reviews for: listing #26275 - Hunter Mountain, New York House rental

Your Own Inn with Breathtaking Mountain Views
  • bedrooms  14
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  40
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $6,000 - $12,000 /wk

sort by:

Weekend getaway for old friends

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

Great location. Comfortable, large livingroom. Wonderful pool and jacuzzis with fabulous view. Spacious front porch, large enough to accommodate a sit-down, dress-up dinner for 20. Owner was extremely responsive to all my questions and requests.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you. It was a pleasure dealing with you. I'm happy to hear your group loved the property. I look forward to working with you again.

Keep in touch,
Brett

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

4 Seasons Getaways Gets 5 Stars From Me

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

We rented the Inn for a Bachelor party and what a time we had!! The weather was perfect for the pool, basketball, volleyball and all the other games we brought up. The pictures on the website do not do the house justice. The view is breathtaking! This would be the second house we rented from 4 seasons getaways, Brett is a standup guy who is willing to do anything to make sure we always have a great time. I can’t wait to rent your third house. Thanks again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for a company Retreat

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We rented The Inn for our company's winter retreat. The Inn had plenty of room for everyone and the photos provided had all the information we needed. I actually thought the Inn was better in person than in the photos! There were three common rooms which was great for different groups to either hang out (downstairs in the basement) or do team building exercises upstairs. The downstairs kitchen, large bar, ping pong table and pool table were all put to use by our employees and everyone congregated there each evening. Tons of space, and lots of fun indoor activities. The hot tub even got some afternoon use!!

I would highly recommend Brett for organizing any company or large family retreat. Not only was he highly professional and attentive, but we had many specific requests and needs (including additional cleaning services, pre-stocking our fridge with 3 days worth of food for 32 people, and organizing catering for breakfast and dinner to be delivered and set up at the house) and Brett went above and beyond to help us and met all these additional needs. He was positive and I felt that I could completely rely on him.

This is our second time renting one of 4 Seasons Getaways homes and we have loved our experience. We would highly recommend 4 Seasons Getaways homes and Brett's friendly services!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Mountain Getaway!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

We rented Our Own Inn for my bachelor party weekend. While the house was exactly as described (tons of space, clean rooms, 2 large kitchens, game rooms, etc) it was the property that truly blew our group out of the water. The pool, hot tub, grille, and volleyball court were great, but you cannot accurately describe the beauty of the sprawling views of the Catskills surrounding the property. There were more than enough rooms for everyone, but a couple of guys even brought tents and camped outside. Saturday night, we all made our way down to the fire pit and enjoyed a huge bonfire that perfected our Fall weekend in the mountains while maintaining the luxury of a great house to retreat to. Just to top it off, Brett was fantastic to deal with, easy to reach, efficient in booking and a pleasure to rent from. I will definitely be returning next group or family outing I host.

-Greg M. September 2013

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful property for an amazing reunion!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

We recently rented Your Own Inn for a family reunion. It's a delightfully rustic facility with many modern amenities.
The large house provided ample room for our family group of 22 people. We had room enough to gather together,
and also enough space to relax and enjoy the country side surrounding the house. We spent most of our time on the welcoming large deck surrounding the clean, sparkling pool, which I think was our favorite area. Dinner on the deck with the sunset was something we thoroughly enjoyed. Our final night was capped off with a smore's party in the family room, roasting our marshmallows in the fire place.

The Inn is centrally located in the area, close to restaurants, shops and activities. Our family members came from all over the country and with Albany and New York City only a couple hours away, it was easy to travel to as well.

Brett was always only an email or phone call away and answered all of my questions promptly. We had a small leak in a pipe and the plumber was there quickly, got the pipe fixed within a couple hours and was done with no hassles.

I would highly recommend Your Own Inn for any family or group looking for a large, spacious place to stay. The grounds, amenities and the Inn exceeded our expectations. Thanks for all your help making our reunion one we all remember!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway Compound

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

I rented the house with some friends for a quick weekend getaway. The house was laid out as described, with plenty of space for a crowd. The house provided tons of amenities with something for everyone, large pool, two hot tubs, pool table, fire-pit, foosball, air hockey, volleyball and basketball. Our group made good use of the grounds for sports, swimming, and night time relaxing in the hot tubs. Brett was professional and easy to deal with. He responded to all questions in a timely manner. I'd recommend 4SG to anyone looking for a great vacation spot for a large group!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for a family getaway

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

We stayed at "Your Own Inn" in August 2012 with 5 other families, and it was a really great and memorable experience for both the adults and children! We came for a 3 day getaway with 10 adults and 18 children ages 3-12. A few people were quite nervous about renting a big house with friends, but by the end they were all converted and had a fabulous time. The house is very large and comfortable (but not fancy), and we decided in advance who was going to sleep where, which was helpful since some rooms have bathrooms and some don't.

The kids had a total blast in the pool and the hot tub and the game room and playing games on the property and watching TV/videos when they needed a break. It was fun and relaxing for the parents too, because everyone was able to keep an eye on everyone else's kids. The kitchen is a little small considering the size of the house, but we made it work by appointing a 'head of kitchen' in advance, and grilling for dinners. Also, Brett said he will be expanding the kitchen soon, so that should be good. There is no AC, which worried some people in advance, but it wasn't a problem when we were there in August - the ceiling fans were sufficient.

Brett was very responsive and easy to deal with. When we encountered some minor issues our first day (DVD player not hooked up in the right spot, some games not working, etc.), he did his best to have them fixed as soon as possible.

We spent one day at Zoom Flume near by, which was the perfect attraction for the age range of our group, and despite thinking we'd go hiking or do something else in the vicinity of the house the other days, we ended up spending all the other time at the Inn, because no one wanted to leave!
I definitely recommend this property for a group similar to ours. Would also be good for a group of couples looking to go away and spend quality time together, too - the adults had a lot of fun hanging out in the big den playing games and watching movies when the kids went to sleep. Again, it's not fancy, but very comfortable and fun. A wonderful way to be together. The kids have been asking us all year when we are going back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing weekend at "Your own Inn"

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

After browsing thru dozens of listings on different vacation sites I finally came across this gem. Our first encounter was with the cheerful and helpful landlord Brett. I explained to him that we are a teen group, part of a non for profit organization looking to spend the weekend together. Brett was extremely accommodating and more than willing to help me work the rental into our budget.
Now for our trip: Driving up to Hunter can only be described as something out of a movie. Driving past trails and waterfalls with gorgeous scenery all along the way. Close enough to Central NJ where we are located but far enough to feel like we were getting away. Pulling up to the property you are immediately greeted by this amazing driveway that had plenty of room for all of our vehicles. The guys bounded out of the car and almost instantly started a pickup game of basketball on the half size court. While the other went on to explore the house. As you walk in from the side of the house you walk into a fully functional bar, complete with televisions, barstools, sound system, pool tables, kegerator, juke box, air hockey and all the necessary bar equipment. Right past the bar is the kitchen that we used complete with an oven, refrigerator, chest freezer, cappuccino maker and 3 compartmental sink. This kitchen has plenty of space to serve however many guests you may be having. I recommend that you bring in one of the many folding tables he has on property as the counter space is a bit small.
Heading upstairs you have a private suite with a living room, kitchen, master bedroom, master bathroom and an exit right to one of the Jacuzzis. This part of the house is private and perfect for keeping your chaperon's or families separate from the rest of the group. This floor of the house also features several more bedrooms. This floor also has a giant living room with couches, fire place and a big screen tv. We loved the decor in this room, really gives the room a real country feel. This room also boasts giant windows which offer an amazing view of Hunter Mountain. Right outside is a giant heated pool with plenty of lounge chairs. There is also an outdoor fireplace and outdoor speakers that makes the outdoor space extremely enjoyable. The top floors of the house has about 10 more bedrooms with plenty of space for everyone. There is also a nice rec room upstairs with poker tables, foosball tables and other great amenities.
In summation this property was perfect for our group!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Your Own Inn

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

“"Our Own Inn" - August 2012
We have been holding Family Reunions on an annual basis for last 12 years. Our requirements have grown over the years and this year, we needed to find a place that could meet our needs and also create a new experience for us. We found the perfect solution in 4 Seasons Getaways. We needed at least 11 bedrooms for a group of approximately 30 people ages 4 to 78. They offered three different and unique solutions and we picked "The Inn". A rustic and quaint Inn in the Catskill Mountains just outside Hunter Mountain with a phenomenal poolside view (and its heated too!) of the Catskill Mountains. It was picture perfect. "The Inn" also have a very large, great room overlooking the pool just in case it rains which can handle most large groups. Our Family highly rated "The Inn" and you really get a sense that you are staying at your own "Inn". The pictures on the website represent the property very well. We had perfect weather for our stay, and we took full advantage of the grassy knoll adjacent to the pool which was perfect for whiffle ball, horseshoes or Bocce or whatever other games that your party brings. There is also a Volleyball court and fire-pit for the night time campfire where our family often sing songs, tell stories and jokes while reminiscing. We found Brett very easy to work with and very accessible for any questions that you may have. In our business, we use a term RTF which stands for "Recommend to a Friend" and I will tell you that the value for the money spent on "The Inn" was second to none.”

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

“We rented this location for our End of the Summer Getaway. The description was accurate and there was plenty of room for our large party. We were worried that with 30+ people we would be cramped, however we were pleasantly surprised with this locations roominess, and comfort. The Inn also offered us absolute privacy. Usually, with our other experiences (i.e. The Poconos); you are merely 10-20 feet away from the next house. The pool area was particularly enjoyable for my party as we spent a lot of time on the deck with the pool, Jacuzzi, BBQ, and eating area. It was a perfect way to cap the summer off. I would recommend this location and the owner, Brett was easy to work with. He was quick and prompt in replying to my questions.”

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

2012 Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

We rented “The Inn” for our 2012 family reunion. My group of 28 had a fantastic time. The heated pool and hot-tubs were the highlights for the kids and young adults. The volleyball and basketball courts were also popular. The home was big enough to accommodate my entire group without anyone feeling crowded. It was a pleasure dealing with Brett who was quick to responded to questions. I would definitely recommend this home to others!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

10TH MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Our group of 20 friends from High School have been renting a house for the
last 10 years every Memorial Day Weekend. The Inn was everything and more
than what we expected. The best aspects of the property for our group were
total privacy, big deck, even bigger pool and plenty of yard for games. In
regard to dealing with the owner Brett, you could not ask for anything more,
truly a pleasure. I would refer any one to deal with Brett on this
property.


Michael D Albany, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect group getaway

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

I rented the Your Own Inn property for my best friends' bachelor party. His only request was to do something different that the typical Atlantic City or Vegas destination. Even though the unseasonably warm weather made skiing out of the picture, we still found plenty to do nearby and on the property. This place didnt disappoint. All of the 19 in our group said that they wanted to come back. The inside had plenty of living space to hang out without feeling crowded at all. Even with large group, everyone had a comfortable bed and no one felt like they got stuck In the last bedroom available. Outside, the view from the deck was amazing and the yard was huge with plenty of privacy. Brett has a pleasure to work with while securing the least. He had everything together when I needed it and was very low pressure throughout the whole process. I would recommend this property for any occasion from a Family reunion to a party weekend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

We rented the Inn for a weekend away with friends. We found the house on a vacation rentals site and found the listing to accurately describe the facilities and features of the property. We especially enjoyed having the pool and hot tub. Given that we had 30 people staying at the house, we were glad that there were so many large common areas for separate activities (two upstairs living rooms, downstairs bar, outside patio). We were also glad the bedrooms were isolated enough from those common areas that people who wanted to sleep early weren't disturbed. Brett was pleasant and professional to deal with. Not only would we refer this company and its properties to others, we would be interested in renting it again ourselves.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Rental for large party

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

We rented the Inn for a bachelor party with just short of 20 guys to basically just hang out, grill, and drinks some beer. We picked the house for several reasons, even though it was more expensive than other alternatives. These reasons we went with the Inn were: (1) the size of the house with 14 bedrooms gave us plenty of room to stretch out, (2) the seclusion of the house was important as we didn’t want to be right on top of our neighbors, (3) the house has a heated pool and 2 hot tubs!!!, (4) the great location with view of the mountains, and (5) the house had its own bar in the basement. The house met our expectations on several fronts. It’s huge with lots of space to hang out and sleep, the pool is nice, location is great, and it is truly secluded. The backyard is sweet too with lots of land, although slopping downhill, and a fire-pit. I would definitely recommend to another group but would say you want at least 15-20 people to justify the size of the place and to spread to cost appropriately. Brett was responsive to all my questions and very easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Mom's 75 Birthday Party

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

We rented the Inn in Hunter for our Mothers 75th birthday/family reunion celebration. Our mother and her nine children and their families all stayed at the Inn, 37 people total. There was plenty of space and rooms for all.

The Inn was very well described in the advertisement. It had all the promised amenities and more. We were especially grateful the advertised wifi was available and of excellent quality and capacity. It is hard for some of our family to leave their work during the week, so we promised they could get in touch with work as need and you really came through for us in that regard.

Our group ranged in age from 75 to 1 year old and we were able to keep everyone entertained and occupied. We had a large group of teens who used the hot tubs and pool and volleyball court everyday. The adults went for the hiking and sightseeing in the area. We sent 2 large groups to the zip line at Hunter Mountain, huge family flotilla to tinker town tubing and we started off the event with a pulled pork dinner/miniature golf game at bear creek. Each night we had games and bingo plus old family movies in the living rooms. We even had a 2 day scavenger hunt in the surrounding towns and everyone was so friendly and helpful it was a wonderful experience all; the children want us to do it again next year!

Our interaction with Brett was pleasant, prompt and business like. Everything was explained clearly and in writing. We asked a lot of questions and we received prompt replies.

We would highly recommend the Inn and Brett to anyone who wants a wonderful vacation experience in the Catskill Mountains

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

The purpose of our visit was a family reunion/vacation. We have a very
large family (mom & dad, 6 siblings, all married with children). It had been years since we were all together at the same time because we live in different parts of the country. For our purpose, your property worked out to be perfect for us. We were all in one location, one building, and able to visit freely without traveling or walking any distances to other buildings. The accommodations were comfortable and the family rooms got the most hang time. The pool was definitely the biggest hit of all with the shallow end very accessible and safe for the young kids and the deep end providing fun for the older ones. The deck around the pool was large enough that we barbecued every night and ate out there. The view was beautiful. We had many volley ball games on the sand court and used the yard quite a bit. Everyone made it to the bar in the basement at least once and some a lot more for some spirits, good times and reminiscing. The big screen TVs were a real hit with the kids when it was time to relax and catch our breath. Several of the families went spelunking to a cave about an hour away (Howe Caverns) and had a great time while another family took a gondola ride to the top of Hunter mountain and saw the statue of Rip Van Winkle and some gorgeous scenery-- fun stuff. Overall, it was a great vacation and a great property that was able to accommodate the needs of a big family of all ages! We have already made one recommendation to other people to use your property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Corporate Getaway

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

“We wanted a house big enough to host our young growing company – and this fit the bill. The corporate retreat was two nights and three days and we could not have been more delighted. The pictures don’t do the size of the Inn justice and the rooms were just as advertised. The pool was fantastic as well as the hot tubs and the BBQ worked great. We loved the full size bar downstairs and brought a few blenders with us to make it really celebratory and fun. Brett was a great contact and answered all of my questions regardless of how small they were (like is there a deck of cards?). If we weren’t planning on a lot of hiring this year, we would definitely use this property again for another business retreat. I simply don’t think we would fit – which is a disappointment for us, as I know we would love to do it again!”

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot for a large family or group

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Plenty of bedrooms and a large gathering room plus another TV/dining area. Great pool and 2 jacuzzis plus two game rooms for inclement weather. Convenient to local nature sites as well as food shopping. Any problems were quickly and effectively resolved. Plenty of outdoor space for volley ball and other activities

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family REunion

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

We rented the house for a family reunion in July and we couldn't have been happier about our choice. There were 20 adults and 18 kids and everyone had a great time. We didn't spend much time inside as the weather was great and the pool area and lawn were perfect for hanging out, swimming and playing lawn games. Had we been forced inside, we would have been perfectly comfortable in the bar or one of the living rooms. The property was better than advertised as the house was much bigger than anticipated and the views of the mountains were amazing. Brett was great to deal with throughout. Not only will we be back but we will recommend this house to everyone. Thanks Brett.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic place for large groups

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

This was our second time renting from 4sg for our company retreat and both experiences were absolutely wonderful. The Inn far exceeded our expectations and the pictures don't do it justice! The property was enormous and loaded with amenities. The jacuzzis (there are two!) and game room are excellent. We especially enjoyed playing pool, swimming in the large pool, and grilling delicious food out on the patio. Brett was very helpful and accommodating and our company had an amazing retreat thanks to the fabulous Inn. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for tons of space and great amenities!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bachelor Party in the Catskills

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

We rented out The Inn for a bachelor party over a weekend in early June. We had 25 people and The Inn did not disappoint in accommodating our large group. The pictures of the Inn on the website just don't give it justice. The place was perfect for our large group and everyone loved it. Between the pool, the bar, the firepit, the new sand volleyball court and the breathtaking views from the huge pool deck, we never left the property once. The owner, Brett was a pleasure to deal with and very responsive to all of our questions. There is no doubt we will be back up! Speaking on behalf of my group, we would all recommend reserving this spot ASAP! Thanks, Brett!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Weekend!

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

I can sum up my experience at Your Own Inn with two words, "First Class". The property and views from the pool are amazing. We had a group of 25 and everyone had a blast in large part because how great the house was. We were there for a bachelor party and on the last day, someone said "I guess we know where we are going for the next bachelor party...Your Own Inn" Brett was fantastic to deal with, anytime I had a question or concern leading up to our stay he responded almost instantaneously. I highly recommend this property and Brett.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Reunion

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Phenomenal set up that was perfect for our party size. Brett ensured thehouse was in great shape prior to our arrival, allowing us to immediatelyrelax and enjoy the weekend. With great weather, views, a barbecue and lotsof outdoor activities the house is fantastic for a spring or summer weekend.It was easy to get to the local town for weekend food supplies and anythingelse you may need. I will definitely be renting this house again in thenear-future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelor Party

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

The Inn was great. We had nearly 20 men for a cold weather bachelor party. The Inn had plenty of room to accomodate us all. The outdoor grill is high quality and large enough to accomodate a large crowd. The bar and living rooms provided lots of space and we had more beds than we needed. Brett was responsive and easy to wrok with. Would recommend it to other large groups.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot for a getaway

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

I brought a large group of friends to this property, and thoroughly enjoyed it. When we arrived, the house was properly cleaned and the interior depicted as I had thought it would be. The game room as fully stocked, the beds comfortable, and the property picturesque. The landlords were also very accommodating and easy to deal with. I would definitely come back again!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My very own INN!!

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

I need to start off by saying first and foremost that Brett is a pleasure to work with. He is very very sweet and helps out in anyway he can. My experience with him was terrific!! Now for some quick background, I threw a surprise 30th birthday for my ski loving boyfriend with family and close friends. My boyfriend was so surprised when he walked in, he actually thought we were at a bar until he realized everyone in the bar were all his friends. As I took him on a tour of the house he was whispering because he thought it was an Inn with other people staying in and didn’t want to disturb them in their rooms LOL. The magnitude of the house is crazy; you can go hours and not see some guests because there is so much space and so many things to do within that space. The view in the living room with the tan couches will take your breath away. Hunter Mountain is probably just a short five minutes away which was great too. We were all taken by surprise at the beautiful views and SUPER AWESOME house. The website although very nice, does not do this place justice. It is just incredible... We were not even out of the house and people were asking me when we are coming back. You have been so great, I cannot express my gratitude enough and we cannot wait to be back!!! This place is a real treasure and I am so grateful you shared it with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

New Years with Family & Friends

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

Have you ever tried planning a trip for 5 families of four? Well I did, and I must say Brett (the owner) made my job so much easier. He was a dream to work with, quick to respond and extremely helpful. The Inn itself was the perfect setting for the perfect weekend. The pictures do not do the house any justice. Although we were a party of 20, we still managed to have 5 unused bedrooms (after in some cases sleeping one to a room). The great room was a perfect place to gather, hang out and just watch TV, it is much larger than it appears in photos. It fit all of us comfortably with room to spare. The house was so huge that you could actually lose someone in it (if you wanted to), which sometimes with the children was exactly what the doctor ordered. The views were absolutely breathtaking. The pool area seemed amazing but we did not get to benefit from it considering the time of year, it must truly be a sight in the spring/summer months. In all I would absolutely recommend the Inn to all of my friends and family. Now that we have found this amazing house we are hoping to start an annual tradition and will definitely be back. All of the children are already asking how soon can we return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Intercompany Outing / Retreat

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

I decided to plan our intercompany outing / retreat in the Catskills and found this rental. I was limited in rental units because of the size of our function. We needed at least 10 separate bedrooms. Needless to say, this property has plenty of space and numerous bathrooms to boot. I found the property was a perfect venue to have the various people within our company together for a full 2-day event including meetings, cooking, and leisure time. The variety of activites made the time a very enjoyable one. Foosball and Air Hockey seemed to bring out the kid in us 40-something year olds and the large screen TV's were perfect for kicking back in a group setting and enjoying some adult beverages while watching the baseball playoffs. The scenery was very picturesque and the zip line tour nearby was a great team-building activity for us. Plenty of space, relaxing, and scenic is the best way to describe the property. Having us all in one convenient location, and NOT a hotel was perfect. The "private inn" type of rental kept us all together and yet provided a nice private place all to ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

This house was the perfect place for a simply amazing weekend getaway. There was an ample amount of space to fit about 35 people where everyone could lounge around together, or have the comfort of their own room. The big den room was a great spot for a movie marathon at night and for board game fun during the day. There was also the perfect feel of being secluded from others to enjoy the breathtaking view of the mountains, but the small town was only 5 minutes away. My group absolutely loved having a weekend away, but this house made it feel like we were still at home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect weekend away!

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

I organized a weekend up at Hunter for 22 people. When I first found this house I was not sure if it was in my budget but Brett was very reasonable and great to work with. Everything he stated about the house was true; it was perfect for a large group of friends. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. We spent a ton of time in the larger living room, just watching movies and chilling in front of the fire on the most comfortable brown couches (a few people wanted to take them home with us!). The weather the weekend we were there wasn't ideal for skiing but we had a great time just hanging out in the house. The bar area downstairs was perfect with the pool table and full bar. We also enjoyed the jacuzzi's outside on the deck. Overall, this was the perfect weekend away! Thanks Brett!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Birthday Ever!

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

I recently had my 30th birthday up at Hunter at "Your Own Inn", and the experience was nothing short of fantastic. The owner of the property - Brett - was a pleasure to work with and made what could have been a stressful experience (planning a party for 25 people) much less stressful. He was extremely responsive, honest, and always reachable when I had questions.

The property itself was also impressive. I can honestly say that the pictures I saw beforehand did not do it justice - especially the bar in the house - which is where my party and I spent the majority of our time. I would also like to note that although there were only 25 of us, the house, true to the ad's word, could have easily and comfortably fit more of us.

Everyone really just had a fantastic time, and I can't even count the number of my friends who already want to make a weekend at the Inn an annual thing going forward.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FAMILY REUNION JUNE 2009

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

We had our first family reunion at the INN and the place was great! Our only regret was that we were only there for 2 nights. We had about 32 people aged 6 months to 87 years and had room to sprawl out and play and party and sing. The rooms were good sized with ample bathrooms(3 or 4 bedrooms had their own bath).. The place was clean and the living space was awesome: large fireplaced living room on the main floor overlooking the pool and a smaller, more intimate living room at the front entrance. The bedrooms on the main floor were the ones with their own baths which was perfect for the older couples or the younger ones with kids. Downstairs was a great bar with a pool table. Looks like it used to be a tavern.The setting was idyllic-sitting on the pool deck or in the hot tub looking out at the fields and mountains in the background. Room for volleyball, tennis courts, basketball-we made use of it all. There is no real dining room per se. There are plenty of places to casually sit and eat and there are tables and folding chairs that can be set up to seat up to 40 people or so in the large dining room or on the huge pool deck. Upstairs kitchen is small but there is a much larger kitchen downstairs near the bar. For a big group you need to bring some extra eating utensils plus your own towels but Brett spells that all out for you and the property description is very accurate. Brett was very helpful and accomodating as was the onsite cleaning crew. We all left on Sunday very pleased with our stay and hoping to get back there next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

family re-union in the catskills

Review submitted: July 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

Great place for a family re-union when the ages ranged from 6 weeks to 83 years old!
Place large enough that we all had more then enough room and very often tried to find somebody ha ha
Large pool and plenty of bathrooms and bedrooms for all.
Plenty of activities around the house and also close by with paintball, golf, hiking etc.
Family flew in from Europe and five States and we all like the house.
Washer and dryer in the house definitly was a huge plus.
Make sure you arrive during the day light hours as it can add to your adventure if you come during night time. Also know the kitchen has some eclectic gear and table wear.
Over all we had a great time and I would highly recommend this house.
Working with Brett made things very easy too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

FDNY Ski Races

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 9, 2009

For the second year in a row we have rented the INN. And for the second straight year we were very happy with the way we found the property upon arrival. Make no mistake it is everything it is advertised to be. There are no false descriptions on the web site. For the past 9 years I have been in charge of finding accommodations for my firehouse for the FDNY ski races. We always had a great time. But renting the INN takes it to a whole other level. With all of the wonderful things to do at the property there is no reason to leave. Also dealing with Brett has been an absolute pleasure these past two years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Bachelor Party/Superbowl

Review submitted: February 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 30, 2009

We rolled into this gigantic house with 20 guys for a bachelor party over Superbowl weekend. The house was perfectly set up for our crew, the game room/bar downstairs was the perfect place for kicking off the weekend. The two living rooms with big screen TV's were just what was needed for the big game. Plenty of room and places for people to crash. The views of the snow covered mountains were refreshing and they were visible in every direction. The two kitchens were very accommodating with plenty of fridge space. Brett was a pleasure to deal with the communicaiton and help he provided is unmatched. This was our first time renting this INN but will not be our last. Think the next trip will take place in the summer months. Thanks again for a great weekend!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: December 11, 2008   Date of arrival: November 27, 2008

We just came back from our second trip to this great place. I have a large family with over 30 people. Plenty of room to spread out. The bar/playroom downstairs is perfect for those that stay up late. The great room on the main floor is perfect to get everyone together for fun activities. Flat screen tv's to watch the game. The place is very private with no concern about neighbor's. Close to town but you never really need to leave. 5 acres to explore. Perfect for any large group. I'll be back for my third trip next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Thanksgiving holiday at Our Own Inn

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Every year our family rents a home where we get together for a reunion. From the minute I saw this home on the internet I knew it was perfect for us.

With 14 bedrooms (way more than we needed yet enough for privacy), a gigantic living room where we could all hang out (one night we had the most fun having a talent show), two hot tubs (we only used one) where we enjoyed the most gorgeous view, and a pool table, card table, fooseball and hockey game the adults and the kids were never bored.

Some of us went to Kaaterskill Falls hiking and took wonderful videos to remember.

Our only regret was that we couldn't swim in the humungous pool because it was the end of November.

Our host, Brett, was very happy to answer any of our questions and our communication (even though we never met in person) was more than I could hope for.

I would definitely recommend this "getaway" to anyone who loves the "upstate" vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Gigantic house, tons of space to play

Review submitted: December 18, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Great playhouse for kids and adults. Lots of rooms for whatever mood you're in, bar with pool table, air hockey, (bring your own CD player), watch movies, lay around the huge couches, nice large swimming pool, great hot tubs, lawn area, etc. Not a large eating area/kitchen but you can eat by the pool, or just eat sitting in one of the living rooms. Bedrooms could use some updating/new mattresses & bedding/ but living areas are roomy and comfortable. Need to watch little ones as pool is accessible from sliding doors. Bring kitchen utensils, plates, glasses, barware, bring movies, bring your own pillows and sheets and comforters. We had over 25 people and the place is so big there was something different going on in every room so we still had privacy as well.
AAA book had good day trip ideas, some people went to the underground cave, there is horsebackriding, small towns to visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for your comments Ann. Just so you know I replaced the mattresses & bedding for the entire house. The DVD players also served as CD players. There are three in total in the house (one in each living room and one in the bar).

It was a pleasure to do business with you. I look forward to working with you again. You should defintely check out my new property right up the road. Happy holidays to you and your family!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: August 2, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Under three hours from NYC, this was a wonderful mid-summer getaway for a birthday reunion of friends from all over the east coast. We had an amazing time at this beautiful house, enjoying swimming, basketball, tennis and even hiking nearby. An old inn, this place fits a HUGE number of people! The current photos do not do it justice - it's simply a fantastic house and location.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review