reviews for: listing #26271 - Gun Lake, Michigan Cottage rental

Spencer's Retreat (3 bed / 2 bath)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gun-Ho
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $550 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Spencer's Retreat at Gun Lake, Michigan

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

The cottage was impeccably clean, well stocked with dishes, and had plenty of space. The front yard was gorgeous! We brought in our own boat. The cottage is a five minute ride from the county park launch, so very accessible. The main lake is just a short jaunt from the cottage position on the channel. The little beach in front of the cottage was convenient and very clean.

The most amazing part of this darling cottage is the homey feel. It was very relaxing and cozy. Owners Jeff and Eva are very nice. We HIGHLY recommend Spencer's Retreat. While there the owners also gave us a tour of Spencer's Annex. Gorgeous and new for those who like a more contemporary decor. We would also highly recommend the Annex for a relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Spencer's - Our Retreat

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

With my family of 5, including two teenagers, along with my mother and her dog, which makes us 6.5, we were unsure about where we could all stay affordably and comfortably for a family vacation that included visiting family for a reunion at a nearby lake. We found Spencer's Retreat online, and were very pleased with our stay.

The living areas of the home were very clean,comfortable, and well stocked with all the comforts of home. The outside yard could not have been better for a family that fishes, and their dog. A huge yard with plenty of seating and a small beach was our favorite part of the place. In one night, in about an hour and a half, the kids alone fished off the bank and caught approximately 50 fish. In fact we lost count. Fishing off the bank became our morning and evening routine, so we left having fed the fish well (since we threw them all back)

We throughoughly enjoyed this vacation home as a kind of vacation away from our vacation, and would definately stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing Spencer's Retreat

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

My wife, two college age children and a friend, and I stayed three nights at Spencer's retreat. We had a fun and relaxing time. The house is very clean and comfortable. It is located on a quite channel just off the lake, not too far from the public boat launch. It has a nice big yard and plenty of lawn chairs. The kitchen is fully equipped. They have all the creature comforts you need. Jeff was very helpful showing us around the property and providing suggestions for local restaurants.

We had a great time fishing and boating on the lake. The west side is a little shallow, but plenty of room on the east side. We caught 10 nice sized largemouth bass in two days. We definitely plan to stay at Spencer’s retreat again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

spencer's retreat - sweet

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

we had a great week at Spencer's Retreat. the place was clean and neat on arrival, and we have 2 compulsive cleaners in the family. being on one level was helpful due to a collection of bad knees. we had our chioce of sun or shade due to the nice large tree in the front yard. we were able to swim or fish in the canal, caught a whole bunch of bluegills and pumpkinseeds and a few nice bass in the canal and right under the docks. we used the gas grill just about every day and it worked great. we definitely plan on going back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Cottage and Annex on Gun Lake

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

Jeff was very helpful throughout our rental experience, even stopped by to see how we were doing. While the main cottage seemed to be an older double wide that was fixed up, it was clean when we arrived, and very clean when we left. The annex was a surprise since it has been newly remodeled, cool with track lighting and wonderful bathroom that everyone liked so much they came over from the main cottage just to use our shower. We had 10 in our group, rented both the cottage and the annex. It was perfect for us since we had a well behaved lab with us, and not many other renters allow dogs. Plus 3 kids, and the dog and the kids had a super time playing on the little beach right there. Plus we could fish and catch little sunfish right from the dock. The pontoon had been repaired but still didn't have reverse, we used it regardless and had fun. Jeff offered to refund our pontoon rental but we were OK with using the boat as it was. It was nice to make a little campfire there as well.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Spencer's Retreat - Sweet!

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

we stayed at Spencer's Retreat this summer and enjoyed ourselves immensely. the cottage was neat and clean on arrival, and we have 2 compulsive cleaners in the family. there was plenty of room and being on one level was great for the bad knees. we were able to use the gas grill almost every day. we swam and fished in the canal, lots of bluegills and pumpkinseeds and a few nice-sized bass. a nice big shade tree, so you had as much shade or sun as you wanted. We'll be back

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dissapointing on arrival.

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Property was not clean on arrival. Had not been cleaned before our arrival. Have pictcures to show. We can handle old but not dirty.
Never recommend this to anyone to rent.
The description was not accurate. Pontoon needed repair.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review