reviews for: listing #2650 - Imperial Beach, California Condo rental

WOW!! One of our BEST OCEANFRONT CONDOS!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  San Diego
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $3,950 - $7,950 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Wendy

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

Wendy
Sunday, April 28, 2013 4:01 PM
To: sally oneill
Subject: RE: Sunday arrival

Sally,

I just wanted to let you know that we had a WONDERFUL stay at your condo!! So beautiful and amazingly close to the ocean too!! THANK you thank you for a wonderful place to stay and a wonderful Anniversary for my husband and I! The furkids thank you for use of the adorable pink little bed too :)

Wendy
________________________________________

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Stunning location

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

WOW! What a location! Right on the beach! Dolphins in the water right out your window. Beautiful view of San Diego skyline and Imperial Beach Pier. The condo was perfect and the owner Sally is great to work with. It's a great place to stay. Thanks Sally!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sad we must leave your wonderful condo!!

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

Hi Sally. Again just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay here at Imperial Beach. You have a fabulous spot here Sally and we are sad that we have to leave. The 2 weeks flew by so quickly and we enjoyed every minute. . Many thanks for allowing us to rent this wonderful condo!! Best regards

Anne and Dan

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Relaxing Week

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We rented this pet friendly ocean front condo for 2 weeks to get out of the heat at our home in the desert. The weather was perfect and I spent most of my time sitting on the balcony with a book and my morning coffee or my evening wine watching the surfers. The sunsets were exquisite. Sally has updated her kitchen and the two bathrooms so the condo is very up to date, bright and cheerful. Only drawback - Imperial Beach is pretty laid back and one has to drive about 20 minutes to get to good restaurants and/or tourist attractions. The weekly farmer's market at the pier is fun. I would definitely recommend this charming condo as a get away.

Owners response: Thanks Carol and Charles - Yes indeed, Imperial Beach is the ideal location -just close enough to attractions and yet far enough from the tourist clamor. Most vacationers prefer the 'laid back' atmosphere of local restaurants like IB Forum, (cook your own steak), Jersey Boys, (authentic East Coast),and the unique Tin Fish, located an ocean air stroll at the end of the IB Pier,(scrumptious burritos), On the other hand, you can always drive the Silver Strand to good $,
better $$, best $$$ restaurants for a night out. It's all your choice and an adventure........in one of our best oceanfront condos.

Helpful votes: 12 / 14

 

Don & Cindy

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and it gets better every time. Sally is so accomodating and makes you feel like you are part of her family. Major upgrades to the condo since our last visit, and it was perfect back then. Although we had to deal with the sand project/construction on the beach the whole week, Sally was so easy to work with by allowing us to cancel our week or change the dates. We decided to stay despite all the noise since we got to see family while we were there that week. Despite the noise and commotion going on on the beach, the oceasn was still beautiful and the weather was great. Thanks again Sally, my 2 boys andmy wife appreciate your hospitality. We will be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

Second year at this condo - Truly a home away from home - Completely furnished
& equipped, could not ask for more - Lovely beach front location, close to basic
shopping & restaurants - For diversity & action, San Diego is just a short drive away - Condo in a well kept unit - Indoor parking to keep the salt air off your vehicles - Reasonably priced when compared to other units in the area - Friendly owner.
Would not hesitate to recommend this condo.
Ilene & George & dog Banjo, from Calgary Alberta Canada.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing and worth every penny!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

We opted out of Christmas this year as we had a big loss in our Family. Sally made us feel warm and welcome, went out of her way to get us everything we needed including bottled water for a cpap machine and a cold champagne in the fridge. We had an great experience. The views out the back of the surf are amazing. We sat every night and watched the waves break. Most mornings we saw dolphins out swimming by the surfers. We found a ton of great shells and 20 whole sand dollars on the beach. The town of imperial beach was cute and had everything we needed including some great food at the restaraunts. Overall it was even more than I hoped for. We came home feeling rested, a little more healed and very grateful for the time we spent there. And Sally is now familly! I wouldn't hesitate to give this a 10 out of 10-everything is clean, well cared for and comfortable. There was even a little bucket outside with a towel so you could clean the sand off your feet when you come in. You sincerely can't do any better than this condo!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great spot for families

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

My family stayed for a week in October with our two toddlers (ages 2&3). It was the perfect base for our San Diego vacation. We were only 20 minutes away from the Zoo and Seaworld. At the end of our days in the city, the girls would ask, "Can we go back to our beach house now?". They felt that it was their home. Because of the speedy internet access, we were able to use our laptops and iPads. The entire property was very family friendly. It's quiet at night (who doesn't love falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean?).
The condo had everything we needed: fully stocked kitchen (including coffee maker, microwave, dishwasher, toaster), lots of towels, great wifi access, and comfy beds. It was very clean and spacious. We made great use of the washer and dryer - it meant that we didn't have to pack too many things. We loved watching the sunsets and the surfers, dolphins and pelicans from the balconies. When the tide went out, the girls had a huge beach to play on right outside the condo. There were two parking spots in garages and ample public parking just outside the building. We saved money by eating in every night and Sally was so helpful, leaving a map to the nearest grocery stores.
We have friends who live in the area stop by for a visit, and they were impressed with our accommodations. They plan on recommending the condo to any other visitors they get because it suits so many types of vacationers.
I would not recommend this property to tourists without a car, but it's perfect for everyone else. We look forward to many returns.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Week at One of our Best Oceanfront Condos

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

Our week at "One of our Best Oceanfront Condos"... Ivanell and Max Meek -
Review Submitted January 7, 2011 Date of Stay November 13, 2010 Our time spent was in one word, Fabulous!!It was a return to my home town after living in Oklahoma for 40 years and was very important and very sentimental. We found Sally's condo to be so clean, well-stocked and totally perfect!! Comfortable furniture (especially the lounge chair for my husband to view TV, the ocean and the fireplace) and well maintained faciliies, Everything you would want when away from home. The weather is perfect San Diego and we were treated to daily viewings of dolphin right off our balconies. Seven of my high school friends flew in from Northern Calif. and Las Vegas and we all fit in perfectly to lunch in the spacious living room. Each of them left with high praise for Sally's attention to details. The condo was stocked with binoculars, reading material and anything you could possibly need to live here for a short or lengthy stay. Ask Sally about all her personal touches to make you feel "at home", maybe better! I can see us visiting our home town often and staying here again. The owner is helpful,friendly and professional and very anxious to please her guests and that makes for a perfect vacation. Owner Submitted Review

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Month

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

Helpful votes:2/2. great location and fabulous views! Kaia Canfield Ahwatukee, AZ USA
Review Submitted October 10, 2010 Date of Stay September 4, 2010 We spent a magical month at this Imperial Beach property and enjoyed all the little extras provided by the pleasant owner, Sally. The kitchen is well furnished and has plenty of dishes, if you are inclined to cook, that is! We appreciated being able to bring our “fur babies” and we all felt at home immediately. The bed was very comfortable and the hypnotic sounds of the surf lulled us to sleep each night. The spacious bathrooms are clean and modern with more than enough towels. We brought several computers and had excellent internet service. What a delightful wake up treat to sit on the balcony with a cup of coffee, the daily newspaper (provided with the condo rental), and watch the dolphins, pelicans and sea lions right in front of us. The two balconies were used constantly as the dolphins’ activities enthralled us and captivated our attention for hours. The surfers also entertained us whenever the waves were just right. The clear glass railings on the balconies are perfect for viewing all the wildlife activity. The happy hours with the sunset views are unforgettable. The IB pier is just a short walk down the beach and we enjoyed several meals and sunset drinks at the restaurant on the end of the pier. We tried to reserve the condo again for next year, but unfortunately for us, a property this nice was already reserved. So get your reservation in early! Rating:
5 out of 5 Respond to Review Recommended

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Favorite Vacation Getaway

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Adventure Seekers , Girls Getaway , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway Helpful votes:3/3. Our Favorite Getaway Mike Dellisanti -
Review Submitted April 4, 2011 Date of Stay March 12, 2011 Our Favorite Vacation Getaway, March 22, 2011 By Michael Dellisanti (Phoenix, AZ) My family often vacations in Imperial Beach, and this condo is our absolute favorite. We've rented here several times, and it just gets better each time. We especially enjoy how close the property is to the ocean, and that the views from the living room and master bedroom balconies are breathtaking. The condo is in a quiet neighborhood that is also close to everything we could possibly need. The owner is very attentive to comfort details - we always feel like this is our home away from home. We plan to return as often as possible! Our Favorite Vacation Getaway, March 22, 2011 By Michael Dellisanti (Phoenix, AZ) My family often vacations in Imperial Beach, and this condo is our absolute favorite. We've rented here several times, and it just gets better each time. We especially enjoy how close the property is to the ocean, and that the views from the living room and master bedroom balconies are breathtaking. The condo is in a quiet neighborhood that is also close to everything we could possibly need. The owner is very attentive to comfort details - we always feel like this is our home away from home. We plan to return as often as possible! Owner Submitted Review

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

perfect home away from home Sally O'Neill Fresno, Ca
Review Submitted June 13, 2011 Date of Stay May 26, 2011 Sally THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for a wonderful holiday!!! The location couldn't be better... we all enjoyed being ON the beach... walking...swimming... and playing with the dogs... not to mention fallling asleep to the ocean waves... and what a treat to see the DOLPHINS!!! do you arrange that??? The jazz festival downtown was Ron's favorite venue and WE TOOK THE TROLLY!!! No hassels with paking... it was such a breeze we took it the next day to Horton Plaza for shopping... It was difficult for Lexi to choose between Sea World... Wild Animal Park and the famous Zoo and Balboa Park... but lunch with shamu was a HUGE hit... So much more that I could go on about but also really enjoyed having your cozy little condo to return to each night and enjoy our home cooked meals... (saved a lot of $ that way) and the wonderful ocean view... Much thanks again and we can't wait to return soon The Haksins Family Rating:
5 out of 5 Respond to Review

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Views - Will stay Again!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

We stayed here for nine days in February 2011 while awaiting the birth of our grandson. We arrived a little before check in and were able to meet Sally in person. She's the BEST! The minute we stepped inside we knew we picked the perfect place. The view was absolutely amazing and the condo was large, super clean and comfortable with every amenity we could have wanted: well supplied kitchen, well stocked bathrooms, very comfortable beds, convenient and ample parking, excellent Internet and cell phone reception, flat-screen (Direct) TV, faux-fireplace that we really enjoyed as it felt real and warmed the living room on chilly nights without all the fuss. And did I mention the VIEWS!!! The view from the living room is totally awesome but the view from the master bedroom is just Perrrrrfect!!! We will absolutely stay here again. We consider this our home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Views - So Comfortable - Will stay again!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

We stayed here for nine days in February 2011 while awaiting the birth of our grandson. We arrived a little before check in and were able to meet Sally in person. She's the BEST! The minute we stepped inside we knew we picked the perfect place. The view was absolutely amazing and the condo was large, super clean and comfortable with every amenity we could have wanted: well supplied kitchen, well stocked bathrooms, very comfortable beds, convenient and ample parking, excellent Internet and cell phone reception, flat-screen (Direct) TV, faux-fireplace that we really enjoyed as it felt real and warmed the living room on chilly nights without all the fuss. And did I mention the VIEWS!!! The view from the living room is totally awesome but the view from the master bedroom is just Perrrrrfect!!! We will absolutely stay here again. We consider this our home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW!! How may I assist you?
A guest gift certificate awaits you at
the IB Forum..........

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

perfect home away from home

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Sally

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for a wonderful holiday!!!

The location couldn't be better... we all enjoyed being ON the beach... walking...swimming... and playing with the dogs... not to mention fallling asleep to the ocean waves...

and what a treat to see the DOLPHINS!!! do you arrange that???

The jazz festival downtown was Ron's favorite venue and WE TOOK THE TROLLY!!! No hassels with paking... it was such a breeze we took it the next day to Horton Plaza for shopping...

It was difficult for Lexi to choose between Sea World... Wild Animal Park and the famous Zoo and Balboa Park... but lunch with shamu was a HUGE hit...

So much more that I could go on about but also really enjoyed having your cozy little condo to return to each night and enjoy our home cooked meals... (saved a lot of $ that way) and the wonderful ocean view...

Much thanks again and we can't wait to return soon

The Haksins Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice home away from home!

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

Our stay in your condo was wonderful! It was clean and comfy and we felt so at home there! It was great to sit on the two balconies and watch the beautiful sunsets and it was wonderful to listen to the ocean sounds as we went to sleep and awoke in the morning. The beds are quite comfy and I loved the down pillows. We had great internet reception and we were grateful because we had an ill teen the day we arrived and needed to search for an urgent care! The view was spectacular, we were so close to the ocean. Our only disappointment had nothing to do with the condo. Imperial Beach is very rocky and not walker friendly. We drove to enjoy other beaches, but missed the convenience of walking and laying on the beach outside our condo! We loved San Diego and can't wait to return! Thanks for the great accommodations!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your stay was seasonal high tide for the sand.
Imperial Beach area is world famous for it's
yearly SandCastle building contest that dominates
the flat sandy beaches. Ideal for walking, jogging,
and clam hunting.........

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Favorite Getaway

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Our Favorite Vacation Getaway, March 22, 2011
By Michael Dellisanti (Phoenix, AZ)
My family often vacations in Imperial Beach, and this condo is our absolute favorite. We've rented here several times, and it just gets better each time. We especially enjoy how close the property is to the ocean, and that the views from the living room and master bedroom balconies are breathtaking. The condo is in a quiet neighborhood that is also close to everything we could possibly need. The owner is very attentive to comfort details - we always feel like this is our home away from home. We plan to return as often as possible!


Our Favorite Vacation Getaway, March 22, 2011
By Michael Dellisanti (Phoenix, AZ)
My family often vacations in Imperial Beach, and this condo is our absolute favorite. We've rented here several times, and it just gets better each time. We especially enjoy how close the property is to the ocean, and that the views from the living room and master bedroom balconies are breathtaking. The condo is in a quiet neighborhood that is also close to everything we could possibly need. The owner is very attentive to comfort details - we always feel like this is our home away from home. We plan to return as often as possible!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our week at "One of our Best Oceanfront Condos"...

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

Our time spent was in one word, Fabulous!!It was a return to my home town after living in Oklahoma for 40 years and was very important and very sentimental. We found Sally's condo to be so clean, well-stocked and totally perfect!! Comfortable furniture (especially the lounge chair for my husband to view TV, the ocean and the fireplace) and well maintained faciliies, Everything you would want when away from home. The weather is perfect San Diego and we were treated to daily viewings of dolphin right off our balconies. Seven of my high school friends flew in from Northern Calif. and Las Vegas and we all fit in perfectly to lunch in the spacious living room. Each of them left with high praise for Sally's attention to details. The condo was stocked with binoculars, reading material and anything you could possibly need to live here for a short or lengthy stay. Ask Sally about all her personal touches to make you feel "at home", maybe better! I can see us visiting our home town often and staying here again. The owner is helpful,friendly and professional and very anxious to please her guests and that makes for a perfect vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great location and fabulous views!

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We spent a magical month at this Imperial Beach property and enjoyed all the little extras provided by the pleasant owner, Sally. The kitchen is well furnished and has plenty of dishes, if you are inclined to cook, that is! We appreciated being able to bring our “fur babies” and we all felt at home immediately. The bed was very comfortable and the hypnotic sounds of the surf lulled us to sleep each night. The spacious bathrooms are clean and modern with more than enough towels. We brought several computers and had excellent internet service. What a delightful wake up treat to sit on the balcony with a cup of coffee, the daily newspaper (provided with the condo rental), and watch the dolphins, pelicans and sea lions right in front of us. The two balconies were used constantly as the dolphins’ activities enthralled us and captivated our attention for hours. The surfers also entertained us whenever the waves were just right. The clear glass railings on the balconies are perfect for viewing all the wildlife activity. The happy hours with the sunset views are unforgettable. The IB pier is just a short walk down the beach and we enjoyed several meals and sunset drinks at the restaurant on the end of the pier. We tried to reserve the condo again for next year, but unfortunately for us, a property this nice was already reserved. So get your reservation in early!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Magical place you will always remember

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We spent a magical month at this Imperial Beach property and enjoyed all the little extras provided by the pleasant owner, Sally. The kitchen is well furnished and has plenty of dishes, if you are inclined to cook, that is! We appreciated being able to bring our “fur babies” and we all felt at home immediately. The bed was very comfortable and the hypnotic sounds of the surf lulled us to sleep each night. The spacious bathrooms are clean and modern with more than enough towels. We brought several computers and had excellent internet service. What a delightful wake up treat to sit on the balcony with a cup of coffee, the daily newspaper (provided with the condo rental), and watch the dolphins, pelicans and sea lions right in front of us. The two balconies were used constantly as the dolphins’ activities enthralled us and captivated our attention for hours. The surfers also entertained us whenever the waves were just right. The clear glass railings on the balconies are perfect for viewing all the wildlife activity. The happy hours with the sunset views are unforgettable. The IB pier is just a short walk down the beach and we enjoyed several meals and sunset drinks at the restaurant on the end of the pier. We tried to reserve the condo again for next year, but unfortunately for us, a property this nice was already reserved. So get your reservation in early!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

It was Heaven!

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

If you want the best vacation spot of your life, this is it. Two balconys that face the ocean. We slept with the sliding door open and enjoyed the sounds of the waves and the warm breeze. (For the ladies) the surfers in their wet suits were an extra bonus. The condo was spotless and had everything you could ask for. Sally (the owner) was very kind and helpful. The sunsets were breath taking. Only down fall I can think of is, it is a small town and there are just a few places to eat at. We hated to leave. Recommend this place to anyone who wanted the best for a very great price. We WILL be back!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

What an experience!

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

The accomodations were just as pictured on line. Clean, comfortable and cozey. The beach was 15 feet from the condo and the view was beautiful. Close to small shopping area, not a lot of restaurants. I 5 was easy to follow, once you were familiar with how it worked. Attractions were marked well. Even though the weather was a little cooler than we expected (early December-good for sight seeing) , we had a wonderful time. Need more than a week to see everything, but we did all on our list. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sandi,
Thank you for your positive response on staying in "One of Our Best Oceanfront Condos". I strive to make my guests feel at home and comfortable while visiting San Diego.
I shall remember you all if you decide to visit again with a special rate and longer stay.
My best wishes to you all.
Sally

Helpful votes: 18 / 19

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review