reviews for: listing #266724vb - Atenas, Costa Rica rental

Your Positively Private Paradise - Ask about Complimentary ride from Airport!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Estate
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 805 - $ 1,225 / week
    $ 2,550 - $ 4,050 / month
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Great house!

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

The house and property were beautiful! Our whole family was able to stay there very comfortably. With seven children between two families you need lots of room and there was plenty. The two master bedrooms were so big that the first two night our two sons slept on blowup mattresses in our room. Our daughter was also with us in her playpen and we still had room to get around. Any questions I had were answered very quickly, and the owners and property manager were super nice! A great house and a great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing retreat!

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

Our family of 4 just loved this property. It was perhaps a little too big for our needs, but then we spent so much time at the house that we appreciated having all that space. The property is simply too beautiful to adequately describe here. We were also amazed at how well stocked it was. Just about everything we needed, besides groceries were there. And for groceries, there were several small stores less than 5 mins away, and the big supermarket - coopeatenas was about 8-10 mins away down the road.

Of all the places we traveled to in CR, Atenas was one of our favorite. We loved both Poas and La Paz, but Atenas itself is a charming little town, and Casa Doughty certainly adds to the charm.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful month in Costa Rica.

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

This private, tropical estate was everything and more that previous guests have mentioned in their reviews. We were lucky enough to spend a whole month at this modern and well maintained casa which gave us the opportunity to visit many attractions on day trips and also to relax in the wonderful tropical ambiance of the Casa. One afternoon we were visited by a pair of toucans. Our day trips took us to; Poas Volcano, Waterfalls and Gardens; Carara, Manuel Antonio, Braulio Carrillo National Parks; snorkeling on Tortuga Island; Tarcoles River crocodile boat tour; a coffee plantation tour; and horse back riding.
The owners ensured that we had everything we needed. The property managers, picked us up from the airport, arranged our rental car and were very helpful in organizing trips for us. Of course we cannot forget Mario, the gardener, who made us smile everyday and brought us bountiful fruit and fresh juice. .........Pura Vida! Hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent!!

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The house is huge, plenty of room for the four of us.:)
Had everything we needed.Great view of the valley. Nice pool and hot tub.
The landscaping is beautiful thanks to the efforts of Mario, the gardener. He is a friendly guy who brought us fresh fruit and chattered away in Spanish,but with our limited Spanish and his hand gestures , we caught some of it.:) Fun.
The property managers ,Aad and Marian were very friendly and helpful.
The property is very convenient to the great little town of Atenas.
Highly recommend this property and would love to stay here again sometime .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

266724

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

This is a beautifully landscaped home. It was perfect for multiple families with lots of space. The gardens offered wonderful tropical fruit with a fabulous gardener. The views are fantastic. The locaction to all activities is perfect. It is close to volcanoes and beaches.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy in Atenas

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

Wonderful house. Views are amazing, property and house are beautifully maintained. We stayed with our three young children and loved our week in paradise. Atenas is a cute town with a great weekly farmers market and plenty of nice restaurants (cafe balcon and alida were our favs). Very close to San Jose airport. Property managers Aad and Marian very attentive (do the coffee tour) and Mario the gardener is a joy and will show you where to pick fresh mandarins for breakfast. Highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vacation ever!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

My family of 12 ranging in age from 3 to 77 rented the house for Christmas this year. We were there for ten days. It was perfect!! The house was big enough we never felt like we were on top of each other. The pool was great as was the hot tub! The kitchen has everything you could need to prepare your own meals. Mario, the groundskeeper is great! He is very friendly though he speaks only Spanish. Aad and Marian, the property managers, arranged all our outings and it was superb! We told them what we were interested in and they made all the arrangements. My five year old wants to go again. Tomorrow would be great! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Property!

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

We absolutely LOVED this property in Atenas! The pictures of the house are only the beginning of the beauty of this home and property. The house is enormous and allowed all of us to have privacy and space. The views of the city at night from the hot tub were gorgeous!!

The house was exceptionally clean and Mario keeps the grounds impeccably beautiful. He was very friendly and even brought us some oranges to enjoy. The kitchen was fully equipped and allowed us to cook many of our meals at home. We enjoyed outdoor dining by the pool and even made homemade ice cream in the ice cream maker to celebrate our daughter's birthday. The owners were responsive and helpful in the planning process, and the caretakers were extremely friendly and helpful. The arrangements and the stay were smooth and without any incident.

The central location allowed us to visit a variety of places in Costa Rica while enjoying the quiet luxury of a small town. In day trips we were able to visit the city of Heredia where our daughter studied, Poas Volcano (although it was cloudy so we couldn't actually see it!), Manuel Antonio National Park, Ziplining near Jaco, and simply relaxing by the beautiful pool on the magnificent grounds. We loved the little community of Atenas and took advantage of the farmer's market on Friday to get some delicious fresh fruits, vegetables, bread, and eggs. We took the advice of the caretakers and owners and tried out the Italian place in town and it was a fabulous meal!!!

One week was definitely NOT enough time to enjoy everything that the area has to offer. We are extremely glad that we rented a car so that we could travel around easily and see this beautiful area. We're looking forward to returning again and would recommend this property to anyone!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pura Vida

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

Being repeat travellers to Costa Rica, we have stayed at resorts and rented homes. To truly experience the country, we have decided that renting is the best option (with a rental car, of course). Casa Doughty is a superb option for the adventurous soul. The home is luxurious and very well appointed. The property itself is gorgeous. We have no reservations recommending this estate and would gladly go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pura Vida

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Awesome,Spectacular,Amazing,Quiet,Relaxing, Beautiful House and Property!! The location and views are Breathtaking! After all our travels and other places we`ve stayed,this is the property we will be coming back to! The owners are great to rent out such a treasure! The caretakers do a fantastic job as well as Mario the groundskeeper! It was the perfect size for our family with plenty of space left over.Day trips are a breeze from the house.Recomend Atenas farmers market on friday till noon.Relax and let,''Heaven In The Clouds'' take you away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Yamy and Daniel, Mucho gracias for such a heavenly review of your stay at Casa Doughty! We are so glad to hear your family reunion was such a success! We sure do enjoy sharing our piece of heaven with our guests. And yes we know Aad and Marian, are the best property managers in Atenas, as well as a dynamic duo for sharing with guests their assorted custom tours of Costa Rica. Our goal is to always make sure our guest’s needs are met so they enjoy their stay. We thank you again for choosing Casa Doughty and look forward to your return visit! Mucho cariños, La Familia Doughty

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

We just returned from our family vacation at Casa Doughty in Atenas. The accomodations were very comfortable, spacious and the kitchen was well equipped for a large crowd. The villa was very clean & well maintained. The photos & descriptions of the property were very accurate. Marian & Aad the caretakers were very helpful with suggestions for day trips, grocery shopping & eating out . The restaurants were local and the food delicious! We had the best Margaritta at Jalenpenio's as well as delicious Italian & Mexican food. Mario the gardener brought us fresh bananas & papaya. The gardens on the property were magnificent, the pool was refreshing and the outside veranda so relaxing overlooking the valley. The villa was beyond our expectations and a definite for a return stay for our family. You won't be disappointed! Connie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heavenly Vacation

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

We just finished an awesome week at Casa Doughty. The residence is just fabulous, there are no other words to describe it. Its located high on mountains located about 5 KM or 3 miles east of Atenas giving you wonderful views across the valley below. On a clear day you can see all the way to San Jose. You are staying in the clouds for real. On many afternoons the clouds would roll in and around the property. It was a very cool and calming event to be literally setting there amongst the clouds, relaxing and taking in the peace and tranquility which comes with the property at no extra cost. The property is just as described, with wonderful furnishings and amenities. This property is prefect if your a family or just a group of friends going on vacation together. The house is very open and airy. The bedrooms are far enough apart that every bedroom is private. This is a perfect location from which which to venture out and discover the beauty and wonders of Costa Rica. Although you really can't move around the country without a rental car, if your looking to just relax this is the place for you as well. This was our 4th time in Costa Rica but my first time actually driving. Although it might be a bit intimidating at first, driving is not that bad. Once you get use to it you will not regret it. A rental car opens you up to so many adventures you might otherwise miss out on. Marian was just fabulous as well. She is so helpful whether it has to do with any issues of the house, or recommendations for excursions, or helping us hire lady's to come and in cook for us. Marian was just the best. If you're treating yourself to a vacation in Costa Rica, I recommend you go all the way and hire people to come and cook for you. The meals well superb and you have the ability to experience true Costa Rican flavors. Or, upon request they have the ability and talent to cook almost anything you desire. It's just another thing you should experience while there. We can't wait to come back again. Pura Vida

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful tranquility in a beautiful setting

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

What a gorgeous environment. Great accommodations and beautiful views of San Jose at twilight. The Managers and Gardener are wonderful and helpful. While Atenas is a quiet little village, we found some great restaurants and bars and the people (Ticos) are polite, courteous and helpful. Don't miss the open market on Friday for great produce and the supermarket has everything you need. I don't recommend driving at night as roads are rough and narrow, but daytime trips are a breeze. The pool and hot tub are clean and comfortable and cooking outdoors is a must as you couldn't wish for more perfect temperatures. Take some good books and board games and just chill out. We all hope to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible retreat location

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Our group was so pleased with our stay at Casa Doughty. The house is beautiful, the grounds are so well-maintained, the pool is very clean, the kitchen is stocked, and the hot tub was so relaxing! The view is incredible and the weather was perfect. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub at night and looking at the stars. The property manager was so helpful and available. The house and amenities were exactly as described. We live in Atenas and this was one of the best vacation rentals we have used yet. We hope to stay there again. Thanks for a wonderful retreat location!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly a Tropical Paradise

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week, enjoyed the pool, spa, relaxed in the 2 acre welll maintained gardens. We very much enjoyed going to Atenas's local shops and restraunts getting to know the local culture...we made a couple of trips to the beach, waterfalls, and other areas of interest

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!!

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Our group of 3 couples thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Atenas, the surrounding areas, and to this beautiful home! The house is enormous, beautifully decorated, with plenty of seating for all, spectacular views of the surrounding hills and the valley below, plush landscaping, and a location that is centrally located for many excursions. We especially enjoyed our visit to the El Toledo Coffee Plantation with lunch in a private Costa Rican home that was cooked over a wood burning stove! With visits to Poaz, La Paz Waterfall Gardens, Carrara National Park, and a river boat tour to see enormous crocodiles, we got plenty of exercise! But by far our favorite memory is of the Adventureland zipline. Everyone must do this!!! We were very happy to just spend our last two days relaxing at the house - our own private resort - enjoying the pool and hot tub while looking at the beautiful countryside.

The owners have provided everything in the house you could possibly need for a wonderful vacation along with lots of information on things to do, restaurants, etc. We were highly pleased with every recommendation! We hired the property managers, Aad and Marian, to drive us on our excursions so we did not have to worry about getting lost, and they were a delight and so very helpful. Mario, the gardener, is the perfect way to start the day with his bubbling personality and mucho rapido Spanish!! What fun to try and communicate with him with our limited Spanish. Plus he brought us fresh bananas, mangos, papayas, and limes!!

You can't go wrong in visiting this part of beautiful Costa Rica. Whether you just want to relax and enjoy the beauty and culture, or experience more active adventures, there is something for everyone. And Casa Doughty is the perfect base from which to enjoy it all!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

Casa Doughty could be summed up in one word: relaxing! My husband and I along with another couple had a wonderful (and relaxing) Costa Rican vacation at this beautiful hill top retreat. Each couple enjoyed a master bedroom with private bath. The kitchen was one of the most complete that I have ever seen in a rental property. We enjoyed grilling out on the gas grill and really appreciated the fresh mangoes that the gardner brought to us. Atenas is only a short drive away where we enjoyed local restaurants and the Friday morning Farmers' Market. These owneres go out of their way to make sure that you have the best vacation ever!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Experiencing Costa Rica

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

Our week long stay with friends was terrific.The home was spotless and the property was beautiful.
The owners and their supporting staff were very helpful in providing information about the country, local area and the home.During the stay, we dined at several local restaurants as well as cooked meals at the Casa.We visited several parks, the beach, volcano, coffee plantation, and also went zip lining at the rain forest canopy.Most of the visited sites were based on information provided by the owners.The home provided plenty of space for our group of six.I would highly recommend this property for families and groups of friends who want to visit Costa Rica and experience the beauty of the country as well as the many charms provided by the culture.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

The review was accurate. A great property. Even tho' we only used one of the 5 bedrooms all the space was great.

Enjoyed

Sad and Marian were very helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

Our stay at Casa Doughty was outstanding. We arrived late and awakened to a beautiful Costa Rican sunrise overlooking San Jose and the mountains. It was gorgeous! The home was the most equipped vacation home that we had ever been in. It had everything! Five bedrooms, three baths, spacious living room, large dining room, gigantic kitchen (that had enough dishes and utensils to handle 20 people), warm pool, washer and dryer, hot tub, great porch with swings and tables to watch the sunsets, plenty of hot water and air conditioning. The house was tastefully decorated to the point that we were coveting some of the paintings and sculptures. We really felt at home with the cable TV, VCR and plenty of movies. The high speed internet connection allowed us to keep up with emails, facebook an Skype our kids. Mario, the gardener was the hit of the week. He brought us fresh bananas and mangos each morning and it was fun trying to converse with him all week. All the local Costa Ricans we met all week were the friendliest people we have ever been with. It was always like coming home each day when we arrived from one of our daily excursions to soak in the hot tub and pool and bar-b-queing a late night dinner in the cabanna. All in all, it was the best vacation ever!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

The house was absolutely perfect, better than advertised. We were 5 siblings in our 50s and 60s with our spouses. The ample space allowed us privacy when desired and plenty of room to congregate together. The spacious kitchen and dining room were equipped with everything needed to prepare and serve gourmet meals. All the essentials were provided including all cleaning supplies paper towels and even enough toilet paper for ten people for a month's stay.
The property managers, Marian and Aad, were very helpful and on top of every problem and available for advice at any time. Mario, the gardener, was a true delight. Although he speaks only Spanish that does not stop him from carrying on stimulating conversation with us who have a very limited vocabulary. We welcomed his appearance almost every day and he often arrived bearing gifts of bananas,limes papayas, and on one of my last days there when everyone else had left, he brought me an entire meal that he had bought at a local restaurant. I guess he thought that a lone male couldn't cook for himself. Totally charming person, and he kept the grounds immaculate.
Atenas is a very nice small town with everything you need available at the super mercado, but food is not cheap, same prices as Canada. Definitely hit the farmer's market.
Major advice---Do not drive without a GPS. You are going to get lost even with it, but it will eventually get you back on track. Whatever driving times you calculate---double or triple it. This is a mountainous country and the roads are steep and extremely windy with no passing for 50 or more kilometres, and you will find yourself behind a slow moving truck.
That said it is still more than worthwhile to go exploring to the Pacific beaches, the Caribbean coast. and Monte Verde where you should not miss the zip line with the tarzan swing.
Costa Rica is one of the most beautiful, diverse countries in the world with the best climate, and the ticos are always friendly and accommodating.
Casa Doughty served as a wonderful base to experience all of it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Costa Rican Family Vacation

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

My family of 7 went to Costa Rica for the first time and stayed in this beautiful home. When we got there we thought we were in paradise! The grounds were breath taking and the view of San Jose was gorgeous.The gardener, Mario, did a wonderful job and was so nice to bring fresh fruit each morning. The five bedrooms and three baths accomodated the family very comfortably, and was very clean. The owners and property managers went above and beyond to help us with any concerns or questions. Lucky for us the property managers do tours which helped us tremendously.They were great! We were notorious for getting ourselves lost, signs are almost nonexistant. I highly recommend their assistance, also take a current map. Coasta Rica is a beautiful country! We were constantly on the go and saw many attractions. We recommend the Poas Volcano,La Paz Waterfall Gardens,zip line canopy tour, outside of La Fortuna, was a thrilling experience. Also enjoyed the beautiful grounds and hot springs at the hotel where we did the zip line.Ask property managers about that tour.A must see is the El Toledo coffee tour. If you want a nice beach go to Jaco Beach.Shopping is good on the way to the Poas Volcano.A good restaurant in Atenas is the La Caretta, great native food. If you want to just relax stay at the house. It`s beautiful! I would highly recommend this house to family and friends, great value and experience. I would definitely come back. You have to see this house to believe it . It is simply breathtaking!The house was centrally located and close to airport and attractions. Everyone needs to have a Costa Rican experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great place and no complaints!

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

This was the 4th property we have rented through VRBO in the Atenas area and it was once again a great experience. This property is definetly an estate and with two acres of a well manicured yard (Hat's off to Mario!) it makes for the perfect setting for a peaceful and private Vacation. The home itself is very large and has plenty of room and is well kept and clean. The property managers did a great job of checking up on us to see how things were going and to check if we needed anything.
Overall we have no complaints at all and we recommend this property to anyone who enjoys privacy and relaxation! Chances are we will visit the Casa Doughty again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll be coming back!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Your home is simply breathtaking. The pictures do not do this home justice. The
grounds are undescribably beautiful and we never tired of taking walks admiring all
the wonderful plantings.


We also loved sitting on the terrace at night sipping wine and watching the lights
of San Jose in the distance. The panoramic views of the mountains and tropical plants
in the early morning were gorgeous.


We were five in our party and your spacious home accommodated us perfectly.
We especially loved the huge well equipped kitchen where we could all gather for
meals and conversation.


Your property manager was very helpful in giving us ideas on where to go and things
to see, as well as your book with information on highlights of things to do in Costa Rica.


Our only regret is that we were only able to stay one week in this little bit of heaven.
We can't wait for another time to come to this tropical paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! The fact that you have told us you are planning to come back is the best compliment of all. We just want to remind you and all our guests that returning guests always get a 10% discount off the current seasonal rate. So we look forward to your return to Casa Doughty and Pura Vida in beautiful Costa Rica!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We cannot wait to come back

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

Our stay at casa doughty was wonderful...we brought our sons and 2 grandchildren with us. Everything was clean, bright and comfortable...we felt safe and it was so convenient. When we wanted information on roads or things to do the owner and managers were so helpful...we will for sure stay here again as we have fallen in love with this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This place is great!

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

Five adults stayed for one week in sept 2012. We all wish our time in Casa Doughty had been for two weeks. Can't wait until I get back to COSTA RICA. And guess where I will be staying!! The photos do not do justice to this wonderful property. You have to see it to believe it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

-BEWARE- THE OWNER WILL NOT RETURN YOUR FULL DEPOSIT

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

THE GOOD- The house is nice on the outside and the views are good. The pool was warm and clean. The grounds were well kept.

THE BAD- The house was NOT clean when we arrived. The sheets were ultra thin, the lowest quality you can imagine and there were stains on the sheets and the bedspreads which were also very low quality. When we removed the sheets to wash them, they were gritty and obviously had not been changed. There was very little water pressure. The Jacuzzi did not work. The owner's description says that there are air conditioners, "but they've never had to use them." I guess they haven't spent much time in their home yet because it can become uncomfortably hot. We stayed a week. It was hot for several of those days and the air conditioners did not work. Oh, they came on and moved the air, but they did not function well enough to cool the air. The owner's description notes that "electricity is expensive in Costa Rica." My guess is that the owner knows very well that the air conditioning doesn't function properly and hopes that the guests will just give up and turn it off.

SECURITY- THERE IS NONE! Aside from a small safe in one of the rooms that also did not work, there is nowhere safe to leave your valuables when you leave the house. There is an alarm system that apparently is not connected to any monitoring service. I tried to set it off to see if it worked. Nothing. Moreover, some of the windows in the house were installed with the latches upside down so that there is no way to lock them. Maybe that wouldn't be such a problem but it is well known among Costa Ricans and ex-pats that there have been many home invasions of properties just like this one in and around Atenas. It is NOT in a gated community. There is no guard on site. There is just a remote controlled gate at the entrance with an old sign saying that there are vicious dogs inside, a security measure the previous owner probably had enough sense to actually have in place. Most of the property is enclosed by a chain link or "hurricane" fence that has been grown over by vegetation. It would be VERY EASY to enter the property by climbing over the fence. Costa Rica can be a wonderful place to visit, but don't kid yourself as these owners apparently expect you will. Crime has increased tremendously in Costa Rica and one ignores that at his own peril. Had I known in advance the absence of security I would not have stayed here.

YOUR DEPOSIT- Yeah. Kiss it goodbye

Owners response: This review was written two months after the guest and his family of five stayed in our home for one week in July. We believe this negative review was written because we deducted $100 from his damage deposit due to a detailed report of damages (including photos) we received from our property managers after their departure on July 14th. When we mailed the reduced damage deposit refund we explained what had been reported and asked the guest to please contact us in regards to the matter.

When the guest finally contacted us on Sept 18th, he decided to let us know via email that there were problems during their stay. This guest did not contact us or our property managers at any time during their stay in July to report any problems or issues that they have outlined in their review. When we or our property managers are contacted about ANY problems or issues they will be addressed as quickly as possible. This is our business and for us not to address problems or issues would be a huge mistake. We ask you to please read the other five star reviews and decide for yourself what the truth is.

We have spent an average of 10 days a month at Casa Doughty in the last nine months. We have never felt the need for additional security living in Atenas. Casa Doughty is located just off Highway #3 in a very quiet peaceful neighborhood surrounded by banana and coffee plantations and small farms. Casa Doughty’s electric gate entrance has a 14 foot cement wall that surrounds the majority of the property. The chain link fence the guest mentioned is actually to keep guests safe from the 40 foot drop to the banana plantation below that is to the north of the property. There is no access to Casa Doughty ‘s two acres other than through our remote controlled gate. The property is surrounded by private farms with no other road access. We have had many guests stay here and not one has ever indicated they were concerned about security. Again please see the other five star reviews.

We also would like to disclose that after this guest shared these problems with us via email we decided to mail him a check for the $100. We notified him of our decision the very same day. We reached that decision because of the conflicting information from our guest and the reported damages from our property managers. So they did receive their full damage deposit refund.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect vacation place for large family

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I have just spent 4 days here with my family and had a wonderful time! The house is very clean and has everything you need to be comfortable. My only disappointment is that we did not reserve this property for a longer time.

Thank you for the wonderful time and memories!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stargazer, USA

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Casa Doughty was everything and more than we expected! The views from the porch and gardens are magnificent! Especially the night sky for stargazers. Location is easy to find. The town of Atenas has everything you need to supply the home for your stay. Many eco-adventures are within 1-11/2 hours drive or you can simply relax poolside. Definitely will return in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Break Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

We were 6 people in this home and had room to spare. Can't say enough! Beautiful home.Beautiful gardens.Lovely pool.Great hot tub.This is a fantastic well-maintained home! And Mario the gardener is a gem! He doesn't speak english and we didn't speak much spanish, but we still managed to have a great conversation with him about all the unfamiliar plants and trees in the garden. Not only that, when we ran into him in town, he provided us with a gift of fresh Mangos! Great place to come back to after a day spent traveling around Costa Rica

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Stay

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

this is a great property to vacation for sure. the property mgr is on the ball and frm the states so no detail is missing when he greets you and is at hand if you need direction no matter what you might need to ask, grounds keeper in very friendly and keeps all in tip top shape and is no way on top of you. let me not forget the owners who got back to me right away anytime i wrote them to set up our stay besides have ture feeling for your needs, you can see they'er on top of all when you see their house and property. the house has a good social lay out and large enough where you are not bumping into each other. the view and landscape is a 10. there is a large pool and is heated with a new rancho to hang under.

we travel a lot and stay all over cr beside the states and if you stay here you will not be sorry, please know we are a bit picky at times and we have not one complaint from start to finish. you do not have to be frm cr to get around here to go to the super market, beach, city or whatever as they are just off the main road leading to everything.

we enjoyed ourselfs ever min we were there. thank you so much

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

We arrived at the home after only a short drive from San Jose. We were pleasantly surprised to find a warm welcoming home with great features all through out the place.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, the pool was wonderful for taking in the sun of Atenas and the gardens are great for afternoon walks. The privacy of the house is also an asset as it feels completely secluded at the top of a hill with amazing views.

We enjoyed the experience and highly recommend it. We will be coming back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jan and Gabriel we are so glad you chose Casa Doughty for your "getaway"! The best compliment of all is that you plan to come back soon. Since we have recently purchased the property we are continuing to make improvements and want to let you know we will soon be installing a "on-demand" instant water heater. We look forward to your return visit to Casa Doughty.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful Retreat near the city

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

We arrived at the home after only a short drive from San Jose. We were pleasantly surprised to find a warm welcoming home with great features all through out the place.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, the pool was wonderful for taking in the sun of Atenas and the gardens are great for afternoon walks. The privacy of the house is also an asset as it feels completely secluded at the top of a hill with amazing views.

We enjoyed the experience and highly recommend it. We will be coming back soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review