reviews for: listing #26428 - Key West, Florida Townhome rental

Tropical Breeze Duval Street Townhome
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Duval Square
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,000 - $7,500 /mth

sort by:

Great location, every facility, great price. Ideal

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

We were nervous renting from a distance in Key West as it's 'Island Lifestyle' can mean dirty, unkempt, rundown etc as well as some well know scams on Craigslist etc. We needn't have worried after finding Pete's rental on VR. It's in a condo complex that also features rentals by a professional vacation rental company and it's right off the middle (quiet) section of Duval Street in other words, the IDEAL location. The unit was very clean when we came in, it has pretty much everything that you need, is roomy, light and airy and has GREAT A/C and ceiling fans. It is a rental however and the furniture is a little dated, no HD flatscreen TVs (older tube TVs and analog cable TV) but the beds are comfortable and everything works OK. Yes, as someone pointed out, Pete has put notes of the rules of the house everywhere - quite funny really as we discover a new one :) Seriously though they are all common sense stuff - keep the patio door closed when the AC is on, don't wear body lotion in the Jacuzzi hot tub etc. As long as everyone follows the rules it means the home is in good condition for the next renter! There is an secure parking space for a car (we rented an electric car from Blue Sky Rentals (1020 Duval) for the week (bargain prices!) and it's nice to know it's secure at night. The unit has key access so no strangers walking around at night and you have a great hair salon and 2 restaurants within 30 seconds of the front door - great for early morning breakfast and coffee. Pricewise the unit was great value, Pete holds a damage deposit check which he returns at the end of the rental assuming you left the place in the same condition you found it and didn't lose the keys :) There is excellent WiFi in the unit (4Mbps down, 256k up), a washer/dryer and dishwasher and all the small appliances you will need. It even has a telephone for local calls (or buy a card for long distance). The balconies are intimate (small LOL) but nice to sit out on in the morning with coffee. The hot tub was clean and works well but is overlooked by the neighbors (screened) window so be discrete. It has elevator access if you are disabled. Bottom line, it's a great rental, good value for money and I would recommend it and the owner to everyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: As always , we are glad when our guests relay to us that they had a nice visit and enjoyed their stay at our properties . When we received this review we were very excited that the guests took the time to inform other guests about their stay and the condition of the property and gave us a 5 star rating...that says it all. We will continue to provide the best possible accommodations and the most competitive rates for our guests that are available.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice location but shag carpet and lots of rules!

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

We booked this place for a girls weekend. The location was great but since it sleeps 6 2 parking spots would have been nice. The entrance and foyer is very cute, kitchen is nice, living room is nice but oh my shag carpet! All tile is always my preferance. There were tons of label gun rules posted EVERYWHERE and while I realize Key West is a party town town and rules are needed to protect value i think it was a bit tacky looking. We attempted to use the hot tub once but it didn't get hot enough to be enjoyable but that could have been user error. I would stay in this location again but would prefer another tiled unit. I also wonder what the nightly rate works out to be since the amount I paid the girl who booked it seems quite high. Oh and I slept in the second bathroom which had an adorable sunny yellow bathroom! I chained the bicycle that i brought with me from home and Sunday morning I discovered that my seat and seat post had been stolen.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Key West has very limited parking that is why each owner has only one private parking spot. The shag carpet is only in the bed rooms and stairs the kitchen and living room have wood floors and the outside deck ( just remodeled ) has tile along with the bath rooms. We do have labels on light switches to identify and make it easier for the guests and instructions on the hot tub which seems to be working fine ...no problems. The guest who booked the unit had the price and agreed to and signed the contract and never complained about the price....we are very competitive with our rates.... I am sorry about the seat being taken from your bike... but we have owned for 15 years and never had anything taken from our guests...not sure if it was inside or outside the parking garage

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

10-10-2010

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

Tropical Breeze is wonderful!! My husband and I come every year to Key West with our very best friends and the 4 of us have such great times!! Now this was the first time we stayed in Peter's unit, we have stayed in other units in Duval Square but nothing tops Peter's. We already booked with him from August 4th, 2011 to August 14th, 2011. Thanks Peter so much for making us feel at home and so relaxed on our annual vacation to Key West.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

As described

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Everything was in great order and as described. Worked us in last minute. Easy to work with. Property was great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our guests seem to like our location first , you can get around the island without a car and next they are satisfied with the accommodations . Our property really is what we say it is and we try to work with the guests to make their stay memorable and they usually want to return.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Couples Vacation

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

The photos don't lie! It looke exactly like this. We had a great time. It was very relaxing and the hot tub was awesome after long days of sightseeing. We ate breakfast there almost every morning. We all slept great-even the couple delegaded to the pull out sofa bed! We rented scooters for our stay and the parking space was very convenient. The location was awesome. We had access to everything. We have recommended this to our family and friends. Totally worth the money!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review