reviews for: listing #2665 - Marathon, Florida House rental

Tropical Pool Home on Canal, Double Lot PLR2012-00111
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,495 - $2,695 /wk

sort by:

Yes, it's too good to be true!

Review submitted: August 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

1st, ask yourself why there are no reviews since 2011?? Then wave your big red flag and look for another place! We still have the emails of correspondence with the owner to show the poor communication. Some of our issues were…… broken bed in one of the bedrooms, lights didn't work on back porch and it was pitch black at night so no outside sitting by the dock or pool. Both of these things were brought to her attention the first few days of our stay and were not fixed for us.(we have the email she sent back if you'd like to see it) (she said it was probably a breaker and will look at it when we leave…..the breaker is locked up so we couldn't check it ourselves) Grill grates were so rusty that we couldn't use the grill.(we have a pic of it) We were told a week after we got back that she was taking $150 out of our account to fix a piece of trim we pulled down with our boat trailer AND because the figures in the signed contract weren't figured right. The repair was a few screws to put the trim back up. ($25 on the highest end!) So she refigured the contract with different figures (which we still didn't get a copy of) and took the $150. At this point we cut our losses, told her to keep it and choose not to even correspond with her anymore about it. She answers emails with 1 liners and doesn't fully explain anything. We stay in Key Colony Beach every year and wanted to try a place that had a closer pool for my sick wife to get to easier. I'd rather carry her on my back to the pool at KCB than to put her thru the kind of service we got here. We have NEVER left a negative review before in all the years we have been to the keys but felt the public should know the truth because what they did is WRONG. I don't know if the owners can delete these reviews which makes you wonder why there are no reviews since 2011. Run away now……

Owners response: We have guests that are pleased with this property and return every year. Happy guests don't always take the time to write an online review They put their comments in the house guest book. It is an unhappy guest that will want to post a review. This guest had a deduction from his security deposit to cover damage to the carport. He was very happy until that happened....

This guest tore out a 10' section of the carport roof trim pulling his boat trailer out of the carport. His trailer guides were too tall. The interior ceiling is marred from the guides but I only charged him to reinstall the trim. A neighbor notified me that he damaged the carport, the guest did not. I notified the guest by email with pictures and he did admit to the damage.

The guest did notify me on the second day that the porch fan lights were out but said it didn't need to be addressed. On the third day the guest emailed to say they had no problems with the bed the first two nights, but on the third day there seemed to be a problem with the box spring. They wanted to let me know so they would not be blamed for it. Again, they said that it did not need to be addressed. I respect our guests wishes for privacy. The guest never mentioned any problem with the grill. The grills are replaced every two years.

Owners risk receiving a bad review when a security deposit is charged. Unfortunately, the damaged item must be repaired and the guest charged accordingly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Home Away FromHome

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2010

Not really sure on that arrival date and sorry for the delay on this review.That said must say communications and descriptions were excellant.Location,house,dock and pool were great.I brought down four first timers to the Keys and all want to make a trip to the Keys(at this location)an annual event.I would recommend this location to all except I don't want it to be occupied when I want it

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A little paradise on earth

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay, the pool is just fantastic, fishing from the deck so funny. It is a very quiet area, we just felt like at home . Cindy is a very nice and reliable owner. Everything is clear, there is no bad surprise concerning the amenities, the dishwater may seem a bit tired , that's all. But the most important : the house was clean when we arrived and ,when we left we met a charming housemaid.

There's not wifi system, nevertheless one can get a connection freely with a laptop from the library close to the house. Easy !!!
We are looking forward to coming back next year ...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cozy Home with Amazing Yard

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

This home has everything my family and I wanted in our vacation. There was plenty of room for our boat, a relaxing pool, and great location in Marathon. My wife especially enjoyed cruising through Boot Key Harbor and looking at all the boats. We also saw manatees and dolphins in the harbor. I liked that there are THREE gas stations on the way out to the fishing grounds!

I would like to point out that we originally rented the home because there are no steps anywhere. There are concret ramps up the driveway, into the home, and down to the dock. My father uses a walker and needs this.

The home itself is comfortable, and everything was provided for us-linens, utensils, and cable TV for any rainy days. The back yard is the real deal-a fish cleaning table, outdoor shower, new composite dock, and pool. The ladies liked all the patio furniture to sun on.

This was our 3rd year at this house, and we have already booked next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

No dock for our boat and nickeled and dimmed.

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

We rent a home every 3 months when we go down to the keys, we have done this for years. We have never had a problem until this rental. The first issue is the listing says "bring your boat over 50 ft of dock space". When we got there there where two boat docked at the house and only 18 ft of space available. We have a 28ft boat. On the last day at 9 AM in the morning the cleaning lady showed up, and was rude and tried to run us out the door saying check out was at 9. Our contract stated 10. We had to run around with our phones to get a connection for 40 minutes to pull down the contract from our email to prove it was 10 not 9 we ended up getting out late because we had to deal with proving it was 10. As well the cleaning lady took pictures of our kids, not cool at all. Later we get an email saying that most of our deposit was being kept because we did not specify that our two infants where occupants (we have never had a problem with infants being considered occupancy) and because we checked out late. Even though we wasted most of our packing hour dealing with having to prove to an abrasive cleaning lady that 10 was the real time. I contested all this with the owner and said if you want to charge us for all that then you should prorate the dock because we did not get what we paid for and what was advertised. She sent a letter back saying that the neighbor told her that our boat was broken down due to the transmission (implying that it negated the dock issue). boats don't have transmissions and our boat was not broken down. Our infant did break a lamp which the owner charges us 1/5 the security deposit for, I told her that I was fine with that, that we broke it and we would pay for it, but we feel we got ripped of for getting charged 2/5 the security deposit for 2 infants and 1/5 the security deposit for late check out for due to being harassed by a cleaning lady. Especially considering that we did not have a place to dock our boat (A big part of our vacation). Even though the house said "bring your boat 50ft of dock space". This was by far the worst vacation we have ever had.

Owners response: We have all guests sign a lease acknowledging the rules for renting this home. We thereby avoid any problems and there are no surprises.

The number of adults and children are listed in the lease with the stipulation no additional people are allowed on the property. This renter stated there would be 4 children. They had 6 children.

We have an 80' dock with an additional 20' of pilings on the property. My boat is on davits and occupies 29' of the dock. We therefore advertise 50' of dockspace for renters. A 19' boat was also at the dock that week and was pushed down to the 20' of pilings. This renter still had the alloted dock space. They were not comfortable with the dock, so we offered another dock for their use. They thanked us for the arrangement and nothing else was said. My neighbor had a conversation with this renter and was told their boat was not running.

This renter broke a living room lamp and did not admit it in my conversation with her at check out or to my maid. She threw it out but my maid saw it was missing.

My maid called me at 10:15 stating the renters did not think they had to check out at 10 am. All cell phone calls are dated with a time of call so I can verify the time in question was 10 am, not 9 am. The lease states the check in and check out time. When I spoke with the renter that day, I explained when they are late checking out the next guests cannot check in on time and that is not fair to them. The maid also had to wait for them to check out to get in to clean. This renter did not check out until 11:45.

We have renters sign a lease so there are no misunderstandings on the rules for the property and the conditions associated with the security deposit. This renter did not follow the lease she signed and was charged accordingly.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Loved the house.Its an older home but very comfortable,and well stocked.We stayed for two weeks and only needed to bring toothbrush,and groceries.Great location for boat owners, public ramp only few blocks away and very nice and user friendly.The pool is an added bonus,after a long day on the water,very nice to relax in the fresh water.i would highly recommend to couples or families.Lots of activities in near vicinity

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review