reviews for: listing #26560 - Captiva Island, Florida Cottage rental

Coquina Romantic/On Beach Cottage, Gold Coast-We luv pets
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Captiva Gold Coast
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $780 /nt
    $2,400 - $5,500 /wk
    $8,000 - $21,000 /mth

sort by:

Greatest visit and we're coming back again!

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

On beech, Close to Gulf, shelling great, gardens-wow. Smallish, but great for 2-4 adults in each suite or 4 and 4 kids.

Charming, clean, per friendly, but not aware of prior pets. Artistic. .. I could go on, and on. But, I must comment on next sunsets and tropical gardens fur a private residence. And, a real bargain for on back. .. really on beach. They Take care and the service, etc. reflects that. Shabby chic rules for real. And honeymooners rule!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our guests love being right on the beach and surrounded by our tropical gardens. The magnificent views of the Gulf waters and its close proximity are what this cottage and one acre property is all about. We filled the cottage and landscape with beautiful sculptures, mosaics, art pieces and lovingly planted an artful landscape that is always in flower. In just never dawned on us how attractive that would be to professional and budding artists; we just wanted it to be beautiful. The property talks to us and we simply listen. One recent artistic guest told us the property acted as her muse. The six senses were touched by the beauty and art surroundings. She and her husband touched the velvety softness of certain plants and leaves; the smell of gardenias, the smell of jasmine and many other scents were inspiring; the various fruits that are available at certain times appealed to the tastes, the sounds of surf, birds, crickets, etc. were music to them and lastly, the views from sunup to sundown, the water, the sun, the animals the surf, etc. All six senses are intoxicated with the grandeur of this special spot on the beach. Our artist's husband gave us the idea and added, " Coquina Cottage appealed to his sense of economy and love." The affordable price and the private cozy atmosphere hit the bell in both areas. We love our guests; and love that they keep on coming back. Thanks friends, we love to see your creativity. :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Wonderful!

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

Our stay at Coquina Cottage was perfect. We stayed for our honeymoon. The cabin was just what we expected and more. The seclusion provided at Coquina cottage is more than any other beachfront on the Gulf side. Most of the plants were blooming during our stay and the smell was heavenly. We saw lots of wildlife..birds, dolphins, manatees, lots of fish and crabs, and of course the anoles. We brought our jet skis and took many trips both into Pine Island Sound and the Gulf coast and observed breathtaking views of landscape and wildlife from north Captiva and many small sandbars and islands throughout. We collected many shells, tried some fishing and exploring (Ding Darling was excellent), and grilled some of our catch on the lovely gas stove. We loved the outdoor shower, which was secluded enough to shower fully by way of Coquinas beautiful vegetation. There was ample parking for our truck and dual jet ski trailer. The marina was within walking distance and the employees were very helpful. Everywhere we went people were friendly, and almost everything is within walking distance. We met Mike on the way out, congratulations on your new arrival Mike, and we had a lovely chat and he sent us with a few plants to take home and pot. We loved the island life here and can't wait to return. Thank you everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible Week in Paradise

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

We have 6 kids ages 4 to 18, and we all had a wonderful time at the Coquina Beach Cottage. Our favorite was the beautiful,private garden. We ate lunch every day in what our kids named the "secret garden". The hot tub was a common hang out when we weren't in the ocean, and mornings in the hammock were like a slice of paradise. It felt like our own private, tropical island. Proximity to the beach was perfect. We set up the Tommy Bahama umbrellas that were provided and walked back and forth throughout each day from the beach to the cottage for snacks and meals. Truly a vacation where we returned relaxed, recharged, and anxious to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The most amazing reviews are written for Coquina Cottage and such kind guests are very much appreciated. Our Coquina Gardens on the beach seem to inspire creativity. We've had poems written about the cottage and several different little nooks have gained names by so many guests. Two of our sitting areas have been named the north and south grottos respectively. Still another is now the secret garden. Artists love Coquina and often say various r elements served as their muse for paintings and clay sculptures and other compositions. Our own prized art collection has been occasionally supplemented by various paintings and molded clay objécts de art left by visiting artists and families.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best kept Secret

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 24, 2014

Enchanting, lovely, not a resort! If you are looking for a get away from it all then Coquina is IT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our secret garden...

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Coquina Cottage is nestled in a cocoon of luscious tropical plants that create an amazingly private retreat! We love it here! This is our second visit and we have already booked our next stay. I enjoy painting watercolors and the inspiration of the landscape here and the beach keep me engaged for hours. Riding bikes along the bike path is a daily ritual for us. The beach is beautiful, especially first thing in the morning with a cup of coffee. Wonderful restaurants are within walking distance, but it's hard to leave when you have access to so many beautiful spots to sit and dine right here while watching the sunset. The cottage is very clean and comfortable and the owners and staff are generously hospitable and kind. Thanks for everything…we look forward to our return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We often say the property is our canvas! Artists, nature lovers and gardeners are among the many who love this property.

Thanks to these repeat guests who reaffirm our living care of the natural gift of Coquina Cottage and Gardens. We love their creative spirit. : )

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Honeymoon

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon and couldn't of been happier. It was in such a beautiful almost private beach house. The house its self and the back yard is very private. You can hear people next-door but can't see them. The actually beach part is not very populate, you don't see many people in your area. I love the feel of the beach house and am so happy we went with this and not a hotel. We didn't want to leave! I am hoping we will have the time and money to come back - if so we would love to rent this place again. This location is perfect for groups, friends, family, pets, and even romantic getaways. I absolutely loved the house, the view, the beach, and the ocean. It was wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: With a full tropical acre on the nicest Captiva beach and over 100 ft. Of gulf-front, we are not surprised when honeymooners fall in love with this cottage.
Set right at the gateway of the Captiva "estate zone" Coquina Cottage affords more privacy than most other Captiva properties. Usually called the "gold coast" and at times, the " platinum mile", this cottage is located in a private exclusive area. A rare find for Captiva's "gold coast," this very affordable cottage is unique.
Coquina cottage is a smaller accommodation with a huge and unmatched view of the ocean, gardens and sunset. Two private spaces of air conditioned comfort, within one cottage, offers guests budget oriented choices. Choose to have 400 or 800 square feet based on needs and budget. The cottage is almost always rented to a single family, even if we have to leave one studio suite empty.
There are no streets to cross, no beach front neighbors to the South for several hundred yards. And the neighbors to the north are screened out with awesome landscaping.
You'll love the privacy and the gardens even more!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exquisite gardens

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary at this romantic cottage. It is right on the beach, the shelling was the best I've ever seen. The views, sunset and lush landscaping were private and tranquil. I cannot wait to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tropical Paradise

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

It was our second stay at Coquina Cottage. The location is prime, beautiful ocean views and an acre of trees and plants affords privacy. The cottage was clean, comfortable and well maintained; amenities are bountiful. We were welcomed by Nacho at check in, later by the owner. We highly recommend this property. It's the perfect place! Nearby activities, attractions, shopping and restaurants. What more could one want? We look forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I wish I could bottle this place up, take it with

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

The week went by too fast! My husband and I stayed in the upper suite and my parents stayed below. Everything we needed was provided to us and we enjoyed almost all of our meals out on the patio together. The dolphins swam by on many occasions. We loved the birds at Ding Darling and all of the friendly people on the island. My aunt and uncle came to visit us on two evenings, and we stayed outside and played the ukulele and sang songs while we relaxed and chatted. Everyday we were amazed at a different beautiful sunset. On Sunday night, we made a pile of snacks and watched the Super Bowl up here, that was a treat. We enjoyed the hot tub, the hammock and the seashell hunting nets, but most of all relaxing with the view and the warm weather. We head back to snow and subzero temps today- but I wish I could bottle this place up and take it with me.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Coquina

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 5, 2014

This cottage is excellent, the location is lovely and we had absolutely no complaints. Captiva Island is very pretty and there are tons of things to do. Good restaurants are within walking distance including the Mad Hatter and the Sunshine Grill, both of which are good.

Owners response: Thank you Marten, we loved having you. Coquina is convenient to the gulf and the Santiba village stress. Both restaurants you cite are great, but next time you have to try the Lazy Flamingo also; it's right next door to the others. More casual, less expensive and no reservations accepted, but otherwise a great pub atmosphere with family orientation.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Best New Year Ever!

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

I would like to add to my submitted review. We saw dolphins daily if not multiple times a day! A special treat . . . dolphin pups with their mothers frequently visited. The beach was virtually private. The owners were very accomidating to our special circumstances. Thank you for that.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We were pleased to have your family and hope you'll stay with us again in the future.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Coquina fun

Review submitted: March 1, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

special spot, lovely patio and quick walk to the beach; very responsive management staff.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thank you for your review. For readers, the property is actually right on the nicest beach in Captiva; no streets to cross, no traffic to avoid, just one step off the porch and you are in beach sand.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Week

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We had a fantastic week, the cottage was perfect for us as always! Thank you for having us again :-)

Ellen from MO

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Starting a great new year!

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We started out the new year in your home and what a great start it was. We have never had the priviledge of being so close to the beach for a vacation! We felt so safe and private. We have 7 littles and the two youngest would even run around naked sometimes. In the chaos of the season on this island, we felt like we were the only ones here when we stayed at your home, you provided everything we needed and the your gardener was very friendly. Thank you for allowing us to stay.

Rhonda and family from IL

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lots to see

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

We had high hopes for this trip and our hopes were met. We spent lots of time at Ding Darling and other day trips such as to Cayo Costa. Mike went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and that we got to see lot of great birds. This morning the dolphins are really busy out from here. Hope to come again.

Tom and Gail from MO

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Coquina Beach Cottage

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

When we found the listing on-line it looked like the perfect spot. When we arrived we knew it was the perfect spot! Mike, Coquina's owner was there when we arrived. He had just stopped by to be sure we had everything we needed. Personal service doesn't get any better than that! The grounds were lushly planted and amazingly private. The view of the sunset from the cottage balcony was incredible...there couldn't be a better spot on the island to watch the sun setting than from Coquina's balcony or beach. The cottage was cozy, the view astounding. We found the serenity we were seeking!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Coquina Cottage

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

Excellent Wedding/Honeymoon Destination. Small, but comfortable quaint cottage with all the privacy you'll need. Beautiful back area/secluded from everything and wonderful beach access. Hardly any noise. Very peaceful and relaxing. Would be great for small families as well. Only thing missing was a big ceiling fan outside under the back patio.
Thank you guys. It was a great wedding and honeymoon stay for us. We will definitely be back. And thank you for the bottle of champagne. Very sweet of you. We had mimosas for 2 days! :)
p.s. Nacho was very kind and helpful when we needed assistance with the hottub.
Also great to meet you too David. Nice of you to take the time to come over and meet us. Very thoughtful. Take care.
CrysKel S.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunset Wedding

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

We had an amazing stay in your Cozy Cottage! We don't want to go home!
We had the most romantic and perfect wedding on the beach at sunset. We would not have picked a more beautiful spot. We hope to come back to make some more wonderful memories. We are so thankful we found this place!

Kelly and Crystal from KY

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise

Review submitted: November 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Paradise!!!
Once we arrived, there was no need to leave. Everything is right here. I didn't even mind to turn 60 :-)

Donette and David from NC

This is our second time returning to Coquina, first for our wedding 3 years ago, and now for my mom's 60th birthday. Your name never disappoints, from the luscious gardens to all the amenities. We will certainly be back. Thank you for everything.

Casey from NC

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Treasure

Review submitted: November 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

What a lovely treasure... Coquina Cottage!
Just what I needed.
Thanks to all who contribute to making this place so special.

Donna from OH.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most Memorable time

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

We had such a wonderful time and this will be the most memorable time at the beach for both of us.
This cottage is so cozy and warm that we felt at home.
We thank you for your hospitality and kindness.
Best regards,

Dolly and Lis from FL.

P.S
The wine was excellent.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful View

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We really appreciated being able to spend time on the beautiful island of Captiva! We live minutes from the causeway bridge and decided to rent the cottage for a weekend away from home. We had a wonderful time, the property was very quiet and secluded and we enjoyed relaxing on the porch watching the birds and enjoying the amazing view. We are so thankful to be able to enjoyed a bit of paradise, we hope to one day own a home on the beach just like this. We hope to be back soon!!!

Paul,Erin and the dogs from Florida

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun Spot

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

What a fun spot! Can't beat beach front with all the great outdoor spots to hang out. Best of all, we could bring our furry friend, Roxy, we had a blast!!!

Kimberly and family from FL

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

What a wonderful vacation.... worth every penny!!! I brought my 3 children for a long awaited family vacation, we were NOT disappointed :-) We enjoyed the kayaks everyday and had tons of fun fishing from the kayaks early in the morning, enjoyed the Netflix and there are many games in the drawer upstairs, lots of shelling, we can't wait to make a custom lamp with the shells we found to forever remember our trip. *** Go to the beach late at night and star gaze!!! *****
Thank you Mike and crew for having such a wonderful cottage to share with others, we loved it.

My sister and I had an amazing time up here, our dad & brother took the downstair unit, it was one of the best family vacation we've had in a long time. Great location, homelike full of amazing amenities. The week went so quickly, we don't want to leave!! We just were getting started.
Thank you for a wonderful stay, and to the next visitors, ENJOY!!!:-)

Sincerely,
Tom and Family from OH

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Quality

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We found a place we didn't know we were looking for. Thanks very much!
The call of the "Heron" was what lead me here, and my hunch was right! The setting here is serene and peaceful, which allowed us to be especially inspired through clay art and painting during our stay. The luscious garden has a magical quality and we've been enjoyed walking to i each day. Both the sunsets and our host hospitality have been outstanding!!!! Thank you, we would love to return.

Derry and Rick from Florida

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Vacations

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Randy was a wonderful host. We enjoy his kindness and vast knowledge of plants. We love it here at the Coquina Cottage. The gardener was incredible! Accommodating + polite.
The 2 weeks were perfect here. Just a lovely setting + great vacation had by all of us. Many thanks to all!

Kathy and Greg from Texas

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Property

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

Thanks you so much for having such a beautiful property. You have thought of everything needed for a beach stay!
Very private, very shabby chic! Perfect for our family of 6! we will be back!

Cory and family from MO

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful and Serene

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! The cottage lived up to all of my expectations. This area is so peaceful and serene. Wish we could stay longer and hope to return next year!!!

Jeannie and family from LA

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Time

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

We had an amazing time here; it was very peaceful and private. This was one of our favorite vacations. We hope to come here again soon! This house is beautiful and very clean and the place was perfect :-) We will miss it here!


Ariane and Alfonso from PR

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Peaceful Place

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

We sure enjoy our time here in Captiva. What a wonderful, peaceful place! we had a great vacation with our friends and enjoy staying at Coquina Cottage. Your gardens are beautiful and the beach was great for shelling and sunsets! Thank you so much!

Mike and Diane from Colorado

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Captiva! Thanks to this beautiful place! We love the shelling, kayaking and dolphins sightings. The sunsets were amazing! This was one of our more relaxing vacations. Thanks for everything.

Lorie, Judy, and Gen from NY

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful vacation and your warm hospitality! what a terrific set up. The beach is absolutely beautiful and so is your property.
Captiva is a great vacation spot!

I was amazing! you have a lot of privacy and space. I'll miss it here.

Jeanine and family from MD

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Pure Heaven

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Once the waters calmed down the kayaking was splendid. I didn't want to get out of the water. Dolphins galore. Next trip out it was dolphins and jelly fish. On another as I was getting ready to get in the water, saw a manatee six feet from beach.

The staff was immediately responsive to any issue.

You can't go wrong. I went with my best friend of 44 years to celebrate our 50th birthdays. We stayed in the upper cottage which was perfect for sunsets! We didn't realize it until the last day that if you opened the blinds on the other side, you could see the sunrise! Since we were in the upper unit we did not have access to the washer and dryer below. We were there in the off season and the options for washing clothes wasn't good. Extremely minor thing, this place rocks . . . worth every penny. Truly no need to go anywhere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

New England

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

Location is perfect! A few problems the first 2 days, but Randy & Nacho were there very quickly to fix it. The owner is really lucky to have both of them taking care of his property. Sunsets were wonderful and a perfect place for the grand children. Wish the downstairs had a little more room, but all worked out very well.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thanks for your great review. This cottage is smallish, and clearly explained as such, but appropriately priced for a direct beach location and huge outdoor space as well. With 800 sq. ft., smaller families and lovers of the outdoors simply love Coquina and are quite comfortable. More then 4 adults and 4 children under 12 will be cramped, although the property size, quality, location and views are huge. Getting right on the beach with this much space and tropical aesthetics can't be beat, especially at this attractive and affordable price.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Whole trip was a 10

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

My wife and I had just a wonderful time. I am not bragging but we travel a lot this stay I think we had a better time than we can remember. The whole trip was a 10. The owners and folks at the reservation office are super nice. We will go back thank you for a great time.

Aristotle A.
New Jersey

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Beach Cottage Vacation

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

The Coquina Cottage was great for celebrating our 2nd honeymoon. We rented both units and enjoyed the beautifully landscaped private grounds surrounding the cottage. The Cottage was well maintained, comfortable, and complete with amenities. The beach in front with endless white sand made for great days watching dolphins and evenings watching spectacular sunsets. Loved that literally everything was provided by this rental property for a great vacation, so only needed to bring swim suits. The beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, hammock, and kayaks were welcomed extras.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely!!!

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

Here by myself with my dog. Every moment was lovely and beautiful. I hope I can come back!
Thank you!!

Michele and Chipmunk from Greenfield, NH

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas in Paradise

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We loved our Christmas here. You have though of everything, thanks, thanks, thanks.
Renee M., Cincinnati, OH

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Week In Paradise

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We enjoy every minute! so much we are already planning our return. You though of every detail and we appreciate it. This is truly a paradise. I have gotten so much rest and relaxation and not looking forward to going back to the real world. We absolutely enjoyed the Bubble room, top notch food and service, the jungle gallery was awesome. The hospitality was enjoyable. The lazy Flamingo was great for cooking our fresh caught fish.
Love, love, love, loved my much needed week in paradise on this wonderful Island at the Coquina paradise. See you soon.

Robbie and Cindy from South Carolina

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Calendar worthy Beauty

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Amazing beauty of sun, palm breezes, salt air, a tasteful drizzle from blue skies and sunsets and sunrises that were calendar worthy. Some of the things we did were kayaking, snorkeling, fishing, shelling,cooking out, renting a scoot coupe car and touring the island. Had delicious dinner at the Bubble room, Outstanding! Spent quality time with family.
The limes and coconuts were wonderful. This cottage was cozy and private. We enjoyed everything about it. One week was not enough, next time we will stay longer. Thank you for sharing your paradise with us and making us so comfortable and feel very welcome.

Ginny and Mark from South Carolina

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Moments

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

The weather was perfect, clear skies. some wonderful things we did were kayaking, walking in the beach, reading, family time at the Cottage. We saw manatees and dolphins in the wild and all kind of sea shells.
We all have beautiful family moments. It is a beautiful place to have a vacation and to relax. We spend a great time here.

We enjoy Coquina so much. The island was very special and beautiful. It was a wonderful week. We want to return to this country and to this nest. Thank you!

Gerardo, Anabella, Andrea and Isabella from Guatemala, Central America

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Quality Time

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

The weather was wonderful, warm, breezy, clear skies.
We did some wonderful things: swimming, fishing, grilling, finding shells... and the list goes on.
We saw: sea urchin, hermit crabs, manatees.
In the moments & glimpses it's the little details that mattered.
Spending quiet and quality time with our family....No noise..... Island Time!!!
What a great vacation!!! We will be back. Thank you

Amy and family from Indianapolis

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I love this place

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

I love this place- Ellie R. age 8
I loved this place. We saw a manatee, a shark, a dolphin, some fish and a sea turtle. This is the best shelling place, love Charlie R. age 8

Thank you for sharing your fantastic beach property and cottage with us. OUr days were filled with fun in the sun! The weather was perfect every day and we enjoyed lots of seashell hunting. Captiva is heaven on earth!
-Kyle, Robyn R. and family of Naperville, IL

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coquina Cottage and our weather was heavenly

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Coquina Cottage and our weather was heavenly; the amenities superb with yin and yang scattered everywhere about the property.
Tonight is our last walk on the beach, soak in the hot tub and view of the sunset.
We are sad to leave but are planning to return with our children and "grands". We enjoyed our conversations with the owners and wish them continued health.
And last but not least, to you Nacho. We especially thank you for coming to our rescue on more than one occasion.

Paradise Found...

Barb and David L. of Cleveland, OH

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Little Bit of Heaven

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

A little bit of Heaven- wonderful weather! First long vacation in 61 years. Best of luck to you!

Jacob and Delores L. of Fairfax, VA

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The beach is the best- especially at sunset

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

The cottage and its landscaping were beautiful, comfortable, and relaxing! The beach is the best- especially at sunset! Thank you for allowing us to vacation here- we enjoyed it very much. Hope to see you next year!

Mike and Ellen O. -Charleston, MO

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Gardens

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

What a wonderful cottage! we loved the magical gardens, like little jewels scattered across the property. The weather was perfect and every sunset was a delight. Thank you for the wine and for all the amenities that made our stay so comfortable. You truly have a little paradise here. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

honeymoon on Captiva

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We spent an enjoyable part of our honeymoon on Captiva! We are glad we found your little cottage. The accommodations were great! We especially liked the privacy and easy beach access! Thursday night we enjoyed the sunset/sailboat cruise! The sunsets were fantastic!! Thank You so much for sharing your cottage with us.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better than a 5 star hotel

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

Everyone has their own concept of paradise and if this is not, then it is the next best thing. This week has been fantastic, just as I hoped. My dogs also loved it, they thought the beach was their own. Unforgettable week!!! We must also thank the owner for thinking of every detail and setting Coquina with all their love, harmony and peace. Lastly but not least, the staff, Yolanda, Randy, Cornelia and Nacho. The attention is first class, better than a 5 star hotel. Hope to see you next year, we'll be back.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fortunate Find

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2011

We have been to Captiva/Sanibel several times. This is our first time at Coquina Cottage. What a fortunate find. The landscaping is magnificent. Coquina Cottage is charming, quaint, romantic and has a great aura. We truly have enjoyed ourselves. So much more beautiful then Pompano beach. Thank you for all of your help and the plants as well. See you next year.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

We had a great time this week, the beach was fantastic and a great place to spend time with you family from Italy. Thank you a lot all of you.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and quiet and privacy

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Not our first trip to Sanibel/Captiva but our first at Coquina Cottage and what a great find!! Loved the peace & quiet & and privacy. Jack and Rosie (our 4 legged children) loved it too. We trailered our little boat and left it at tween waters for the week so we could use their pool and facilities. Didn't dine out too much this trip other than a cabbage key lunch. Loved the "North Grotto" for happy hour cocktails and then moved to the "south Grotto" for dinner. Will most definitely recommend this piece of paradise and hopefully will be back soon.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My Favorite Memory

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My Favorite Memory...sunburn on our second day- NO, eating my Cuban sandwiches and coffee on a sun dappled porch on a beautiful blue skied afternoon or getting great photos of my family at sunset with mango daiquiris my wife made. I'll always think about the beautiful, super decorated and supremely landscaped retreat in all my favorite Florida escapes! I Loved It! It's a wonderful life,

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonder and Adventure

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

We arrived in the dark and all we had to do was get out of the car and smell the beautiful flowers. We had a week full of wonder and adventure! We will surely be back- i'm sure our kids will insist on it! our kids want to take surfing lessons after all the fun they had on the boogie boards.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

25th wedding anniversary

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in style! 2 amazing weeks at Coquina Cottage- we enjoyed every minute of every day. Bloody Mary walks on the beach to start the day & strawberry pina coladas at sunset!! Beautiful gardens & beach, great meals, lots of laughs & relaxation with the love of my life- doesn't get any better thank that! It was everything we hoped for and more! thanks so much- we will be back.

P.S. Beware- Rob says beer tastes better here hahahaha

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ahhhh...

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

Ahhh...another wonderful week @ Coquina Cottage. every day was perfect. Was what we needed after this very snowy winter! Thanks again and again. Hopefully you'll see us again next April! Thanks for the wine, totally enjoyed it. All the best to you!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bob, Carolyn and Joseph

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. The cottage could not have been any nicer. This is a great fit for our family. Absolutely Fabulous.

Wishing you the very best and we hope to see you again. Good taste on the bottle of wine, many thanks!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Raines from Heidleberg

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

We spent one wonderful week here, too short to discover and sufficiently enjoy all the beautiful things on and around the property!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beth, Louie and Willie (pawprint)

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

85 degrees and sunny every day!70 degrees and clear every night! Beautiful sunsets, lush gardens, well-thought amenities, hot tub! Bench swing with glass of wine in a quiet setting...

Tan and contented!
Thank you for the hospitality-
we'll be backk!!

P.S. thanks for the bottle of wine

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Judy, Glenda, Hayden and Hannah

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

What a beautiful cottage. We enjoyed our visit and hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Judy, Glenda, Hayden and Hannah

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

What a beautiful cottage. We enjoyed our visit and hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Greg and Jill

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

a much needed vacation from the mid-west winter. Best spot on Captiva for a sunset! Owners were great hosts, best meal and night of dancing was at Traditions on West Gulf drive. Fishing was great! I caught 10 different species during our stay. Jill painted many nice seascapes for us to remember our week in paradise. We will return!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Michael and Charlene

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

If there was ever a time that we needed to land in a perfect place, this was it. We are really happy and looking forward to our revisit in a few months.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Coquina Cottage

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

The cottage was perfect for us! We had a fantastic time on the property and the beach! Hope to return again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you very much, it is kind of you to think to give such a nice review. We loved having you again and look forward to seeing you next year. The weather warmed up and is going down to 60's on the weekend in the early am. I hope spring can be seen around the corner in MO.

Mike and the gang. :)

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

CoquinaCottage/Captiva's BeachFront/

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

CoquinaCottage on Captiva's BeachFront/5star service!
Amazing time, wonderful and lovely Cottage. Loved the staff, Five star service. :)

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

Second stay better than first and hopefully third stay even better & longer. We love it here... great place, great weather, great food, great shelling & fishing. Thanks Mike & Cannella

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2009

We are almost at the end of one of the best vacations ever. The shell collecting is great, the birds are amazing, and coming from MA, the swimming is awesome! Me and my sister went biking in Sanibel & had a great time. Love the outdoor living room, we have no complaints except that the only thing my grandma couldn't find was an apron!
Thnx!

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2009

We are almost at the end of one of the best vacations ever. The shell collecting is great, the birds are amazing, and coming from MA, the swimming is awesome! Me and my sister went biking in Sanibel & had a great time. Love the outdoor living room, we have no complaints except that the only thing my grandma couldn't find was an apron!
Thnx!

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

What a wonderful ten days in your cottage-nest on the beach! So many perfect places in the gardens to sit and read; wonderful beach walking & shell hunting; perfect place to watch the sunsets. You have provided everything we could have needed. Thanks for your attention to detail!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2009

What a spectacular place! The views are beautiful seeing dolphins every day! The sunsets are really the best. We loved it & hope to make a it regular every year. Thank you so much - Wish we could stay forever.
Esther & Susan
Chicago, IL
PS: The garden is amazing.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

We stayed here for an entire week and now we don't want to leave! We rented bikes and loved riding into town for breakfast or lunch. We also went kayaking and saw a few manatees! It felt like we had our own private beach, where we loved to lay at and soak up the sun. I'm going to miss it here, especially since we're going back to snow. =(
Annie, Meggie, Jim, Lesli, and Emily
Crystal Lake, IL

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

What a wonderful oasis you have created! Thanks for sharing it. We came to Captiva for rest and relaxation & we got it! My family and I couldn't have imagined a better setting and experience

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

We have had a really great time in this cottage. The gulf right at our doorstep, the beautiful garden and the beautiful sunset made the perfect frame for our wedding on the 25th of April. We will never forget this place and remember the beauty that surrounded us especially on our big day. We would love to come back one day :)

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

Very relaxing time. Beautiful surroundings. It really is "cozy"!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We had a wonderful time here. We have stayed in many places, but this cottage was as close to our home as any were have stayed. The beach access was great & the boat rented from Jensen's was great. This was our first time in Captiva, but we will be back. Thanks again for a special vacation.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

Yes!! Now we do believe that Paradise exists... It's hidden in Captiva, more precisely at Coquina Cottage.
During these ten past days, I remembered every day the song "What a Wonderful World" and it's full of sense.
We had more than what we expected to: quiet, sun, birds, dolphins, magnificent beach (where we were quite alone). Much more than a getaway, Coquina is a jewel that every guest must protect and respect. Hopefully we'll be back soon...
Thanks to Mike, Cornelia and Brian

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

Back again and it just seems to get better! We enjoyed this visit and hope to be back same time next year. Mary is bringing home another large cache of shells and now believes she can be more selective next year, I'll have to see it to believe it.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

Coquina Cottage is BEAUTIFUL! This was our first journey to Captiva, and the beaches and flora of this area surpassed our expectations. If you have access to a boat, travelling north to Cabbage Key for lunch is a great way to spend a day closer to home, 'The Mucky Duck' is a cozy restaurant with delicious food. Thanks to Mike, Brian & Nacho for a relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed Coquina. It is a fantastic & magical place - We will be back!! Great Restaurants! Great Beaches! Saw lots of Dolphins, Manatees, Tarpon at Tarpon Bay. Star & Satellite viewing after dark on the beach - You cannot beat!
Al + Vicky

PS: I suggest reading "North of Havana" while here.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Thank you so much for accomodating our last minute vacation. We were very lucky to find this beautiful paradise. We had a wonderful time in this beautiful private little cottage. The backyard is incredibly secluded but incredibly close to the beach. Again, thank you for the best vacation we have had!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

The perfect getaway - magical!
An Oasis - Thank you, every detail was covered, too short for us, maybe next time we'll meet you.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

Coquina Cottage is a spectacular and wonderful getaway. Captiva is such a relaxing place to get away from the everyday craziness of life and just sit back and walk along the beautiful beaches. Thank y'all for opening this beautiful home up to me, my mother, and our friends. My mom and I have been to Captiva before and we more wonderful and very special for us since I will be leaving in the fall to attend Texas A&M University. This vacation allowed my mom and I to spend some special time together I go off. She and I, along with our two friends, absolutely loved te house and the gorgeous plants and flowers all around. This place is truly an exquisite place and very special. Every thing was perfect, perfect, perfect. Thanks again for allowing us to spend a wonderful vacation in a wonderful home!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

This place was amazing! I loved every detail and how private it actually was. :) I had fun with my friend Courney and I would definitely come back with my husband! You did a splendid job with every inch! Thanks for an awesome "break-ation!" God bless!

Mrs Brown
Brownwood TX

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

This was a much needed getaway for my husband & I -- our first week-long vacation since our honeymoon almost 22 years ago! And what a perfect place we chose. There is something beautiful to be discovered almost everywhere you look! I have so enjoyed looking at all the different plants & flowers in the garden -- it's obvious you've spent a lot of time and effort there. The privacy, solitude, & peace were just what I needed after a very difficult year. The cleanliness of the cottage was much appreciated. It's so cozy here -- I love all the attention to detail. Now I'm torn between showing this place to our children or just coming back with my husband & keeping it to ourselves!

Thank you,
Stephanie + Kirby
Austin, TX

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

This cottage gives you the best Florida Experience - Staying here one week is not enough.

We tried to break that bed with our heads, but could not do it!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed Coquina. It is a fantastic & magical place - We will be back!! Great Restaurants! Great Beaches! Saw lots of Dolphins, Manatees, Tarpon at Tarpon Bay. Star & Satellite viewing after dark on the beach - You cannot beat! Al + VickyPS: I suggest reading "North of Havana" while here.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

This cottage gives you the best Florida experience - staying here one week is not enough.We tried to break that bed with our heads, but could not do it!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Coqunia cottage

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The location of Coquina cottage was wonderful. Right on the Gulf coast with great views from the sea - could even see dolphins from the cottage! The garden was very pretty and had obviously had a lot of time spent on it. Two kayaks were provided which was great for the kids. The beach was really quiet.

We rented both units for four of us. Even if we had only been two people I think we would have struggled with just one of the units as neither of them had everything you needed. The bottom unit had a bigger kitchen and also a washer and drier. The top unit had more living space and a great view. The kitchen was, however, really small with literally just a cooker and sink with no work surface and the fridge was really small.

We had a great time at Coqunia and would definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! Whenever you'd like to return, let us know! We're glad you chose to use the whole house so you can see all of what we have to offer as a cottage!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

The perfect getaway - magical! An Oasis - Thank you, every detail was covered, too short for us, maybe next time we'll meet you.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

Back again and it just seems to get better! We enjoyed this visit and hope to be back same time next year. Mary is bringing home another large cache of shells and now believes she can be more selective next year, I'll have to see it to believe it.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: January 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

We rarely return to the same vacation location but Coquina is our exception. Cozy, ocean dining everynight, a peaceful garden oasis and staff that make everything delightful and easy. We're already thinking about next year!
Rachel and Roger

Owners response: this was year two for Rachel and Roger;
we 'll leave a light on for you. :)
Mike and staff

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

Coquina Cottage is BEAUTIFUL! This was our first journey to Captiva, and the beaches and flora of this area surpassed our expectations. If you have access to a boat, travelling north to Cabbage Key for lunch is a great way to spend a day closer to home, 'The Mucky Duck' is a cozy restaurant with delicious food. Thanks to Mike, Brian & Nacho for a relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 20, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Thank you so much for accomodating our last minute vacation. We were very lucky to find this beautiful paradise. We had a wonderful time in this beautiful private little cottage. The backyard is incredibly secluded but incredibly close to the beach. Again, thank you for the best vacation we have had!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

Beautiful view. We had a great time as usual. Nacho (the gardener) was a great help. He went out of his way to make our stay more enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

In short, beautifully kept, convenient, with very
responsive, generous and kind ownership. Spotless
is the first thing that comes to mind when I
remember my stay at the Coquina in June '09. I've
rented beach homes throughout the US and this
was by far the cleanest! The gardens were
stunning! They create a completely private oasis in
the back with several options for lounging in the
shade. It was such a safe place for my 2 year old to
play, I couldn't have planned a better environment
if I'd owned it myself! I recommend that you take
the brand new downstairs option. It was great for
us traveling with inlaws. We were able to enjoy
total separation but still use the nicer downstairs
kitchen as well as the full size laundry. We all liked
the downstairs area the most. The outside shower
options were so private and kept sand outside.
Serious shellers should know that by the end of the
week, we were throwing back specimen quality
olives, fighting conchs, augers, and ceriths all
found snorkeling at the waters edge right in front
of the unit. We found three nice cones, the first of
our many stays on Sanibel. Drawbacks include a bit
of a drop at the waters edge which the owner said
comes and goes and isn't always so steep. Also,
the bedding was a bit dog eared compared to the
high quality elsewhere throughout. Again the
owners said they were to be replaced. Overall, we
just loved the place and intend to make it an annual
trip!

Owners response: We appreciate all comments and work hard to continuously improve. The bedding is in fact being completely upgraded from new pillows to comforters, etc.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

Yes!! Now we do believe that Paradise exists... It's hidden in Captiva, more precisely at Coquina Cottage.During these ten past days, I remembered every day the song "What a Wonderful World" and it's full of sense. We had more than what we expected to: quiet, sun, birds, dolphins, magnificent beach (where we were quite alone). Much more than a getaway, Coquina is a jewel that every guest must protect and respect. Hopefully we'll be back soon...Thanks to Mike, Cornelia and Brian

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We had a wonderful time here. We have stayed in many places, but this cottage was as close to our home as any were have stayed. The beach access was great & the boat rented from Jensen's was great. This was our first time in Captiva, but we will be back. Thanks again for a special vacation.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

This place was amazing! I loved every detail and how private it actually was. :) I had fun with my friend Courtney and I would definitely come back with my husband! You did a splendid job with every inch! Thanks for an awesome "break-ation!" God bless!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

Coquina Cottage is a spectacular and wonderful getaway. Captiva is such a relaxing place to get away from the everyday craziness of life and just sit back and walk along the beautiful beaches. Thank y'all for opening this beautiful home up to me, my mother, and our friends. My mom and I have been to Captiva before and we more wonderful and very special for us since I will be leaving in the fall to attend Texas A&M University. This vacation allowed my mom and I to spend some special time together I go off. She and I, along with our two friends, absolutely loved te house and the gorgeous plants and flowers all around. This place is truly an exquisite place and very special. Every thing was perfect, perfect, perfect. Thanks again for allowing us to spend a wonderful vacation in a wonderful home!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

This was a much needed getaway for my husband & I -- our first week-long vacation since our honeymoon almost 22 years ago! And what a perfect place we chose. There is something beautiful to be discovered almost everywhere you look! I have so enjoyed looking at all the different plants & flowers in the garden -- it's obvious you've spent a lot of time and effort there. The privacy, solitude, & peace were just what I needed after a very difficult year. The cleanliness of the cottage was much appreciated. It's so cozy here -- I love all the attention to detail. Now I'm torn between showing this place to our children or just coming back with my husband & keeping it to ourselves! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review