reviews for: listing #263875ha - Tamarindo, Costa Rica rental

Great Views, Great Rates, A Fully Equipped Studio at Casabambora
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 80 / night
    $ 479 / week
  • sleeps  3
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Even better than expected

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Great little spot - fantastic value and exactly as advertised in terms of amenities but has a much cozier feel than what I'd anticipated. If you're a seasoned traveler looking for a comfortable home base this is for you. We enjoyed the company of the other people staying during our stay too. It's a bit off the beaten path which we welcomed but close enough to get to everything you need (walkable but suggest you have a car if possible). Amazing view is true - we loved having the outdoor space and watching the sunsets from the roof. The pool is a big plus too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The only thing better than the first time was the second!

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I had our first date in 2010 at Casa Bambora, and this year, two years to the day later, I took her back there and proposed. There were so many places that I thought I'd like to ask for her hand, but Joey's place was one of our favorite places we had ever been. Joey's place gives you the ability to be totally relaxed or active vacationers. It is just far enough away from town to be quiet but close enough to travel down to the water/bar/restaurant/whatever you want! I could not recommend a better stay in Costa Rica and my now fiancé and I wish Joey all the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Bambora Lives up to the Hype

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

Casa Bamabora definitely lives up to the hype. We found it to be the ideal place to stay in Tamarindo. The views, location and hospitality were all top notch. Joey and Lauren were great hosts and graciously met all of our needs. They provided great tips on places to go and restaurants to try. The rooms were clean and spacious. It was a great place to come back to and relax after a day at the beach. As others have said, the pools and outside kitchen/bbq are fantastic as well as the views of the surrounding town and Pacific. I definitely recommend Casa Bambora and would consider it a mistake not staying here when coming to Tamarindo.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Would definitely stay at Casa Bambora again!

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

We've just returned home from a month long trip in Costa Rica. Casa Bambora was easily one of our favorite places! The location was ideal for us--a short walk from the beach and the busy strip. The room was very nice and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed for cooking. Although we loved using the grill downstairs by the pool as well! The wrap around porch offers 360 degree views and the rooftop deck was breathtaking. Be sure to ask Joey for recommendations on everything from food to surf lessons (Rodney was GREAT!). Joey was a great host and we'd definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Bambora

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Great place to stay! Awesome pool, great garden. Best bed I slept in during my entire trip! Joey was super helpful.

B

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 8, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Casa Bambora. The room was large and clean with a fantastic ocean view. Because of the small size, we were able to spend some time talking with Joey, the owner, to learn more about the area and Costa Rica in general. It was also fun to meet the other guests and make new friends. We especially enjoyed being out of the "downtown" atmosphere, and the short walk into town or to the beach was pleasurable and good exercise. Our favorite part of the day was watching the sun set on top of the roof.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Relaxing Honeymoon

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

The room is spacious and very comfortable. The balcony was great with ocean views. The pool was always just the right temp and Joe and Sarah were great hosts. We didn't really cook much, but this place was set up to do pretty much any cooking you would need. I would highly recommend this place. It was the first place where we stayed for our honeymoon in costa rica and was our favorite for the whole trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect for a honeymoon!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

My husband and I decided to stay at Casa Bambora for our honeymoon and it was everything we were looking for. It was quiet, relaxing, and the views are so wonderful you just have to see it to believe it. It's in a perfect location so you not only get the views but it's within walking distance of the beach and downtown Tamarindo. Joey was a great host he gave us ideas of where to eat, arranged airport transportation, and gave us tips on excursions we could go on. We stayed on the top floor studio which was very clean and comfortable. The observation deck is the perfect spot to sit and enjoy your surroundings at any time of the day. The property is well maintained and the pool is a great place to spend the late afternoons. We would highly recommend staying here to anyone and look forward to visiting again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Casa Bambora!

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Casa Bambora was everything my husband and I were looking for to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We were in the first floor studio and we could look out our back door to see beautiful greenery all the way to Playa Langosta. The views from the rooftop lounge area were even more gorgeous and I made sure I enjoyed them at sunrise, sunset and late at night. It is amazing how many stars there are in the sky when your view is not dimmed by lights from civilization.
Not that civilization was that far away. We were able to walk to beaches, restaurants, grocery stores, and shops. The walking allowed us to not feel guilty about all the wonderful cuisine (Joey recommended) we enjoyed during our stay, especially the coconut cream pie from The Sunrise Cafe. And when we returned from our excursions we were rewarded with a beautiful oasis to cool off and relax.
One tip though, make sure you shake your clothes as you pack them, I found a hitchhiker in my husbands bag while inspecting it at the airport. It was a scorpion and I did get stung but I am fine, but I can't for the life of me figure out why the little bugger would want to leave paradise.
We went on the estuary tour (Joey recommended), our guide was very knowledgeable and did a wonderful job of making sure we saw crocodiles (ten of them), colorful birds and we even learned to speak monkey.
I could go on forever about what a great vacation this was! Joey was a the perfect host (there when needed but not hovering), the pictures do not do justice to how remarkable the views are, and the pool was perfect for relaxing and cooling off. We hope to return sometime soon. Joey is a very lucky guy to live in such a beautiful place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet oasis and great value for your money

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

My fiance and I (and our puppy Indie) stayed at Casa Bambora one weekend. We stayed in the studio on the ground floor because it had a fenced in yard for our pup to roam. Casa Bambora is exactly as advertised. Of course you can much more to stay beach front at a resort style accommodation but if you're looking for a quiet oasis to come home to after a day at the beach or night out, with your own suite with kitchen, then this is it. It is a few minute walk into town but we had a car so never tried it ourselves. Everything everyone else has said rings true, Joey is a great help on what to do around town, his dogs are sweet and the place is clean, quiet with great views in the upper floors...you instantly feel relaxed and laid back. The pool is great for a swim and much to my surprise, the bed was super comfortable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Private,laid back w/great views

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

Casabambora is exactly as advertized.My last night there was full moon & I took multiple shots from the observation deck to get "the perfect shot"-when I got home I realized I got several.You could see the whole bay and the moored boats illuminated by the moon-don,t think you could have this vantage point anywhere else.The studio & grounds were very clean(most of the time I saw Joey was in the morning cleaning the pool).The dogs were great(I'm a dog person) & enjoyed several conversations w/ his dad.This is only a recommendation,not a complaint:to get the great view & quiet privacy,you have to be away from the beach on the high ground-(I'm 65)-take the taxi back to Joey's when you're done in town or at the beach.Found 1 good place & 1 great place away from the beach & town close to Joey's-good:Do a Lee's Kitchen(breakfast & pizza);GREAT:Crazy Jack's Steakhouse.Even though it is fresh & delicious,after 4 or 5 days,I started running out of seafood options & I NEEDED a good,well cooked(pink inside) steak-that's Jack's.And it's got A.C. &Jack;great cook & host.Maybe 5,10 min. from Joey's-Joey knows Jack(I think he knows everybody-small town)ask about him.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

CASA BAMBORA - BEST PLACE IN TAMARINDO!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

There is no way to say anything bad about Casa Bambora. It is located in a great small town with plenty to see and do, but because it is situated on top of a hill you get the peace and serenity you are looking for! The views from the top are INCREDIBLE. Not only from your wraparound balcony rooms, but from the top floor observation deck that Joey, the owner, created. You can spend every night just watching the sunset over the ocean from there.
We have been recommending this place to everyone we see now!

The rooms were super clean upon arrival, very warm and welcoming. The pool was pristine, and Joey's dad Richard made sure to keep all of his plantlife well watered, and looking beautiful.
Joey was an awesome, awesome host. Super helpful with everything, recommending great restaurants, tours, and providing great conversation as well! He should be very proud of what he has created at this place... the swimming pool, the waterfall that you can climb up and sit in... the outdoor barbecue area that you can host little dinners at if you want to save a few bucks and not dine out every night... they are all what makes Casa Bambora a home away from home! Not to mention, he has three super cute dogs and one adorable and extremely talkative cat!!

We stayed in the blue room on the second floor, and that is definitely THE room to book if you can get it!!! amazing views, great layout, and yes, ALL the rooms are air conditioned, providing blissful sleeps at night. But don't worry, the units are quiet enough that you will surely wake up to the sound of exotic chirping birds and howler monkeys in the nearby trees!

If you want amazing breakfast close to Casa Bambora, ask Joey about Gil's Place, service is friendly, Gil is a firecracker, and the Burritos are damn tasty!

If you want awesome surfing lessons, ask Joey about his friend RODNEY, who charges 40 dollars per lesson with a guarantee that you will stand up and ride a wave all the way to the beach or you get your money back!!

All in all, we couldn't ask for more. This vacation was the best ever! Thanks for all your hospitality Joey!!! We hope to be back super soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and Quiet Spot in Tamarindo

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

My two friends and I recently traveled to Tamarindo in search of surf, peace and quiet, and a relaxing, friendly atmosphere. Casa Bambora was the perfect place for all of this. These incredible studios are placed on the top of a hill affording great views of the surrounding country, you can check the surf conditions from basically anywhere in the compound, but the 3rd story roof view is the best! Amazing sunsets every night. While being away from the busy section of town it was still easily walkable to Playa Tamarindo, and even Playa Grande and Langosta were not too far.
Each studio has a full kitchen so you can cook your own food, plus there's a communal grill outside by the pool for everyone to use. The pool has a basketball hoop so you can play games of horse in between surf sessions, or you can take a nap in one of the many hammocks. It's rad!
Also, Joey and his three dogs are incredibly friendly and very accommodating. We all had a killer time and were sad to leave for gloomy New England. I would highly recommend Casa Bambora to anybody planning on staying in Tamarindo, and I'll be sure to give Joey a call when I head back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Bambora can't be beat!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

Casa Bambora was nothing short of spectacular. The studios are nicely furnished and comfortable. The pool and bar space are well designed and a great place to grill up dinner, read a book, or take a swim before going down to the beach. Joey is an excellent host. He's been there since Tamarindo's founding. Whatever you want to do, he has a contact in the business who will show you spectacular time. I highly recommend Casa Bambora to any couple, family or group of friends looking for an amazing stay. I highly doubt you could find anything better--even if you were willing to spend a couple hundred more dollars.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Bambora is an incredible accommodation located in an exclusive location in Tamarindo

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Casa Bambora is the perfect place to go for a relaxing getaway in a location with a great beach and excellent surf.

The house sits atop a hill that overlooks Tamarindo Bay, so you have privacy without being far from the beach and nightlife in town. All the rooms have a balcony or porch with breath-taking views of the brilliant blue Pacific ocean and lush green mountains. There are rooms on 3 different floors and a sun deck on the 4th floor that offers a cool, refreshing breeze even on the hottest days. Almost every night we were able to catch a spectacular sunset from here as well.

The rooms are very comfortable and nicely furnished with a kitchen that includes a stove, oven, coffee maker, fridge and all the pots/pans/utensils you need. There is also an outdoor grill, microwave and blender that can be shared among the guests. Were able to grill fresh fish (mahi mahi, tuna, red snapper) on the same day it was caught by local fisherman. There are several markets nearby where you can buy any almost any other grocery supplies you would want for dinner. Tamarindo also has a wide variety of excellent restaurant choices at very reasonable prices. Many of them actually have happy hour where you can get beers for a buck.

Casa Bambora has beautiful pool with a relaxing waterfall and several places to sit while soaking up the sun. There are also a few hammocks tucked into some cozy locations where you can rest in the shade. A very large bar next to the pool offers a great place to enjoy some drinks, watch TV or BBQ. If you prefer to lie on the beach or swim in the ocean, it is only a short walk to miles of public beach. There are also several places in town where you can rent a surf board or take lessons.

The owner of Casa Bambora, Joey, grew up in California, but moved to Costa Rica after falling in love with Tamarindo's amazing surf and consistently perfect weather (almost no rain, minimal clouds, highs in the 80s and lows in the mid 60s year round). You can't ask for better weather! Joey is a VERY friendly and down to earth guy that will take care of any repairs or requests in a timely fashion. His passion and pride in the house that he built is reflected in how well maintained everything is kept. Joey is full of recommendations and helpful tips on where to eat or what tours to take.

Overall I would recommend Casa Bambora to people of all ages that are seeking a relaxing vacation outside of a typical hotel/resort!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Talberts

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2010

Casa Bambora is a great place. If you like privacy, something way better than a hostel, great atmosphere, a great owner/operator, and a cheap place that is well worth more, then this is the place. Joey is great. He had fluffy towels, books to borrow and info on the local scene. Great views and sunsets. You do have a steep path to and from the town, but its not so bad after the first couple of times. I suggest bringing some thick bottomed sandals. The rocks on the roads can really hurt your feet if you have crappy footwear. Joey arranges transportation for you if you need it. This place is awesome and we highly reccomend it.
PS ----Kobe and Toro (dogs) are great!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Bambora truly a paradise in every way

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

Sounds of Parakeets, Macaws, Budgies, Hummingbirds and other birds flying past your veranda in the mornings, Howler and Capuchin monkeys moving around throughout the day and night, Humpback whales off in the ocean, giant grasshoppers and butterflies in the evening and sunsets that are truly spectacular. Not to mention the lush greenery and flowers all around and beaches that stretch for miles and miles. And that’s just what you’ll see while at Casa Bambora , truly a paradise worth seeing.
Casa Bambora is more than just a home away from home. After reading all of the wonderful reviews about this beautiful, hilltop retreat in paradise we thought even if it met most of our expectations it would be great.
We were met by our shuttle, which Joey (owner of Casa Bambora) arranged for us and had a beautiful and informative ride from the Liberia airport to Tamarindo. Our driver stopped for us get a few groceries for our first night.
Our apartment was on the top floor and had a 360 degree view of ocean, town, hillsides, rainforest and the pool with waterfall below. We had a hammock on one of our terraces which was so comfortable and you could just sit there and read while occasionally looking out to the ocean or watching the sunset.
The villa also has a wonderful patio by the pool with a full outdoor kitchen and bar-b-que. Joey recommended Don Fernando’s Butcher Shop and it was so nice to cook fabulous steaks, or pork, chicken whenever we felt like it and so cost effective too. A pool, BBQ, Bar, TV what more do you need to watch a little football!
The roof top deck is also an excellent place to watch a beautiful Costa Rican sunset and have a few drinks, listen to the howler monkeys and watch the many birds fly by.
Joey having been there for 19 years was able to tell you where to find great food and even took us for a walk through town our first night showing us around. Amazing places to visit in Tamarindo are the following restaurants: Olga’s Café, Long Boards BBQ, La Esquina, Bueno Appetitio, Nugueys, Eat at Joe’s, Nibbana, and Kahiki! Unfortunately Sharkey’s burned down while we were there, but I’m sure they are going to rebuild and when they do, have the Buffalo Chicken Sandwich. If you have a dog this is the perfect vacation – we’ll be bringing ours on our next visit.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica and now we could easily consider it another home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the great review!
Unfortunately that was only the 2nd time I have ever seen a macaw in Tamarindo. They are mainly in the southern part of the country.
I just don't want my renters to expect to see one because there is about a 99% chance they won't.

Joey

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Welcome Home

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

My wife and I recently travelled to CostaRica and were fortunate enough to come across Casabambora. Joey's little piece of heaven made our 3 1/2 week vacation extra special. You feel at home the minute you walk through the gates and are greeted by Coby and Toro, the lovable dogs that are part of the family. It was a pleasure to get to know Joey...the most laid back surfer dude you will ever meet. He will help you out with whatever you need. It was amazing having breakfast out on the 3rd floor balcony with the great views of the ocean and all the sounds of the jungle. The property itself is wonderful, with lush vegatation and a great pool to cool off after a day in the sun. We spend a number of days just chilling around the pool in our own little paradise. You won't be dissapointed with booking Casabambora. The resonable rates, peacefullness, great ocean view, great pool, feeling at home while away from home...PRICELESS

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

Absolutely would recommend staying at Casa Bambora! I spent an entire month there in May 2010 and loved it. Joey and his dad were great and the animal clan of Kobe, Toro and Chico made it extra special. Loved the views from my 3rd floor suite; spent hours relaxing by the pool and it's only a 5 minute walk down the path into town. This is my 5th year in Costa Rica and I will stay at Casa Bambora again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Best place in Costa I've ever stayed!

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

There's no reason to stay anywhere else: the apartments are beautiful, safe, clean and comfortable; best views, best sunsets, best jungle noises, best walk to the beach. Joey delivers what he says he will and then some. I've stayed in numerous places in Costa Rica and this is definitely the best. I seriously felt like I was home (minus the international aspect). Can't wait to stay again.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Casa Bambora

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

My stay at Casa Bambora was excellent. The home is perfect down to the detail, the owner is a great guy, and the veiw is spectacular. Casa Bambora is off the beaten path at the top of a hill overlooking playa Tamarindo, but is a short walk to the center of town. I honestly don't believe there is a better location for a home. The house is a great place to stay for a couple, a group of friends, or a family. Joey's outdoor kitchen is a great place to cook up a meal, the pool is a perfect place to relax, and the house just seems like it's a part of the jungle that surrounds it.

I really enjoyed my stay and expect to return to Casa Bambora as soon as possible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Excellent value for money in a serene setting

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

Casa Bambora is only five minutes walk from Tamarindo's nicest dining and bars. The 3rd floor and the rooftop terrace have the greatest view with an amazing sunset over the pacific. The clean apartments are comfortable with their own terraces and are fully equipped also for a longer stay. We stayed for two weeks and would have loved to stay longer. The pool with the waterfall and the garden kitchen are really nice. The owner Joey is great company and very helpful with whatever questions or requests you might have, he knows all the surf spots around Tamarindo in and out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Adventure Trip

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

My wife and I had a great first Costa Rica experience and staying at Casabambora was a way to make sure of that. We stayed for 1 week and wished it was for longer. Joe was the perfect host and turned us on to his local connections for all our adventures. From surfboard access to canopy tours, we kept ourselves busy and the week flew by. All the restaurants had great food, especially the seafood, and the prices were cheap. Joe's little piece of paradise, with his waterfalls and sunset views were everything you could want for the town of Tamarindo. Can't wait to go back and ride some more of those perfect swells they have coming in the bay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

An Excellent Choice!

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

Our beautiful third floor studio suite with wrap around deck & amazing views of the Pacific ocean and nearby parklands only needed an extra bit of TLC cleaning and it was all set - also the owner Joe had been away, so things we'ren't up to their usual state. Being a cleaning lady back in Canada, I perhaps have a more obsessive definition of clean, and I needed to get a new perspective of how 'clean' differs in Tamarindo with the wind, dust and nature that interacts with us in the tropics. Expect some critters sharing your space: harmless geckos and ants were the natural cleaners of other less desireable bugs.

The suite had lots of room and was well cared for with good appliances, and lovely decor. The beds were very comfortable. I especially love the large shower with lots of hot water. The A/C unit was excellent, though I preferred the natural breezes.
Early most mornings, we awoke to the calls of howler monkeys in the nearby park. A wonderful sound I'll never forget. New birds were heard almost every day; bring binoculars and guide to Costa Rican birds!
We ate breakfast on the back deck while visiting my brother on my netbook via Skype: also useful for making any phone calls cheaply. The WiFi works well.
On the ground level, the outside kitchen and pool area were great, complete with a BBQ, fridge, and TV. The refreshing pool had lovely waterfalls and surrounding garden. The cactus shower was very handy for washing off dusty feet after a trek. Joe is building an outdoor change, shower and washroom. There's also a decent laundry room. The property is secure with gates, fencing and three friendly dogs who take care of watchdog duties.
I shouldn't forget the fourth floor deck: awesome for star gazing and breezes at dusk.
Ok, minor discrepancy, no dvd player; we didn't miss it. There were enough Spanish & English tv channels for evenings in.
Downtown and the ocean were a ten minute walk; it may be strenuous for some to go up and down the dirt trail to the road. Tamarindo's unpaved dusty road was our only complaint.
Joe was an excellent and friendly host who was helpful in suggesting eaterys and tours.
A nearby restaurant I liked: "Seasons" by Shlomy at Hotel Arco Iris. A 2 minute walk, set by a pool with lovely decor. A bit pricey, but good. Also, try surfing with the Yoda Zen master: Pedro :)
Casa Bambora would be great for families, older & younger couples, or honeymooners. An excellent value for the price in a quiet neighbourhood. Thanks heaps Joe!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm sorry Arlette,
I normally inspect the rooms after they have been cleaned if I don't do the cleaning myself, I was on vacation for the first time in 9 years and had no idea the room was not properly cleaned and did give a discount for the inconvenience. In Tamarindo most of the roads are not paved and when the Papa Gallo winds blow 30 to 50 mph In janruary through March it's hard to keep the dust out. The doors and windows must have been left open after the room was cleaned. Thank you for not mentioning that my pool filter had malfunctioned while I was away and the pool was not as clear as it should have been. It's crystal clear now!
Also this is the jungle and a few times a year the ants will show up, they are harmless and usually don't stay long.

Thanks for the nice comments Arlette.

Joey

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

CASABAMBORA - GET THE FLAVOR OF COSTA RICA

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2009

We have stayed at Casabombora several times in the past 8 years. The view from the top is beautiful and you also have a beautiful view from the room. The apartments are fully equipped for cooking and you can buy groceries in town and cook your own meals in the apartment or on the grill at the barbecue by the pool while watching sports on the TV that hangs over the bar. Staying here certainly beats spending 100+ for an expensive hotel room in one of the hotels in town. It's only a 10 minute walk to town and it is quiet and peaceful away from the sounds of the town. There is a nice pool and the owner, Joey, is very helpful in giving information on where to go and what to see. He also speaks English and Spanish. We have recommended Casabambora to friends and relatives who have also stayed there and been very pleased.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful two week stay at Casabambora. The first week we were on the second floor which has two decks. The second week we were on the top floor with a wrap around deck and the stairs up to the rooftop. What an awesome view! Enjoyed many sunsets there! The pool was inviting and Joe and his dad Richard are so helpful! We went off of previous comments for places to eat and most places were just great. Ursula's was not the best and Kahiki was so-so. But we ate a wonderful lunch at Hotel Diria, ate a wonderful dinner at Bella's and we went to Mar Y Sol in Playa Flamingo for our wedding anniversary and what a wonderful experience! We liked it so much we went back two days later for Valentine's Day Dinner and it was even better than the first dinner, the service was superb! Just complete class and excellence! Definitely worth the drive there or shuttle or taxi. Speaking of shuttles, if you want to be at a place at a certain time, like the airport, be sure to give yourself an additional hour to get there due to the shuttle consistently being late. It took us over two hours to get to the airport for our departure flight! That is really the only conmplaint we have. This was our second time in Costa Rica and we really enjoyed it and we will be back again. Pura Vida! See you again Joe!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Casa Bambora is Tamarindo's Hidden Secret

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

Casa Bambora is one of the best hidden secrets in Tamarindo. It has the best 360 degree panoramic view for miles. Joey the owner is a delight to be around. The free wifi, kitchens in every room, and rate are unbeatable anywhere in Tamarindo. I have stayed at many properties in Tamarindo and Costa Rica and this is the first place I felt like I could call home. I will definitly be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

First we would like to thank Joe, Casabambora is great the view is the best in Tamarindo. Just a 10 min walk to everything just far enought so you don't hear the nightlife in town. The beach is great to learn surf and the local people are great. I would recommend this place to anyone who want's a vacation in paradise.

Thanks again
Stephane

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: December 21, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

Casa Bambora is one of the best hidden secrets in Tamarindo. It has the best 360 degree panoramic view for miles. Joey the owner is a delight to be around. The free wifi, kitchens in every room, and rate are unbeatable anywhere in Tamarindo. I have stayed at many properties in Tamarindo and Costa Rica and this is the first place I felt like I could call home. I will definitly be back again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: December 14, 2009   Date of arrival: December 14, 2009

Casabambora is amazing. I stayed for a month on the second floor appartment in November. After travelling around the country and staying at many different places, I was pumped to get back to Joey's. It has a great atmosphere. The rooftop has the best view in town, and the appartments are comfortable, clean and practical. Tamarindo is a great town. The night life is great, yet its easy to get away and relax. Joey's knowledge of the area was alone with the cost of rent. He was extremely helpful in renting surf boards, giving directions, recommending places to go/see, and keeping his guests comfortable. I'll be back, Joey! Pura Vida.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

joey was the best.the house is #1 on in costa rica and i live in upala with my wife about 3 hours south east, we were just visting the area we stayed 10 days, didnt want to leave ,the top floor is sweet ,took lots of pics, the beach is nice, sweet for surfing nite life is good it is worth checking out

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

This was our first visit to Costa Rica. September 09. We were house hunting and picked Tamarindo because of it's central location. Joey's place was awesome. We have decided to make this our residence each time we come until we finish building our home. Hopefully we will be able to get a room at Casabambora. Great views, nice pool, very laid back atmosphere. We give it our highest rating. And we are very picky...See ya again soon Joey!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

Stayed at Casa Bambora in April for a week and returned for the month of July 09'. I couldn't have found a better place to stay and I've stayed at a lot of places in Tamarindo. Thanks Joe.... hope to be back soon...D.R.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

This was one of the best trips that I have ever had! Joey is a great host! I will be back again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Bambora for two and a half weeks and it was one of the most enjoyable trips we’ve ever experienced! This was our first time out of the country, and we couldn't have felt more at home. Casa Bambora sits on top of a little hill which provides the most amazing views I have ever seen. It basically consists of five studio apartments converted into charming little vacation homes, standing three stores high, with a nice little pool, and a roof that's been converted into a relaxing area with lawn chairs and a table. The roof provides a 360 panoramic view of the gorgeous country that surrounds you. To the west we had the vast Pacific Ocean, and in every other direction, dense jungle land. Our room sat on the third floor, which was the only room on that floor. We had a patio that surrounded the entire unit, and a table and set of chairs that pointed northwest and provided a perfect vantage point for enjoying the sunset. We spent close to a month trying to find the perfect place, and the minute that we stepped onto the property we knew we had made the right decision! If you are considering Casa Bambora, let me help you out by saying JUST STAY HERE! You will not regret your decision! Thanks Joey for an amazing trip (and say hi to Toro and Coby for us)!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

I just stayed at Casa Bambora, and would definitely recommend it to others. The pool & waterfall are great, & Casa Bambora might have the best views in all of Tamarindo! You have sweeping views from south of Langosta, all the way up to Playa Grande, so you can imagine the sunsets are breathtaking. It's located near everything, but still very private (think waking to the sounds Howler Monkey's & exotic birds), and Joey's local knowledge will make sure your stay is a good one. The room was great, AC, fridge, stove, coffee maker, ceiling fan, private balcony, everything you could really need. I was traveling solo, but next trip I'm bringing my wife along - there's definitely a romantic vibe on the rooftop deck!
Thx again Joe, hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 12, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

We just returned to FL from Tamarindo, we stayed at Joey's place, Casa Bambora, had a great month, enjoyed the pool, beautiful sunsets, easy walk to the beach and restaurants. Joey and his Dad are just great and very helpful, if you get a chance go and enjoy we think you'll have a great time! The condo is secure and quiet, a great 360o view & beautiful sunsets from the sun deck! It was our second visit and we plan to return very soon! We love it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 30, 2009   Date of arrival: March 30, 2009

I have been to Costa Rica now 4 times and have had the best experience here as 4 accomodations and local knowledge Joe and his pops will steer u the right way on every thing to do.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 23, 2009

If you are visiting Tamarindo, we would definitely
recommend that you stay at Casa Bambora. We
were extremely comfortable in our condo which
was fully equipped with everything we needed for
our stay and is situated in a very safe area. The
location is great because it is off the main street,
but just a short, 5-minute walk from all the action.
There is a 360 degree view of the whole city and
beach from the top balcony and the sunsets are
amazing! The on-site pool is also very nice and the
wireless internet is high speed. Joey is a great guy
and very accommodating. If we ever visit
Tamarindo again, we would definitely want to stay
at Casa Bambora!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 26, 2009   Date of arrival: February 26, 2009

Balconies off of nearly every room, a private patio on the lower levels, a barbecue area, custom built pool that that has a built in waterfall and sitting area, and a sundeck with 360 degree views of the area, Casabambora rivals area accommodations in it's offerings. The a simple rusticity about the rooms combined with the modern comforts of cable tv, hi-speed internet, and a kitchenette make it perfect for long-term or short term stays. In my visits to Costa Rica, having stayed in both high-end hotels and budget cabinas, Casabambora has a special place in my heart and memories as a place that I hope to return to... Another plus, if I haven't mentioned enough, Joey is an excellent and personable host who knows the area and the surf.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 22, 2009   Date of arrival: February 22, 2009

Casa Bambora is the place to stay in Tamarindo. Super comfy, awesome views, nice pool, and Joe is a super nice guy. I HIGHLY recommend it. Thanks again Joe, hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 14, 2009   Date of arrival: January 14, 2009

I have been at the Casabambora for 6 nights on 23/12/08, it is a very nice and clean place and you have a great view to watch the beautiful sunset. Walk to the beach in 10 minutes, use the pool and have some drinks at the balcony in the evening, I recommend the apartments, it was a pleasure to stay there. Maybe see you some day again Joe!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 24, 2008   Date of arrival: December 24, 2008

We have been all over Costa Rica, but the best view
yet is from Casa Bambora's observation deck.
Although we must say we have stayed in both
studio's and the both host spectacular views. We
love the location .The property and pool are
beautiful and have everything you could need to
feel at home. Of course Joey, your host, knows all
the ins and outs of the area. This is truly a
comfortable place to stay. We will be back.
See you soon, Joey.

Sincerely,
Tim & Bridget

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 8, 2008

Casa Bambora sits on a hilltop and is the best spot in Tamarindo to stay! View from rooftop is spectacular, you can see all of Tamarindo and out to Langosta Beach and sunsets are gorgeous! Joe & his Dad are just great and very helpful. Beautiful pool, nice bar, hammocks to sit in, close to town, quiet. This was my 4th visit to Tamarindo and the best place I've stayed. John and I will be back for another visit soon! Good restaurants, Nougi's Cafe, Villa Bella, Capitan Suiza, and Mar Y Sol in Flamingo Beach if you can get out there is superb! Cheers, John & Sandy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 11, 2008   Date of arrival: October 11, 2008

It is my first trip to Costa Rica and Casa Bambora was picture perfect. Quaint, yet roomy studios (with huge walk-in showers) offer guests all the basic amenities.

Perched atop a hill, Casa Bambora offers unparralleled views of the entire area. And, Joe offers unparalleled hospitality.

This IS "Treasure in Paradise". You are within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, and or course, the beach.

If you prefer a pool Joe's is crystal clear and perfect for those quick dips anytime of the day or night.

Thanks, Joe, for the great time and awesone view. I, for one, will be back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 25, 2008   Date of arrival: June 25, 2008

My friends and I just returned from a week at Casabambora, where we had a wonderful time. Just as everyone else mentioned, Joe is a great host. The view was the best! I look forward to a return visit one day.
Thanks Joe for your hospitality.
Karen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2008   Date of arrival: May 29, 2008

We stayed in March and Casabambora was wonderful. Joe helped us track down our luggage the same night it was lost. Just like everyone said the view was great. We felt like we were home at Joe's place. His dad and the other folks who lived there were so nice and very friendly. Hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2008   Date of arrival: May 27, 2008

Can't imagine a better place to stay! Even though Joe is a big dork and a terrible host :-)
Already psyched for my next trip!!! Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 26, 2008   Date of arrival: March 26, 2008

Casabambora has every amenity one needs in a vacation rental, plus an awesome view! And as everyone mentioned, Joey is a fantastic host. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 10 days and I would recommend it to anyone thinking about visiting Tamarindo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 15, 2008   Date of arrival: March 15, 2008

This place is the best place to stay in Tamarindo hands down. Props to you Joe hope to see you again.

Sean

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2008   Date of arrival: March 11, 2008

Casa Bambora is absolutely amazing. My friends and I had the pleasure of staying here over the New Year and everything that everyone else has said is absolutely true. The view from the roof was amazing no matter what time of the day, but the sunset and view of the stars at night was just unbelievable!

Another great aspect of this place is the privacy and quietness. Yet even with all this the town and beach are still only a few minutes away. I really
could not think about a better place to stay in Tamarindo.

Oh yeah and I cant forget the tremendous amount of hospitality that you get from Joey. He is a real laid back guy and fun to just hang with and maybe if your lucky you'll be able to talk him into doing his famous dive off the waterfall!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2008   Date of arrival: February 23, 2008

Awesome sunsets Green flash and all! Great accomodations along with local knowledge of the surf. Joe is an excellent host. He goes out of his way for his guests, even the ones from Jersey!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 17, 2008   Date of arrival: February 17, 2008

Casa Bambora is a lovely guest house on a hilltop overlooking the forest with its howler monkeys and flamboyant flowers and birds. The spectacular view from the rooftop patio is of the sunrise, the sunset, the ocean and the stars. Our studio apartment had a private deck and every amenity we could have wished for. The swimming pool surrounded by banana trees and hybiscus blossoms was a perfect place to cool off any time, and Joey was a wonderful host who looked after us with care. Because of its location on the hill, Casa Bambora was above the hubbub of Tamarindo -- a treasure of a place to stay -- while being near enough to the town for easy access. Thank you, Joey, for a splendid vacation in your little paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2007   Date of arrival: December 29, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at the Casabambora for almost 3 weeks this month. If you are looking for basic accommodation with the best view in town then this is the place you want to be. The owner Joe is great! This is a great place to just relax! Any questions shoot me an email. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 11, 2007   Date of arrival: June 11, 2007

I've been to Tamarindo several times over the last decade. I've stayed in the swank hotels, and I've stayed in the budget cabinas. I just brought my wife down to Tamarindo for her first trip and we stayed at Casa Bambora. It is without a doubt the BEST of both worlds, economy with all the amenities you need or want. I will never stay anywhere else. Joey is the ultimate host. We'll be back soon man!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 29, 2007   Date of arrival: April 29, 2007

Joe was nothing short of a fantastic host. He even offered to drive us a few places during our 4 day stay in April 2007. The rooftop deck affords a splendid view few others will get to see. The sunsets/sunrises are absolutely amazing up there and the stargazing at night is top notch. Great pool as well. We had the place basically to ourselves all 4 days. For the rate and location I would certainly not pass up this great opportunity! I hope you like Imperial Cerveza! Couple tips, hit up Nogui's Sunset Cafe for dinner and drinks and Kahiki's for great breakfasts!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 20, 2007   Date of arrival: February 20, 2007

I really can't put into words how much my girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay at Casa Bambora. It is such an amazing place, in such an amazing location. Joe is a magnificent host, really making us feel at home. We will definitely be back, hopefully next time we will be renting by the month, not the night. If you are considering going, feel free to email me. I would be happy to answer any questions that someone visiting might have. Thanks again, Joe.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2007   Date of arrival: January 5, 2007

I stayed at this place from Dec 26th to Dec 29th 2006, I must say this is an awesome hotel to stay, all the ammenities made the time with my wife pleasant and memorable. Joe and his father are excellent hosts. The view is amazing, all the "must visit" places and beaches are very close. This is an excellent place to stay, relax and enjoy a good time in Tamarindo, will recommend it to all my friends.
Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 30, 2006   Date of arrival: October 30, 2006

Staying at Casa Bambora was awesome we had a great time there. All the amenities are included so you have the luxury of cooking your own meals, having a swim in the pool, grillin on the barby, checking out the amazing sunset from the top deck or just chillin out in the air conditioned rooms watchin a bit of cable tv. Not to mention the hospitality shown by Joey. He was great whether it was telling us which surf spot would be good on a particular day or hooking us up with a discounted car rental, even chillin out poolside having a beer with him. We couldnt have asked for a better host or place to stay especially considering the great rate. Thanks Joey, hopefully we'll be back someday.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 22, 2006   Date of arrival: August 22, 2006

great place to stay--been there three times and love the privacy and seclusion. joe is the best host you could ask for. the view is the best in tamarindo by far and for what you recieve for the price you cannot go wrong. i bought steak and fish right up the street and it was great grilling out by the pool that wasnt finished yet but now it is and i wish i was there--back soon joe joe!!--eddie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2006   Date of arrival: August 19, 2006

Casa Bambora is great. We had a brilliant stay there. The top deck sports the best views in all of Tamrindo and the owner, Joe, is really friendly and helpful. The new swimming pool and waterfall are brilliant for relaxing and the rooms are spacious and fully kitted out. cheers for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2006   Date of arrival: August 4, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Bambora. The view from the top is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. Also, you can save a lot of money by buying groceries at the Tamarindo market and preparing some of your own meals. We even barbequed a couple of nights and watched sports on the TV over the outside bar. It sure beats staying in an expensive 100.00+ hotel. The new pool is a great addition. We plan to come back often.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 2, 2006   Date of arrival: August 2, 2006

best view in tamarindo! very safe ! cool vibe! the pool rocks!AAAA++++ JOEY IS THE MAN!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review