reviews for: listing #26537 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Condo rental

**Ocean Front Apartment on Isla Verde beach**
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Marbella del Caribe
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $93 - $114 /nt
    $700 - $795 /wk
    $2,400 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Anniversary trip!!!!

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 20, 2014

To start, this condo was exactly what the pictures show....clean, nicely decorated, very comfortable and all the amenities of home!

We had a wonderful week long stay and can't wait to return. We loved that the condo was on a main street and there was everything available from Walgreens to Chili's to local food just a minutes walk away. Also, with the neighboring hotels also just a walk a way you have lots of nightlife options.

I can't say enough about how pleased we were with our stay and the entire vacation....you won't regret choosing this comfortable beach front condo!!!

Owners response: Thank you for your candid review, I am happy you enjoyed your stay in my condo and the beautiful Island of Puerto Rico.
Looking forward to your return!
Kind Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular View/Location

Review submitted: May 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 29, 2014

Thank you Rosaria...This condo was as listed and all the pictures were true. The price for the location was a value second to known. Rosaria as well as the entire staff at the Marbella condo complex were more than friendly and helpful. The building and grounds were clean as well as the condo with plenty of linens and conveniences. The kitchen was well appointed however we never used it. While in Isla Verde we experienced some fantastic restaurants. The Metropol, Basilia's, Lupi's and Mediterranean Gyros were all yummy and reasonably priced. We had a beautiful week and enjoyed the surrounding areas as well. We choose to eat authentic foods as we traveled to San Juan, Condado, Fajardo and the Rain Forest. Our dining experiences were fantastic. The Beach in front of the condo was a nice long stretch in both directions with plenty of water activities if you choose. The beach was cleaned every morning as we had beautiful morning walks after we grabbed protein shakes at BaJuice a great little breakfast and lunch place in the same block as the condo. We did relax on the beach and rented from the men right in front of the condo chairs and an umbrella. In the evenings after our day of exploring we walked to the neighboring resorts for dancing and drinks. The entertainment was very good. An A-Plus Vacation!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lynette,
great to hear you enjoyed my condo and Isla Verde Beach, I also thank you for sharing some hotspots and local dining experience.
All the best,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great apartment!!

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

Great Apartment~!!!
Review submitted: May 18, 2014 Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

Great apartment, pictures exactly as shown. Fully furnished apartment, with wine glasses, bottle openers, fridge bed tv beach chairs -- everything you need to vacation. Very great location, beach and pool downstairs. Beautiful apartment building, very secure with a doorman and lock on every single entrance and exit everywhere. Host was very helpful, accommodating, and went the extra mile while we were there for us. 10 minute drive from the airport, 10 min cab to Condado, 25min drive to OSJ. Make sure you go to Bajuice downstairs, great breakfast spot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You have to rent this condo!!!

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

Rosaria , the accommodations were superb! We had everything we needed and it was one of the most difficult vacation places to leave because we felt so at home. The proximity to everything was absolutely perfect. While I already loved the area, your apartment space has secured it as a destination location and is now officially my "second home away from home". Thank you, your service and your managing agent was wonderfully hospitable as well.
Donna G.

Owners response: Donna, I am happy you enjoyed your stay and my home, I look forward to your return.
Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Romantic Getaway with Spectacular View

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

We spent a wonderful week in this truly romantic getaway. It feels totally private with a stunning view beyond description. The condo itself is comfortable, well organized and very well equipped. It is also close to casinos, restaurants and shops. Now the Beach, go down the elevator and out the back gate! The water and sand will greet you and put a smile on your face and relaxation in the air. I would get up every morning and sit on the balcony drinking coffee; watching and listening to the waves come rolling in. As for the owner of the proper she took care of us from Day one. If you have any thing you need or want to know Rosaria is a very gracious host. Please take the time and spend your vacation at Rosaria’s Condo!! You will not regret it!
Thank you Rosaria , for everything!

Owners response: I really appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful and accurate review of my condo and the area, happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We WILL be coming back! ??

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 8, 2014

I have to admit, I was hesitant at first renting a condo vs booking a hotel. I am happy with the decision my family made on choosing this condo. It was clean, safe, and had everything from towels to pans. Let me not forget to mention the absolutely beautiful beach front view! If you continue reading the very few previous negative reviews, let me recommend you ignore them. They were not accurate to say the least. Miss Rosaria is a kind and honest woman who rents her condo to families so they can enjoy a worry free vacation. Some things worth mentioning..... Grocery store 3 blocks away, drug store across the street, and a bus stop in front of the condo. For only 75¢ (you must have exact coins only) you can take the non-stop bus to Old San Juan. Its the last stop at the bus station and takes 20 minutes. Taking in consideration the large cost of a hotel and having the ability to cook meals in the condo, it saved our family approximately $2,000, which enabled us to spend a LOT of quality family time doing the expensive fun things like snorkeling at Flamenco Beach in Culebra and going to the El Yunique Rain Forest. There is so much to do in San Juan and around the island. If it wasn't for Rosaria providing this condo, we never would have had the amazing family vacation we did. Its been 1 week since we left the condo, and she has already mailed our deposit check back to us. Thank you Miss Rosaria! We will be contacting you again very soon for another stay. I can't wait. Our family appreciates you.

Owners response: Desire, I am so happy to hear you loved my condo and most of all you explored the beautiful island of Puerto Rico and got to enjoy all that has to offer. I take great pride providing a clean, well equipped and well located home for my guests, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to having you and your family return. All the Best, Rosaria

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

This was the best place to stay, it was a home away from home. Very clean,quiet and peaceful. The security on premises was helpful and made me feel a sense of safety. The location of the property is in proximity to the beach and other commercial business such as restaurants, organic eateries, lounges, and pharmacies for your convinience. I would definitely recommend this beach front apartment rental.

Owners response: Norma,
It was my pleasure to have you in my well located beach front condo the beautiful view from my large balcony on the 9th floor seems to take everyone breath away.
Looking forward to your return.
Regards, .
Rosaria Carnevale

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, great view, close to everything

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

This condo was just as described; very clean, comfortable and well appointed. The 24 hour staff in the lobby is friendly and helpful. The view from the balcony is beautiful and the beach below is lovely, with many palm trees along it for shade if desired. The water is clear and warm, and the surf can be quite big and fun to play in.

The building was quiet from Sunday to Wednesday. On Thursday, Friday and Saturday there is partying at a nearby club and one night in the condo building and it can be quite noisy.

Everything you might need is within walking distance. A Walgreens across the streets has some groceries, wine, beer. There are two grocery stores nearby, as well as many fast food outlets, restaurants and bars. There are also several rental car outlets handy.

The condo is only 10 minutes from the airport by cab, and for three of us with bags the cost was only $16.

Overall, we had a lovely vacation in this beautiful setting. Thanks Rosaria, we hope to come back again some time.

Owners response: Pauline happy to have you and your family.
Looking forward to your return.
Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect condo in Paradise!!

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

First time in Puerto Rico on our way to a cruise leaving from Puerto Rico, we wanted a place to stay for just a few days and came across this great condo...first time we rented normally we stay in hotels .. way better value and much more for your money, an entire apartment facing the ocean for just about $100 per night. we were pleasantly surprised. The condo is well maintained, very clean, very bright and cheerful and tastefully decorated. Lots of linen of great quality, well equipped kitchen and a great view from the balcony.
The booking process was easy and all was disclosed in a rental agreement prior to booking.
We will definitely return again next winter this time we plan on stay a few weeks to explore the rest of the Island... Rosaria thank you for sharing your home and making out stay a very pleasant experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent vacation rental!

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 8, 2013

Second trip to Puerto Rico and returned to same condo this is a lovely apartment with breathtaking views. the best part is the balcony that we sat on every day and watched the ocean and all the people partaking in water sports. I never tired of the view. the apartment was very clean and the reception staff downstairs very helpful. everything you need is provided (kitchen items, towels, etc). the bed is a very comfortable one and sleeping to the noise of the waves relaxing. the only thing I would say is that there is some outside noise at night from late partygoers but we got used to it over time. the position of the apartment was perfect. close to agrees, food shopping, restaurants, and practically on top of the beach! we used the bus to go into beautiful old San Juan and the bus stop was just steps away. I use a wheelchair when I am out and found the apartment building and streets nearby wheelchair friendly. I would definitely use this apartment again and would recommend it to friends and family.

Elly and AJ

England

Owners response: Elly,
I really appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful and accurate review of my condo and the area, I am happy you enjoyed your stay. Best Regards, Rosaria

Edit your Response

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply The Best!!

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2013

My family and I vacation in Puerto Rico a few times a year usually during low season from September and November and sometimes in the summer months I find it to be one of the best periods to travel on a budget.
As returning guests the owner gives us a great rate on top of the already low season price. The entire booking process is simple and all is desclosed in the rental agreement. We pay a flat rate and all is included, taxes, utilities, parking and even WiFi. We love this condo, its very clean, in a great location everything is just a few blocks away and right on the beach of Isla Verde. I cook some of the meals and find everything I can possible need even a blender for my morning shakes. The linens are of great quality and the decour is bright and cheerful just as you may expect at a beach apartment. We really appreciate the little extras, such as paper products, soap, garbage bags and plenty of linen.
Everything is very well kept and if we need anything Vidal and Rosaria are quick and responsive to take care of it and make sure all is to our satisfaction. We most love to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view and the breeze from the ocean. Our daughter loves the pool and the beach just below. The ocean was calm and the water was heavenly just what the doctor ordered a few days of R & R.
We rent a car and find the assigned parking space very convenient.
SJU international airport is just 10 minutes away as well as Old San Juan were you will find the charm of old European cities with cable stones streets, restaurants, and shops.

Rosaria, thank you so much for sharing your home with us as always we enjoyed our stay and will be returning
very soon. – Jill and Steve K.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I really appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful and accurate review of my condo and the area, I am happy you enjoyed your stay. Best Regards, Rosaria

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply The Best !!!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2013

My family and I vacation in Puerto Rico a few times a year usually during low season from September and November and sometimes in the summer months I find it to be one of the best periods to travel on a budget.
As returning guests the owner gives us a great rate on top of the already low season price. The entire booking process is simple and all is desclosed in the rental agreement. We pay a flat rate and all is included, taxes, utilities, parking and even WiFi. We love this condo, its very clean, in a great location everything is just a few blocks away and right on the beach of Isla Verde. I cook some of the meals and find everything I can possible need even a blender for my morning shakes. The linens are of great quality and the decour is bright and cheerful just as you may expect at a beach apartment. We really appreciate the little extras, such as paper products, soap, garbage bags and plenty of linen.
Everything is very well kept and if we need anything Vidal and Rosaria are quick and responsive to take care of it and make sure all is to our satisfaction. We most love to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view and the breeze from the ocean. Our daughter loves the pool and the beach just below. The ocean was calm and the water was heavenly just what the doctor ordered a few days of R & R.
We rent a car and find the assigned parking space very convenient.
SJU international airport is just 10 minutes away as well as Old San Juan were you will find the charm of old European cities with cable stone streets, restaurants, and shops.

Rosaria, thank you so much for sharing your home with us as always we enjoyed our stay and will be returning
very soon. – Jill and Steve K.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jill,
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in my condo.
It's alway my pleasure to have you and your family.

Thank you for your candid review.
Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Condo!

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

This is the perfect condo if you do not plan on renting a car and if you are seeking a fabulous view. The condo was clean and exactly as pictured and described. The beach and pool are just a few steps away. This is a secure, safe, and friendly building that is close to everything. Old San Juan was a 20 minute bus ride away, and the stop is just outside of the front door. We highly recommend this rental and hope to return and escape the Boston winters very soon! Thank You for having us.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Cindy, it's my pleasure to have you and your husband as a returing guests.
Thank you for your continued support.
Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

First Visit to Paradise

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

I visited Puerto Rico for the first time and stayed at this condo for 4 nights.
Picking up the keys at the front desk was easy, and every member of the building staff I encoutered was friendly and helpful. The building was clean and well kept. Sometimes when you visit a place you're unfamiliar with, you may feel unsafe. But the building is very secure.

The apartment itself was clean and comfortable. There were paper products and clean linen waiting for us. Most importantly, it's ocean view and the waves can lull you to sleep at night. The beach is beautiful and you can rent chairs/umbrellas for a few dollars. The location in Isla Verde is very convenient. Taking a walk in either direction will leave you with something to eat/drink/do.

I didn't rent a car, but I took the T5 bus (75 cent fare) right out front to Old San Juan, and I was able to be picked up for a rainforest tour nearby, so I didn't really need one. There is a car rental place down the block that's open 24 hours, so hopefully I can return to this location again to see what I couldn't fit in in the first visit.

Overall, my experience was great and I'd love to rent this condo again next time I visit Puerto Rico.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jessica,
I am glad you enjoyed your vacation in Puerto Rico and my condo was to your liking. I am glad to provide a clean, confortable, well keeped,and fully equipped with all the little extras to make your stay more pleasant.
It would be my pleasure to have you in my condo as a returning guest.
Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Marbella del Caribe: First time in Puerto Rico

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

Marbella del Caribe:



Hi Rosaria
Thank you for sharing your place

I really Liked the condo , the location is perfect,

the furniture and the whole look , warm ,inviting & classy and very clean.

It was nice to see that there where extra trash bags dish washing soap &

Toilet paper ,not all places supply an excess.I did buy extra and left it.

There was even a hairdryer and plenty of towels.Big TV in the living room and
A flat screen in the bedroom and the WIFI worked perfect.

I cooked most meals and found the kitchen well stocked with pots..pans...dishes,etc..

There is a Walgreen right across the street and a ATM , supermarket was too far for me to walk,
However , there is a Fresh Market that just opened right up the street and they carry everything from meat to fish to fresh veggies and fruits as well as wine and hard liquor etc....
the prices are somewhat higher but worth the convenience .
You can catch the T 5 bus right outside the building , for 75 cent , be sure you have 3 quarters, will not take anything else , you can take it Down some way and get off across the Super Max
grocery store open 24 hours on your left side, this store will take you and your groceries back to the condo if you buy $50 worth of merchandise , which is easily done .
The same bus will take you to old San Juan , last stop is the bus depot and outside you will find the FREE trolleys , the open white one will take you all the way to the entrance of the ford ,
The green one will stop before and you have to walk all the way to the entrance.
The green closed air conditioned one will take you down town and you can get off wherever you want too. Very easy way to see everything ,loved Old San Juan.
A must to see while there is the rain Forrest , it is awesome.
The Security man was friendly and very helpful with all the information.
The reason I gave 4 stars is that there is a rooftop bar next door and Thursday..Friday and Saturday they have loud music until 3 AM. I am not a party person so it did bother me .
The air conditioning is new and quiet and did not help drowning out the noise.
However it may not bother others.
My favorite place was the balcony, over looking the ocean and listening to the endless waves .
The pool is big and few people where using it , but it is off season.
This was my first trip to Puerto Rico and I will return soon .

Owners response: B. I am glad you had a great time in Pueto Rico and got to enjoy and explore the island. Happy to provide the little extras to make your stay more confortable.
Thank you for your support.
Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEWARE! This condo may cost more than you thinkā€¦

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

The condo is as described - comfortable, with a beautiful view in a secure building. There is a key to enter the building, the pool area, and the beach. The condo is as pictured – clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The description is missing a picture of the bathroom but it is modern and very nice. With the windows and balcony door open, there is a lovely ocean breeze circulating. The kitchen is small, but we didn’t cook – we only kept our drinks colds in the refrigerator. Walgreens is directly across the street and big hotels are within walking distance for a nice dinner, playing in the casinos, and taking tours. The building staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Sounds ideal, but unfortunately, we had issues with the homeowner over the rental cost and refunding our security deposit. When I asked the cost for 3 people, she quoted me the price. However, the price went up quite a bit on the contract (I'm not allowed to specify the amount). She said she made a mistake with the price and passed the cost onto me. I’ve never paid for someone else’s mistake before. According to the contract, the security deposit will be refunded in 45 days. After 60 days I contacted the homeowner and she said the check was "lost in the mail" and sent another one. Two weeks later she claimed the second check was "lost" as well and either something was wrong with my post office or someone was stealing my mail. She refused to send it certified mail so I could track the payment. After 100 days and no refund, I submitted a formal complaint to Vacation Rentals Trust & Security Department and investigated suing the homeowner in Small Claims Court where she lives. After 125 days I finally received the security deposit minus the cost of stopping payment on the two “lost” checks. Again, she passed her cost onto me but did not give me any proof that she was charged that fee by her bank. I met all of the conditions of the contract and I was not responsible for the “missing” checks, yet she did not reimburse my full security deposit.

The condo is clean and comfortable, the grounds are secure, and the view is beautiful… but in the end, this condo cost more than I was expecting and more than I was promised.

Owners response: Prior to renting my condo all guests are fully aware of the costs and fees, THERE ARE NO SURPRICES.

Penelope was fully aware of what the costs were prior to booking and decided to go forward by signing a rental agreement were the price was clearly stated and just below she signed agreeing to all charges.

Weeks after Penelope checked out she emailed me to let me know she did not receive the check for the damage deposit so I issued another check thinking it was lost.

Two weeks later she contacted me again telling me she still did not receive the checks and she asked I mail her another check this would be the 3rd time and instructed I sent it by registered mail. I explained that there is an easier and safer way to make sure she would get the money so I suggested using PayPal and finally this is how it all ended she finally received the damage deposit minus the cost of 1 stop payment and not both as she stated, I paid for the other after all its only fair we split the cost.
If I would have known how much a few dollars meant to Penelope and that she had considered suing for $30.00 dollars I would have gladly sent her the money but only via PayPal.

I have been renting my condo with VacationRentals and HomeAway for many years. I have many guests coming and going and some returning year after year, lots of great people looking for value and a great condo for their vacation.
Most guests email me after they check out thanking me for providing a clean, modern and well located condo and the ease of the entire booking process. However every so often I get someone like Penelpe who must not have much going on in her life and look for the small things in life to give her some excitement this time was $30.00.

Sincerely,
Condo Owner

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Charged for electric with only 2 people?

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

The condo is decent (a bit dated) but the area not so much. The beach is beautiful though! The cable was strange, it wouldnt give us most channels with out it being "blocked" The noise outside the condo at night kept us up most of our stay. And the bathtub clogged every time we used it. When it came time to get my deposits back, I was charged for electricity. Mind you, There was only my daughter and I and we were out touring every day and only slept in the condo. It also took 54 days for me to get it after being told it was mailed a week ago and it was not. It clearly states utilities are included so don't be fooled. It does say on the contract your being videoed but it was quite uncomfortable with the video camera in the main area of the living room, when asked about it, I was greeted by a not so friendly remark. I did enjoy the condominium but there are much better units available so I wouldn't stay here again after seeing the comparison and being charged for electricity.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: This is just another case of retaliation by a renter who has been bullying me and making threats from the day she was charged for what she had agreed in writing prior to renting my condo.
My condo's pictures are current and accurate, if she felt the condo decor was outdated she had the freedom to book another property.
You see for yourself from the pictures if the decor is outdated. After all pictures don't lie, only dishonest people do.

Another example of dishonesty is the security camera is at the front door and not in the living room, this is just another lie from this renter in retaliation and attempt to get away with not paying for what she had previously agreed to.
Lastly prior to all renters arriving at the condo I provide them with my cell phone number and a managing agent phone number in Puerto Rico in case of any problems with the condo or emergency situations.
If there was a problem with the bath tub all she need it to do was to contact me or the agent and we would have send for repair.
Lasty she concludes by saying " I did enjoy the condominium " ??
Confused? Or just unstable?
Unfortunately anyone with a computer can go on write whatever they feel like regardles of the motives.
You be the judge based on 22 positive reviews.

Sincerely,
OWNER

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

The condo was ideal! Located on what I feel is the best part of Isla Verde beach. One of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had. We would spend the day on the beach and then take the short drive into Old San Juan to roam the streets and enjoy dinner and drinks. Lots of restaurants, bars and grocery stores within walking distance of the apartment. The condo was very modern and had everything to make our stay comfortable. We spent a ton of time sitting on the balcony just enjoying the view. The staff were all friendly and helpful.Special thanks to Vidal for all his help. And thanks Rosaria for sharing your beautiful place with us!

Owners response: Jim and Tammy,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed my condo and your stay in Puerto Rico, Isla Verde is one of the best beaches in the San Juan area.

Thank you for your candid review.

Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Beautiful property in hip area of PR

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

This condo had many pros:
*The condo itself: The pictures of the property are very accurate. We found the condo to be spacious, comfortable bed/pillows, and the kitchen well equipped (we made breakfast). Everything was clean. I LOVED the balcony - that was the highlight.
*Condo building: Great pool (really loved this!), very secure, friendly people.
*Location! Right on the beach. We walked to lunch on the beach. There is also a Walgreens right across from the building which was very convenient. We also went to the grocery store a few blocks away. It was also easy to get on and off the highway from here.
*Parking. Parking is not easy to come by in PR! Luckily this condo had a spot in a covered parking garage. While the bus is available, I recommend renting a car because we were able to travel to El Junque, Luquillo beach/food shacks, Las Cabezas Nature Reserve, and Fajardo for the bioluminescent kayaking and not be tied to a tour group/schedule (all the above activities are HIGHLY recommended!). We also drove into Old San Juan by staying on major roads and parking in a perimeter parking garage - don't try to drive into the many one-way, super narrow roads actually IN OSJ.

I reduce one star for the very few negatives:
*There was a rooftop club next door. We arrived on a Saturday night, tired from our travels, and went to bed. The music next door was THUMPING until ~2 am. Maybe you are looking to join the party in which case this is a great location! But be warned they apparently have this party Thurs-Sat. Luckily for us it was just two nights of our stay, and for the second night we were prepared with earplugs!
*The bathtub was plugged up, even though we were careful not to track sand in it!

Overall, I would recommend this property! The price was VERY reasonable and we saved a lot versus staying in a hotel. We also appreciated having the kitchen to save money on eating out, and the pool was awesome. I could sit on that balcony all day long! We would definitely stay here again if we return.

*Note: If parking upon arrival (this was confusing): You will need to park your car on the street or in a pay lot and walk up to check in first. The person at the security desk (take the stairs in the middle of the wall) will give you the swipe card for the secure parking - then go to the swipe gate on the left (facing the condo) and find the assigned spot. You cannot park in the building at all without the swipe card.

Owners response: Prior to arrival all guests are instructed with keys pick up and parking arrangements. Not at all complicated, no check in required, no need to look for parking just simply double park the car for just 1 minute to walk up to the front desk to pick up the keys and garage opener. No card swiping, or checking in required or looking for parking my condo comes with an assinged parking space.
My instructions are very simple just ask for keys and garage opener at the front desk. With the instructions I also provide my phone number and incorage all my guests to call me if any problems or if there is anything I can do to make they stay more pleasant, if I was informed of a slow draining tub I would have sent someone to unclog it, its just that simple!

Lastly there are may advantages for staying in Isla Verde beach, like having the convenience of walking to the supermarket, stores, restaurants, and Hotels were you will find casinos, restaurants, rooftop bars and nightclubs. With this you will also have the soud of the near by hotel roof top restaurant/club music during the weekend. A very simple solution is to just close the windows and turn the A/C and you will sleep like a baby!!!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Hit The Jackpot !!!!

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

We had an excellent time in Puerto Rico! For the first time renting a condo we both felt like we hit the jackpot with your million dollar view from the balcony, we spent much time out there and loved it as we loved the entire stay and condo. We hope to visit this Island again and we will definetely choose your condo. Than you much Rosaria,
Peggy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

week of R&R

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

My daughter and I spent 6 wonderful days here for my big ?0 birthday. The condo was perfect, plenty of room, beautiful view, all of the aminites we needed, and a continous breeze that kept the unit cool at all times. The beach was beautiful and within a few steps! The property was very secure and the staff were all friendly and offered a wealth of local information. It was about a 15 minute drive from the airport or into old San Juan, but there were stores, restaurants, and a casino within walking distance of the unit. And did I mention the beach was perfect! The loicals drive a bit aggressively and blow their horns at everyone, even the police, which are on every corner, but that made us feel more safe as we walked around. Rosaria was a pleasure to rent from and If I ever have a chance to return we will definately stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Vickie,
thank you for your candid review has been a pleasure having you and your family as guests in my home, I am happy to hear you enjoyed my condo and your vacation in Puerto Rico, it would be my pleasure to have you as a returning guest in the near future.
Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful View

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

The apartment was as it is pictured in the photos. The view is beautiful and the beach and pool are easily accessible. If you are planning on going to Old San Juan consider renting a car, it was less expensive for us to rent a car for an entire week than to pay for 2 round trip taxi rides.

Owners response: Renting a car is not necessary on Isla Verde Beach area since everything is within walking distance however if you are planning on traveling on other parts of the Island you may rent a car for the day from the car rental just accross the condo complex. Another option of sight seeing on a budget is taking the bus just outside the condo complex for just .75 cents.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exactly what we were looking for!!!!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

The stay in the apartment was great, exactly what we were looking for as we
were going to be around Isla Verde and Viejo San Juan much of the time.
Just ventured out of the metropolitan area once. I knew we were going to
be in an excellent area. The view from the apartment is incredible and the
days were great!!

Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Find!!!

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This condo is a wonderful find! It was a 10 minute cab ride from S.J.U airport where I landed. Upon arriving I was greeted by the very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk with the keys.The condo decor was very nice, bright and cheerful, everything looked new and was very clean. The view from the balcony was breathtaking, with a panoramic views of the sun setting across the ocean. Everything is within walking distant from many fine eating establishments, casinos, night clubs, and sports bars.Did I mention the bus stop to Old San Juan was right out front? We had a wonderful stay and will definitely recommend this condo to friends and family and look forward to return again very soon.
Happy Vacationer!
Daniel S.

Owners response: Daniel, thank you for your candid review of my beach front condo.
I am happy you and your family enjoyed your vacation in Isla Verde Beach and really happy you found my condo and the decour to your taste. You and your family are welcome any time you are in need of a getaway.
Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Condo!!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

This is the perfect condo if you do not plan on renting a car and if you are seeking a fabulous view. The condo was clean and exactly as pictured and described. The beach or pool are just steps away. It is a secure, safe, and friendly building that is close to everything. Old San Juan was a 20 minute bus ride away, and the stop is just outside of the front door. We highly recommend this rental!!!

Owners response: Happy to hear you love my condo and location! Thank you for your honest review.
Best Regards, Rosaria

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sour Taste In Our Mouths

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

In fairness, my wife, daughter and I did have an enjoyable time in Puerto Rico. The condo's view of the ocean was definitely one of the best parts of the trip. However, this is not a hotel or resort, so one shouldn't set their expectations too high. The condo is very small, with the kitchen being the major drawback. Unless you enjoy cooking in a really small space, you had better plan on eating out a lot. Fortunately, the condo is in a good location for restaurants. Access to the beach is less than 100 yards from the building.

The building and surrounding property definitely seemed old and a bit rundown in areas, giving off an atmosphere of antiquity, as if its heyday was part of some bygone-era many Caribbean moons ago. That being said, the property and the pool, for the most part, were fairly well maintained. Many of the condos in the area seem to be occupied by year-round denizens of the area, and for the most part were very warm and friendly to vacationers.

Regrettably, during our stay, there was major construction being done around the front desk/lobby for the entire week. There were incessant pounding, discordant sounds coming from the heavy machinery that would make our teeth chatter as we walked by the gutted area. Needless to say we found this a bit disturbing during a vacation getaway. In addition, the hallway leading back to the room was a bit lackluster as well. The walls and floors were white and sterile, completely devoid of any decor, except for the entranceways that were adorned with white, cast-iron bars for security (no, you're not in Kansas anymore). There was also a constant, howling sound of wind that moaned and bellowed throughout the hallway.

With regard to customer service, we completely agree with another reviewer that if a potential renter is going to put down their hard earned money, then they should get a complete picture. And we feel a sense of unfairness regarding the damage deposit. We treated the owner's property with complete respect, and did not receive our damage deposit back concerning an issue of having a last minute 4th guest that arrived and stayed with us for a few days. Instead of reasoning and compromising with us, the owner kept our entire deposit.

Although we enjoyed much of the trip, our experience with the property left much to be desired. We would not recommend this property to friends or family.

Owners response: Confused, bitter or just dishonest guests? Fortunately pictures don't lie!!
The above guests booked my condo by falsifying their reservation for 3 when turned out they have family living in Puerto Rico that stayed with them for most of their stay, to add to this they took anything that was not nailed down including small kitchen appliances.

He mentioned something about not expecting a Hotel or Resort? Where did he get the idea he was booking in a hotel? My condo is listed as a 1 bedroom condo not a resort or a hotel.
Lastly he mentioned the building being run down and having white walls, floors and something about looking white and sterile? The entire complex was renovated last year, you look at the pictures yourself and see if anything in my condo looks white and sterile or in the lobby floors and walls covered completely with gray and brown marble with brown sofas in the lounge area lit by a very large crystal chandelier, several sets of 6 foot large art of sea animals are considered white and sterile? Fortunately pictures dont lie only dishonest guests!

Sincerely, Honest business owner!!

Resubmit Your Response



Best Wishes,

Reviews Team
HomeAway


Property/Unit
#329640 - "**Beach Front Apartment on Isla Verde Beach** in Puerto Rico"

Date of Arrival
April 14, 2012

Review Rating

2 out of 5

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Absolutely the Best!

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Our family has stayed in beachfront condos in Maui, Cancun, Cozumel, San Juan Condado Beach, and this is our third stay in San Juan Isla Verde Beach. This condo is far and away the best! The view is fabulous, the pool is divine, and the price is a steal! There is only one potential problem -- Rosaria is probably booked solid during high season, so make your reservation early.

Owners response: Wayne,

I am happy you enjoyed your vacation and my condo I really appreciate your candid review. You and your family will always be a welcomed guest in my home.

Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Simply Fabulous

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

I have stayed in many other places in PR, but this is by far the best. It was very clean, and the ocean view from the balcony cannot be beat. This place was equipped with everything--including a full kitchen, two tvs, cable, free internet, and so much more! I would definitely recommend this place, and will stay here next time I am in San Juan.

Owners response: Happy you enjoyed my condo and your stay in Isla Verde Beach, PR.

Thank you for your candid review!

Best Regards,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best !!!

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

Rosaria, I am writing to express to you the thanks you deserve for the entire process and the quality of the accommodations that we have recently experienced at your condo in San Juan. The facility was very clean, in good working order, comfortable and all that with a great view. The location in Isla Verde Beach has to be the 'best' because it is private yet close to everything that one could need. The rental process was simple and without hassle. All of the abbove plus good weather and great beaches make for a wonderful place to have a memorial vacation. Thanks again.

Lee

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Condo!

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We truly enjoyed our visit to Puerto Rico and our stay at this condo. We found the unit to be clean, well appointed, and the perfect size for us. Waking up to the sound of the waves hitting the beach was amazing, and being in downtown Isla Verde made it very easy to get to all of the attractions on our itinerary. The residents of the building were quite friendly, and the staff was as accommodating as can be. The parking spot was also helpful, since it made parking into one less thing we had to think about and spend our time on. We came home and encouraged all of our friends to consider Puerto Rico as a vacation destination, and recommended they stay in this unit when they do visit. Hasta pronto!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Not as good as other reviews read.

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We were there in PR in early September. I would caution that you should set your expectations right while renting this place. The building itself is quite old, the common areas and the pool borders border 'rundown'. The view was good, the apartment inside was quite decent as linens looked relatively new and were of good quality.

The owner tries to get every penny squeezed out of you. Few things that were less than desirable were:

a) AC must be very old as it was quite noisy.
b) Small things like No toilet paper, no handwash, one trash bag; thankfully Walgreens is right there so we did; just one okay
c) They would charge you $300 for security and you would need to wait close to 2 months to get the refund. Since I had signed up for this it was okay. However, the huge surprise was the electricity bill; apparently I consumed ~$100 bucks electricity for a week, in spite that most of the day time we were out with AC off. I called her to find out how she calculates it, there was an inherent flaw in the calculation which she refused to understand. I do not like cutting pennies but when I get a sense of unfairness it bothers me and I am choosing to share my experience.

Anyways, I made my decision reading the reviews and I felt little cheated so I thought that if others are also making decision based on the reviews they should have a complete picture.

Best!

Couple from chicago

Owners response: Incorrect and unfair review!!!
It is unfortunate that this renter used the review section of HomeAway as a tool of retaliation. This was weeks after they used my condo and all was great till they had to pay the electricity used as agreed prior to renting.
It’s unfortunate that one renter would leave the air conditioning on for the entire time of their stay day and night and refuse to pay the electric bill as agreed prior to renting. Once the amount was deducted from the security deposit the renter decided to write a bad review in retaliation.

Helpful votes: 13 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Condo and the view from the Condo was Great!!!

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We had a great time in Puerto Rico. The condo and the view from the condo was great.
Thank you for the wonderful place and location.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Excellent vacation rental!

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

this is a lovely apartment with breathtaking views. the best part is the balcony that we sat on every day and watched the ocean and all the people partaking in watersports. I never tired of the view. the apartment was very clean and the reception staff downstairs very helpful. everything you need is provided (kitchen items, towels, etc). the bed is a very comfortable one and sleeping to the noise of the waves relaxing. the only thing I would say is that there is some outside noise at night from late partygoers but we got used to it over time. the position of the apartment was perfect. close to walgreens, food shopping, restuarants, and practically ontop of the beach! we used the bus to go into beautiful old san juan and the bus stop was just steps away. I use a wheelchair when I am out and found the apartment building and streets near by wheelchair friendly. I would definately use this apartment again and would recommend it to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Has been a pleasure having you as my guest, I'm happy you have enjoyed my condo and the breathtaking views.. I never get tired of that amazing view, and the relaxing sound and breeze of the ocean!!

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Excellent Choice For a Vacation in Puerto Rico

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

This is the perfect condo if you do not plan on renting a car and you are seeking a fabulous view. The condo was clean and exactly as pictured and described. The beach or pool are just steps away. Secure, safe, and friendly building that is close to everything. Old San Juan was a 20 minute bus ride away, and the stop is just outside of the front door. We highly recommend this rental and hope to escape the Chicago winters again here! Thank You for sharing your condo with us.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Sarah,
I'm happy you enjoyed my condo and the beautiful island of Puerto Rico.
It would be my pleasure to have you as a guest anytime you are in need of escaping your every day routine!!
All the best,
Rosaria

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Wonderful!!!!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

The apartment was absolutely wonderful!! We had a great (and relaxing) time in PR... and we absolutely loved the condo. Thank you for letting us rent it!

-Kristen

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

I would recommend this condo to anyone that is looking for a Beach front condo, 24 hours security, parking, and of course the beach.
I stayed in this property the week of September 15 thru September 21. I could not have picked a better place. The condo is walking distance to Walgreens, Hotels, restaurants, etc. If you are looking to chill and enjoy the ocean view this is the condo for you! I felt like I was home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I am happy to share my home and provide a great condo at a fraction of the pricey nearby Hotels!!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Million Dollar View!!!!

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

I truly enjoyed the condo! The million-dollar view from your condo was what the doctor ordered.

I could not have asked for a better week and property. I will definitely recommend your property to family and friends.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic ocean view!!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

My stay in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico was Beautiful. The condo we stood in had a fantastic ocean view, a front view of the pool and Picnic area. The apartment had a comfortable bedroom, polished bathroom, nice living room and a balcony facing the beach. It was convenient to all shops, restaurants, bars, lounges etc. Also not far from was Old San Juan, where they have old shops, historic sites along scenic roads w. more restaurants and things to do. I had a Wonderful Time in Puerto Rico and would definitely recommend this condo to anyone looking to relax and have fun.

Thanks Again for all your Help Rosaria!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Paradise Enchanted

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

Next time instead of a hotel, check out this place. It is a charming and comfortable apartment with all amenities and with a view that will take your breath away. It is centrally located close to all shopping, restaurants and a few minutes away from the airport and Old San Juan. I had a wonderful time and look forward to come back again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am happy to share my home and to provide a great condo to anyone looking for great accomodations and to enjoy the beautifull Island Of Puerto Rico at a fraction of the price of nearby Hotels.
Puerto Rico's warm climate is the perfect getaway where you can lay back and enjoy the warm Carribean sun all year round!!!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Condo Was Awesome!!!!

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2010

We are back from Puerto Rico. The condo was awesome. We loved the beach. We only had bad weather on Monday (the day we got down there). We both fell in love with the island. There is so much to do and see, we wish we could have stayed longer.
Thank you so much for letting us rent the condo, we had an amazing honeymoon. Maybe is the next couple of years we will try to get back down to PR and we will have to look you up.

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Condo was awesome!!!

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2010

We are back from Puerto Rico. The condo was awesome. We loved the beach. We only had bad weather on Monday (the day we got down there). We both fell in love with the island. There is so much to do and see, we wish we could have stayed longer.Thank you so much for letting us rent the condo, we had an amazing honeymoon. Maybe is the next couple of years we will try to get back down to PR and we will have to look you up.

Zach

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review