reviews for: listing #26401 - Cayuga Lake, New York Cottage rental

Camp Onondaga Fully Restored Historic Lake Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  by Village of Cayuga
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $850 - $1,250 /wk

sort by:

Little Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2014

There is something very special about staying in this historic cabin. The restoration of the interior is absolutely beautiful and the covered porch that wraps around was perfect for the one rainy afternoon during our stay. The children loved sleeping in the loft which left the lower level for the adults to enjoy. The lake is beautiful and clear; the fishing and swimming were perfect! There are just no words to describe the beautiful sunsets. Frank and Ann were incredible hosts who not only took the time to explain the area, but even gave us some fresh vegetables from their garden for us to enjoy. We hope to return to this little piece of paradise again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Cottage, Idyllic Location

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

Stayed here for a much needed Spring getaway in the peaceful "Fingerlakes", and could not be happier with our choice! The owners were super friendly, answering all of our questions before our stay, and very accommodating once we arrived. They have obviously done a beautiful job restoring their cottage with lovely woodwork throughout. The place is well lit and was very clean throughout. We loved the loft style upstairs and the vaulted ceilings, and the upper level balcony was a great place to start the day with private breakfast outdoors. The yard around the cottage is surprisingly spacious, one of the widest lake frontage that we saw on this part of the lake, and we enjoyed outdoor campfires in the evenings. Although it is still early spring and the lake was still extremely chilly for swimming (didn't stop my husband from taking a quick dip!), we did take advantage of the free use of the rowboat, canoe and paddleboat. The water is beautiful and clear, and we would love to return in the summer months to take advantage of the lake in warmer weather.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

nice quiet place, beautiful woodwork

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

My family had a wonderful time at this cottage. We had so many nice evenings sitting on the porch watching the beautiful sunsets over the lake. The location is great for wine tasting at the local vineyards and driving along the gorgeous countryside. We also had a really nice time out on the lake in the row boat and paddle boat... we were lamenting the fact that some of the younger children didn't make it for the trip and were missing out. We also did a century bicycle ride around Cayuga lake which was challenging but awesome. My favorite aspect of the cottage was the amazing woodwork throughout and the historic photographs -- it was beautiful and very special.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great for kids

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

If your kids like sleeping in a loft like our grandkids did and docks loaded with Bluegills, this is definitely the place for you. Also, the Szabas are like your long-lost friends. Complete with a canoe, a row-boat and a pedal-boat that the kids just wouldn't cvome out of.

Very pleasant stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Misleading

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The owners were very nice, however, the description is misleading. I asked specifically on the phone before we booked, since the house was located on the North East corner of the lake, if it was shallow, warm and was there seaweed. The owner said no. It was very warm, there was tons of seaweed and algae, the water was murky. We only went in a couple of times. Very disappointing. The house is on a busy truck route and the houses are very close. We had to keep the windows closed at night if the lights were on as hundreds of tiny bugs flew in through the screen towards any light. We enjoyed the area, but the house location was a disappointment for us.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: My husband and I feel terrible to have received this review because it paints a misleading image of our wonderful lake cottage, and implies that we are dishonest. Our historic lake cottage has been a labor of love for us for over 20 years. We are very proud of our attention to detail in restoring the cottage, and believe that the setting is peaceful, natural, and pure. We have truly enjoyed offering it as a rental for many years so that others can share what we have come to see as a special place. In that time we have met many wonderful people, and have numerous perennial guests who come back year after year.
We always do our best to communicate accurately with all of our guests so that no details are overlooked before their arrival, and so we can make any special arrangements ahead of time. Indeed, we do not take online bookings because we want to ensure through phone conversations and email correspondence that our cottage is going to be the right fit for our prospective guests. We do our very best, but sometimes it is a challenge to address questions involving weather and nature because we are not in control of those forces. Anyone booking any lakeside rental should be aware that lakes can have some seaweed, some bugs are attracted to light, and water temperatures can fluctuate. That being said, this is the first time since we've been renting our cottage that we've been criticized for such things. Our guests are always pleased with our accommodations and our natural peaceful setting. We love the area, and our entire family has enjoyed this wonderful lakeside living for countless years.
Rest assured that there is no bug problem, and our widows are equipped with screens. Water is knee-deep at the shoreline and gradually gets deeper until it is well over one's head. Summer water temperatures typically fluctuate between 66-76 degrees Fahrenheit, (with long-term water temperature data recorded and tracked by Cornell University) . Some might say that it is a bit chilly, but what constitutes the perfect water temperature for swimming is quite subjective.

Please call and we will be happy to answer any of your questions accurately and honestly to make your stay enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Frank and Ann Marie Szaba

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

A wonderful June week at Historic Camp Onondaga!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Our vacation was everything we wanted! What a quiet & beautiful lake! The owners were extra nice, friendly and extremely helpful with information when we needed to venture out for what we wanted to do or get. We swam right off the dock and it was nice that they provided a canoe, row boat and paddle boat for roaming the lake. After arriving they had the name of a boat rental co. and we had a great experience renting a pontoon boat for a day, again from a very nice couple. We went prepared with food for the week and meals were made easy with 2 refridgerators, a fully equipped kitchen and a gril - plus the lake view was enjoyed from the kitchen window while cooking! The evening sunset was fabulous! We enjoyed our drive to get ice-cream close by, went to 2 wineries (dog friendly) and even had a delicious lunch on the patio at one of them. There is a lot to do around Cayuga Lake but with such a nice property and the beautiful lake right in front of us, we felt we chose the right place and made the right decision to enjoy our days & nights right there! We definitely would go back and can honestly thank Ann Marie & Frank for a WONDERFUL week at their Historic Camp Onondaga!

It was our first time using VacationRentals.com and we were completely satisfied with the ease of finding a place not too far from home at the Finger Lakes. The owners were prompt with contacting us after our inquiry about their property. Their written rental description was detailed, as was their phone conversation; my e-mail questions were answered promptly. We had no reservations booking this property and sending our rental deposit. Vacation Rentals is added to our favorites and we would definitely book thru this site again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review