reviews for: listing #26559 - Northstar, California House rental

Free Day Stay Northstar Tahoe Resort Luxury Golf Course Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Northstar Resort
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $700 /nt
    $1,200 - $5,000 /wk
    $4,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Remodelled, clean, comfortable, great value

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

We have stayed at this house several times. we enjoyed it before, but really like the new look! the new granite is stylish. We enjoyed sitting on the new patio and deck watching the golfers . We have always found the house clean and comfortable. the bedspreads and furniture are continually updated. no throwbacks to the 80s! The kitchen is well stocked.We love the fact we can jump on the shuttle and be at the rec center or the village within minutes. We also brought our dog and took her for walks on the extensive trail system in and around Northstar. The pricing is very good (we procrastinated, but were lucky and the house was available and were able to qualify for a last minute stay) and the owners are great to work with! We would definitely recommend the house. We love Northstar in the summer and enjoy coming back to this property. for restaurants we like Stella, Cottonwood, and PJs (I think that was the name of the restaurant at Grays Landing Golf Course).

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unclean and utilities not fully functional

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

I rented this house for my family July 4th celebration. It was dirty! The cabin was so dusty the poor newborn baby we had with us sneezed again and again every time we put him on the floor in the baby bouncer. The microwave didn't work. What an inconvenience!! It lost power and then when the power came back, it didn't heat anything. The kitchen lights flicker off and on, the kitchen cabinets were sticky/dirty to the touch and the house was full of spiders and cobwebs. It was really disgusting. It was clear that no one had been in the cabin for months because there were still flannel sheets on the beds during the warmest month of the year. I was embarrassed that I rented this property for my family. The owners took no responsibility for the inconveniences we experienced on our vacation. We've rented much cleaner and nicer places than this place in Northstar. Spare yourself from this one and have a trouble-free vacation!

Owners response: We take every comment from a guest very seriously.  Fortunately, we get very few complaints especially when considered in proportion to the number of rentals we have.  Furthermore, we do make adjustments and corrections as necessary. But every once in a while, we receive what we feel are spurious complaints. Exclusively, these unwarranted ones come with demands for unjust refunds. We refused to give in to a demand for money in return for not giving a bad review. This guest had already received a discount from our normal rate.  The house was cleaned thoroughly the week before after the last guests left.  We then had it inspected and touched up again less that 24 hours before these guests' arrived.  The main complaint forwarded to me initially was the existence of a spider, its web, and dust.  I do not believe that much dust could have accumulated within that 24 hour period. However, this is a house in the woods and small insects on occasion do come into the house.  But we do not employ staff to stand-by awaiting calls to remove spiders. To do so would put the cost of renting the house out of reach of most people.  The guest next complained she was not able to use the built-in microwave to pop popcorn.  She was upset when we refused to call an electrician.   We did so for two reasons: one, to call out an electrician on a holiday would have cost more that a new built-in microwave, and two, the part would have had to be ordered and would not have arrived until after her departure.  She was only there for four nights. Had this been a furnace, the stove or a water heater, for instance, there would have been no question of sending for a tradesman, but popcorn can be popped on the stove or bought pre-popped. In an attempt to trouble shoot the problem over the phone, I asked her to check to make sure it was plugged in.  She balked at doing that simple task.  At the end of her stay, she demanded compensation disproportionate to the problem: an amount almost 2/3 the cost of the nearly new microwave plus an amount for dusting and taking care of the spider.  She also had listed several other items she had never mentioned before.  When she wrote her review, she embellished it even further.  If progressively worsening comments weren’t so malicious, they would be laughable. The guests following her were extremely complimentary in their praise of the house when they encountered our cleaning service upon departure as did the vast majority of VRBO & HomeAway previous guests!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

excellent rental - clean, comfy and well-equipped

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

this was my 3rd rental in the Northstar area - easily the best; owners were great to work with, everything was exactly as described on the website - bedrooms were awesome (flat-screens above the beds!) - kitchen had everything we needed + more (blender, food processor, mixer) to cook some family-style meals; you get access to an awesome HOA facility/pool/gym (NOPA rec center) - 3 minutes from the mountain and right on the golf course - we will rent here again when we return to Northstar in the winter

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wedding week-end

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. The house is very comfortable and the 3 decks look out on a pretty view. Kitchen has everything you need to cook. It was quite warm out but the house stayed cool and even at night there was good ventilation. Would definitely recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We hosted 8 people for a ski vacation and had a wonderful time. The home is comfortable, the beds are good, the great room is lovely with views of pine trees and on the golf course. The size of the home is just right for that many guests. I was surprised at how well it was supplied with tools for cooking. We enjoyed all of our meals there.
The home is well maintained in an upscale neighborhood. The location would be excellent for a golfing vacation or ski holiday. The shuttle service to the lifts, village and recreation center is prompt and made it easy for us to get to the mountain without the hassle of driving. The owner was helpful in making this a memorable stay for our family. I would recommend this home to friends who are looking for a great house, in a beautiful setting with wonderful amenities.
We love Northstar and would love to rent the home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice owners, property needs some TLC, cute decor, great location

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Dee and Gordon are very nice people and responsive when we called.

Good: The home is in a nice area of Northstar. The snow blowers and equipment come by regularly to clear the roads after it snows. SHuttle to the resort. Cute CA cabin style decor on the walls. Comfortable place to stay. We left the house very clean and they refunded our security deposit very quickly. A good price for the location and number of bedrooms.

Bad: Kitchen cabs are almost falling apart, lots of junk in the drawers and it seems like almost every drawer in the house is a junk drawer, we had some plumbing issues during our stay. The cleaners do not do a great job cleaning and we had to clean up a lot of dust bunnies and sticky cereal on the kids' comforters. But we're very clean people who take our shoes off. If you wear your shoes in your house you probably will think it's a clean house. If you have kids you'll be very busy watching them 24/7 since the loft railing has a big space where a kid could fall out. The owners told me about this but I neglected to bring any netting to cover the space so it was stressful constantly having to watch the two year old. You also have to be careful not to trip when you round the corner by the top of the stairs; I could see how a less than careful person could trip and maybe fall down the stairs.

Owners response: We agree with the Good - great location, affordable, comfortable and cute house, great value and very attentive owners.

We respectively disagree with the Bad regarding cabinets, cleanliness, and most of all a 3 star rating.

Immediately upon these guests departure, the house was professionally cleaned by the same service that cleaned before they arrived. The same service we have had for five years with no complaints. Later that day new guests arrived. Upon their departure they told us that they had a very enjoyable vacation and thoroughly enjoyed Norhstar and the accommodations. Their was no mention of any issues with cabinets, junk, plumbing or cleanliness. Their comments are consistent with past guest reviews (a sampling of which is shown under our previous reviews).

We also personally visited the property to investigate. We inspected the cabinets, checked the cleanliness and other issues mentioned. None was found consistent with the negative comments posted.

As a future guest, you need to draw your own conclusions. We can personally assure you that you will be delighted if you choose our home for your Norhstar Resort vacation and look forward to having you as guests.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfection Northstar Tahoe Resort Vacation Home

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2008

> Date: Friday, December 12, 2008, 9:59 AM
> Hi Gordon,
> I meant to email to tell you how much we enjoyed staying at
> your vacation home. It was perfect in regards to location.
> We would love to stay there again. I will keep your email
> address for the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Neighbors, Shuttle, Northstar Tahoe Resort

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2009

> First and foremost keep your neighbors to the north!
> (Karen?) They were so
> nice to us and their dog Poppy (a one year old yellow lab)
> kept Jasper our
> one and a half year old Portuguese Water Dog company and on
> one occasion
> they had him at their house until we got back from the
> slopes which brings
> me to the most important thing.
> We absolutely loved Northstar. The call and come pick you
> up shuttle bus
> was beyond perfect! We used a service called Black Tie Ski
> Rental which
> came to your door and rented us skis, boots, snowboard etc.
> The price was
> only a few bucks more than renting in the village.
> Amazing! They were truly
> great and I can't recommend the no hassle factor
> enough!!!! We have friend
> who has a locker at the Premiere Club? so we were able to
> store all our gear
> at the base which was really great!
>
> Again we had a great time. We'll be back if there is
> some more snow and the
> kids have a long weekend off! It was wonderful to have
> some family time in
> the snow.
> Thank you so much for your hospitality. I felt we had good
> communication
> and it was a successful rental relationship. I hope you
> found everything in
> order upon your return.
>
> All the best,
> Alison

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just in Time Snow Enjoyed Stay, Northstar Tahoe

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 25, 2009

> Date: Sunday, January 25, 2009, 7:33 PM
> Gordon,We enjoyed our stay at your Northstar rental. The
> snow level fell on Saturday evening. From Truckee to 4000
> feet, chain control was in effect. We need the snow/rain so
> we're not complaining. BTW, the cleaners may mention
> that an infant gate was left - we've got another so feel
> free to keep it or toss it.Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Greetings, Wonderful Cabin, Enjoyed Stay Northstar

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

Subject: cabin rental
To: "Gordon Kingsley"
Date: Tuesday, December 15, 2009, 1:46 PM


Greetings Gordon!
Just a note to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay in your wonderful cabin. Hope all is well.
We look forward to visiting again sometime in the future.
Thanks,
Scott

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time Northstar Tahoe Ski & Snowboard Resort

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Hi Gordon!
We loved your home and had a terrific weekend, and are already planning our next visit!!

R.D.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer Bliss

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Nothing compares with staying within the Northstar Resort. Thank you for sharing your lovely home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review