reviews for: listing #264905vb - Kekaha, Hawaii rental

True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

FAR EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS! GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

Review submitted: May 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Chad was easy to work with and gave us helpful tips for our stay. The house had so many extras (like snorkeling equipment and beach chairs) that came in handy and saved us a lot of time and money. The sound of the ocean lulled us to sleep every night, and the town is within walking distance. We spent most days at Salt Pond Beach--stunning and close by. The Shrimp Shack is a do not miss. Also be sure to go to Waimea Canyon. We went twice during our week-long visit. The stargazing from the beach in front of the house is amazing! I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home! View is breathtaking

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

We loved our stay here! the view from the house everyday was such a treat! The sunset's were amazing! The house was fully stocked with everything we needed! Wish we would of gone to the house before we went to Costco! Chad was fantastic to work with! Very helpful and professional! Highly recommend this property! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us Chad!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just Perfect

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

This was absolutely perfect!! Everything about the house and the week were better than we had hoped for. I have been to Hawaii 13 times since the mid 1970's and this was the best yet. We loved the quite side of the Island. Walking to the two grocery stores, the coffee shop, the Shave Ice almost every day and being treated like locals was probably the best part of the day. We only went on two "tours", the Blue Dolphin Napli Coast trip and the Canyon downhill bike ride. Both were well worth the money and highly enjoyable. The rest of teh time we just took one day at a time. You owe it to yourself to have a "Puka Dog", and the walking tour at the Kauai Coffee Plantation was informative and fun. We now "order" our coffee!!! My only hesitation about offering this review is that I don't want the house to book up to the point that we can't come back!!! You won't find a better place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Vacation at Hale Lokahi!!!!!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We all THOROUGHLY enjoyed our stay at Hale Lokahi !!!!! Thank you to Chad and management for making the experience very easy to book and very easy to enjoy!

I think the pix on the website are very thorough in describing the place - when you walk in from the garage, the beach view is EXCEPTIONAL! - everyone gasped - and I felt so happy that what I'd chosen for the family received that response. This was to be our picture window for a whole week! What the site doesn't describe are the full pantries and additional amenities (unexpected snorkel gear, bug spray, sun screen, e.g.). We used from the larder and replenished - seems like that's what the guests do. It was much appreciated! It was truly our own house, comfortable and accommodating.

My husband and I (in the master bedroom) sometimes had trouble sleeping because the waves were so POUNDING. That was perhaps the only drawback, getting a good night's sleep, but what could we expect, right ON the beach? Several other people who'd written in the house journal loved the ocean waves that lulled them to sleep. May depend on the time of year for the noise level? (we were there in late June 2013) Also, we've learned that rooster crowing is something you just can't get away from on the island, no matter where you are. Good thing we could relax and nap, if needed.

We all appreciated the clean, well-kept house, maps and books about Kauai and welcome basket. Clear instructions and directions, able to reach a manager if needed, very well organized!

Our adventures included Birds in Paradise motorized hang gliding above Kauai; Kipu Ranch ATV adventure (off road vehicles you drive yourself in the back country, leading to the site where they filmed Indiana Jones and waterfalls, includes lunch, VERY fun!), spectacular Waimea Canyon, snorkeling, of course sightseeing, JoJo's Shave Ice, Ishihara Market, and one day when we all just stayed home the whole day and played games and ate snacks, enjoying the lanai!

Staying at this house was a huge part of our fabulous week. We'd love to return and do business with you any time! We highly recommend this house!

Note about the beachfront: this is not a beach you can swim in, you have to drive to access snorkel beaches. There is muddy runoff from a nearby river so the water isn't always blue blue blue, but you can walk to a local pier and back and you're surrounded by blue water everywhere else, right? Also, the neighborhood is VERY low key, laid back, rustic, dusty. RELAX!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Welcome to 'Hale Lokahi'

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

This was a wonderful home away from home. This was not our first stay on Kauai, but it was our first stay in Waimea. We loved it! The home was welcoming and well stocked. Most everything was provided. All of the furniture is comfy. The lanai is fabulous! We ate all of our meals out there. The views are fantastic. The yard is big enough for the kids to play. It was nice that they had somewhere to play that wasn't right next to the water. It is somewhat private. Though people do drive by on the beach side to fish or whatnot. It was nice to have the river as well as the ocean right there. The house is also stocked with some water & sand toys as well as some fishing gear. My family felt so at home they did not want to leave. The kids asked if anyone would notice if we just stayed there.

The locals were very friendly. Some of the local kids played with my kids daily. I love how local kids address you as Auntie. The staff at Ishihari Market was great. We walked over daily to get groceries and or goodies. The deli in the back is phenomenal! Don't be afraid to try it. They have the best tako salad, poi mochi & poke among many other yummy delights. Groceries are fairly priced there. Some of the best shave ice is also in walking distance. Jojo's shave ice on Kaumualii Highway. We walked all over town and everything you need is there.

The weather in Waimea was great too. A few times we drove to the east side to visit with friends. A few times it was cooler and raining over there. But nice and sunny in Waimea. It was a fantastic experience to stay in a beachfront home. We felt so at home there. The town is small and friendly. There aren't many tourists around so you can get a real sense of what life is like there. I would highly recommend it. We had a great time.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent 1st time experience in Kauai!

Review submitted: December 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2012

We just returned from a week long stay at this rental. We had never been to Kauai before and relied on VRBO reviews to guide us in where to stay - we were truly happy with this rental and being able to be on the ocean was truly the highlight of our trip. The other reviews are accurate and I would HIGHLY recommend this vacation home to others, particularly families with children. We traveled with my parents (both retired) and our two year old son. The rental was plenty large enough for all of us to have room to spend time together, and to have quiet time alone. We enjoyed nightly meals and breakfast every day on the lanai - it was such a treat to fall asleep to the sound of the waves and walk out to the beach to see the stars at night. We've stayed at several other VRBOs in the past, and this was more well stocked than most - we found lots of condiments, sand toys, sun screen, etc, all of which we appreciated given the high cost of items on the Island. For us, Waimea was a perfect location. We wanted to be away from the crowds (we went during high season) and stay someplace that would allow us to experience small town Kauai - this fit the bill. We also wanted to be close to hiking, and were able to do several dayhikes in nearby Waimea Canyon. Finally, we wanted to be guaranteed sun as we were coming from the northwest in the winter - we had sun every day in Waimea, even when it was raining on the rest of the Island. While the beach in front of the condo was not safe for swimming, our son enjoyed playing in the sand and we could watch whales and boats in the distance - not bad! We went to Salt Pond Beach Park, which is the closest swimmable beach for children, and it was only 10 minutes away. Aside from Salt Pond, you are close to Polihale, Hanapepe (a great art town) and Port Allen (where Napali cruises leave from).
This house truly felt like a home away from home - just what you want when traveling with family! We hope to return on our next visit to Kauai. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Fabulous Experience In So Many Ways!!!

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at Hale Lokahi for 2 weeks this past August. What an amazing experience! We were looking for an off-resort-non-touristy place to stay that was still in a good location. Hale Lokahi met our criteria perfectly and exceeded our expectations.

First, let me say that the property manager, Chad, was extremely pleasant, professional, and quick to respond to all of our inquiries. Renting with him was simple and stress-free! It was a pleasure working with him and we would do it again in a heart beat.

The house itself is the best-stocked rental we’ve ever stayed in. We didn’t have to find too much on our own. For those items we did need to purchase (i.e. – groceries), Ishihara was right around the corner and had friendly staff and unique local foods. We HIGHLY recommend getting the lau lau on Fridays. Other delicious food options that were down the street are Island Taco and The Shrimp Station. Fine dining was within a reasonable driving distance. We particularly enjoyed Merriman’s and The Beach House both in Koloa.

Beach-wise, there were many options. Of course Hale Lokahi is situated right on the beach. We spent lots of time out on the lanai watching the sun sets over dinner. The most beautiful beach we found was Polihale. The best snorkeling beach for us was Tunnels.

As for activities our favorite tour was with the Napali Riders who are conveniently located 2 minutes down the street. They run a zodiac tour of the north shore.

Finally, since we were more or less across the way from the entrance to Waimea Canyon we were easily able to do a few drives and hikes. The views were amazing! However, if we had to choose a favorite hike it would be the Kalalau trail starting on the northeast side of the island. It had beautiful views and the waterfall was well worth the effort to get there.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and can’t wait to do it again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Excellent Vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

I took a chance booking a place to stay via the internet and not a travel agent. Well - GREAT results !! This vacation home was exactly what we were looking for and then some. 6 adults - plenty of room, MANY evenings on the lanai just relaxing together. We toured the majority of the island easily and then came "home" each evening to just de-stress from hectic lives. There's so much we didn't have time to actually do, but some of the things we did: Waimea Canyon, Salt Pond Beach, Pouipu Beach, Spouting Horn, Kauai Coffee Plantation, Outfitters Zipline Adventure, Shopping at Kapaa, Lydegate beach (where we had a picnic) and so much more. I'll be looking for other properties on other islands for future vacations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

HIKERS HEAVEN IN BEACHFRONT HOME!!

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

One of our best vacation rentals ever!!! This is a perfectly located beachfront home in the town that’s closest to the state park and Waimea Canyon, which has many remarably beautiful long and short hikes. Plus you’ll see stunning sunsets and you’ll have gorgeous ocean views from nearly every room. There's a large covered lanai with a full size dining table that's perfect for meals or you can eat in the dining room inside the house. The house is fully equipped and very well maintained with every convenience you’d want, and it’s an easy one mile walk on the beach to the best restaurant in Waimea or a two to three block walk to several other restaurants.

Chad, the property manager, is extremely helpful and full of useful suggestions for experiences and local resources that will ensure you have a very special visit. We strongly suggest making a 5:30 to 6:00 pm reservation at the Fish House in Poipu to watch the sunset in this very special setting; will require making the reservation several weeks in advance.

We have rented over 20 vacation homes, and this is one we definitely plan to return to, partly because the house is so special and partly because Kauai is uniquely beautiful among the Hawaiian islands.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

have stayed here twice

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

This house is just about perfect. It is the only one right on the beach in this area. To be able to sit on the patio and watch the sunsets, and then walk the beach practically alone is a great experience. The house has every thing you need, and very intuitively placed. We have stayed here for a week on two occasions now and it is a wonderful place to have as a base and then explore the island. The property manager was the BEST...so nice and pleasant to work with. The kitchen is part of the big room so easy to cook and still be involved. You can see by how few open days there are, that this is a very popular house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

7 days warm/sunny days in Kauai

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Sorry it has taken so long to post this review. I think I was in denial about being back in Idaho.

The stay in Waimea was great. We did spend some time on the road but, without fail, we would return to "our house" to find warm weather and a beautiful sunset. The location on the water was a treat and we enjoyed being in a town of locals better than our past resort experiences. The guy at Ishahira market even asked me if I was on my way to work after my 3rd morning of stopping in for masubu and coffee. We sat out on the beach every night and it was almost our private beach (except for the locals driving down the beach to the park).

Chad was great with quick responses to emails and a great attitude. Had one issue with the city water supply and the local support person was quick to find out what was going on and kept us informed.

Thanks Chad. We hope to have the opportunity to stay at this property again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

My husband and I spent a week at Hale Lokahi for Thanksgiving 2010 after a few days on the Big Island. I am a sunset fanatic and took photos of sunset from just about everywhere on Kauai. The best ones by far (including those taken from the Napali Coast Sunset Boat Tour) were the ones taken right off the lanai at Hale Lokahi.

We were a bit worried that there would not be enough snorkeling or activities to occupy a week on Kauai but we could not have been more wrong.
This island is heaven on earth.

The house in Waimea was the perfect respite away from the traffic and activity of the the rest of the world - even though we drove to the North Shore 3 times during the week, we were glad to come 'home' to a clean, comfortable, restful spot that had exactly what you want on a good beach vacation - no more, no less.

The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare the food we got at the Times Market and Farmers Markets. The laundry room off the garage with the giant sink was perfect for all of our 'red dirt' concerns. The beach gear (towels, chairs, cooler, and mats) let us relax and not have to run around looking for convenienece items. The living room with entertainment system, map, and ultimate Kauai guide felt just like our living room in Austin, Texas.

Best of our entire vacation was sleeping 30 feet from the rolling surf every night.
I had to roll video to make sure we captured that sound to take home with us for restless nights back in Texas.

Thank you Chad for letting us stay at Hale Lokahi for our best vacation yet!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We had a marvelous time on our annual hiking adventure, due in large measure to our rental of your house on the beach at Waimea. Your very accommodating kitchen and great gas grill allowed us to cook fabulous meals and enjoy them on the lanai, with the sound of the surf as background. Waimea was a laid-back treat and the fresh fish and vegetables we got at Ishimura's Market were delightful. One of the advantages of this house was its proximity to the plentiful hiking opportunities in the Waimea Canyon vicinity. Superb trails and scenery were just up the mountain. We also used a local company for a Napali Coast boat ride the last day of our stay. Hale Lokahi was a wonderful choice for our trip and I would
recommend it to anyone interested in visiting Kauai. Mahalo for your great beach house.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

We had a FABULOUS time! We absolutely loved the house - it was just perfect. We loved being able to walk to the grocery store and to get a coffee every morning as well as heading over to Island Tacos for lunch. We had meals out on the lanai every night with the sound of the ocean in the back ground. I did my daily yoga out there as well - what a treat! If we return to Kauai again, we certainly will be staying with you again!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

The house was more than we could have hoped for! Absolutely wonderful! The kitchen was amazing and thank you for the olive oil, soy sauce, etc. That saves a fortune. We had Ahi and marlin on the grill and lau laus from Ishihara's on Aloha Friday was our Luau. Again I thank you and we are looking forward to a stay again soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

It has taken me a month to reply because that is how long it has taken for me to get over my post vacation blues! Your beach house was wonderful and our vacation in a word..........fabulous! It was the best vacation of our lives, even with the tsunami evacuation. The house is so nice. We loved it. It has great views. The location offered us the ability to have a quiet place but be close to lots of activity.

We raved about the house to anyone that would listen and even gave out your business card more than a few times. We are already looking forward to our next trip to your Waimea sunset beach house and next time we would like to stay for a whole month.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Aloha Chad, We had a very good time on Kauai. The home we stayed at was wonderful - it was comfortable, great location, loved that we could hear the waves. We were equally impressed that the kitchen was stocked with enough pots, pans, dishes, etc., to make our meals and the beach equipment was an added bonus that we didn't expect. We certainly would consider renting it again the next time we visit Kauai.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Hale Lokahi. The home was beautiful and a perfect fit for us. The only issue we had was taken care of very quickly by the property manager. We truly love Kauai......so far, it's our favorite island. We'll be making many return trips there.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

French House Reunion Tour

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

A group of college roommates (university of Idaho class of '71) got together here. This house is by far the best rental on this side of the island.
Everything is better than advertised. Laundry, sand chairs, the works.
Just pick up Lau Lau at Ishiharis on Aloha Friday and you have a vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

French House Reunion Tour

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

A group of college roommates (university of Idaho class of '71) got together here. This house is by far the best rental on this side of the island.
Everything is better than advertised. Laundry, sand chairs, the works.
Just pick up Lau Lau at Ishiharis on Aloha Friday and you have a vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wow! A wonderful vacation home.

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Four of us (2 couples) just returned from a one-week stay at this wonderful property. We found everything to be just as advertised or better. The house is wonderfully equipped and the wireless internet is very fast. Just sitting on the lanai and enjoying the great views of sunrise, daytime activities and sunsets is worth the cost. We'd stay here again if we return to Kauai. The property manager was very helpful and the whole transaction was extremely smooth. We like VBRO and we loved this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wow! A fantastic vacation home.

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Four of us (2 couples) just returned from a one-week stay at this wonderful property. We found everything to be just as advertised or better. The house is wonderfully equipped and the wireless internet is very fast. Just sitting on the lanai and enjoying the great views of sunrise, daytime activities and sunsets is worth the cost. We'd stay here again if we return to Kauai. The property manager was very helpful and the whole transaction was extremely smooth. We like VBRO and we loved this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

What a beautiful location and a beautiful home! We thoroughly enjoyed watching the sunsets every night from the lanai, walking the gorgeous beach right outside our door, and letting the sounds of the waves lapping the shore lull us to sleep every night. The house itself was spacious, beautiful, and had everything we needed. Being there was one of our favourite parts of our trip. Lovely beaches and many activities are all within close proximity to the house. Highly recommended!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review