reviews for: listing #263924ha - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

The Magnificent Casa Capitan, Beachfront Luxury, Oozing Chic, Perfect Surf
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  yes
  • type  Estate
  • baths  8
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  20
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Perfect and

Review submitted: May 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

My husband and I held our wedding at Casa Capitan in January and we cannot sing enough praises for Carlota and the Capitan estate. It was the most incredible and "smooth" experience and a perfect set up for a wedding! Casa Capitan is a one of a kind paradise with an incredibly peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. I just can't compliment Carlota enough on what an amazing job she has done to create such a beautiful and unique space (even the beautiful photos don't do it justice!). The grounds and the beach in front are stunning, the staff is so friendly and efficient, and Carlota and Jaymie were incredibly helpful with recommendations, etc. Carlota even recommended my wedding planner, Courtney, who was absolutely brilliant. Both of our families stayed at Casa Capitan and Casa Java for a week surrounding the wedding and everyone has voted this their favorite vacation of all time(-; Thank you Carlota and the Capitan estate staff who made our vacation and wedding so perfect! We hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Capitan addiction - Acute relaxation

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

I can't begin to tell you how much our family enjoyed
our recent stay at your beautiful Casa Capitan. The space your have created there is really Special and turned out to be perfect for our group. Between the house and gardens and the
wonderful resting palapa ( I took naps in all three) I don't think I have ever been as rested
on a vacation. Your staff was wonderful and never intrusive to our privacy yet they keep the
property spotless. Jaymie was most helpful in answering questions and making last minute
arrangements for us. We liked it so much everyone wants to return next August.
We are also interested in the Java house for another daughter and her family. We would also look into flying direct rather that stay in San Jose overnight. That would give us more time at the house also.
I know everyone in my family who was at the property wants to return and we are already excited to come back as we all gathered Sunday and were looking at our pictures of your beautiful house and all the wonderful art and gardens you have placed there. It really is quite special as I am sure you are aware. Do you get to stay there often yourself? Also thanks for the referral for the pilot who has contacted me. I will get back to him. It makes total sense for us to fly over next trip to save time.. Again I am sorry it took so long to get back to you but I had an acute case of so much relaxation from Costa Rica it was hard getting back to my regular life again. Casa Capitan is the kind of addiction we all need from time to time in our way too busy lives! Thank you again for providing such a beautiful place to vacation in.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING CASA CAPITAN!!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Hi Carlota,

We had such a wonderful time there. Your house is beautiful!! It was the perfect place for our family to be able to just relax together. Jaymie helped us so much. We couldn't have done it
without her. She really helped set everything up. To the charter flights, excursions, quads, taxi's and she made it all so easy for us. She was wonderful! We took surf lessons, zip lined and did yoga. I have to say using Carmon Air for our charter flights from San Jose made the trip so much easier. They were there waiting at the airport to pick us up and take us all to their airstrip. There was no wait time and they really took care of us. Definitely the way to go! We enjoyed having Davin and Pablo with Canape Catering cook for us. Can't say enough about his delicious food!! It felt like we were at a 5 star resort eating 5 star food. He plated the food beautifully at every meal and served us at the large dining table that held all 16 of us! Having your girls cook us breakfast and Davin for lunch and dinner was a dream. We all can't stop talking about our trip. It was so amazing! We all hope to make it back again. Thanks so much for making it special for us.
Jennifer

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"True Pura Vida: The Magnificent Casa Capitan"

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

"True Pura Vida: The Magnificent Casa Capitan"

It is quintessentially eco-chic with unparalleled beauty and remarkable attention to detail. Its ability to accomodate 14 people (seemingly effortlessly), including one in a wheelchair, meant there was something for everyone. We surfed, jumped waves, went for long walks on the nearly deserted beach, swam in the beautiful private swimming pool, took a yoga lesson at the private yoga pavilion in front of the ocean (also perfect for a massage), found quiet reading spots in the comfy cabanas, sipped amazing coffee in the many coffee shops, dined in topnotch openair restaurants, danced to live music at a local bar, and each night watched the sun set into the Pacific Ocean. - Ahh, Exhale :) -- We travelled from San Jose by private bus via ferry and endured the bumpy patch to get to Santa Teresa, but it was well worth it! Santa Teresa is distinctly quaint - like an old beach town from a 1970's Hollywood movie, filled with surfers & yoga enthusiasts - yet surprisingly well-suited to anyone in search of a slower pace. I can hardly believe that such a place still exists. One note of caution, however - This is a cash-only town. Every restaurant, tour operator, quad rental or clothing store is generally cash-only. The odd place that isn't, charges a premium. - The atms/Bank also charge a big premium and are not always well-stocked. Gratefully, everyone in town knows the Casa Capitan. At least twice, they let us return the next day for payment. Now, that's a vestige in today's world! One other note, while the property is not entirely wheelchair accessible, it is definitely manageable - thanks to the ingenuity of the management & staff. Mucho Gracias to all who help to make Casa Capitan Pura Vida including Soffi, Ismail, Augustina, Julie and especially the ridiculously talented and gracious, Carlota!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Daughter's Dream Wedding

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

What a spot of paradise. My daughter had her dream destination wedding at Casa Capitan
and we were thrilled her choice. The amenities of the home, with its wonderful pool, isolated
beach and open floor plan were perfect for a relaxing vacation. I would highly recommend this
home. All the photos and description depict the place well.... and being there is even better! The concierges Rachel and Sofia were very helpful and responsive. And the staff was onboard daily keeping up with housekeeping. Rooms were very comfortable and the two suites were magnificent.

We had a coordinator transform the site for the wedding itself and you cannot imagine how magical it was. We had the ceremony on the beach at sunset and cocktails setup there afterwards. The house was lit up and there was a trail of lights walking back. The venue was magical.

I would highly recommend this place if you are interested in a destination Costa Rica wedding.
It is a remote place to travel to, but worth the trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

relaxing in paradise

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

I went to Casa Capitan in January of 2012 with seven other women and we loved it ! The worst part was leaving. What a place ,perfection. We had more than enough room ,even had a couple rooms to spare . Each room was tastefully decorated with the owner Carlotta generously sharing her love of Indonesian furniture and art. The out door bathrooms had all the comforts of home but gave you the feeling of bathing in a tropical setting, feeling natural and clean ! Some roms had indoor bathrooms for those who prefer . The house itself is open , airy and comfortable, just a wonderful beachy ,tropical feeling. There are secluded places to relax, all of them ideally situated . I took a luxurious nap on one of the outdoor beds closest to the beach . Sleeping to the sounds of the ocean with sea breezes keeping me cool. The infinity pool overlooking the beach is a touch of pure luxury . Every detail has been well thought out ,from the most comfy lounge chairs to the excellent bed linens. The house staff are efficient and not in the least bit intrusive. Our cooked breakfasts in the morning were delicious . I have stayed at top notch hotels in my life and rented other luxury homes..but Casa Capitan tops them all. There are surf board to use and beach mats ,games to play and a pool table. The kitchen is stocked with every thing you possibly need to cook or make drinks . We hired Joy from Canape Catering to make our meals and she was fanatastic. If I had it to do over , I would never leave the house and just stay there reading ,relaxing and enjoying the beach. We took surf lessons (great fun ) went ATV riding and horse back riding. We even had smores and a bonfire on the beach one night. I have not felt that relaxed and content in a long time and I only wish I could have stayed two weeks instead of one. Our charter flight from San Jose to Tambour was quick &fun ,much better than driving as the roads are dusty and unpaved mostly. Carlotta has an incredible sense of style and her home exudes tranquiity . I am so greatful she has chosen to share it. Do not leave without getting a massage at the house ,the massuses are better than any I have ever had. Being massaged in one of the out door huts/cabana's is a real treat. Casa Capitan is everything and more that this site describes . Carlotta and her staff a pleasure to deal with . I highly recommend this property and hope I have a chance to return one day . Thanks Carlotta ,we girls had the time of our lives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unbelievable!

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Let me start by saying that we spent WAY too much time researching vacation rentals in Costa Rica for a large family trip (18 people). I was a little overwhelmed by the number of locations and options. So why did I chose Casa Capitan:

1. The size - most other homes were in the 2,000 SF - 3,000 SF range; CC is 6,500+ SF (it made a huge difference)
2. The location - ocean front is a must
3. The amenities - while most homes had pools, very few had such a large common area, kitchen, yoga rancho, and bathrooms attached to every room

The journey to Santa Teresa seemed cumbersome (overnight flight to San Jose, short flight to Tambor, 45 min car ride). However, Carlota's concierge (Rachel) was incredibly kind and responsive and arranged a ride from Tambor to the house (don't bother renting a car; if you need to get around, simply rent an ATV for the week in town). The town itself is unreal. If you're into yoga, surfing and/or eating really good food, this place is paradise. The locals are mostly ex-pats. They're laid back, pleasant, and most speak great English.

When we arrived, it was like our own private oasis. The house is convenient to town and a grocery store, but still feels secluded. If you don't feel secluded enough, a security guard (with dogs) monitors the property 24x7.

We had the opportunity to see a few of the other homes we looked at, and were very happy with our decision. No other home in Santa Teresa can compare with the size of Casa Capitan. Several times during the trip, people from the beach walked up to the pool thinking the house was a resort.

Many thanks again Carlota. You made our vacation memorable. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

If I could give it 6 Stars I would!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

I've been meaning to post this for awhile to let you know how much we all enjoyed our stay at Casa Capitan and Santa Teresa.. it was everything we could have hoped for and more. We've really enjoyed sharing our pictures with our family and friends and all of them can't believe what a special place your home was. I even have a great picture riding your horse off into the sunset. I'm telling everybody it's my obituary picture. Thank you so much for your generous hospitality.

I also wanted to let you know how great Mick and Michelle were. They took care of everything we needed, pointed us in the right direction for trips and restaurants, and made everything simple. They were the perfect concierges. Please let them know how much we appreciated their help.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

Carlota, we had such a great time and love you and your house. We can't wait to come back. Stay in touch!
Amy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

Hello Carlota, Thank you so much for providing us with such an amazing location for our wedding. Casa Capitan is absolutely stunning! The décor, furniture, colours and setting were elegant and beautifully designed but without pretentiousness. Everything matched our tastes perfectly. Not only this, but we absolutely adored Terri and couldn’t have asked for more, so thank you so much for the recommendation. Our time in Santa Teresa was beyond all expectations and we will most definitely be back. Until then, we will highly recommend Casa Capitan to anyone coming your way.Kindest regards,Tanya + Tyler

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 22, 2010

Hi Carlotta,

I wanted to say thank you once again and to let you know what an incredible time we all had while staying in Casa Capitan this last month. It was a time we will never forget. Your staff was so friendly and took great care of us the entire time. To anyone who is considering renting this place, let me reassure you that you will be making the right choice if you are able to rent out Casa Capitan. Everything about this place is amazing, from the incredibly beautiful decor of the house, infinity pool, the thoughtful staff, the perfect location on the beach and the privacy this place offers. Hands down THE place to stay in the Santa Teresa/ Malpais area. Not to mention the concierge Mick was especially helpful our entire stay, providing surf lessons and surf boards which we used every single day. I can't wait to return to Casa Capitan again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

How lucky we were to have stumbled upon this NIRVANA. It has been almost a year now and I still think about going back to stay at Casa Captain nearly everyday. Every detail is thought of from the luxurious bed linens to the gourmet perfectly accessorized chefs kitchen. The location couldn’t be more ideal, or the beach more serene. Thank you Carlotta for sharing your little piece of heaven with us.You spoiled us, I must say that staying with you in your beautiful house has spoiled us for the rest of the trip. No where else has the weather been as nice, the beach as beautiful or the water as warm.Shane and Nykayla and I are discussing a trip for their one year anniversary and would never consider staying anywhere but Casa Capitan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

My husband and I, along with four other couples,
have just returned from an amazing week at Casa
Capitan. The house was the perfect mix of luxury
and relaxation, of society and privacy. Carlota, who
was very tolerant of my avalanche of emails (Thank
you, Carlota!) made sure that our every question
was answered before we even arrived. The property
is splendid, the house staff extraordinary, the
available activities abundant (though laying around
the pool was just as lovely), and the location
stunning. We can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

Casa Capitan is undoubtedly the premiere estate in all of Santa Teresa/Mal Pais. I recently had the great fortune of spending 10 days on this spectacular property. While I anticipated a luxurious residence, Casa Capitan and it's staff exceeded my expectations in every way. Upon arrival, my friends and I were warmly greeted and made to feel as if we had arrived at our own home. The estate has achieved a sense of privacy and seclusion while still having all the ameneties of an elite resort. I cannot say enough about the suberb, attentive staff who made our stay unimaginable. Casa Capitan is truly and unforgettable experience. If you're loking for the best, look no more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

We rented Casa Capitan for one week and completed our stay with a gorgeous sunset wedding on the beach. It was truly the wedding of my dreams! The infinity pool, with the aisle to the beach made for the perfect location. We even had a stallion leading the way down to the beach! Along with our friends and family staying at the house with us, we were all given the trip of a lifetime. Surfing together at sunset directly out front, cooking in the kitchen and having drinks in the pool. It was SO hard to come back to reality, what great memories we will share forever!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 28, 2009   Date of arrival: November 28, 2009

Sun, 22 Nov 2009 12:49:38 EST
Hi Carlota, Just wanted to say hi and let you know what a wonderful time we all had in Costa Rica. It was very nice to meet you and your staff. Lisa and Milena and Alberto (who made us feel very safe, along with Lucy and Apollo) were wonderful. Your home is spectacular and we felt right at home.
Perhaps next visit we will get to spend some more time with you . You fit right in with our family( a little crazy, but a lot of fun) Have a wonderful holiday and stay in touch. I didn't mean you were crazy , just my family. take care and say hello to everyone for us. Michele

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

We made it back and Yes, it is a little bit depressing (back to reality). We wanted to thank you for such a wonderful home to stay in. We had such a good time and your staff was so nice to us. We enjoyed every aspect. I wish you could tell them all “Thank you” The prepared food was just great and the horse back riding experience will be one we will never forget. We felt extremely safe, we never worried one bit. We would love to have met you. Maybe next visit, like you mentioned. On a side note, Steve and I loved your taste in furniture. We wondered if it was collected in your travels or is it from Costa Rica locally? The whole trip was just a great experience. Thank you again, Beth Lesko

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

We made it back and Yes, it is a little bit depressing (back to reality). We wanted to thank you for such a wonderful home to stay in. We had such a good time and your staff was so nice to us. We enjoyed every aspect. I wish you could tell them all “Thank you” The prepared food was just great and the horse back riding experience will be one we will never forget. We felt extremely safe, we never worried one bit. We would love to have met you. Maybe next visit, like you mentioned. On a side note, Steve and I loved your taste in furniture. We wondered if it was collected in your travels or is it from Costa Rica locally? The whole trip was just a great experience. Thank you again, Beth Lesko

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 19, 2009   Date of arrival: April 19, 2009

I am on my last of a fabulous week in Casa Java
the cottage of Capitan. Everything about this
property is first rate especially the setting beachfront
and proximity to Flora Blanca Hotel for spa & any
meals. Howeve there are perfect facilites to do all
your own cooking. The plunge pool is perfect the
beds so comfy and quiet relaxation the best. One
doesn't need a nature tour here-it comes to you
howler monkeys in the trees,iguanas and bird life
attracted to drink at your pool. Safe, well maintained
and delightfully looked after by the owner. Wouldn't
go anywhere else!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review