reviews for: listing #2665 - Marathon, Florida House rental

Tropical Pool Home on Canal, Double Lot PLR2012-00111
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,495 - $2,695 /wk

sort by:

New Home Away FromHome

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2010

Not really sure on that arrival date and sorry for the delay on this review.That said must say communications and descriptions were excellant.Location,house,dock and pool were great.I brought down four first timers to the Keys and all want to make a trip to the Keys(at this location)an annual event.I would recommend this location to all except I don't want it to be occupied when I want it

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A little paradise on earth

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay, the pool is just fantastic, fishing from the deck so funny. It is a very quiet area, we just felt like at home . Cindy is a very nice and reliable owner. Everything is clear, there is no bad surprise concerning the amenities, the dishwater may seem a bit tired , that's all. But the most important : the house was clean when we arrived and ,when we left we met a charming housemaid.

There's not wifi system, nevertheless one can get a connection freely with a laptop from the library close to the house. Easy !!!
We are looking forward to coming back next year ...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cozy Home with Amazing Yard

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

This home has everything my family and I wanted in our vacation. There was plenty of room for our boat, a relaxing pool, and great location in Marathon. My wife especially enjoyed cruising through Boot Key Harbor and looking at all the boats. We also saw manatees and dolphins in the harbor. I liked that there are THREE gas stations on the way out to the fishing grounds!

I would like to point out that we originally rented the home because there are no steps anywhere. There are concret ramps up the driveway, into the home, and down to the dock. My father uses a walker and needs this.

The home itself is comfortable, and everything was provided for us-linens, utensils, and cable TV for any rainy days. The back yard is the real deal-a fish cleaning table, outdoor shower, new composite dock, and pool. The ladies liked all the patio furniture to sun on.

This was our 3rd year at this house, and we have already booked next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

No dock for our boat and nickeled and dimmed.

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

We rent a home every 3 months when we go down to the keys, we have done this for years. We have never had a problem until this rental. The first issue is the listing says "bring your boat over 50 ft of dock space". When we got there there where two boat docked at the house and only 18 ft of space available. We have a 28ft boat. On the last day at 9 AM in the morning the cleaning lady showed up, and was rude and tried to run us out the door saying check out was at 9. Our contract stated 10. We had to run around with our phones to get a connection for 40 minutes to pull down the contract from our email to prove it was 10 not 9 we ended up getting out late because we had to deal with proving it was 10. As well the cleaning lady took pictures of our kids, not cool at all. Later we get an email saying that most of our deposit was being kept because we did not specify that our two infants where occupants (we have never had a problem with infants being considered occupancy) and because we checked out late. Even though we wasted most of our packing hour dealing with having to prove to an abrasive cleaning lady that 10 was the real time. I contested all this with the owner and said if you want to charge us for all that then you should prorate the dock because we did not get what we paid for and what was advertised. She sent a letter back saying that the neighbor told her that our boat was broken down due to the transmission (implying that it negated the dock issue). boats don't have transmissions and our boat was not broken down. Our infant did break a lamp which the owner charges us 1/5 the security deposit for, I told her that I was fine with that, that we broke it and we would pay for it, but we feel we got ripped of for getting charged 2/5 the security deposit for 2 infants and 1/5 the security deposit for late check out for due to being harassed by a cleaning lady. Especially considering that we did not have a place to dock our boat (A big part of our vacation). Even though the house said "bring your boat 50ft of dock space". This was by far the worst vacation we have ever had.

Owners response: We have all guests sign a lease acknowledging the rules for renting this home. We thereby avoid any problems and there are no surprises.

The number of adults and children are listed in the lease with the stipulation no additional people are allowed on the property. This renter stated there would be 4 children. They had 6 children.

We have an 80' dock with an additional 20' of pilings on the property. My boat is on davits and occupies 29' of the dock. We therefore advertise 50' of dockspace for renters. A 19' boat was also at the dock that week and was pushed down to the 20' of pilings. This renter still had the alloted dock space. They were not comfortable with the dock, so we offered another dock for their use. They thanked us for the arrangement and nothing else was said. My neighbor had a conversation with this renter and was told their boat was not running.

This renter broke a living room lamp and did not admit it in my conversation with her at check out or to my maid. She threw it out but my maid saw it was missing.

My maid called me at 10:15 stating the renters did not think they had to check out at 10 am. All cell phone calls are dated with a time of call so I can verify the time in question was 10 am, not 9 am. The lease states the check in and check out time. When I spoke with the renter that day, I explained when they are late checking out the next guests cannot check in on time and that is not fair to them. The maid also had to wait for them to check out to get in to clean. This renter did not check out until 11:45.

We have renters sign a lease so there are no misunderstandings on the rules for the property and the conditions associated with the security deposit. This renter did not follow the lease she signed and was charged accordingly.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Loved the house.Its an older home but very comfortable,and well stocked.We stayed for two weeks and only needed to bring toothbrush,and groceries.Great location for boat owners, public ramp only few blocks away and very nice and user friendly.The pool is an added bonus,after a long day on the water,very nice to relax in the fresh water.i would highly recommend to couples or families.Lots of activities in near vicinity

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review