reviews for: listing #26509 - Hendersonville, North Carolina Cottage rental

Grey Oak Cottage, fireplace, and WiFi and Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $99 - $145 /nt
    $750 - $825 /wk

sort by:

Absolutely Charming!

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We come to Hendersonville about twice a year and have always done the bed and breakfast thing. This time we chose to rent Grey Oak Cottage for a long weekend. It is so wonderfully delightful! It was built in the 40s and has all the charm and quirks you would expect in a home with such a long history. When we walked through the front door it took me back 30 years to a summer weekend in high school spent at grandma's farm house in northern Minnesota. The feeling of nostalgia had me grinning from ear to ear all weekend. While it may lack the modern flair and conveniences that some city folks are looking for, it more than makes up for that in coziness and charm. And the staff at Cranmore cottages could not have been more helpful. A special thank you to Kletia. They were quick to answer any questions we had before booking and made the whole process quick and easy. There are three things I look for when booking a vacation rental: cleanliness, comfort and a king size bed (which also needs to be comfortable). This house has it all and then some! We enjoyed a weekend of blissfully quiet and comfortable sleep. I would highly recommend this lovely cottage for those longing for a taste of yesteryear. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Needs A Bit of Love

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

This is a cute little cottage and very comfortable and clean... BUT, unfortunately there were some issues that I must speak to. I am not usually a negative reviewer, so first I will note the positives: The neighborhood is convenient to downtown and freeways, safe and quiet. The front porch is inviting and great for a cup of coffee and cool shaded breakfast in the morning. The home is furnished very nicely, I love old craftsman style homes, but this one could really stand a little repair work. Little things like cabinets that don't close properly and doorknobs that come off in your hand detract from the cozy environment. Still, it is a nice space and the hot tub and great price make up for such minor issues. My biggest complaint was not the air conditioner that wasn't working. In fairness, the owner moved incredibly quickly to rectify that situation and provided window units that kept us nice and cool when the A/C proved irreparable. Neither was my biggest complaint the light and fan above the table that didn't work. Though, unlike the A/C, the owner didn't try to fix this one, even when we explained that the kitchen table was not well lit without it and this made working there (ours was a working trip) nearly impossible. No... my biggest complaint was a simple broken coffee pot! It could have been corrected with $15 dollars and five minutes in Walmart; and, had the owner done so, I would given a decent review and probably would have stayed again! I am usually pretty easy to please, but when I have spend 20 minutes each morning boiling a pot of water on the stove to pour slowly through a broken coffee maker's filter just to get a cup of coffee... Well, that isn't exactly hospitality. There are too many cute, comfortable little cottages in Asheville's beautiful countryside to choose from, so I won't stay here again. I hope that the owner takes note. I realize that she probably thought we were complaining too much, but the only things we mentioned during our stay were the A/C, the fan/light fixture and the coffee pot. I don't consider those requests to be unreasonable. And of the three... The coffee pot could have been a quick fix. Too bad.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Charming Cottage for special getaway!

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

My husband and I reunited with our best friends from college here. It was the perfect place to reconnect. The house was nicely decorated and very clean. It has a beautiful fireplace, although we did not use it (too hot this summer). The location was convenient to town and just a few minutes from some nice hikes. Should also see the Carl Sandburg Homeplace. Binions Steakhouse was our favorite dinner place which was recommend by the owners. Great place. Loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Cozy cottage

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

Our family stayed at Grey Oak for two weeks and loved the cozy atmosphere. We got snowed in for several days but enjoyed the whole time. Evenings by the fire, family dinner in the large eat-in kitchen, snowball fights in the yard, and snuggling under the thick blankets at the end of the day...what a great time! The kitchen was so well stocked and the fully-equipped laundry room made even our chores pleasurable. Thanks Sandy, Barbara, Joe, and Dwight for a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

In Town for Thanksgiving

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2008

We had a very nice stay, in town for Thanksgiving. We do not all fit under one roof anymore! This is a very cute, quiet home.
Ken and Laura
Los Altos, CA

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the Fireplace!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2008

Thank you for the warm and cozy house. We enjoyed the fireplace especially! It made our anniversary stay even more special. The House is lovely!
The Johnsons

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Cute Cottage

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2008

First trip to Hendersonville. Loved the cute cottage and the location was great! Toured Main Street and hiked at DuPont State Forest. We enjoyed the coziness of the cottage so much that we built a fire and ordered take-out so that we could just stay put!
Hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving!
Ted and Trudy

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Liked the location of Grey Oak

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2008

We came to Hendersonvilleto enjoy the fall leaves and we have not been disappointed. Color seems to be surrounding us everywhere! We really enjoyed the color and clear views at Jump Off Rock. Spent time shopping on Main St. and also in the quaint village of Black Mountain. We really liked the location of Grey Oak and enjoyed our stay!
thank you
Tina and Glen
Marietta, GA
PS Loved the snow on Monday!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Definitely Recommend to All!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2008

Thank you very much for letting us vacation at this lovely cottage. Will definitely recommend to all our family and friends. Loved the apple picking. Son and daughter also loved playing in the leaves and having a fireplace.
Thanks again!
Brian and Dorys

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Out #1 Pick!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2008

Thank you so much for a beautiful cottage. We will be coming back soon and Cranmore Cottages is oour #1 pick! Very comfortable.
Thanks again.
Don and Ann
Ocala, FL

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Home Base for our explorations!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2008

Thanks so much for providing a great home base for our explorations. We visited Jackson Park, Jump Off Rock, DuPont State Forest (absolutely gorgeous!), Pisgah National Forest, waterfalls, Sky Top apple orchard.
Thank you!
Tim and Sherri

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and Quiet was nice

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

The stay here has been wonderful. Wished it was alot longer though! The peace and quiet was nice considering we have 4 kids back home! The Black Rose Pub was great. Thanks for the gift certificate! We had lots of fun staying here and really enjoyed the cottage. The hot tub was relaxing too! Loved it! We can't wait to come back! Maybe next time there will be snow on the ground!
Thanks!
Andrew and Michelle

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Grey Oak was Wonderful!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2008

Went to Chimney Rock, Biltmore House, DuPont State Forest, Mt. Mitchell and shopped! Grey Oak was wonderful. Can't wait to come back.
Thank you!
Larry and Margaret
Orlando

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cute Cottage

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2008

We enjoyed our stay! Cute cottege, suited our group just fine!
Thanks!
Richard and JoAnna
Charleston, SC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just Right

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2009

Our stay at Grey Oak Cottage was amazing and relaxing. The cottage was cozy and just right for our vacation. Make sure to visit Downtown Hendersonville, Mast General Store, and Chimney Rock Park. No snow this time but we will definitely be back!!
Chris and Samantha

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Anniversary

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2009

Thank you for the warm and cozy house. We enjoyed the fireplace especially. It made our anniversary stay here even more special. The house is lovely.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cute Cottage and Great Location

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

First trip to Hendersonville; loved the cute cottage and the location was great! Toured Main Street and liked DuPont State Park. We enjoyed the coziness of the cottage so much that we built a fire and ordered take out so that we could just stay put!
Trudy and Sal

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall Leaves

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

We came to Hendersonville to enjoy the fall colors and we have not been dissappointed. The color seems to be surrounding us - everywhere! We enjoyed beautiful color and clear views at jump off rock. Great drive! Spent time shopping Main Street in town and also in the quaint village of Black Mountain. We really liked the location of Grey Oak and enjoyed our stay!
Tina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Apple Picking

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

Thank you very much for letting us vacation at this lovely cottage. Will definitely recommend to all our family and friends. Loved the apple picking. Our son and daughter loved playing in the leaves and having a fireplace.
Thanks again!
Brian and Dorys

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Number 1 Pick

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

Thank you so much for a beautiful cottage. We will be coming back soon and Cranmore Cottages is our #1 pick! Very comfortable - Thanks again.
Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

The stay here has been wonderful. Wished it was a lot longer though! The peace and quiet was nice considering we have 4 kids back at home! The Black Rose Pub was great! Thanks for the gift certificate. We had lots of fun staying here and really enjoyed the cottage. The hot tub was nice too! Loved it! We can't wait to come back. Maybe next time there will be snow on the ground!
Andrew and Michelle

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review