reviews for: listing #26592 - Grand Haven, Michigan House rental

The Yellow Cottage - 150ft to Private Beach on Spring Lake
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $775 - $975 /wk

sort by:

Very nice place to stay

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

We were very pleasntly suprised at how cute the house was when we arrived. It was clean, nicely decorated and had everything we needed. Kids loved being able to walk to the beach. The patio was very nice, great place to hang out and grill dinner, which we did one evening. Nice quite street.

Location was great for us. We were there for a wedding at Spring Lake Country Club which was only a few blocks away. Easy drive to Grand Haven and the State Park.

Would stay here again if i ever make it back to Spring Lake.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This guest's comments are appreciated and I hope they help my future guests in their vacation plans.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Yellow Cottage on Spring Lake

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Great place to spend the week! The Yellow Cottage was just what we were looking for; clean, quiet, well-kept & close to everything. The beach on Spring lake was terrific for the kids and we were only minutes from the beaches in Grand Haven and the boat launches on Spring Lake. The cottage was well stocked & we loved the front porch & the grill & patio out back. We would definitely come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Lovely days"

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

"Lovely day, boys loved the beaches and we loved Morning Star Cafe. Look forward to next year.
Indiapolis, IN."

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Had fun"

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

"Thank you for letting us stay at your cottage. We went to the beach and had fun! Lucas-5yr, Samira-3yr, and Michael-1yr"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Home away from home"

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

"Aug., 2011
Thank you again for the beautiful home away from home. We celebrated my daughter's 30th birthday with the family here. This cottage is ever so charming and so cozy. We enjoyed every minute of our vacation. Thank you again,
Sparta, MI"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon Cottage

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

"Hi,
We just got married six days ago! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for the week and winding down from the wedding stuff. The weather was perfect and the sunsets were gorgeous. We hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we did"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Precious, elegant and interesting"

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

"From the banner on the front porch to the fresh hydrangea in a vase on the counter are just 'beyond the pale' for us. The lovely artwork hung at just the right height. We treated the cottage as if it were our own. Our cottage friends came in the afternoon and evening and because the cottage is so beautifully put together, they couldn't believe it was a rental. The distance to the beach was just right. Our grands 5 + 8 yo loved the beach and swimming in the water. Super friendly people on this quiet street. How perfect can it be? Hope to return! Houston, Tx."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Glorious week"

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We had another glorious week here at "The Yellow Cottage". We were again pleasantly surprised by how clean and inviting this homey cottage has always been for our family. We had a family reunion with our friends and family from Michigan and Georgia. We hope to come back again next summer. The new shower was a very pleasant surprise. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mixed Results

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

The house itself is wonderful; clean, neat, nicely decorated, very pleasant. There is nothing you need once there, very comfortable. Great porch to sit and relax. The owner of the property seems like a class-act.
The beach is close and looks nice, but has plenty of sand fleas to chew you up. House is located on a street that has local residents. Neighbors across the street do not appreciate renters on their block and can be hostile to vactioners. Lets just say, my experience was - strangers not welcomed.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: I wish to thank the reviewer for the kind words about the home and surroundings. I and members of my family have worked diligently each year to make sure that the vacation experience is worthwhile. I have had a variety of guests with different interests so it is difficult to meet all individual needs but the cottage has tried to do that, from feedback that I have received from my guests.


Many of my guests have indicated positive interactions with the neighbors and their guests, however, the neighbors do lead individual lives and usually try to simply notice but not intrude on my guests. All of the neighbors including the one referred to in the posting, have remarked each year about the excellent guests that I have. There has been no problems mentioned by any of the guests or neighbors, previously.

Some of my guests in past six years have been personal friends and, I believe, would have alerted me to any similar type of condition.

As to the sand fleas, I have asked a couple of guests around that time last year and one mentioned that she saw them and moved her chair on the beach several yards and the situation didn't continue. Some of the homeowners regularily rake the sand which helps with the problem. It's possible that this was not done often enough or that the combination of hot weather and low lake levels in 2010 contributed to the problem.

All of my guests have my cell # and are asked to call me with any concerns or issues. I will certainly follow up on these issues in the future.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review