reviews for: listing #26604 - Bay Lake, Washington House rental

Lakefront Lodge 90 min. from Seattle. HOLIDAY SPECIAL RATE!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $330 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,950 /wk
    $2,950 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

we loved our stay

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2014

It was a wonderful place and a beautiful place. I wanted to say that I also loved the app for my IPhone "Glad to have you" . The wild life was a special treat and of course the pool (although it never got over 73deg. so it was a bit cold) and hot tub. Wonderful memories for our large family. The couple things I would say to help the owners. there are small things that need some upkeep, I know it must be hard with so many people renting but it is important to the next people that all things should be in working order if that is what they expect when they come. the other thing is the list of items that are available in the home need to be updated. We brought our Keurig coffee maker and popcorn maker because it didn't say they had them and surprise they they were :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't Get Any Better

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

This was absolutely the best. From every perspective it couldn't have been better. The beauty of it's natural surroundings, the beautifully designed and decorated cabin that was well equipped to meet all of our needs for comfort. The kitchen was fully stocked for cooking great meals. The beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean. There were so many fun activities available to keep the kids interested and happy. They spent most of their time swimming, boating, and fishing. At night the kids would come in and pick from the many games, books and videos available to them to finish out the evening. I especially liked the private deck off the master bedroom where I could retreat with a good book.We loved eating outside on the deck with the view of the lake. I could go on but suffice it to say. " It Couldn't get any better " Thank you for helping to make the summer of 2014 a very memorable time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing time

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

Wow, what a great place. We enjoyed all the amenities, went kayaking for the first time and saw a family of beavers playing along the water's edge. From the back porch, we watched eagles flying and fishing. We saw a mama deer who came back daily to eat the grass around the house, she brought her brand new twin babies to show us as we watched them struggle to learn how to walk, all from the back porch! We enjoyed the pool and hot tub and made s'mores in the fire pit. There were a few awkward moments like having the pool/spa maintenance guy show up at 8:30 at night until 9:30 at night. It was just me and my mother so it felt uncomfortable and awkward as well as having no warning whatsoever that a half dozen people would show up to mow the enormous lawn (we wouldn't have been caught out swimming in the pool for 2+ hours otherwise and were somewhat trapped by all the equipment, no one even acknowledged we were there and whether we'd like them to move at all so we could get out). I recognize that this is not a resort but a private home but some simple warnings and planning would have sufficed. Also, absolutely loved the Home Away App that was sent as a link, what a wonderful and very helpful tool, we really appreciated that. Thank you.

Owners response: Christina,
Thank you so much for the great review, and the feedback about our local maintenance people. Though we mention in the guestbook that the lawn crew might show up sometime during your stay (they are "weather dependent") and that you are free to ask them to come back at a more convenient time, we will have a talk with them about making sure to greet our guests and be a bit more considerate when they are there. Also, we do state that our pool maintenance person will come every other day, and usually in the evening (after guests have enjoyed the pool) to treat it with chemicals, and to clean and vacuum the pool. This is usually the best time for most guests. However, for those of you reading this, he is a retired local grandpa, and not a creepy guy by any means!!. Thanks, and we hope you come back again. Also, loved to hear that you saw the beaver family...we have YET to see them!
Rebecca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Moosehead Cabin a number of times the past 4 years and each time my stay has been fantastic. Whenever I think of place to getaway to the Mooshead comes to mind first!

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review Veronica. It's always great to have you and your friends down for the weekend. Looking forward to your stay again in a few months. --Rebecca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing stay at Mooshead!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

Wonderful amenities! The king beds were so comfortable and the kitchen was well appointed. We enjoyed evenings by the fire and the beautiful views from the porch and hot tub. We'll definitely stay here again! Thank you!

Owners response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Rebecca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything you want and more

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

This is the second time I stay at the cabin. Both years we have taken a large group of friends with us for a great long weekend by the lake. The cabin is super comfortable , very spacious and is outfitted with everything you could ever want.
BBQ, huge dinning room, great kitchen. Rebecca the owner is a dream to work with always super attentive before and after the stay.

I hate to recommend this place because I want it all to myself - 5 stars :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation EVER!

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Amazing is not a good enough word to describe this house! We stayed for a weekend and wished we had stayed a month! The amenities in this house created memories that will last a lifetime. We have stayed in many houses, but never one like this. We will definitely come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place that has it all.

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

We have stayed at many vacation rentals over the years, but this by far was our favorite. Fishing was plentiful, property was private, and swimming was excellent. Everything listed was just as described. We spent a day at Penrose, but most of the time was spent on the back porch or in pool/hot tub, or rowing around on the lake. Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This place has it all. Perfect for families.

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Unpack and make yourselves at home! Our family felt so welcome to just have a fun getaway when we stayed here. The cabin has more of a lodge feel with room for everyone to relax. Sitting on the porch looking at the lake, watching the eagles, or sitting on the dock where a very large heron was looking over to us gave us a moments of serene peace. If you're adventuresome, take a kayak around the lake and check out the beaver lodge too.
Kitchen facility is more than ample and well supplied. Homemade shortcake, BBQ and a massive clam/crab bake were all easy to set up!!
Surrounding artisan cottage craft soaps, wines and other goodies are on the peninsula for you to discover.
The newly reopened Lake Bay marina added a daily opportunity to check out the boats, grab a milkshake and explore Penrose Park. Just a short walk to many other activities.
But when all is said and done, Moosewood has it all, enjoyed the hot tub early morning and before bed. During the day we used the pool and deck and took a break from all the kids!!
The grounds gave everyone ample space to play. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Love the Moose Head Cabin!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

What could be better than starting our day in the hot tub overlooking the lake while a bald eagle flies between the tall fir trees above us? Your cabin has everything we needed for a wonderful family vacation: comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, huge deck, great accommodations and all beautifully decorated! Our kids had a blast on the dock and of course, the pool. We had fun roasting marshmellows in the fire pit by the lake and loved exploring Penrose State park that is so close to the property. And, it was really fun to walk to the Marina to buy ice cream cones. Thank you for sharing your beautiful cabin. We are already planning a return visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Favorite summer vacation spot

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

This is our 5th summer vacation at the Moosehead Cabin, and we hope to keep coming back. Highlights this year include:
-milkshakes and beer tasting at the recently renovated Marina
-a huge shellfish extravaganza on the outside deck table (literally, we dumped crabs, clams, sausage and corn on the cob in the center of the table, and everyone dug in)
-pool vollyball games
-big bon fires at night, with JC on the guitar
-early morning hike at Penrose park up the street
and best of all, just relaxing with friends and family. Just like camp as a kid, I'm always sad to go home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfectly peaceful...

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

We've stayed at Moosehead Cabin many times, and always come away feeling rested and relaxed. I love crawling into the hot tub with a cup of coffee first thing in the morning, and sitting on the deck with a pitcher of margaritas in the late afternoon. The kids live in the pool or out on the lake. There are birds to watch, and quiet roads nearby for walking or jogging. Altogether it's a great vacation spot.

Owners response: Amy, thanks for the great review, and we hope you can make it down to the Moosehead Cabin again soon. -- Rebecca

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place to take a family vacation!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Overall this cabin was a beautiful vacation away from home. The forecast predicated rain but we had nothing but beautiful sunshine. The pool was awesome for my kids. The cabin itself was clean and cozy. The lake was beautiful. Only (3) complaints: Anyone upstairs walking or moving about could be heard downstairs. Number 2, the phone would ring at the cabin and it would be a solicitor asking for Steven ( I assume this is the owner's name). Number 3, I wish that the play area with the swing and slide were fixed or either torn down as it presented a problem for my two youngest boys who wanted to climb into it and also swing but found that they couldn't and so I had to keep them from going over there by themselves. Nonetheless, we did have a great relaxing time and thank the owners very much for sharing their cabin with us.

Owners response: Maria, Glad to hear you enjoyed the cabin. We got the swing replaced, so next time you come down your sons can enjoy it. Our landline phone is there for emergency purposes and can always be turned off if you don't need it. As for hearing noise from upstairs, we've never had anyone else complain, and the upstairs is carpeted and insulated. But fortunately, there is only one bedroom downstairs (under the bunkroom), so at the very least, this would be the only room with noise issues. Perhaps put the kids downstairs next time!! Hope you can enjoy the cabin again soon. --Rebecca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So memorable we forever long to return!!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

The Moosehead Cabin is immaculate and appealing- the perfect touch of cozy, while accommodating even a generous number of guests! The ideal ratio of romance and sensibility! Very well outfitted for the many activities which may allure. There is literally something for everyone. The atmosphere of both the cabin and grounds will rejuvenate your soul. I was impressed with the quality of even simple things- announcing "welcome to a friend" rather than "just a rental". Highly recommended.

Owners response: Great to hear you enjoyed your stay Debbie. With 10 acres of privacy, a pool, a hot tub, volleyball, boats, the lake, and a great state park up the road, there really is something for everyone. Of course, some guests prefer to just relax with a book, which is perfectly fine too!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

Wonderful place and totally beautiful. I had hard time coming back home...
Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Returning Customer--Boys Night Out Group

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

This cabin is overall perfect, there was nothing different that we can recommended. Although we went during the Spring time and it was raining overall it was still AMAZING! No need for even staying in the room since there is plenty of space on the living room floor. I will be back with my family next year for sure! Thank you Rebecca for all your help, you were wonderful with helping us book the place! Talk to you next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you had a great time, and we look forward to having you return next year (or maybe earlier). Even though the living room floor was big enough for you all to "camp out" on, we hope you get the chance to try the comfy beds too!! -Rebecca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful weekend getaway

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

I have stayed at the Moosehead Cabin twice now, and still fantasize about getting back there. Rarely have I stayed at a vacation rental so well-stocked with necessities for either kids or adults. My first trip was to celebrate a 40th birthday, and we enjoyed the privacy, terrific hot tub, and gorgeous porches - not to mention the huge kitchen, great seating for all guests, and the moose. My second trip was with my two young children and another family, and the home was just as welcoming. The kids loved the canoes, the birds on the lake, the hot tub, being so close to a great state park, room to run around safely indoors, huge fireplace, and bunk beds. We also appreciated zipping out to pick up fresh oysters, finding everything we needed to cook awesome dinners, and plenty of space for us all to relax without crawling over one another. The home is well-equipped, especially the kitchen. Everything was very clean and well-maintained. The owner responded very promptly when we got confused about something early in our stay. The location is close enough to get to in a reasonable amount of time from Seattle or Portland, but feels like you are far away from civilization with all the perks one needs. We look forward to making this our regular escape in the coming years, particularly as the kids grow up.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our best time ever!

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

This is NOT a cabin...it is a beautiful HOME. Our mouths dropped when we got here. It was so much better than we imagined. We had 3 families, all with young children, and everyone had the best time ever. The kids were out on the boats every day, and the hot tub was a welcome delight for us "older" folks. We roasted smores around the campfire (we even had clear skies, and could see the stars), and made some wonderful dinners together in the kitchen. Fall is beautiful here, with the crisp air and the changing leaves. We took hikes through the park up the street and LOVED every minute. We plan to return every year (maybe even next summer to enjoy that pool).

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Simply the Best!

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We had the best time and hope to return every summer! The house is beautiful and has everything you could possibly need. The kids would wake up in the morning and immediately head outside. From the pool to the hot tub to the lake to the dock to the firepit.... I could go on and on. This was the best vacation we have had in the U.S. and cannot wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We stayed at the cabin with two families on Memorial Day weekend. The cabin was big enough to easily accommodate everyone. The cabin has a very good and open layout with a nice sized kitchen. Outside the property was in good shape and the kids enjoyed the play equipment and pool. It was a great weekend and we would like to return someday.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our favorite place

Review submitted: January 30, 2009   Date of arrival: January 11, 2008

We are a group of moms that get together once a year, from all over the Northwest. We've stayed in a lot of places, but this is by far our favorite. From the nice decorations, to the hot tub on the deck, to the beautiful lake and property, we love The Moosehead!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review