Tim's condo is THE way to go. Not only was Tim a pleasure to work with, he offered every tip and option available to make our stay more enjoyable.

This unit is the ideal location - easy to get to from the parking lot, less than a minute walk from the room to the slope, close to the ski storage locker (no wet ski equipment or boots in the room!) and the heated pool, and a short elevator ride to the very delicious "Auntie Pastas"!

Our kids are teenagers and they enjoyed being able to hang out in the lounge area and arcade. Plus, the Lodge offers a full range of movie rentals above and beyond the selection already in the unit.

Although small, the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The lack of storage and counter space was a challenge, but we used a laundry basket on a luggage rack to store bread, chips, crackers, cereal, etc..

Three Quick Tips: 1. Crack a window right away if it is too hot. We tried to adjust the individual heat units to cool it down, but it took a while. 2. Arrange the equipment locker rental upon check in – there aren’t many and they go fast during peek season. 3. Be sure to call ahead to the manager of the Ski Barn and tell them when you’ll be coming in and asking for the 20% discount.

December 2011 can’t come fast enough – we’re ready to go skiing again!
. . . and of course we’ll be staying at Tim's condo in Mountain Lodge!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay, Great price for the location

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

We had a great time on our trip and enjoyed the close proximity of this lodge to the lifts. The lodge is located directly above most of the intermediate and black diamond runs on the main side of the mountain. Everyone that works at the lodge was very helpful with anything we needed. Also, the lodge is right across the street from wildcat provisions, one of the only places to get groceries on the mountain. Right next to the lodge is a pool area with a hot tub, heated pools with waterslides and all kinds of other good jazz.

The room is kept in great shape, we had no problems with anything and we will be going back. I would recommend this lodge to anyone over the other overpriced lodging choices on snowshoe. The room has anything you need, but the close proximity to all amenities make this lodge perfect. The lodge is only a short walk from the village, the main area of the resort where there is most of the dining and night attractions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Ski Trip

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Great ski trip. Accomodations were as described and it was a pleasure working with the owner. The front desk at the Mountain Lodge was not very knowledgeable and couldn't answer general questions. We had a very cold night (wind chill near 0) so we asked the front desk for Cheat Mtn pizza menu. They informed us they gave the last one out, so I walked down to the pizza place to put in an order to go, when i approach the front of the restaurant they informed me they now had a delivery service. Sure would have been nice if the front desk had known about the service and informed us. On another occassion I asked about tubing reservations and was told i would have to go down to Silver Creek to make reservations, I was able to discover on my own that I could make the reservations at The Depot vs calling or going down to Silver Creek. Front Desk could be more helpful other than that the vacation was outstanding. Thanks Tim...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow...all I can say is customer service and location was phenomenal (Family of 4 from Raleigh)

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2010

The Owner: My first impression held true the entire time...he was excellent!!! Tim was very quick to respond to any questions...from 1st email to post-check out. Even to the point of corresponding while on his cruise vacation. Tim's your man.

The Condo: Both bedrooms (very spacious) were clean and had brand new, plush beds (1King/1Queen)...every room had a TV. Bathrooms were clean; NO MOLD in tubs like some paces I've seen. Everything you needed to cook with was there; most importantly was a coffee pot. Large flat-panel TV, DVD/VCR, and X-box were great additions for our little one. Living area was the perfect size; sofa (w/fold out bed) was comfortable. Our only discomfort was the heat; which we learned from the front desk was an entire building issue; outside of Tim's control...But crack a window and we were fine in a few minutes.

For those with children, there's a huge arcade ($.50 per game) and an indoor play center in the lodge and you can rent movies from the front desk.

The Location: Tim's got it made. Being on the second floor, you're protected from the elements (above and below). The wind chill was -30, snow storm, and 30mph winds while we were there and the snow drift against the building nearly covered the windows of the units on the first floor...must have been cold in those rooms. But we were fine and dandy; and the elevators made getting to the room with luggage a breeze.

Tim's unit is on the wing closest to the Village and adjacent to a main ski slope...literally walk out the back door of the lodge and you're skiing. Parking spots were an endangered species around the town (free parking at the lodge as a guest), so this was a huge plus. Everything was within walking distance from the condo (even Starbucks)...never needed to take a shuttle, even with the weather. Take this over "Top of the World" (cheapest rates, but low quality and far away) any day of the week. They're also about to open an Italian restaurant (Auntie Pasta's) in the lodge.

The Price: For a resort town, the food, lodging, ski rentals, and shops were not too bad. Foxfire grill has the best Roast Beef sandwich. For Tim's unit, I couldn't find anything else as reasonable for the location and customer service I received...I'd recommend to anyone in a heartbeat; especially for those with young ones.

As a Christmas vacation for my wife and I, we couldn't have asked for anything better...except for cooperating weather. Thanks Tim!!! Hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful stay on top of the mountain

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

This 2 Bedroom is Mountain Lodge is a bargain on top of the mountain. It is very clean on the inside, provides a fully stocked kitchen for cooking, a nice selection of books and movies to entertain oneself, and is a ski in/ski out building.

To add to the lovely condo, the owner is nothing but helpful. He does his best to tend to your needs (lift tickets, rentals, directions, etc.) and always quickly answers your questions. Also, the staff at mountain lodge is very courteous in assisting any needs you may have.

When it comes to Snowshoe Mountain, you will NOT get cell phone service. Try to bring some walkie talkies so you can track your group when skiing. Also, make sure all cars know how to get there before leaving. Lastly, it would be wise to bring a 4-wheel drive vehicle if you have it. The roads are typically plowed, but you never know when a snow storm will hit. Our group personally almost got snowed in overnight. Lots of others were stuck off the side of the roads.

Overall, this really is a perfect getaway vacation spot for a family, or a few couples. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a cozy spot on top of the mountain.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

We had such a good time at your place in
Snowshoe Major Wolfe!
It was an easy 9 hour drive from Atlanta and the
roads were just fine.
We snowboarded until we had that really "great"
soreness in our
legs. Your place was perfect, warm and cozy.
After the slopes we went to the Split Rock Pool
area and enjoyed
the hot tubs.We went to the Connection and had
such a good time
dancing to the Reggae band!David & Ryan enjoyed
a game of chess in
the lobby by the big fire.We all slept sooooo well!
We plan to visit your place again. It was so much
fun and so
beautiful. We do not plan to go back to Sugar or
Beech again.
Snowshoe was awesome. Long trails, many trails,
no lines, very
nice people, good security, no hassels, just
fantastic! The guys at
the lifts were so nice and asked us if we were
having a good time.
The little market in town was reasonably priced for
the little
things we needed and their beer selection was very
good! The
village was beautiful and Starbucks
outdoorfireplace was awesome
to sit by and sip our coffees.
I'm telling you this, we will be back! Thank you so
much for your
hospitality and for all ofyour help with me in
planning this trip
on line. You were most helpful and I just want you
to know that
we had so much fun.
I am keeping the e-mails we have exchanged. I
am considering the
family reunion (summer 2011)in WV and will keep
Mt. Lodge in mind
and of course rent your unit. Mt. Lodge will be
perfect for our
large family that will be coming from all over the
U.S.
Best wishes and thank-you again for all of your
help in planning a
fun snowboard weekend for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

Everything was wonderful great host great place & location. Tim you were the best to work with!!!!Janice

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

From start to finish... great communication with Tim (owner)! He was very informative. Mtn Lodge 235 was well-stocked with most anything you need while on vacation. Everything was in good working order. Comfy large couch. Outstanding value compared to Snowshoe central reservations. Wireless connectivity was decent. Loved the of ample storage racks for coats and skis!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 20, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Great place to stay, had good accommodations for
my friends and I. We did not know of the maid
service there where they would give us new towels
and toilet paper so we brought some of our own.
We were extremely happy with the location of the
lodge, being right at the top of the ski lift. It was a
great week and we would definitely stay there
again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Mountain Lodge. The condo was clean and very well maintained. Plenty of space for a family of four. My teenagers particulary liked the game room in the Lodge and the staff at the front desk was very helpful. The condo is conveniently located to the slopes, village, parking lot, pool, hot tub, store-couldn't ask for a better location really.
We will definitely consider renting this condo again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

Your condo made our Thanksgiving family reunion so enjoyable! My teens were in heaven with the video games and there were plenty of movies and books. A chair or bench on the balcony would be nice, though. This Goldilocks thinks the bed was just right. The kitchen had everything we needed. Perhaps a posted notice re when and where to put out the linens and trash would be helpful. Tim, you Evil Landlord, thanks for making us feel so at home and for treating us like family with all your quick replies and useful suggestions. I will recommend you to my friends in a heartbeat!

Owners response: Jan, it was a pleasure to serve you and I'm glad you had a great vacation! I will definitely put a seat on the balcony; great suggestion! The housekeeping staff comes by with fresh towels and a trash change daily and to change your linens every third night. I'll be sure to clarify this with future guests. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

I loved everything about the stay- the condo was great, the mountain was beautiful- I can only imagine what it will be like once the snow falls steady.
BUT- and I don't think you can do anything about this- the people servicing the place -while they were very nice, were not very helpful at all.
I desperately needed access to a computer with internet for a few hours (figuring that a world class resort would have a business centre) and after speaking with 3 different people with no luck , tried the closest town library which was an hour away. It all ended well, but not without a dose of frustration.

At any rate it was great working with you on this vacation week- we all had a great Thanksgiving!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

snowshoe mountain lodge

Review submitted: March 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 2, 2009

Everything was clean and location was very good. A good value for the money. Would switch one of the queen beds to two twins.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Snowshoe feb 1-4, 2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Disappointed that condo had no fireplace and no view. It was extremely hot and we could not lower temperatures. Kitchen lacked adequate space (e.g. no place for silverware storage). Doors/closet in guest bedroom situated poorly. Long walk to ski in ski out. Slopes were terrific.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Awesome skiing/snowboarding!

Review submitted: January 21, 2009   Date of arrival: January 16, 2009

Condo was quite clean, adequately stocked, appears to be new carpeting. Convenient equipment/coat rack handy. Sofa bed uncomfortable but then they all are. Good location to slopes, though not slope view, housekeeping very pleasant and attentive to possible needs. Slopes here are worth the drive and the view on the way is spectacular!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peris's Review

Review submitted: December 12, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

The description of the place was pretty accurate, it was clean, stocked with all the kitchen things we needed except for a pizza cutter, and although the living room tv blew up the owner and staff replaced it right away. I would recommend this place to a friend but the rent could be a little cheaper considering snowshoe itself was renting the week out at only 800$ and some change. Most everything was closed for us except on the weekends because the main season hasn't really started yet but we did enjoy the pizza place and the slopes themselves were awesome.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Really enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: November 13, 2008

Tim did an excellent job at preparing us for our trip. The descriptions were right on. We'd happily stay here again and recommend Tim's room to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review