reviews for: listing #264455vb - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

Villa Cocobolo - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 95 - $ 150 / night
    $ 665 - $ 1,050 / week
  • sleeps  3
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Amazing

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

My husband and I were fortunate to visit Costa Rica for two weeks in January of 2014. There are three items that made the trip one of the best we have ever been on, the villa, the food and the beaches. The Villa is close to the food and the beaches, which made getting around easy. The restaurants between the Villa and Santa Teresa are wonderful (be aware that most only take cash) and the best beach is a five minute drive from the Villa. Here we found clean sand and plenty of shade. Now the Villa, we only have positive things about the Villa, Trey the manager and his team. Trey gave wonderful directions from the airport to the Villa. We arrived late at night and had no trouble finding our way. The Villas are spacious, clean and well accommodated. The view from the deck and pool side patio is great; make sure you have a chance to watch a few sunsets from the patio. We will stay at these Villas again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wild kingdom on steroids

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: April 2, 2014

We stayed for 8 days at Villa Cocobolo above the tiny village of Manzanillo. From our first glimpse of the gates "Senderos de Paz," trails of peace, we thought we had arrived at a tropical Eden. The Villa exceeded all expectations, lovely wood and tile work, comfortable, and well-equipped. The first morning we were awakened by a troop of howler monkeys, the alpha male's favorite tree was a cashew just off our upstairs balcony. In the subsequent days we saw several different troops of howlers and capuchins, bright green parrots and other tropical birds, red squirrels, and numerous species of colorful butterflies. One evening as we watched the sun plunge into the Pacific from our pool deck a small troop of howlers with several babies were just above us and joined us in saluting the peaceful, rosy sunset. The pool was a wonderful place to hang out and a welcome antidote to the heat. The Villa offers easy access to wide, glorious, untrammeled beaches at Manzanillo and Playa Hermosa and is only a short drive to bustling Santa Teresa. Four wheel drive is highly recommended for the steep surrounding hills. It was also a good base for excursions to Montezuma and Cabo Blanco for great hikes to a waterfall and in the tropical jungle respectively.
The owner of Villa Cocobolo, Trey, and his gracious helpers Kaenar and Maelen made our stay homey with their kindness and attention to detail. Our experience was sensational and we highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! It was a real pleasure for us to host you, and we look forward to your return in the future. "Wild Kingdom on Steroids," that is a new on for me. I love it. I hope you don't mind if I use it in the future - I'll be sure to give you credit! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Stay at Villa Cocobolo-Pura Vida!!

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

Our experience at Villa Cocobolo was fabulous!!! Villa Cocobolo was very clean and had all of the amenities to make us feel comfortable. The property is maintained extremely well by Trey and his staff. Each morning we would enjoy a cup of Costa Rican coffee out on the patio as we viewed and listened to the ocean waves. Throughout the days we experienced the beautiful beaches of Manzanillo, zip lining over the canopy & waterfalls in Montezuma, the local shops/restaurants in Santa Teresa, hiking through Cabo Blanco and horseback riding at sunset. At night it was back to Villa Cocobolo for a relaxing evening by the pool. It was also nice that Trey was accessible for guidance and to assist us with coordinating the activities in the area. As others have indicated a 4X4 vehicle is very helpful. I would highly recommend this property. We look forward to visiting again. John & Karen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We can't wait to be back!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

This was the second rental property we stayed at in Costa Rica, with the first being in Tamarindo. We are very grateful for having found this property! We had a great time in Villa Cocobolo. It is definitely recommended to have 4x4 to get to the property from the beach roads, coming down from the pacific coast. There was a lot to do in the area from surfing to renting dirt bikes, and relaxing on the beautiful beaches that were a short drive away. The villa itself was extremely charming and comfortable with all the amenities needed for cooking. Trey had recently put in a new pool in front of the villa overlooking the ocean great for unwinding and watching the sunset at the end of the day. This area and property have the perfect balance of adventure and relaxation. We can't thank Trey enough for his hospitality and are looking forward to returning this spring!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

villa cocobolo

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Villa Cocobolo for 8 nights. It was an excellent property and a great value. The Owner had just finished installing a pool specificallly for this unit and its sister unity next door. The property had all the amenities listed and was in excellent shape. One note. You NEED a 4X4 vehicle NO exceptions. It has less to do with the villas location than the overall condition of the roads in the entire area.. When the owner sends you the directions, use the bucolic route, much shorter and concise. and make sure you have a phone that works in Costa Rica. The owner was an integral part of the experience. He provided amazing resources in our time of need during arrival and expedited a 4X4 for us on the next day. The view was amazing and the beaches are stunning. I don't think they are in walking distance though. Feel free to contact me for more detailed info. not for people with physical issues.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Property plan on coming back

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2013

Great property! Very clean and has all the amenitities needed. Beautiful sunset views and a great pool and spa. The owner is very accessible and helpful. They have a maid and caretaker on the property that tend to everything to keep the property clean. We had originally planned on staying 4 days but enjoyed the property so much extended our stay 2 extra nights. The location is aways from Mal Pais (in Manzanillo) but just down the road from a private beach which we had all to ourselves. Since we were here during the rainy season we encountered some rough spots on the road to Santa Teresa and Mal Pais but we rented a quad and had some amazing adventures. If you are not afraid to rent an ATV we highly recommend it as that is how we found some really remote beaches and jungle trails not far from the property. Can't wait to come back and will definately stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location, confortable and nicely kept

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

I stayed in Villa Cocobolo with my family and we loved it from the beginning, its grounds are very well kept, the pool area was a must after hours of ATV riding, ideal to chill out and watching the sunset and having your favorite drink. The Villas were very comfortable and the space well-thought. We loved the fact of being able to cook our own meals and their kitchen areas are well equipped.
The location is optimal for those looking to be away enough from the dust and hustle and bustle of Santa Teresa. Also within just a short 5 minutes drive you are right at the beach. A much quieter and nicer one than the more crowded ones at Malpais and Santa Teresa.
They also have an in-house dog, Winston which we renamed Big Boy, the kids and I loved him, very quiet and friendly. The cherry on the ice cream to make you feel at home.
Remember that it's better to have some sort of vehicle available in order to move around the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A beautiful place to stay!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

Senderos de Paz is an absolutely beautiful place to stay. My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at Villa Cocobolo, which is just gorgeous! The upstairs balcony and downstairs patios were perfect for just relaxing and enjoying the jungle and views and for listening to the howler monkeys! The bedroom loft was so nice; it was awesome to wake up to see the beautiful scenery right outside the door! The kitchen was the best one we had throughout our Costa Rican journey; it was well-stocked with pots and pans and utensils, and there were even spices and cooking oil for us to use. It was also great to be able to use the grill outside. Being able to cook definitely helped us to save money (we found that eating out is really not super cheap in Costa Rica), and cooking at home gave us the chance to experiment with local foods, especially the fruits and vegetables. Another great plus was that the house is air-conditioned. We spent a lot of time outside, but it was really nice to come back and be able to sleep really well in a cool house! Senderos de Paz is close enough to the ocean that you can hear it and see it from the house. It is up on a hill, and the dirt road goes down to the beach, which is easily accessible. The first night we were there, we ran down to the beach and made it there within five minutes, if that. Going back up is obviously a bit more difficult, since it is all uphill, but it didn't take that long, and it was great exercise. Also, we got to see all the land crabs and other critters and plants close up! It was also great to be able to go swimming every night in the pool! Trey was a very helpful host and we had everything we needed while we were there. Senderos de Paz is a wonderful place to stay. It is also very well secured; there's a locked gate all around the property, so even our car was locked in at night. The location is fairly secluded, and the town is really nice; we never felt worried at all. This was a beautiful place to stay, and we highly recommend it!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Missing Paradise!

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

We spent a wonderful four days at Villa Cocobolo. Tray and his family were great hosts (including his darling boys) and treated us like family and the villa was beautiful and very comfortable. We loved having coffee in the morning on the deck outside the bedroom and in the evenings, watching the howler monkeys after a dip in the pool and the hermit crabs scurrying about. We loved Costa Rica and we'll definitely be back to Villa Cocobolo, only next time we'll bring friends and stay longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Restful retreat

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

My husband and I want to thank the wonderful people that made our Costa Rica vacation so amazing. It was the perfect getaway to the stressful life of my husband's work. The views of the ocean were fantastic and the resort was peaceful. So much better than the all inclusive resorts which is a mini USA. This gave you the feel of the real Costa Rica. The animals, plants and the various sounds around the villa were very relaxing and enjoyable. If you are looking for a true experience of this country, this is the place to be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Location and Accomodations

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Our stay at Villa Cocobolo was excellent. The location was amazing, as it was within a few kilometers from several towns, beautiful beaches, and other tourist destinations, yet it was still secluded. The house itself was well equipped with cooking utensils and a variety of other cooking tools, so it was possible to make your own meals; however we only did this a few times as the restaurants in the area were very good. Even though we only used the pool once, it was nice to have at our disposal, and the ocean view at sunset was also an excellent feature. It was nice to feel like you were in the jungle watching lizards and birds, and then also be able to look up and see the ocean and hear the waves breaking. Even though all of this was great, perhaps the best attribute to our stay was having the land lord on site, as he provided a ton of insider information about the area and was very genuine and easy to talk to. If we had not had him our trip would not have been as smooth, as it was almost like an included tour guide reference.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning Property!

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

We would recommend Villa Cocobolo to any couple looking for a quiet getaway, while still being close to Playa Santa Teresa. It is definitely recommended that you have a 4x4 vehicle to get to the shops and restaurants. The villa was very clean and well-maintained. The kitchen had everything we needed from a blender, toaster oven, coffee maker, filtered water, pots and pans, etc. The place has satellite TV and wireless internet. Trey and his partner really care and take pride in the villa and the surrounding property. The pool was great for morning and afternoon sun and for a peak at the resident monkeys. Trey was extremely helpful and informative on places to eat, surf spots, and other neat local information. We can't wait to go back and enjoy the villa as well as the stunning sunset views.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect home away from home

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

My husband and I re-visited Costa Rica for our baby-moon & 6th year anniversary this last May. We were so please with our stay at Casa Punta Pochote for our week duration. The property manager not only helped assist us with taxi and travel to and from the Ferry to the house, but was there upon our arrival to show us around the house and answer any questions that we had. You can tell so much heart and soul was put into not only the grounds on the property, with beautiful gardens & a private pool, but also the house itself, with an amazing open floor plan and ornate wood & tile working within. We felt so at home & relaxed being just out of the mix of Santa Tresea yet close enough to visit the town when wanted. The beach is a short walking distance just down the road, which opens up to a pristine beach line which was pretty much un-inhabited our entire visit. Approx. 10 -15 minutes walking down the same road takes you to a family owned restaurant, where we would walk to most mornings for breakfast. Another great accommodation with the house, was the fully equip kitchen, so we were able to grab groceries for the week and make lunch & dinner at our convenience.
We really feel our experience at this location made our trip into something we will always remember in many ways. I would highly recommend it & plan to revisit again soon!
K.S.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. I'm glad you guys enjoyed the home and the area, and I look forward to your return. You guys will always be remembered for the first to take advantage of the new pool. Trey

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Remote Escape

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

We recently stayed at Casa Cocobolo and found the accommodations as described, and quite comfortable. The area is remote and private and the owner is very accommodating and helpful. A 4W /D car is recommended to fully enjoy this area, where you can drive on the hard sand beaches. Trey, the owner, arranged a day of fishing with a local fisherman, launching off the beach at Playa Manzanillo in a "Pongo" boat. We caught some very good eating "Cabrillo" (similar to Rock Cod) and feasted on bar-be-qued fish and rice cooked on the patio grill. We discovered a beautiful small cove along the beach road where the swimming was excellent, protected by an outer rock reef. We would definitely consider returning here on a future trip to Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Thank you. It was a pleasure to have you as guests, and thank you for sharing your fish and an excellent dinner. It was really nice to have met the two of you. Trey

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay in Costa Rica

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We had a great time staying at Casas Punta Pochote. Its location means that you feel like you are away from it all but you are close enough when you need it..... I used to walk down to Playa Hermosa for a surf every morning, and another reef break is close by.... and when its working, its amazing.....

Santa Teresa is a short drive for all the restaurants, banks, surf shops and all that stuff, and lots of waves there too.... but I preferred being closer to Playa Hermosa, more tranquil and less surfers which is always a plus...... Manzanillo beach was always empty, we would buy freshly caught fish from the local fisherman in the morning......

The houses are spacious and well built and we felt very safe and secure...... great landscaped gardens...... the owner Trey was really helpful with giving us inside info on the area....... I can't wait to visit again.... thanks again for our wonderful trip......

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A beautifully constructed and well landscaped property. Comfortably furnished, but rustic feeling.

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

I stayed there in September 2009. When I arrived at the property from Tambor I was pleasantly surprised at the location, design and furnishings of the property. They were simply beautiful. I loved all the wood used in the construction and especially the balcony in and outside. The fact that I could watch a bit of cable TV too was a bonus.

In addition, the location was perfect. Situated close to Manzanillo beach was great, but far enough away from the party scene in Santa Teresa. Even so you can get to the latter within 30 minutes. The best thing about the location for me was the winding track that hung close to the shoreline which leads to Playa Hermosa, a great surf spot and only a 45 minute walk away or 10 minutes in a jeep. I really loved walking along the track where I could enjoy nature firsthand. I often saw howler monkeys and lots of exotic bird life. The house's gardens were also a great place to unwind.

Finally the owner was really helpful. He gave me good advice on where to eat (get the freshest fish) and also where to surf. He obviously cares a lot about the area and this was evident from his sustainable management of the property. I couldn't recommend this property and the area more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

In a word, Fantastic!

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Our stay at Casa Cocobolo was above and beyond what we expected. The first and most obvious thing you'll notice is the surrounding nature and peacefullness of the location. We saw all kinds of wildlife (jungle-life is more accurate), monkeys, iguanas, exotic birds, squirrels, land crabs, et. al. Combined with the lovely gardens you know you're in a special place. The views are spectacular, not only can you see the ocean down below, but you can hear it - wonderful for sleeping at night! I did a lot of surfing and thanks to the owner, Trey (the locals adoringly call him, "Don Trey" b/c they appreciate his dedication to treating the land, nature, and local customs with true respect) I was able to get on the best spots in the area - if you're a surfer you know what a difference maker this can be! Minimal to zero crowds on the water! My wife doesn't surf, but loved hanging out on the various beaches. Often times we would be the only ones there for an entire morning/afternoon - in my tropical travels, you can't say that about many places. Okay that's enough info., check it out for yourselves, you won't be disappointed...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a Charming Place - The "Real" Costa Rica

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

We were at Casa Pochote for a week and had a blast. We stayed in the 'big house" with our 4 sons and had plenty of room. Trey provided us with an air mattress so that we could sleep six. I think this part of the Nicoya Peninsula is one of the most beautiful spots in Costa Rica. While other parts of the Costa Rica coastline have seen dense development, being alone on the beach is the norm in Manzanillo. The accommodations at Casa Pochote are perfect for a vacation with friends or family. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the mornings drinking our coffee, or in the evening sipping an Imperial Beer or a glass of wine. The spacious kitchen and dining area gave us plenty of room for family of six. Having two spacious baths was especially nice.

Casa Pochote is a perfect base for exploring the Nicoya Peninsula. We did day trips to go snorkeling at Isla Tortuga and we did the zipline canopy tour at Montezuma. We also went horseback riding; starting right nearby at "Manuel's" restaurant. Most days my wife and I just walked to the beach. Our sons explored the beaches and the peninsula on 4-wheelers that we rented in Santa Teresa. Sunset meals at Manuel's (right on the beach) are simply unforgettable.

Simply put, our stay at Casa Pochote was a unforgettable stay for our entire family. The accommodations and the location cannot be beat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Beach House

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 2, 2009

Our experience and stay at this Beach House was exceptional and plan to return annually. We found the location ideal, surrounded by nature, close to the beach, and only a short 10 minute drive to Santa Teresa. The house was clean and comfortable, and the property has beautiful gardens and rich wildlife. The owner gave us great advise on good surf spots in Manzanillo and Playa Hermosa, local restaurants, and surrounding towns and sights. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch after good surf sessions, taking in the ocean views, and experiencing Costa Rica's vibe or Puda Vida that everyone talks about. If you are thinking about going to Costa Rica, I highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

Hi Trey,

I just want to reiterate that we had a great stay at the houses -- the people who came with me thoroughly enjoyed their stay and were very impressed with the lovely accommodations.

I would highly recommend Casas Punta Pochote to anyone who wants to get off the beaten path in Costa Rica -- I appreciated the seclusion as well as the beautiful grounds that accompany your property. The people in Manzanillo were very kind and welcoming to us, and we enjoyed spending time away from the more touristy parts of the Pacific Coast. The view from the houses is spectacular; quite an incredible treat. My fiance hiked down the waterfall to the beach to do a little fishing and found himself all alone on the beach -- not an experience that we could've had anywhere else that we went.

We did indeed have a wonderful time in Costa Rica and all plan to visit again some time in the future.

Please accept my sincere thanks for your help in making our vacation truly memorable.

Regards,

Sarah

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review