reviews for: listing #26556 - Captiva Island, Florida Estate rental

Relaxed Elegance on the Beach – Best Family Home – Big Pool
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Estate
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Captiva Gold Coast
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,260 - $3,200 /nt
    $8,800 - $17,950 /wk
    $36,550 - $79,950 /mth

sort by:

seclusion, seclusion , seclusion

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

if seclusion and a tropical setting , is what your looking for , this is it. it has such beautiful trees. it reminded me so much of Hawaii.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Louisiana, Texas and Nevada Together

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

My family of 18, ranging in age from 76 to 10 weeks, left Bali Hi just this morning with all saying. "If only a few more days..." An exotic, tropical, beautiful property with exceptional amenities and activities for all ages. From the fabulous 40 by 20 foot pool and comfortable patio and sunbathing area to beach volleyball and chess to the playground for the little ones to hammocks for the book lovers to the beach and Gulf for shelling to swimming and kayaking, Bali Hi has it all. I loved feeling as though we were in our own private paradise, yet we could venture off biking to the charming village not far away or on to Sanibel for shopping. We were carried off from life's stressors and relaxed. A truly beautiful vacation to celebrate my 70 th birthday with my wonderful family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bali Hi was Terrific

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

Coming from Texas, Ohio, Colorado and North Carolina for a special family reunion to Bali Hi was terrific! Thank you for the beautiful setting. We loved the beauty of the pool-- perfect for an afternoon of fun for the whole family-- ages 4 months to 75 years

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Week at Bali Hi

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

We had the most amazing vacation at this house. We have been visiting Sanibel/Captiva for the past 25 years and this was by far my most memorable experience. We vacationed with my parents and another family/friends. In all there were 6 adults and 5 children, ages 2,3,4,5 and 6. The sandbox and large pool were a huge hit for the kids. Always something for them to do, while the adults could keep a close eye on them. The home was warm and comfortable. We used the guest house too and was well worth it. The owners/associates for the home were more than helpful and accommodating leading up to our trip. So many memories for our little families were made. Ready to go back today!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We live for reviews and always appreciate that our guests recognize the extra effort and the amazing property that Bali Hi is. Our "sand box " is the private beach right at our beach-side door step with the children's swing set and play houses, etc.

Bali Hi loves families and families love Bali Hi; there is something for all
ages. Volley ball on the beach, fabulous pool and pool games, every sort of toys, horseshoes, bocci ball, indoor and outdoor; Bali Hi never fails to please. Thank you for noticing.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise captured

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 12, 2014

This home is so warm and inviting, from the moment you enter you feel like your home. The management team bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we wanted. My children loved the heated pool and the private playground, my husband and I loved the massive deck, we sat with a glass of wine and watched the kids play. The landscaping was like something out of a magazine, so vibrant and colorful. The owners showed up with a coconut that had sprouted and the kids got to plant their own coconut tree on the property. We look forward to coming back next year and see how much its grown.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation/Wedding

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

Our expectations were exceeded in every way by the setting, the service and the accommodations at Bali Hi. Our family vacation was perfect. The wedding was beautiful. The attention we received from the caretakers beyond compare. Thank you for sharing Paradise with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Reunions, family vacations, weddings and off site business conferences all have found one thing in common at Bali Hi estate, the property, location and beautiful estate house engenders a successful visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Golden Wedding

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

There were 14 people in our group, all ages, and all agreed it was the best place they had stayed, ever! And we have stayed at quite a few! There was so much space, so if you needed to get some peace and quiet, it was not a problem. The garden is fabulous, and I especially love the way it encircles the pool. The pool too was excellent, and much enjoyed. The barbecue was used almost every night, Bedrooms were all great, as were the public areas. Bali Hi is a most attractive home, and feels homely, rather than something out of a posh magazine where you might be afraid to sneeze! We had a wonderful party there to celebrate our golden wedding, with 40 guests plus ourselves, and everyone said it was the best party, the best venue, and much fun was had by all. Many of the guests wanted particulars of the house, and also friends of guests were also int,erested, so I hope you get further bookings from sone of them. The whole decking area was great, with so many places to eat together, and loads of places to sunbathe. And of course being right on the beach, with spectacular sunsets, was a total winner.


The answers to your questions alongside are: yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and . . . we fished off a nearby pier belonging to a friend, we kayaked, and we only ate out one night but the Green Flash was up to its usual high standard.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bali Hi estate is a great family venue for affairs such s your golden Wedding anniversary and many similar events.

We are thrilled when such goes so well. With all the added parking and the space 3 actress provides, we are never overcrowded and the opportunity for guests and families alike are numerous.

Our beautiful tropical gardens never fail to deliver outstanding pictures. We cherish them as much as our own. To read of all the fun activities from volleyball on the neach, horseshoes, bocci ball, and even softball games is delightful.

Space, beauty, flutes, sunsets, awesome family games! Sometimes guests are a little in awe of the many choices for toddlers to adults.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bali Hi is Unique

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

Bali Hi enables our extended family to have a truly "dream vacation." On a beach fronted by multi-million dollar homes, this unique property fits right in. It has a large home and a generous guest house. The generous pool is just steps away from the family room. And the Gulf beach is only a short, picturesque walk through classic sand dunes. In short, Bali Hi has it all! It's not unusual to see no one else on the beach within a quarter mile to either the left or the right. And the home is furnished with every amenity imaginable. Plus the owner and his staff are always ready to answer any question or meet any need. We've been coming to Bali Hi for ten years and have already reserved for next year. It our family's favorite week of the year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are always grateful for very satisfied guests. But, when a family comes for over ten years, we know we must be doing something right. We love having guests like these wonderful people from MN and others from UK, NZ, and Germany who have also come back for over ten years. It's more than just the validation, such guests remind us of why we enjoy being hosts.

Sharing our wonderful Bali Hi property and seeing the look of amazement on the faces of families like these makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Planting and naming coconut palms in our coconut ceremony leaves a long lasting memory both for guests and for our staff. And knowing the latest round of baby coco plantings is fruit of the palms planted by guests in 2004; well it doesn't get better than that!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful doesn't begin to describe it!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

This was so enjoyable and so needed! Beautiful doesn't begin to describe it! Thanks Bali Hi and our hosts too!! Everything was awesome and gorgeous. What a peaceful, relaxing oasis. Loved every moment.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful to be here for a 2nd time

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

It was wonderful to be here for a 2nd time (first time was in 2012) with our family of 3 generations (14 of us)...a perfect respite from our cold snowy winters in the Northeast and Northwest. We hope to respond to this beautiful spot next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an amazing experience!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We all had the most amazing time...pool, beach, beach, pool, sand, play, pool, beach. Not one of us could have asked for more. Thank you for making this place so completely wonderful. We will be back- Jennifer B.

As the grandmother of the 6 babies, I have to tell you what an amazing experience it was to be all together. It was magical, thank you! Dodi K.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Couldn't have asked for a more perfect place!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to bring our friends and family and get away from the cold. Gorgeous home, accommodations A+++. The extras from the remarkable landscaping, to the places to hang out, to the fab master bath, etc. Nacho is a gem to have as well and can't thank you enough for introducing us and taking care of us at Traditions. Best restaurant out of all we've dined at. Denys and crew so friendly and great job of mid-stay clean up. Thank you so very much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing time at bali Hi Estate.

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed with friends for a little less than a week. Bali Hi is amazing, clean, artistic with high quality and original paintings everywhere. Computers, outside speakers and so many seating venues, one has choices and choices. The inside has style, hi tech tv's and an old beach estate feel. I loved the wrap around porch. And, best of all the property has something for everyone: volley ball, horseshoes and beach chess as well as Bocci ball, but the pool is so awesome we played amny pool games. The beach is wide, white and wonderful. The tropical plantings are non-stop and totally over the top in color and variety. And, most importnt, we had the time of our lives. We are even thinking of getting married at Bali Hi and recommend the estate to all our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind review. We enjoyed having you as guests and look forward to your return visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Vacation

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Beautiful house, the food was amazing, the beach was so much fun. The kids wanted to take the pool home with them. The adults wanted to take the peace and the beauty home with them.
And the best -Dennis- His cooking was wonderful! Thank you to Dennis and crew!!!
We had everything we could want!
Thank you!!
What a terrific Christmas!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

The W's and Jake and Elizabeth G.
We had a fabulous wedding,much due to the very special location.
The house and grounds are wonderful and so comfortable to stay with in.
Nacho was so helpful.
The beach was great, everyone that came in was a part of the wedding said it was the most beautiful wedding they had EVER attended. We will send you pictures.
Happy new year!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Wedding!!!

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

What a perfect wedding we had at Bali Hi!
Everything we picture was exactly what it was. We had a wonderful wedding and the rest of our stay was was great. From dolphin watching to relaxing in the pool, it was as good as we could ever imagine. We are looking forward to a future stay.

Bobby, Abby and family

I absolutely loved BH! Sliding down the railings, looking for shells and of course playing with with my bigger and little sisters in the playground. Although I hurt myself in the pool, I sucked it up and kept swimming until it was pretty bad, but the worse part was that my sisters took all my stuff :-(

Liv (10 years old)

It was one of the best wedding/vacation I have had. The pool was amazing. It was really cool to be able to wake up early in the morning and walked down to the beach. ( I really woke up at 11 am every morning :-])My little sister and cousin( who are both 3) loved the playground. I personally loved the volleyball net. I loved everything except for the fact that I had to share a bed with my sister. But now we have to go back to Indiana where it is snowing. :-(
Bali Hi was very fun!!

Ryleigh (12 years old)

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun, Fun, Fun

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

This is our 3rd time here!! We have had tons of fun with our relatives! We will come again and have more fun!!!

Ben, 9 years old from DC

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect wedding Day!!!!

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

Perfect wedding day! PERFECT WEATHER, PERFECT SUNSET, PERFECT UNION.
Beautiful memories were created in this absolutely beautiful home and property. Thank you Mike and Nacho for all help and effort to make our day the best it could be.

Denise C. from OH

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Wedding!!!

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Words can't describe how perfect our wedding was here at Bali Hi. It was everything we imagine plus MORE...
It was truly the best weekend of our lives!!! Everybody had a blast and hopefully we can all return one day to celebrate again.
Fantastic scenery, fabulous weather, amazing friends, perfect memories!

Best wishes,

Megan and Will from MD

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Birthday Ever!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

My husband and children with their families surprised me with a 60th birthday surprise trip to Bali Hi! It has been a glorious time together and such a wonderful place to enjoy, all of our 7 granddaughters. They loved the beach, the playground, the pool as well as all the room to roam and be with their cousins. The adults are able to relax (sort of- with 7 little ones 5 and under!)and visit, watch the sunsets and eat delicious food.
Your lovely house made our stay all the more perfect setting for our family and we plan to come back. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

10th year in a row

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

We arrived at Bali Hi for the 10th year now and it is still a remarkable place that we look forward to visiting each year again and again. We had a wonderful two weeks with nearly non-stop sunshine and warm temperatures. Just about as perfect as it gets. The beach and sunsets were magnificent and staying around Bali Hi relaxing as every year.
We are already looking forward to next year when we will once again spend our annual vacation on Captiva and at Bali Hi.
Thanks for allowing us to stay here.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from Home

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

A year has passed since our wedding here at Bali Hi. The entire family returns to our "home away from home" for a week of celebrating family, friends + fun. We had a wonderful time once again + we look forward to our future stays! Thank you for opening your home to us for such a memorable vacation. We loved every moment of it.
See you soon! ( We hope sooner than later...)

Thank you for having us, we will see you again!!!

Duke, Missy, Hope, Maliyah and all family and friends from OH

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorable Stay

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This is your home, but night from the onset has feel like our home. A perfect setting for a comfortable, exciting and stress free vacation. The layout and furnishing of your house gave us all the freedom to relax in the way we all wanted.
This has been a really memorable stay... parties, wildlife, sport, storms, food
... the occasional glance of something special... everyone in our family wants to return. Thanks so much.

Rod and family from England

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

There were 15 of us ranging in ages 22 months to 60 years old and everyone of us had a wonderful time. The house has plenty of room as did the guest house. We enjoy the pool, volley ball net and of course the ocean. It has been one of the best vacation our family has had to date.
Thank you for sharing your house with us.

Melissa, Sharon, Pauline, Kim and family from West Virginia

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Family holiday at Bali Hi

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

How to describe Bali Hi, it was everything that the photos on the website described and more. The kitchen was a cooks dream, the beach was amazing, very natural that you felt you were totally secluded.
The pool, jacuzzi, wrap around decking worked brilliantly. Our party of 12 made use of everything, we actually didn't need to leave as the house was so perfect.
Tropical flowers and special trees added to the perfect holiday destination.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your outstanding review, we hope to see you back at Bali Hi estate.

So many guests tell us the pictures don't do Bali Hi justice, but it is hard to show all facets of 3 acres and 255' of gulf frontage and the great layout of how the house, pool and beach function together.

We enjoyed meeting various members of your large family and are thrilled that your family discovered so many of the things to do at Bali Hi.

We have repeat guests for ten years who also find so much to do that they seldom leave the estate once here. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Bali Hi

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Bali Hi is amazing. Lots of spaces for the younger adults to do things and get away from others. We all could relax and enjoyed the amazing views, plants and sea.
We all had a wonderful time, wish we lived here permanently!!!

Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Susan and family from England

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Welcome to Paradise!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Welcome to paradise, one of the best family vacation we have had. Plenty to do for everyone, the weather was perfect and the home fit our needs. We had a wonderful time.
Our sincere thanks.

Wayne and Kay from KS
Mark, Hillary, Simon, Gavin & Greyson from KS
Roger and Cheryl from TX
Carla and Jennifer from TX

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Picture perfect wedding!

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

What a beautiful home and memorable week! The perfect location for a picture perfect wedding! From the stunning sunsets to the green-eye bugs to the "glowing" sand to all the wildlife (lizards, dolphins, manatees, snails,turtles) to the sunset rainbow, we created memories to cherish forever!
Thank you for all the help pre-vacation and during the course of the week! We look forward to hopefully return to Bali Hi in future years!

A wonderful hopeful marriage began here on 5/26/13 with all our love. Carpe Diem!
TBTG!!

Richard, Nicole and family from New York

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second visit!

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

Our second visit was just as memorable as our first. What an ideal setting for a wonderful vacation with family.

Thanks again!!

Karen, Chris, Charlie and Chase from CT

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

A perfect week in a perfect place. The family again enjoyed your beautiful home and grounds in which I celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary. Look forward to a return performance!!
Love,

Jack, Jeanne and family from FL

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Bali Hi

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We had a great vacation at Bali Hi! The home was beautifully appointed! The pool and hot tub were especially enjoyable and I even had use for the fireplace one cool evening! We had my brother and fiance as well as our children and there was plenty of lounging space for all! Nacho was friendly and helpful any time asked!
thanks for a fabulous trip!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing and Romantic Home

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

What an amazing home! So well appointed and so many great places to lounge!
The pool + hot tub are beautiful! The kids love the kayaks, volleyball net. All the landscaping is like being at a botanical garden. The staff specially Nacho was so helpful and friendly. My brother asked his girlfriend to marry him while we were here, it's such a romantic place! :-) Hope to come back again soon!

Sonja and family from KY

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 9th straight year!

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Our 9th straight year at Bali Hi. We love it more each time. (Already reserved for next year-10th year in a row!)
Great place, thanks for your hospitality, Mike and the Captiva gang. (Special shout out to Nacho) Your personal touch and concern makes this wonderful place truly one-of-a-kind.
Hate to leave, can't wait to come back!
The Pope Family, MN.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This House is Amazing!

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

This house is amazing! Lots of great memories 2 years in a row. Hope to come back again.
Susan D.
Westerly, RI

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This House is Amazing!

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

This house is amazing! Lots of great memories 2 years in a row. Hope to come back again.
Susan D.
Westerly, RI

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Spot

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

In the past 2 weeks, friends and family have gathered in this magical spot to celebrate my 70th birthday and we all have had THE MOST WONDERFUL TIME! We're all from the North and immediately fell under the spell of Bali Hi. we'll treasure our memories of this very special, very beautiful place and of all of us being together.
Special thanks for making us fell so welcome!

Carolyn and John and our children, their husbands, wives and partners and grandchildren From VA, PA and ME

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Vacation

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Was a beautiful vacation spot. Worked out great!
Very beautiful spot.

Don and Debbie from IN

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 

What a property! Great escape. Amazing time in heart of Paradise, Gold coast.

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

Wanted for nothing, felt right at home. House is wonderfully designed and made for families of all ages. We had meetings in the many seating venues inside and out, but particularly felt the perfectly serene comfort of half a dozen outside spaces. Those who stayed in the guest house fell in love with its cozy intimacy. Modern communications and appliances in a retro beach home environment.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Surprise

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We arrived having spent 6 days at Disney/Universal Studios in much need of a place to chill out. We arrived in the dark so woke up to a wonderful surprise when we explored next morning. Location was perfect- Captiva and Sanibel both beautiful. The grounds of the house and its easy access to the beach made it perfect for each member of our varied age group. Use of the kayaks was a real plus as it allowed us to actually be out in the sea with the dolphins that swam by daily. We hired a boat from the quay and had luck to be followed by pods of dolphins jumping in the slipstream. It's crazy when the adults are shouting to the children to get out of the swimming pool as there are more dolphins in the sea but they have seen enough dolphins to not be bothered to come!!!
Pelicans were a joy to behold too, one seemed to welcome us by accompanying us (at head height) over the causeway as we arrived- having just left Disney, nothing seemed impossible!
Didn't eat out much but found supermarkets good. Sunshine Cafe served great food. Play equipment, volley ball nets, plenty of places to sit outside made it feel like we were staying at a hotel complex rather than a holiday rental. We had a fab time and would love to return. Thank you.

The Normans, Outens, and Gills, from the UK

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bali hi made our wedding just perfect!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Missy and I just wanted to say thanks! Bali hi made our wedding just perfect!

The help and support everyone gave us was beyond our expectations. Any problems that we did incur were handled in a very timely fashion!

We were even brought lotions and bug spray to try to help with the sand fleas. This was a gesture I felt was above and beyond! Your maintenance manager Nacho was truly an amazing help with EVERYTHING! Please give him our thanks!

Once again thanks to All!

Duke and Missy

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Memories

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We love this place! We love the house and beach, we are so sad to leave!. The highlight of the trip was finding a Junonia Shell, my daughters found it and were thrilled with their treasure.
Thank you for the awesome memories.

Craig and family from Arizona

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Celebrating Birthdays

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Celebrated Pat's 80th Birthday, Connie's 60th and Kristi's 35th Birthday. Family eating, playing, swimming, shelling and sharing the blessings of time and presence with each other. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 16 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Precious Time

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

The weather was stormy, sunny, wonderful. Some of the things we did were: shelling, built a gigantic sand castle dragon. We saw dolphins. We share precious time together.

Sandy and family from LaCrosse, WI

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

20th Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Bali Hi is a beautiful house and was perfect for my whole family, there were 15 of us and we were not on top of each other. The pool was so much fun and we had a at blast at the beach. Captiva is a beautiful place to visit and very laid back.
We did everything we could and more. Loved, loved the house. Party on!
Thanks the owner for the hospitality!

Family from New Jersey

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Beach House

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Our family enjoyed our stay at your lovely beach-house. This area has certainly changed in the past 25 years, but is still charming. We are on our way back with our fond memories, thank you.

Lester and Family from Florida

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Parents 50 years Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My Sisters and families, 16 in total, were here to celebrate my parents 50th anniversary. What a wonderful location to share such a blessed event! The main and guest house were the perfect size for our group, but it was the outdoors that were enchanting. My nephew, the 10 year old chess champion, loved the giant chess set! My sister the amateur birder, expanded her birding list, we had a photographer, she took pictures of the family one evening and we can not wait to see them. Denys Zuniga catered an amazing party for us the food was outstanding and it was an event we will never forget! Thanks for helping make this special occasion even more memorable with your lovely location!

George and Family from Texas

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Trip!

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Wonderful Trip! The pool was the center of the action for kids and adults alike. Fantastic memories of fishing on the beach and building sand castles. Had such fun cooking in the beautifully appointed kitchen. Loved the "footstool" for kids in the bathroom. Nacho was a big help with the pool temp and brought us amazing flowers. Thanks for such a grand time. We will never forget Bali Hi and hope we get to come back.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So difficult to leave this beautiful place

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

It is sooo difficult to leave this beautiful place. This has been our second stay in 5 years, and our love for Bali Hi and Captiva Island keep growing. The sign in front of the pool welcoming one and all to paradise is soooo appropriate. It truly has been a week in paradise for us. We hope to return to Bali Hi soon with more friends and family. Thank you for all your kindness and for creating such a wonderful place to dwell in for your guests.

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beauty, Charm and Ambiance

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Return visit to Bali Hi was as spectacular as the last time in 2008. We so enjoyed all the beauty, charm and ambiance of your lovely home and grounds. Of course, the grand kids lived in the pool. We just sat back and absorbed the surroundings, the weather was perfect, the sunsets awesome and everyday was magnificent. Thank you for your kindness and helpful suggestions and a big hug to Nacho for the beautiful flowers. Of course we look forward to our return in 2013

Jack K. of Palm Coast, FL

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

8th straight year at Bali Hi

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Extended family from Minnesota. This was our 8th straight year at Bali Hi, and there's still no place like it! Our grandchildren have (almost) literally grown up coming here each spring, so it's one of our family's established traditions. Owners are great hosts- like no other "landlord" in the world. We're signed up for 2013 and already cant wait.Thanks for everything.

Jeff P. of Edna, MN

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location on the beach

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

Had a wonderful time, great location on the beach for walking ans shelling of course. Lots of fun in the pool.

Harvey D. of Westerly, RI

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect spring break

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

6 adults and 7 kiddos, we had so much fun! The boys named the crane George, down at the ocean. They swear it was the same guy that showed up everyday while they were fishing in the ocean. The pool was perfect, the volleyball court brought a lot of laughs and popped several beach balls. and the hammocks were a hit for a few naps. This is a great house! The staff was very helpful- especially helping us with outdoor music. It was a perfect spring break that the kids will have great memories of forever. Thanks!

Troy M. of Johnson IA

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best house ever for a wheelchair!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Had a super time and the best house ever for a wheelchair! The two weeks flew and we really hate to see today come! Hope we can come back. Jean L. East Chatham, NY

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We think Bali Hi is indeed paradise

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

14 members of the family all together. We think Bali Hi is indeed paradise- The comfort, the beauty, the beach, the fabulously landscaped pool, the play areas, all contributed to a memorable and happy week for our family. -Paul B. Belmont, Mass.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything you could ask for.

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

What a wonderful place for a vacation and family get -together! Hospitality just oozes from every corner and we loved all the provisions for family fun, even down to the toddler. Bali Hi was all we needed for a refreshing time with our precious family! Thank you!
-Johnynne R of Texas

Bali Hi has everything you could ask for if you seek rest and full. -Robby A. age 12

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Favorite family vacation spot!

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

Favorite family vacation spot!!! second time we have been to Bali Hi and won't be our last. We loved every second.

I was so happy when we got here, I am so excited that we are so close to the beach.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our families are still talking about it

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

We want to thank you for your welcome and hospitality during our stay. We could not have asked for a more beautiful property for our wedding weekend. Our families are still talking about it. We are so happy with the way things turned out, and will always treasure our memories of Bali Hi.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Brilliant Holiday

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had a brilliant holiday at this lovely house. We all had a blast!!! The weather was so warm and delicious, we are so sad to be going home to shivery Scotland.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

90th Birthday celebration

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

one week of heaven here at Bali Hi! What a paradise for everyone!

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birthday and Thanksgiving Celebration!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

11 adults and 5 children gathered to celebrate papa's 80th birthday. What a treat! the weather was perfect and the house was loved by all. The kids rarely got out of the pool and the adults thoroughly enjoyed the beach. Some highlights included the dolphins that swam up to say hello and the baby shark that we cuaght and threw back, all in all a wonderful vacation.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See you again next year

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Again we had a wonderful vacation on Captiva. Got some rain at the beginning of our 2 weeks here, but as a result quite nice weather afterwards. Sunsets were beautiful as always at Bali Hi, and we found many nice shells. Like all the previous years we spend our autumn vacations at Bali Hi it was a good time. See you again next year.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the art- inside and out

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

What a beautiful home at the beach to share!
We loved the art- inside and out and the foliage surprised us. The paths through the dunes and different outdoor sunning areas are wonderful. We hope to be here next year with more of the family.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt like we were in a tropical Paradise

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Wow!! what a wonderful, relaxing vacation. Bali Hi is great for everything- swimming, fishing, shelling, chillin'. Your location is so convenient to all the shops and restaurants. We all felt like we were in a tropical paradise. Thanks for everything!!!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful, relaxing week

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We had a wonderful, relaxing week at Bali Hi. Everything you need for a great beach vacation is here- beach gear, toys, floats, umbrellas. Our biys (ages 7 and 4) appreciated the pool toys and sand pails. Such beautiful landscaping- one truly feels secluded in paradise. We all enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again soon,

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

enjoyed by all

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Our families all had a wonderful time! The house, beach, pool and all were greatly enjoyed by all. We have all traveled to Florida a number of times but none of us have had a more enjoyable stay.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Slice of paradise

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

This was our 3rd time staying at Bali Hi, and it was the Grannis' seconde. We invited the Barkers along and I think they may be come regulars as well.Just can't beat this little slice of paradise! "Bali Hi will call you any night, any day..." (musical note)

Had a great time in the pool, playing in the sand at the beach, kayaking and flying kites. the weather was perfect! Hope to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

celebrated an engagement and a birthday!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This was our fist visit to Bali Hi with a family of 21. We had a great time at the beach, pool and enjoying this beautiful house. The weather was perfect for jet skiing, fishing and biking. We were able to celebrate an engagement and a birthday. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Memories

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Our third spring vacation as a family of 17 with age ranges of 72 to 1 and a half. Again Bali Hi was perfect for our family. The only place we have been where everyone can be happy all the time. In fact no one wants to leave to go out for dinner!!! That has never happened before Bali Hi. The space, the beauty, all the facilities offered are wonderful for grandchildren ranging from 1 and a half to 14. They swam, played games in the pool- played Bocci Ball and football and la cross in the sand. The little ones used the playground. We rode the waves int he ocean, built sandcastles and played baseball on the beach. The kayaks were terrific too. Thank you again, great memories.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 7th Visit to Bali Hi

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

Our 7th visit with all 11 family members. We started with 4-9 year olds and now we have 10-15 year olds. The kids use every inch of Bali Hi. Pool, volleyball, little cabin, beach, toys, games, TVs...it is their favorite week of the year!

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is Paradise

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

Thanks for the call to check on our happiness! We love it here. This is paradise. The landscaping is perfect. The beach and house placement are fabulous! What a lovely time we've had.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Vacation

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Thank you for a lovely vacation! We ranged in ages from 2 to 90 and there was plenty of fun for everyone! we loved the pool & hot tub, the games in the sand, the kids played in the playground and of course the beauty of sunsets and gorgeous plantings through out the property is immensely comfortable, fun and relaxed. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation Ever!!!!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

We looked high and low on the internet for the perfect vacation spot- we wanted somewhere warm and beautiful for some special family time together. We were so excited to find an open week and were totally blown away to find Bali Hi is even more incredible than it appears!! Beautiful house, pool, lovely grounds, play area- ocean at your door. Just fantastic!! the staff made sure everything was just perfect. The attentiveness to our needs was amazing, thank you so much

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Returning Next Year

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful property with us...it is totally perfect for a family. You have provided "toys" for all ages- from toddlers on up. We particularly loved the horseshoes, Bocci Ball and Volleyball. The weather was also picture perfect. We hate to leave and will look forward to returning next year.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

family vacation at Bali Hi

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

Our family of 10 grandchildren and two sets of parents joined us for a wonderful week at Bali Hi. We were impressed with the attention to the details of hospitality, especially welcoming to families with little children! It was a dream of a vacation for all of us, especially the privacy of the beach areas, pool, and playground. The floorplan made handling our large crowd very pleasant, with two living areas near the kitchen and the open plan kitchen and family room area. We recommend Bali Hi to anyone wanting a tropical getaway!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Garney and Carolyn's 50th Anniversary

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Garney and Carolyn celebrated their 50th Anniversary with children Andrew & Garney III, their spouses, Bryan and Bath Anne, and their grandchildren Laura, Caroline, Brennan, Rachel, Andrew, and Ethan. We all agree that Bali Hi is that special island that's saying "Come to me, come to me!" What a lovely experience this has been with so many amenities and something wonderful for all ages. We have memories that will last a lifetime.

Mike, thank you for the delicious cake you sent over and the promptness with which you handled the AC issue.

Helpful votes: 17 / 21

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The new Mr. and Mrs. Keck and family

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

This was our 4th time to Bali Hi, we usually visit in the fall but decided to come in May for our wedding. We were married on Friday May 21 on the beach first before sunset. Everything was perfect! Mike and his staff went above and beyond to ensure that it was perfect! A special thanks to Nacho for all his hard work! We are in love with this place and can't wait to get back!

The new Mr. and Mrs. Keck and family

Oswego, Illinois

Helpful votes: 14 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

Shangri-La!

Helpful votes: 12 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

Wonderful weather holiday and home... thanks for making it perfect for us all!
Best in 09!

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

We had a spectacular time at Bali Hi, which afforded many opportunities for family fun. Your home is both beautiful and joyfully livable.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2009

Dear Mike,
It was a shame we could not properly say goodbye to thank you for your hospitality, great service, and the wonderful house & garden. We have had a great two weeks and have really had a superb Captiva style holiday.

Thanks and see you soon

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2009

A fantastic home and a wonderful surroundings. We have had an amazing time here thank you very much for the experience

The most amazing stay and wonderful wedding venue. We all enjoyed ourselves so much.

A great spot for a wedding. A truly great day was had by all & a great home for sharing with the family. Maybe see you again for our anniversary some time.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2008

We had a wonderful family Thanksgiving holiday - we all rented homes on Captiva -- but ours was the most beautiful and everyone wanted to be here! We had 4 generations oldest 85 youngest 10 months. A family vacation of a lifetime. Thank you :)

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2008

Thanks for another great year! Weather was a little chilly at times but the pool was sooo warm!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2008

This was an absolutely wonderful week. We enjoyed a Friday night Fiesta with many family and friends for the rehearsal dinner. A sunset wedding on Saturday could not have been more perfect. So much to do I cannot even find time to write a full story in this guest book.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

It was wonderful. From 4 years to 60 years old we all fell in love.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

What a wonderful vacation we had! We cannot wait to come back again! This is a true find…Thank you for a taste of paradise.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed this lovely home. The kids loved the pool and the shells on the beach were exceptional.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

This is our second year as a family of 8 adults, 8 children, and one baby enjoying all the amenities of Bali Hi! Again it was perfect for our family. The location of the pool is perfect for everyone! Watching the children play pickup football & lacrosse from the porch while the younger ones swing and use the playhouse was terrific. Excitement at the beach - the boys caught 3 small sharks and will never stop talking about that! The adults saw stingrays while kayaking! Again our children didn't want to leave here to do anything else. We had a wonderful time! Fabulous memories!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

This is always our favorite family week of the year! The 5th straight year we've been at Bali Hi. We love the place, the house, the staff, and all your do - Mike and the Gang - to make it first class! We've already booked for 2011 - only 51 weeks to wait. This is the greatest!

Thanks for everything,
The 17 members of the extended Pope Family

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

This is our second year as a family of 8 adults, 8 children, and one baby enjoying all the amenities of Bali Hi! Again it was perfect for our family. The location of the pool is perfect for everyone! Watching the children play pickup football & lacrosse from the porch while the younger ones swing and use the playhouse was terrific. Excitement at the beach - the boys caught 3 small sharks and will never stop talking about that! The adults saw stingrays while kayaking! Again our children didn't want to leave here to do anything else. We had a wonderful time! Fabulous memories!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

This is always our favorite family week of the year! The 5th straight year we've been at Bali Hi. We love the place, the house, the staff, and all your do - Mike and the Gang - to make it first class! We've already booked for 2011 - only 51 weeks to wait. This is the greatest! Thanks for everything, The 17 members of the extended Pope Family

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Review submitted: November 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 8, 2009

Since 2004 we are coming back every year in the autumn for a two or three week vacation. This year we have been at Bali Hi from October 3rd to October 17th, 2009. Living in Germany in the vicinity of Hanover, Lower Saxony, it is quite a long way. But all members of my family have decided it is worthwhile. Bali Hi is a secluded luxury home on the beachfront with no stress from traffic noise, neighbours or tourists in the middle of an intact environment. In the morning there are times you are alone with the nearby nesting Osprey and other birds on the beach. Shelling is amazing.Nevertheless you have nice restaurants with live music only some minutes away. On Sanibel there are more remarkable restaurants (such as Doc Ford´s), two supermarkets and other shops. Outlets and Malls on the mainland are in striking distance. So everyone in my family finds what he likes and it doesn’t get boring. This year kayaking and the hi-speed wireless DSL, playing internet games with his German friends, were highly appreciated by my younger son.Next year we will be back.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Review submitted: August 29, 2009   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

We have been visitors to Captiva every summer for the past 25 years. Bali Hi offered the more conveniences and ameneties than we have ever experienced before. There was no need to bring anything other than food and clothing. It is truly a heavenly place to spend time with family. We were able to accomodate all our kids and grandkids and still had room for more.I guess we need more grandkids!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 27, 2009   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

We had a spectacular time at Bali Hi, which afforded many opportunities for family fun. Your home is both beautiful and joyfully livable.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 9, 2009   Date of arrival: May 9, 2009

Dear Mike, it was a shame we could not properly say goodbye to thank you for your hospitality, great service, and the wonderful house & garden. We have had a great two weeks and have really had a superb Captiva style holiday.Thanks and see you soon

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2009   Date of arrival: April 21, 2009

A fantastic home and a wonderful surroundings. We have had an amazing time here thank you very much for the experienceThe most amazing stay and wonderful wedding venue. We all enjoyed ourselves so much. A great spot for a wedding. A truly great day was had by all & a great home for sharing with the family. Maybe see you again for our anniversary some time.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 27, 2008   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

Wonderful weather holiday and home... thanks for making it perfect for us all!Best in 09!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 29, 2008   Date of arrival: November 29, 2008

We had a wonderful family Thanksgiving holiday - we all rented homes on Captiva -- but ours was the most beautiful and everyone wanted to be here! We had 4 generations oldest 85 youngest 10 months. A family vacation of a lifetime. Thank you :)

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 22, 2008   Date of arrival: November 22, 2008

Thanks for another great year! Weather was a little chilly at times but the pool was sooo warm!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 8, 2008   Date of arrival: November 8, 2008

This was an absolutely wonderful week. We enjoyed a Friday night Fiesta with many family and friends for the rehearsal dinner. A sunset wedding on Saturday could not have been more perfect. So much to do I cannot even find time to write a full story in this guest book.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review