reviews for: listing #26509 - Hendersonville, North Carolina Cottage rental

Grey Oak Cottage, fireplace, and WiFi and Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $119 - $135 /nt
    $750 - $825 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Homey!

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

We had a wonderful time here! The cottage is so homey! We were completely relaxed! Hendersonville is very pretty. I got to see a lot of its side streets when I went for a run. We enjoyed watching movies and especially loved sitting on the porch with the rocking chairs. The books over the tv cabinet were very good too. I know they are primarily for decoration but they were very nice reads. Everything here is so beautiful! We really enjoyed our stay from sliding rock to shopping it was great! We'd recommend it to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Place

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

What a lovely place to stay - Grey Oak - far preferable to a hotel. You have thought of everything one would need. Saved $ on food and slept soundly at night. Thinking of moving into the Hendersonville area within the next 6 months. Would recommend your cottage highly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A good time was had by all!

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Had a great stay in Grey Oak Cottage. It worked very well for our needs. A great base camp for all of our adventures. We enjoyed hiking in Pisgah & Flat Rock. Try Glassy Mountain hike @ Carl Sandburg's home. It's a killer! Had fun shopping on Main Street and in Asheville. We cooked here most of the time but when we did eat out we found good food wherever we ate. We liked West 1st, Umi, and Dixie Diner in town. Pisgah Inn always has a great view and good food too!
A good time was had by all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

Grey Oak has been a cozy, lovely, warm place to stay with everything we needed to make our family comfortable. The kitchen is so well stocked and equipped even for our group of 10. We enjoyed evenings around the fire, playing games together as we watched the snow fall... and fall..... and fall....11 inches!
Thanks for such a nice place to stay this week. Blessings to everyone at Cranmore!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fell in love...

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay and so glad we didn't stay in a hotel. We visited the Biltmore in Asheville and had a wonderful time which was the main reason for coming here in the 1st place, but we fell in love with Hendersonville and the immediate area. There was so much here to do! We didn't even come close to doing and seeing all we wanted to do. Main Street was wonderful, so much history. Go to "Mike's on Main", a bit pricey for the food, but well worth the trip. Steer clear of Margaritagrill on Main Street, Binions Steakhouse and Fatz. We were very disappointed in the food and service. If you go to Asheville to see the Biltmore you deserve to go to Texas Roadhouse for the best steaks, salads, sweet potatoes, etc. O'Charlies was our favorite place to eat in Hendersonville. Don't miss the Flat Rock Playhouse! We hope to return. Thanks for the memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely -

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Grey Oak Cottage. This lovely cottage is a perfect 'home away from home'.
We always look forward to our annual fall apple picking trip. This year has been a great one. We made lots of memories and had many laughs. Lord willing, we will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful!

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

So peaceful here! Feel like we're leaving home...
We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you....

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Thank you for sharing your home with us. We enjoyed our stay. We went to sliding rock, looking glass falls (beautiful) and jump off rock. Everything was amazing.
Thanks again...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Came Back!

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

We returned this year to the cottage for more Hendersonville fun. Still a fun place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quaint

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

You have a very nicely decorated, quaint cottage here! We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the helpful, friendly voice answering the phone.
God Bless!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun!

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

Fun was had by all! The hot tub - the comfy beds - the NEW coffee maker (thank you)
We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean & cozy

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here very much ~ the rooms are neat, clean and cozy! We also thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub :). The mountains are incredibly gorgeous!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

from Inverness, FL

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

We enjoyed this place as much as the Gingerbread House!
Had a great stay, thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What fun!

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

What fun we had during our visit with family on a daily basis and still have a place to call home! May God's many blessings fill this cottage for years to come.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Amenities

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

Great location, great amenities, nice neighbors who tolerated us talking late into the night in the hot tub! The kitchen is the heart of this home and served us well for long chats of heart, home, work and dreams.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Cottage!

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

Thank you so much for such a beautiful cottage!! We all loved it. Three women back together after 34 years... best friends in high school and fantastic 'olde' friends. It was a blast and we will remember this trip FOREVER!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing journey...

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

What an amazing journey I've had. My girlfriend had a thought - lets get three girls whom have known each other since high school. (Sattellite High 74-75) - over how many years!!! together. We've had a blast and this cottage - the mountains - have given us all an even deeper understanding of all that we mean to each other. I love them and this special place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

Half way for PA & FL. Had a great time gem mining, shopping eat Kilwin's ice cream. and Biltmore Manison. Two of the more adventures went white water rafting. "Great Time" - not me too old. Grandfather Mountian was a scary drive up to top. DuPont forest beautiful, have to go home and rest now...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

from Rogers, MN

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

Grey Oak was a pretty little stay. It was good to have ac & a washer & dryer. That helped a lot! Hawg Wild bar-b-que was the best. High, triple & hooker falls were gorgeous! Looking glass rock & the blue ridge parkway were fantastic! Hiking around here was amazing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely.

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

Enjoyed the lovely cottage, it was very clean and elegant. We loved the hot tub it was nice!
Our stay here was utterly fun, we enjoyed ourselves. Thanks for making our stay as comfortable as possible!
PS DuPont was amazing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

from Greenville/Anderson SC

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay. It felt very homey. Overall it was lovely. We enjoyed Chimney Rock & Lake Lure. We also enjoyed Hooker & Triple Falls. The ice cream parlor was amazing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

from St. Louis, MO

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

We had a great stay here. Wish it was longer! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fireflies

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

We had a nice time, it was SO much nicer than a hotel. My kids spent the evenings catching fireflies and we visited downtown which was close-by.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

Enjoyed the lovely cottage. It reminded me of my grandmother's house. The neighborhood was very quiet & our visit was very relaxing. The area is beautiful. We enjoyed the waterfalls & the downtown area was very quaint. Mast General Store & the ice cream parlor reminded us of our youth. Thanks for a lovely stay,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cute as can be!

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

Loved the hot tub. Had an absolutely wonderful time. We went to Pisgah Mnt. DuPont Falls, and down town historic Hendersonville NC is beautiful we wish we could stay longer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Carneys Point, NJ

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

We are glad we chose Grey Oak Cottage for our "homebase" in Hendersonville.
We love the downtown - spent lots of time there through the week. Chimney Rock and Jump Off Rock were great. Enjoyed all the views - even just driving around and to or from... We even took a day trip to Gatlinburg, TN. (2 hours from here) We wanted our daughter to have breakfast at the Log Cabin Pancake house there. We hope to come back! We <3 NC!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From SC

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

We had a nice time and we enjoy walking up and down Main Street. If you think about going to Chimney Rock Park you might need to take bottles of water because you will be worn out. Overall Chimney Rock Park was nice. The neighborhood was quiet and the people didn't mess with you, which is a plus.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So much fun...

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: April 15, 2009

We had so much fun here, there was tons of things to do. The best part of the trip besides the cottage was Pisgah National Forest. It is not too far away and there is about 7 beautiful waterfalls good for the whole family. We can't wait until we come back and dogs can't wait either.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing & Romantic

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2009

The Grey Oak Cottage was relaxing and romantic. Everything about the cottage creates a peaceful vacation.
LOVED IT -
Fun, Fabulous, Quaint, Comfortable, Quiet - Thank you for sharing your home with us...
Really enjoyed our getaway weekend in NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas!

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2008

We enjoyed our Christmas at the Grey Oak - especially the beautiful stone fireplace. I also enjoyed the hot tub - everyone thought else thought it was too cold outside to get in. The cottage is very cozy and the kitchen is well equipped. Thanks for the Christmas card and gifts. Biltmore is amazing at Christmas and the food at the Bistro was delicious. May you have a blessed New Year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Orlando, FL

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2008

Went to Chimney Rock, Biltmore House, DuPont State Forest, Mt. Mitchell & shopped! Buy local wines on Daniel Drive & Indian Jewelry on Main Street. 2 Guys Pizza is the best! Grey Oak was wonderful. Can't wait to come back...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Charleston, SC

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2008

We enjoyed our stay - a little cold at first, but it warmed up! Cute cottage, suited our group just fine!
Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: November 25, 2008

Loved the cozy cottage. Perfect for our family. Enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dogs too!

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

Thanks so much for providing a great home base for our explorations this week.
Great places to visit:
*Jackson Park here in town
*Jump Off Rock (beware the car ride is not for people who get carsick easily!)
****DuPont State Forest - we hiked here 3 days out of 5! Saw all the waterfalls, absolutely gorgeous
*Mt Pisgah National Forest - Ranger station a few miles in park on right. They'll give maps for a couple of waterfalls. We drove to the Blue Ridge Parkway, turned left, continued a few miles to Graveyard Fields rest area and hiked to the 2 waterfalls in its valley. Dogs and humans both loved this - but to see looking glass falls, moore cove falls & do the graveyard fields trek takes a full day. And you'll be tired!
**Skytop Apple Orchard - on a mountain top, you can pick your own apples and the make their own cider, yum yum!!
GOOD FOOD
*Hannah Flanagins Pub
*McFarlands Bakery
*2 Guys Pizza
*El Paso Mexican

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Charming!

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We come to Hendersonville about twice a year and have always done the bed and breakfast thing. This time we chose to rent Grey Oak Cottage for a long weekend. It is so wonderfully delightful! It was built in the 40s and has all the charm and quirks you would expect in a home with such a long history. When we walked through the front door it took me back 30 years to a summer weekend in high school spent at grandma's farm house in northern Minnesota. The feeling of nostalgia had me grinning from ear to ear all weekend. While it may lack the modern flair and conveniences that some city folks are looking for, it more than makes up for that in coziness and charm. And the staff at Cranmore cottages could not have been more helpful. A special thank you to Kletia. They were quick to answer any questions we had before booking and made the whole process quick and easy. There are three things I look for when booking a vacation rental: cleanliness, comfort and a king size bed (which also needs to be comfortable). This house has it all and then some! We enjoyed a weekend of blissfully quiet and comfortable sleep. I would highly recommend this lovely cottage for those longing for a taste of yesteryear. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Needs A Bit of Love

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

This is a cute little cottage and very comfortable and clean... BUT, unfortunately there were some issues that I must speak to. I am not usually a negative reviewer, so first I will note the positives: The neighborhood is convenient to downtown and freeways, safe and quiet. The front porch is inviting and great for a cup of coffee and cool shaded breakfast in the morning. The home is furnished very nicely, I love old craftsman style homes, but this one could really stand a little repair work. Little things like cabinets that don't close properly and doorknobs that come off in your hand detract from the cozy environment. Still, it is a nice space and the hot tub and great price make up for such minor issues. My biggest complaint was not the air conditioner that wasn't working. In fairness, the owner moved incredibly quickly to rectify that situation and provided window units that kept us nice and cool when the A/C proved irreparable. Neither was my biggest complaint the light and fan above the table that didn't work. Though, unlike the A/C, the owner didn't try to fix this one, even when we explained that the kitchen table was not well lit without it and this made working there (ours was a working trip) nearly impossible. No... my biggest complaint was a simple broken coffee pot! It could have been corrected with $15 dollars and five minutes in Walmart; and, had the owner done so, I would given a decent review and probably would have stayed again! I am usually pretty easy to please, but when I have spend 20 minutes each morning boiling a pot of water on the stove to pour slowly through a broken coffee maker's filter just to get a cup of coffee... Well, that isn't exactly hospitality. There are too many cute, comfortable little cottages in Asheville's beautiful countryside to choose from, so I won't stay here again. I hope that the owner takes note. I realize that she probably thought we were complaining too much, but the only things we mentioned during our stay were the A/C, the fan/light fixture and the coffee pot. I don't consider those requests to be unreasonable. And of the three... The coffee pot could have been a quick fix. Too bad.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Charming Cottage for special getaway!

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

My husband and I reunited with our best friends from college here. It was the perfect place to reconnect. The house was nicely decorated and very clean. It has a beautiful fireplace, although we did not use it (too hot this summer). The location was convenient to town and just a few minutes from some nice hikes. Should also see the Carl Sandburg Homeplace. Binions Steakhouse was our favorite dinner place which was recommend by the owners. Great place. Loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Cozy cottage

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

Our family stayed at Grey Oak for two weeks and loved the cozy atmosphere. We got snowed in for several days but enjoyed the whole time. Evenings by the fire, family dinner in the large eat-in kitchen, snowball fights in the yard, and snuggling under the thick blankets at the end of the day...what a great time! The kitchen was so well stocked and the fully-equipped laundry room made even our chores pleasurable. Thanks Sandy, Barbara, Joe, and Dwight for a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

In Town for Thanksgiving

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2008

We had a very nice stay, in town for Thanksgiving. We do not all fit under one roof anymore! This is a very cute, quiet home.
Ken and Laura
Los Altos, CA

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the Fireplace!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2008

Thank you for the warm and cozy house. We enjoyed the fireplace especially! It made our anniversary stay even more special. The House is lovely!
The Johnsons

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Definitely Recommend to All!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2008

Thank you very much for letting us vacation at this lovely cottage. Will definitely recommend to all our family and friends. Loved the apple picking. Son and daughter also loved playing in the leaves and having a fireplace.
Thanks again!
Brian and Dorys

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Out #1 Pick!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2008

Thank you so much for a beautiful cottage. We will be coming back soon and Cranmore Cottages is oour #1 pick! Very comfortable.
Thanks again.
Don and Ann
Ocala, FL

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just Right

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2009

Our stay at Grey Oak Cottage was amazing and relaxing. The cottage was cozy and just right for our vacation. Make sure to visit Downtown Hendersonville, Mast General Store, and Chimney Rock Park. No snow this time but we will definitely be back!!
Chris and Samantha

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cute Cottage and Great Location

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

First trip to Hendersonville; loved the cute cottage and the location was great! Toured Main Street and liked DuPont State Park. We enjoyed the coziness of the cottage so much that we built a fire and ordered take out so that we could just stay put!
Trudy and Sal

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall Leaves

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

We came to Hendersonville to enjoy the fall colors and we have not been dissappointed. The color seems to be surrounding us - everywhere! We enjoyed beautiful color and clear views at jump off rock. Great drive! Spent time shopping Main Street in town and also in the quaint village of Black Mountain. We really liked the location of Grey Oak and enjoyed our stay!
Tina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

The stay here has been wonderful. Wished it was a lot longer though! The peace and quiet was nice considering we have 4 kids back at home! The Black Rose Pub was great! Thanks for the gift certificate. We had lots of fun staying here and really enjoyed the cottage. The hot tub was nice too! Loved it! We can't wait to come back. Maybe next time there will be snow on the ground!
Andrew and Michelle

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review