reviews for: listing #26575 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Villa rental

Villa Palmira: Comfortable Beach Vacation Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Humacao
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,950 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful beach location

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 20, 2014

Our family of 5 (parents and 3 adult children) stayed at Villa Palmira for a week in May 2014. We were very happy with the choice of Villa Palmira and it's location in Humacao. Humacao was a great location for accessing the eastern end of PR, with an easy drive (50 minutes) to San Juan as well. The neighborhood in which the house is located is lovely, with essentially a private beach just a short walk from the house. We enjoyed the waves at the beach...the water is not deep and there was no undertow. There's also a beautiful nature preserve a short walk down the beach, with both walking/biking trails and kayaking available.
The house is nice, but not luxury (if you want stainless steel appliances and granite countertops, this may not be the right home for you). We found the furnishings and bedding to be very comfortable. The house has A/C and fans, but 2 of the ceiling fans were in need of repair. There were portable fans available as well, so the broken ceiling fans did not negatively impact our stay. The owner of the house is very responsive and helpful. This is a nice, comfortable, Puerto Rican vacation home, perfect for people who are interested in spending time outdoors and experiencing a local Puerto Rican community.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We are glad to see you had a good time and made it over to the nature center, which is truly remarkable. We agree Humacao is a great location to see PR from, especially if it is your first visit. So, close to the rain forest, off shore islands and the Beachs on the east are people friendly, generally with small waves and warm waters. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

I recently stayed at Villa Palmira with 5 female friends and had a wonderful
time. We had a great time at
your house and thoroughly enjoyed staying there. We enjoyed the beach and
found the waters quite
warm, the bottom sandy and the conditions safe and quite swimmable. The
beach also has a lovely view
out toward Vieques Island in the distance and Monkey Island closer to the
shore. While staying at the
house, we ventured out quite a bit for shopping and a variety of
activities. One of the most memorable
was a trip to Monkey Island for snorkeling among schools of tropical fish.
Our guide was Captain Paco,
a local fellow, who is quite a character. Very cool trip! We also did the Bioluminescent Bay tour, an absolute must!! The kayaking part can be a little tricky because it is very dark and you are paddling through a very narrow area that leads to the BioBay, but still worth it. We also took the ferry to Culebra Island. The ferry ride was comfortable, fairly quick and very cheap, well worth it to see Flamenco Beach! Absolutely gorgeous, but a little to crowded for me!
Love Puerto Rico and I have traveled there by myself and never once did I feel unsafe. You just have to be a smart traveler, as you would when you travel anywhere!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. I agree with everything you say! We feel it is just great when people use our home as a home base for travel around the island. There is so much to see and do. The people are friendly and welcoming. It is a shame all the bad press the island gets, when its a wonderful place to visit and tour about. Congratulations to you and your friends. It always pays off to be adventurous. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We just planted ourselves on the beach!

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

>Thank you once again for sharing your great homes with us, we had a
>fabulous time at both your Villa Palmira and Villa Familia. Your
>info on beaches and day trips was very good. We espcially enjoyed
>your tip about the trip to Monkey Island, traveling out with Captain
>Paco. He's a great guy! We enjoyed the snorkeling and decided to
>make a second trip the the island during our stay. We enjoyed our
>time at the Palmas Del Mar Beach Club and used guest passes for the
>health club as well. Again, thanks for a great experience, your
>houses are extremely inviting and comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We are especially pleased when our guests involve themselves with the opportunities for experiences in Puerto Rico. Captain Paco's boat to Monkey Island is a great experience! He great fun and indicative of just how friendly Puerto Ricans are.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed the quiet privacy and many extras.

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

We appreciated the privacy of the house..the week went too fast! We
spent the first day mostly at Villa Palmira on the beach finding star
fish and sand dollars. The next day we went to Monkey Island on
Captain Paco's boat and saw outstanding features snorkeling. After that, we went to the rain forest. Spent Thursday at the house,on the beach and and walking in the adjacent nature preserve. Friday we took a trip on the ferry to Flamenco Beach on Culebra...outstanding day! I got up early Saturday morning before we left to watch the crabs awake and trot to the water. Can't
emphasize enough our appreciation of having many details and
conveniences worked out for us...towels, beach bags, umbrella, beach
chairs, cooler, advice and directions to the attractions and
restaurants. There was hardly a downside to our stay. If my wife and
I come back to PR with a large group, we'd stay at Villa Palmira
again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We encourage renters who want to experience Puerto Rico like you did. That's why we give a 30 page pdf file to our renters showing many different venues to visit and giving directions that take the headache out of going there. We believe traveling in Puerto Rico is safe, extremely interesting, and a great deal of fun.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is Puerto Rico Style...

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

If you want the real feel of Puerto Rico living this is it. My wife and I traveled here for the best Thanksgiving yet with my 2 children, 12 and 16, along with my mother and her friend. The house was was beautiful, comfortable and clean and had every thing we could possibly need. The neighbor is great and the people that live there are very friendly.

The beach is a wonderful natural sandy beach and the oceans gentle rolling waves are relaxing yet large enough to provide fun for the kids and me. We took some amazing sunrise pictures and wonderful walks on the virtually private beach. We also discovered a trail from the neighborhood into the adjacent nature preserve and stumbled on some old WWII lookout post on the cliff with some amazing views of Viequez island.

We have been to Puerto Rico numerous times in the past but this is the best location we have found yet. The location offers you the feel of being on a tropical island while giving you access to all the "convenience of home" with it proximity to Humacao.

Thank you Jim an Marilyn for sharing this amazing place with us and we will be returning again.

Owners response: Thanks for your review. I agree the community is a wonderful example of Puerto Rican life, but also offers with the unusual opportunity to be right on the beach. The neighborhood is composed of middle class Puerto Rican families and expats from the US and Europe, which gives it a unique blend of people, all of whom are very friendly. It is a great asset to be able to walk into the nature center and use the trails for shady "jungle" hikes that open up onto its lagoon or a hidden beach. Of couse, kayaks can be rented for paddling on the lagoon, making it a small eco experience. We also like the long walks that can be taken on the beach which travels north all the way--about a mile--to the beach town of Punta Santiago. As a jogger, I've used the trails in the park following the beach to run on a "hard" surface (avoding the loose sand), while in view of the beach and Caribbean. It makes for a lovely morning outing. We are glad to hear you had a good time and pleased you will be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We Loved Having Coffee On the Beach Every Morning!

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Thanks to Marilyn and Jim for renting us there lovely home. We appreciated the comfortable furniture and beds, love the colors tropical feel of the rooms and the great proximity to the beach. I took less than one minute to walk there from the house. Almost every morning I walked down with a beach chair and a cup of coffee and sat under the palms before others awoke in the house. It was great to get access to the Palmas del Mar Beach club at the nearby resort. We spent two afternoons there, having lunch swimming in the pools and then dinning at the resort afterwards. I especially enjoyed Blue Hawaii, where we had great sushi. Our trips to the rain forest and Old San Juan were also special and it was great both could be accomplished in less than an hour of driving. We vacationed on the west coast of Puerto Rico before, but love the east coast and will becoming back there in future.

Owners response: Thanks for your review. It sounds like you had a great time! We agree that Eastern Puerto Rico allows access to many interesting adventures without traveling far. Western PR is lovely and worth a visit, but certainly not as convenient as our area for having many interesting experiences in a short vacation of a week or less. (We hope you hiked into the rain forest and swam in the La Mina water falls and saw the very nice tourist info center while there. Both experiences shouldn't be missed. If not, maybe next time.) We agree having the beach just 38 second away from the front door gives the home a special place in the community. Once on the beach you have great views of the Vieques Island and the nearby Monkey Island. Many guests have enjoyed a trip out to monkey island with Captain Paco from the Naguabo Playa dock. It's a great time for kids...diving for star fish and feeding the tropical fish that take bread right from your hand! And of course you get to see the monkey colony from his boat. Again, we are very pleased you enjoyed yourself and hope you will come back soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family friendly

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

I felt like I was in the real Puerto Rico when we stayed at Villa Palmira. We had done the hotel experience in San Juan before and loved it, but this was different, much more low key and relaxed. Our kids loved having the beach just outside the door and the big grassy park to play in. Once we saw that we went to Wal-Mart and bought a soccer ball and the kids loved the freedom to run outside and play across the street under the palms. We had everything we needed in the area; we shopped at Sam's Club for steaks, great salad fixings, a bottle of inexpensive wine and had cookouts using the house gas grill. Save money and enjoyed dining on the back patio in T-shirts, shorts and flip flops. So much easier than dragging the boys to restaurants every night. We met a couple from Massachusetts who live down the street. They've bought a house in Villa Palmira and are never moving back to the States. I'm sure I know why. Great house. Great vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your review. Seeing the "real Puerto Rico" as you say is a truly interesting experience. Everywhere you look, something is still a little different from the States. Like you, we enjoy discovering these differences and seeing how Puerto Rican life has both a different perspective and a more relaxed a relaxed attitude. Two examples, on Sunday, Puerto Rican equestrians come out of the hills with there horses and ride through busy sections of town. These gatherings of horsemen and women are truly spontaneous and from an American perspective far too "disruptive" to be permitted. Could it be that we are missing a good deal of fun here in the States? Another takes place in the park, your boys enjoyed playing in. Looking out our dinning room window, we have often see local men come into the park and climb the coconut palms. With only bare hands and feet they shinny up the 30 foot trees and harvest the coconuts to make and sell drinks by the roadside. You won't see that at breakfast in Boston. Like you, the guests who come to PR to gather images and memories of a different kind of place, are the ones who go home truly refreshed and stimulated. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great vacation with our grand kids

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

Our grand children loved walking the beach every morning. I'd get up with them just after sun up and we'd walk north toward Punta Santiago past long public park to the little fishing village. We also ventured in to the adjacent nature center trails to the South taking short hikes in the "jungle" when the sun was high and the shade cool. The kids loved playing in the waves, which were not to forceful for 8,9 and 12 year-olds to enjoy safely. We almost didn't need a car once we got there and supplied the house will food. The area was so pleasant, the house so completely furnished and equipped, one doesn't need to work hard to have restful and memorable vacation. We loved the space in the house and used the internet access to send emails and keep in touch at home. We fell in love with Puerto Rico and will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thanks for your review! We are pleased with the recent renovations at of the Humacao Nature Center next door, which allow guests to go kayaking in the lagoon or walk the shaded hiking trails. I agree that walking the beaches north is a great way to exercise, while getting wonderful Caribbean views out to Ciao Santiago (Monkey Island) and Vieques Island.I have often jogged up that way through the park along the shoreline in the early morning hours when the sun is not too hot. I just left PR after one of our maintenance visits; I was on the beach at Villa Palmira just two days ago, sitting in the shade of the palms and enjoying the wonderful green/blue waters. We'll be going back in January...can't wait to swim in those gentle warm waters again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Home Base

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

This villa was a great place to stay and a terrific place to tour
from. We only had one week, but we had many adventures. Everyday we
would start with a morning at the beach then head out for a new
experience. We visited the El Yunque Rainforest Park, hiked to a
waterfall and swam in a pool below the crashing falls. We went for a
tour of the Camuy Caves...most amazing. The forts of old San Juan and
dinner out was another great day. One night we kayaked at the bio bay
near Fajardo. It was amazing to see the water light up from our
paddles and what an adventure to kayak up a river in the dark to get
to the bay. We also took a boat ride with a local captain to an off
shore island we could see from our beach at the house. It's call
Monkey Island and we could see the monkeys on shore, while we
snorkeled for giant star fish. We also hiked at the nature center
just down the beach. It was a great location for people who love to
keep busy and see the sights like we did.

The house was great. Modern appliances, comfortable beds and painted
in the most wonderful bright colors. Each room was a treat for the
eyes. The community it is in is very relaxing and low key great for a
stroll after dinner. This was one of our best vacations.

The information on the owner's website is terrific and the pictures were
a realistic representation of the rental. We highly recommend this vacation
rental to everyone who wants a home base from which to tour the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for providing this review. We find the east side of Puerto Rico is the best for those who wish to be active and have many experiences. Many locations to the west of San Juan or on the South side of the island require drives of over an hour to get to interesting places. From Punta Santiago, the rain forest is just 35 minutes; Fajardo's biobay is just 25 minutes; Old San Juan just 45 minutes, etc. It's a great location!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely home, great beach

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

We were three senior couples looking for some R&R and we found it at Villa Palmira. Slept in, read books, took walks in the neighbor hood. Used our guest passes to visit the beach club, while the men played a round of golf on the Palmas del Mar course. Spent many hours under the graceful palms on the beach looking out to Vieques and Monkey Islands. What a view. The swimmers in our group like the fact that the waves were small and gentle and the bottom sandy. Thanks for letting us have your well equipped and comfortable home. I'd recommend Villa Palmira to anyone that wants to get away and relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for you thoughtful review. We love the view from under the palms by the beach out toward Vieques too!. While this home in not in Palmas del Mar, our Palmas Athletic Club Membership, allow us to give folks passes to the resort beach club, and discounts for golf and tennis. Since these facilities are only 12 minutes away, the resort is both convenient and full of supplemental activities from sports, to restaurants to Casino gambling. But the nice thing about is Villa Palmira is how close you are to the beach. That's impossible to match at Palmas Del Mar.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved Relaxing on the Beach

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our two weeks at this wonderful home in this
colorful beach front community. We could look out the front window
onto a lovely park and past it to the sea. The seniors in our party
appreciated the short walk to the beach and it was great to be able
to return to the home easily from the beach to use the facilities or
get a drink from the fridge. The shade of the palm trees along the
beach made it possible for us to stay comfortable at the beach for
hours. We found the house comfortable and well equipped. In the
morning we ate our breakfast on the back porch in the little garden
area...a great place to relax. We can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The walk to the beach takes about 38 seconds, so one does not need to lug supplies, just go back and forth as needed. We think it's a perfect spot for beach lovers.

Jim and Marilyn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review