reviews for: listing #26455 - Kailua, Hawaii Cottage rental

Ohana House - Walk to Kailua Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $140 /nt

sort by:

Perfect Private Get Away

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

My husband and I were thrilled to find this perfect romantic get away spot to celebrate our anniversary (a bottle of champagne awaited our arrival!). Not only were we well away from the traffic, noise, and fast-paced city of Honolulu, but Ohana House is an easy 30 min drive to Waikiki/Pearl Harbor/Palace when we were making our sightseeing plans.

Wendy and Chris were welcoming and helpful to us, both with their lovely cottage and suggestions for adventures. Never did we feel we were in their way nor were they ever intrusive, despite the close proximity to their home.

After long, fun-filled days we thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and pool!

Don't even consider a hotel or spot other than Ohana House!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing and Peaceful stay in Kailua

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

Wendy and Chris' Ohana house is a relaxing and comfortable place to enjoy a stay in Kailua. It is a short walk to Kailua beach, as well as restaurants, and shopping, but the neighborhood remains quiet. The grounds and property are immaculately kept; the lawn and sitting area are well maintained, the pool and hot tub are beautiful and clean.

Wendy, Judy, and the kids are a welcoming family. They were friendly and made sure we had everything we needed, including privacy, peace, and quiet. We had fresh sheets and towels half way through our stay, as well as access to beach towels, snorkel equipment and other beach gear. We did not use it, but there was a barbecue for us to use if we wanted. This is a perfect place for a self sufficient couple with a nice kitchen, full size refrigerator, and kitchen utensils.

While we were there, we frequented Kalapawai Market for coffee each morning as well as some excellent sandwiches. I highly recommend this spot for your daily needs. We also rented surfboards from Kailua Sailboards and did some shopping with them. The rentals are affordable and the selection is good. For dinner, we went to Buzz's Lanikai twice for dinner and cocktails. The food was excellent and the salad bar was a highlight.

Over the week we spent there, we had the opportunity to see a few other similar properties, and ours was by far the best. If we get the chance to visit Kailua again, we will certainly choose the Ohana house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Exceeds expectations!

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Ohana house last month - counting the days until we can go back someday! It was everything we had wanted and more. The location is perfect if you want to be close to interesting things to see and do, yet far enough away to truly get a feel for Hawaii. After spending some time in the big city we were even more grateful to have this oasis to come back to! The owners are wonderful and welcoming but also give you your space if you want it. The suite is very clean and modern, with everything you need for the week - including bonus items like a full sized fridge and freezer, snorkel gear, boogie boards, cooler, chairs, not to mention the pool and hot tub! We would highly recommend Kailua and Ohana House to any of our friends or family and happily stay there again if we get the chance to return to Oahu! Thanks to Wendy and your family for making out vacation so memorable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Lovely cottage and close to the beach

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2011

The Ohana House is very well decorated and up to date. The outside of the cottage was well landscaped and the pool was great! The hosts provided snacks and towels, and even offered to have a bottle of wine waiting for us upon our arrival. Our only critiques are that the cottage had an ant problem and on our last day (which was our honeymoon) we awoke at 7:30am to a jackhammer. The hosts are having work done on their house and a jackhammer was working away early in the morning. We had no warning about this and would appreciated a note to let us know. Also, it was helpful to know from an earlier review that the hosts have twin boys in order to prepare for noise. The main house is only a few yards from the cottage so you can hear the family if windows are open. Overall, our stay in Kailua at the Ohana House was wonderful. The cottage is lovely and within walking distance to Kailua Beach, which was great. We would recommend staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely the best

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

This was absolutely the best cottage to stay. We were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary and were greeted by Wendy with a bottle of Champagne to our suprise. Wendy, Chris,the twins and grandma were terrific. We hardly knew they were home it was so peaceful. Our cottage was clean and well appointed. It was a delighful stay and just a short walk to Kailua Beach and Kalapawai market for our morning coffee.
I highly recommend this quiet cottage for couples who just want to relax. We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Highly recommended

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

You can't go wrong with Ohana House. Not only is this vacation retreat right smack in the middle of the windward coast, but three blocks from the beach, on the bus line, and close to town. They made everything so welcoming and perfect- there was so much good intention put into making this rental a special retreat for guests. Every detail was thought of. From the super comfortable bed to the pool to the hot tub to the bbq to the soaps and beach toys and snorkel gear to the small but highly functional kitchen. This was a great hide away to come home to after a long day of adventuring, and we only hope to be lucky enough to rent it again someday. Perfect for a couple or single person on an adventure or retreat. FYI, we had the opportunity to stay at 5 different rentals in Kailua and Lanikai, and this special spot is leaps and bounds above all the rest. Enjoy.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Ohana House for one week. This was the best Hawaiian vacation that we have had. The cottage and private outdoor space was wonderful. We really enjoyed sitting outside in the garden every morning listening to the birds. This place really felt like home. Chris and Wendy were wonderful hosts and thought of everything you might need. We will never be able to stay in a hotel again after staying here. We can't wait to come here again. Thank you Chris and Wendy for everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ohana House

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2010

We truly enjoyed our stay at Ohana House. Very relaxing, comfortable and close to the beach. The hosts were helpful with directions, suggestions, and made available snorkel gear, and all beach necessities.
Thank you for such a great time!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great time wonderful place

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2010

It was a wonderful quiet place. much more then we expected. cottage was clean spacious and warm. the property had a great pool and hot tub. plus thee was a privet enternce. they provided water toys bike to ride and warm hawaiian welcome. the cottage had a barbaqu and tables and chairs on a wonderful lawn I was under the weather when we got there they respected our privicy and were great host. 3 blocks from 2 great beaches and a wonderful town.
thank you
Mark & Yu-Heng

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

My wife and I ended our two week honeymoon on Oahu and stayed in Kailua at the Ohana House. The location, setting and accommodations were excellent and a great way to unwind after many excursions on the other islands. We felt at home during our stay. The owners were very accommodating and left welcome baskets and a bottle of champagne for us upon arrival. This was a nice surprise. We had access to bikes, boogie boards, beach chairs, bbq and many other amenities you wouldn't get at a hotel at no additional cost. You have access to a pool and a hot tub which is right at your door step. Can't beat that! Almost forgot to mention Kailua (walking distance) and Lani Kai Beaches (short bike ride) are in close proximity to this property which makes it even more appealing. During your stay make sure to kayak to the Mok Islands right off of Lani Kai. If you are looking for a more genuine experience, a laid back atmosphere and to get a away from the hustle and bustle of town (Waikiki) this is the place to stay. You won't be disappointed. We would defiantly stay there again and will recommend the Ohana House to family and friends. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Nice place BUT!!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Rent this place if you don't mind the owners and thier children and guests right next door. The place is beautiful, it looks exactly like the pictures the pool is awesome so is the hot tub and landscaping. However the pictures do not show the close proximity to the owners living area NO privacy!!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Ohana Paradise

Review submitted: March 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 24, 2010

Mahalo!!! Thank you Chris and Wendy. Everything about our week at the Ohana House was above and beyond what we expected! The cottage was a perfect size - clean, neat and comfortable. The added features of a pool and hot tub/jacuzzi just added to the beauty of the grounds. Plus added amenities like boogie boards and bikes. Very private and quiet. Being a short walk to the most beautiful beaches topped the cake. Wendy and Chris made our stay even more wonderful with their excellent suggestions for dining, shopping,and travel around Oahu. Their hospitality and kindnesses were very appreciated. We hope to return to this paradise as soon as possible. Hugs to G and L. Aloha.
Sonny and Dale

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review