reviews for: listing #2676 - St Pete Beach, Florida House rental

Flamingo Cottage - 1 block to beach - WiFI+pets Book Summer!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $655 - $890 /wk
    $1,800 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: July 30, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We stayed while work was being done on our home. We were happy to find a place that allowed us to bring both our dog AND cat. We were afraid we'd have to board our cat at the vets. It was so nice that the cat didn't even hide away! And we enjoyed our long walks around the neighborhood, allowing our dog to make many new "doggy friends"! Wonderful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a great time

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Chose the Flamingo cottage because of price and location near Gulfport Casino which is dance hall. We were able to take in two dances during our stay. The restaurants with in walking distance were great most with outdoor seating Close to gulf beaches and we found lots to do in St. Petersburg.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Much needed time away

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a wonderful time. It was the perfect time to go....warm after PA winter but not hot. Lovely little town feeling and very friendly people. I can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in Pink

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 29, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Flamingo Cottage was an ideal location for all amenities, everything was so accessible but best of all were the bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. The cottage was delightful and comfortable with the gardens front and back being an added bonus.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The vacation itself was very satisfying except that on the reservation it said 1-4 people. When we arrived we learned that the couch was changed for one we couldn't open and my son had to sleep on an air mattress.That's all.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderfull Days in Gulfport

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great Times

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gerat dass at Flamingo Cottage

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a great time at Flamingo Cottage, almost everything was perfect (except the sleeping Couch was unconfortable...).
To the Beach just a short walking distance and a playground for our kids.
Thank you very much.
Nadja and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Indiana Hoosier

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a great time at the Flamingo Cottage and the Gulf Port area. A wonderful place if you have dogs. Everybody loves your dogs. Very nice for eating out you can bring your pets with you and set while you eat. We had a dog stroller which made it very nice.
The only complaint was the bed is a little squeaky.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A couple of weeks in Paradise

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved the Flamingo experience. The cottage was just the right size and pretty handicap accessible since I came with a broken leg. We found he parking lot pretty dark and could have used some hand rails by the shower.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Kodiak Alaska

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

Thank you for letting us use the cottage. We really enjoyed it. Plus the area was amazing. I had penty of quiet to recover from surgery and plenty of places to walk to. The beaches are beautiful here. We will be back in February 2013 for my three month check up. I will look you up to see if it is available.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Arrived with Tropical Storm Debby!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Yes, we arrived with Tropical Storm Debby! Water so high we couldn't drive down the streets of Gulfport but Sally made the cottage avaialble for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. Even with the rain the area was great with museums and stores and restaurants. Then, when the sun came out the beaches were amazing! Nice walks around Gulfport and hope to come back again. Our two dachsunds enjoyed this week as well! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First visit to Gulfport

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We are on a girl's trip and chose the Flamingo Cottage. It is a cozy, pleasant cottage with everything you need. Enjoyed walking the town to shop & dine. Ate at O'Maddy's for lunch & dinner on Saturday. Very good food & scene.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cottage was beautiful & answered our every nee

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

From the gloom and doom of Connecticut to the sunny, warm Florida weather! We enjoyed it all, especially O'Maddy's for lunch and being near the water. The cottage was beautiful and answered our every need.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Came back for our 3rd stay

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

Trudi & I came back now for our 3rd stay at Flamingo Cottage & it is beginning to feel like a home away from home (Gainesville). DeSoto, Stella's...this time we sat at O'Maddy's for wine and great appetizers! Clam Bayou and also went into St Pete to 400 Beach for a fabulous lunch of flash-fried calamari. All dog-friendly.

This year is, I hope, a break-through year. In August, I will see the first of 3 novels I wrote published in London by Thames River Press. Warpaint, Baby Rocket and Content Burns - a triology about trauma and survival in the 21st Century. Please read! I'm hoping to come back for a second stay this year. If not, May 2013. By then all three novels should be published. With hope and thanks for a break

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More than the basic necessities

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We came for a month from the winter that wasn't in New England. This is indeed a very nice place to stay. Clean and well provided with more than the basic necessities. Sally is a wonderful whatever she is: pleasant, helpful and courteous. Gulfport is a superb little town.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our second visit to the Gulfport area

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

with lots to see and do, including the Pinellas Trail. This is a lovely, clean place which is central and dog-friendly.

PS Loved the new BBQ!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good eating spots

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

Had a great time. Very laid back town and dog-friendly. Good eating spots - Backfin Blue very good. Also Neptune's. Hope to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The community is neat and relaxing

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

We came to get away from the cold of Buffalo, NY region. Great weather here as well as the area here in Gulfport. We enjoyed the eating places, the weekend art show and the Tuesday food market. The community is very neat and relaxing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great place to visit

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

My husband and I drove here from West Virginia where it was 9 degrees and snowy. This cottage was perfect - very comfortable and so convenient. Every Gulfport restaurant we tried was wonderful. Crabcakes at Backfin Blue were excellent. The weather was great. We especially enjoyed taking lunch and spending the day at Ft DeSoto. Boyd Hill Nature Preserve was worth the visit. We so so many birds, a gopher turtle & alligators soaking up the sun. Everyone in Gulfport was very friendly. All in all a great place to visit and we hope to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Came for a wedding

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

Came for a wedding at St Pete Beach. Great weather. We loved the convenience of Gulfport. Easy to walk to everything. Loved the pizza at Cousins' (by the slice!) Our Irish Terriar loved stalking the lizards in the courtyard! Very relaxing place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautifully quiet and serene

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

Debbie and Al stayed for one week. Enjoyed the rest! Beautifully quiet and serene. Enjoyed the Art Walk and O'Maddy's. Great breakfast at Stella's. Wonderful weather!! We'll return to Gulfport again - Florida's best-kept secret.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our 4 week stay

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

Mel & Roberta are here from Denver, CO. We enjoyed the four weeks we spent here. We met Sally - she's a very nice lady. We spent some of our time here at Gulfport - we ate at O'Maddy's and danced at the Casino. Other than that we spent a lot of time at St Pete Beach & Clearwater. We enjoyed dinner and danced on the Starlite Princess on our anniversary. Also took an afternoon cruise on the Starlite Majesty in Clearwater and the Sea Life Safari. Weather was quite good, a bit cool-ish but sunny most of the time. Cottage was clean, cozy and comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice place

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

Brandon and Stephanie here from Kansas City, MO. This is a nice place to stay. We really enjoyed O'Maddy's for fun local nightlife and Pia's for amazing Italian food. On Friday we were walking around and stumbled on an art festival in the Art District. It was amazing to see a lot of local artists and to see their work. We even bought a few pieces for our home. The weather was great until our last night when it rained all night. Now we are headed back to Kansas City.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very nice, great place

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

My brother and I stayed here for a week and it was very nice, great place. We will be back for sure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Trudi & I came back...

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend last year and even better weather this year. Dog beach, Clam Bayou, the town, all as friend and inviting as I remember. This cottage is perfect for us and we hope to come back next spring! For two middle-age ladies - me and the dog - it is a sweet getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

We had a sunset beach wedding upon arrival on St Pete Beach. It was beautiful! This cottage has been perfect for us, private, yet walking distance to everything. I love the town of Gulfport, everyone has been so friendly and laid back. There is a wide variety of restaurants, shops and activities (fresh market, art walks, to sailing) and of course, the beach. We plan on visiting every year!

P.S. Be sure not to miss the gorgeous sunrise and sunset from the pier.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hello from the Middle East

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

I work overseas in the Middle East. I am retired from the military. I used to live in Gulfport...love it. This is a quiet, clean place with charm. It's great to relax. The cottage has everything. Very comfortable.

Oct 27 - I'm checking out today. A wonderful peaceful stay. Sally was great, very professional. I swam in the gulf this morning - it was terrific. Watch a dolphin go by and the wren's were all around me. Beautiful weather. Back to the Middle East! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a wonderful stay

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

My husband and I came for the weekend from NY. We had a wonderful time here in Gulfport! O'Maddy's crabcakes are delicious and the drinks are affordable. We had a blast and everyone was very friendly. Our favorite place of all was the Blueberry Patch - a local artist retreat. We met a number of amazing and kind and generous people. The whole place was like family. If you appreciate the eccentric check out the Blueberry Patch. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect retreat

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

My husband and I came for a mini-vacation/getaway. The Flamingo Cottage was a perfect retreat. We were close to everything, including our kids. The rain didn't dampen our spirits. We enjoyed the parade and the fireworks were among the best we have seen. Kudos to the City of Gulfport. We enjoyed breakfast at Stella's, a really nice dinner at Isabelle's and one evening had a great dessert at the pub on Shore Blvd. Take time for yourselves and enjoy Gulfport.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful area

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Emjoyed stay very much, very peaceful area. Everything easy to get to and the dogs loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorial Day Weekend 2010

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Came over to Gulfport from Gainesville with my dog, Trudi for a break from teaching summer school at UF. The weather was perfect, Flamingo Cottage exactly right for us! We drove over to Ft DeSoto dog beach and took in the rays, had breakfast at Stella's (dogs welcome & invited), walked around Gulfport and wished we had more time to linger. This place was neat, everyone was very friendly and the morning walk along the beachside a perfect way to start a day. My only wish was for more human plus companion-animal venues. I would've loved to take Trudi out on the water! Oh, and we met lots of other sweet dogs. I was amazed at how well-behaved all the dogs were at Ft DeSoto so if you have a dog be sure to go.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

We have enjoyed this cottage so much it seems 7 days is not enough. We loved all the beaches. Our stay has been so wonderful. We will come again. Hopefully in a few months. All the people we met could not have been nicer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise!

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

My husband, Otis & I (Holly), arrived from Denver for a well-deserved vacation. The people are wonderful and this place is an oasis from stress. The weather was perfect. We never rented a car, there is plenty to do within walking distance. Go see Diane at O'Maddy's and tell her Holl & Oats (Holly & Otis) sent you! Try the seared tuna sashimi (yum!). Stella's is great for breakfast, Theresa is the owner. On Tuesdays, there is a Farmer's Market. Bob sells jewelry (cheap but beautiful) outside Java Nirvana. Take a Kayak Tour from Kurt (727) 418-9728, through Clam Bayou. Be sure to take your camera, the birds let you get very close. Walk everywhere so you can eat whatever you want. Enjoy your stay in PARADISE!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Flamingo Cottage

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We stayed at the charming Flamingo Cottage. It was just right for our girl's getaway. The cottage is located in an old traditional Florida neighborhood. It was quaint and comfortable. Best thing about the cottage was it was a short walk to the beach and downtown. Lots of little shops and great restuarants located on the main street of Gulfport and on the water. Mostly locals walking their dogs. Very close driving to St. Pete Beach and Passagrille area. Enjoyed our long weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved Gulfport and the Flamingo Cottage

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Pleasantly surprised with Gulfport!! We usually stay in Madiera, but I now think Gulfport is our new favorite. The beach was never crowded and the area is very pet friendly. The cottage very functional and nicely decorated. Good food at the local restaurants. We love the Habana Cafe.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Flamingo Cottage

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with the decor and design of the Flamingo Cottage. Was within a few blocks of downtown historic Gulfport with its live oak trees and brick streets which gave me a glimpse of old-time Florida which is quickly being lost to strip malls and parking lots.
One caveat -- would really only consider this unit appropriate for two people. The bedroom is separated from the living room by a flimsy bi-fold door (which was off its tracks during our visit) which affords no privacy. Also, the ceiling in the bedroom is probably 6.5 feet or less -- tall people may feel claustrophobic. I am 5'4" and was easily able to place my hand flat against the ceiling without standing on tip toes.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: These guests stayed 3 nights and did notify us via email about the bedroom door a little more than half-way through their stay. Although they said it would be great if it could be repaired the next day, they said they realized at that point they'd only have one night left anyway. The door was repaired the day they departed. The door is a regular, solid-panel bi-fold door and as such does not offer complete privacy as there is a small gap where the door attaches to the doorway. The ceiling in the bedroom is lower than standard and lower than the rest of the rooms. It measures just under 7 feet at six feet, nine inches. The bedroom is a comfortable size with a large picture window, which helps give it a roomier feel despite the lower ceiling. We are always happy to answer any questions about any of our properties! Beth

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place to stay in Gulfport!

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

We spent three days here when we drove down to attend our nephew’s wedding on St. Pete Beach. The cottage is very comfortable and well appointed, had excellent internet, and it’s a perfect location for enjoying the shops and restaurants on Beach Blvd and Shore Blvd. We had our dog with us, and he loved being on the front patio on the lookout for little geckos! We liked The Village Pub and O’Maddy’s and had a good dinner at Pia’s, but our favorite spot was Peg’s Cantina and Brewpub. If your travels take you to this charming little town, look no further than Flamingo Cottage for your place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quaint and comfortable

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

We stayed in the Flamingo Cottage at the beginning of July and loved Gulfport! The cottage was very comfortable for the 2 of us. The kitchen was beautiful and we loved sitting out front on the small patio. Even though the cottage is close to the downtown area and in the middle of a residential area, it was very quiet there. Our only complaint was that the bed was extremely squeaky!
Gulfport itself was very charming. We loved the quick walk to the beach area and to the shops and restaurants. We took the trolley to St Pete Beach one day and also then drove ourselves another day. The drive was very easy and we found many wonderful places to visit. We definitely plan on returning....hopefully soon!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We apologize for the squeaky bed! It has been repaired and is now squeak free!!

Beth

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Wonderful Find

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

We stayed for a week in this wonderful cottage. The cottage was clean and comfortable and very convenient to the beach. It was well equipped with everything you could possibly need and just a quick walk to a wonderful little artsy town in Gulfport with great restaurants and shopping. It was convenient to everywhere we wanted to go but tucked away so that at night it felt like we were away on an island.

We hope to have the opportunity to return soon and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere but here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best place in town

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We spent an extended Labor Day Weekend at the Flamingo Cottage, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The cottage is in a residential neighborhood, just a two block walk to the intercoastal Gulfport Beach, and two blocks to the main street with shops and restaurants. Town really has a wonderful "old Florida" feel, there's even an active dance hall where one can learn the tango on a Tuesday night or the swing on another. Live bands, too. And the town, on Labor Day Saturday, hosts a GeckoFest, which is in it's tenth year, I believe. On that Saturday, the main little street, Beach Blvd, is closed to cars, and sprouts craft and clothing vendors and food stands and giant geckos and costumed folks with a parade and judges and prizes, and finally, the festival culminates in a street dance at night. It is fun for all ages. The next morning it is a peaceful little town on the water again. To head out to the Gulf beaches there is a trolley from town, or your own car that takes 15 minutes. Also, Clam Bayou is a nature preserve at the edge of Gulfport's marina. Some people kayak through it. I didn't get the chance, but we did walk it's nature trail. Fish were jumping everywhere, geckos were scurrying around the path, tiny gars and minnows were hanging out in the shallows.

Flamingo Cottage, itself, is clean and fresh, and charmingly decorated, but also fully functional. Central air, coffeemaker, stove and fridge, granite counters. Nice design. Personally, I like being in a place that has all the amenities, but is not a high rise. It's in a quiet neighborhood for sleeping, and feels safe, and still easily accesses the Gulf beaches, shops, and restaurants. Local contact is in town if there are any problems. Air went out one morning, but one phone call, and was fixed within the hour. I recommend this place wholeheartedly, and look forward to another visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Two weeks at the Flamingo Cottage

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

We spent the last two weeks of March, 2010 at the Flamingo Cottage. We, my wife and I, had a wonderful time. The cottage was as described and very comfortable. Gulfport is charming, and a quiet haven. Although minutes from St. Pete, we felt as if we were on an island. The cottage was well equipped and immaculate. Thanks for a great vacation and respite from Winter,

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 16, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

I stayed in Flamingo Cottage during February & March while traveling with my little dog Sophie and I don't know who had the better time. She was welcomed with treats, her own dog bowls, and enjoyed being outside in the two private patios while I read or sipped coffee. Of course, we quickly found the dedicated Dog Park and that became a mandatory daily stop on our rambles around town.

I had found out about Gulfport and Flamingo Cottage on line and both were just as charming & friendly as I had hoped. The cottage was adorable with a good sized BR and a bed that was so comfortable that I slept better there than I do at home. The owners provided everything needed to cook, grill, get online (great WiFi)and enjoy the beach which was right down the street. Their corner property is perfectly located for walking to the beach, restaurants, shops, parks, library, and Tuesday's Fresh Market, and yet it was so quiet at night being tucked in to a nice residential area. The grounds are beautifully landscaped & maintained with private patio areas and nice outdoor seating & lighting.

I could easily imagine staying here without a car especially since the owners kindly provided me with a bicycle kept right out in the back shed for handy use. I ended up taking evening rides to the nearby Marina to watch the Pelicans dive for their dinner, trips to the library, to Yoga class, and even started letting Sophie run along side me for the extra exercise she seems to want. But, since I did have my car with me I was also able to quickly get in to Downtown St. Petersburg, visit Treasure Island, Passe-A-Grille, Ybor City in Tampa, and the not to be missed Ft De Soto Park where a section of the beach is reserved for dogs to be off leash year round, a rare thing to find & what fun!

The owners also provided a monthly listing of things to do in & around Gulfport and we enjoyed the Art Walks, a few community plays at Catherine Hickman Theatre, a Floridianna Festival, and the Pink Flamingo & Passe-A-Grille Home Tours. There's always plenty to do in Gulfport but it's also a great place to just kick back, relax & enjoy the beautiful beach, shore birds, & abundent sunshine. I really didn't want to pack up and leave this little slice of paradise I had stumbled upon and was very pleased with my decision to book Flamingo Cottage for those two months.

Thanks, Sally & Beth, for making us so comfortable in your charming cottage.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We were in the area for surgery at the Piper Clinic and stayed at the Flamingo Cottage for 2 weeks. It was absolutely perfect for our needs - well equipped and comfortable, close to hospital, doctor & beach and a very quiet and peaceful neighborhood. Nearby grocery, drug store and mall easily filled all needs. We look forward to returning to Gulfport soon (but under different circumstances).

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 19, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We stayed at Flamingo Cottage for a little over a week and were extremely pleased! The cottage was well equipted, clean, and had a wonderful notebook of visitor information. We loved Gulfport and were especially pleased with how pet-friendly area was including restaurants and shops. Sally was really friendly and provided lots of great information about the area and things to do! We will definately return to visit again soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 18, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

we had a truly magical time staying at flamingo
cottage.It is the perfect location for a quieter time
in florida but with everything you need to make
your holiday complete.great restaurants,lovely
beach and lots of friendly folk.flamingo cottage and
the area of gulfport are the real unspoilt florida.we
will definitely return.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 15, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Perfect little cottage! Great location for walking, biking and boating. Easy walk to the beach with our kayaks. Will definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 15, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We stayed for five weeks in Flamingo Cottage (December/January 2006/2007) and found it to be an excellent choice. In fact it was "home from home" as far as we were concerned!
Clean, comfortable, containing everything we needed for our vacation stay, including free use of a washer and dryer. It is an ideal cottage for two people, centrally located for Gulfport village, and just a few minutes stroll from the seafront and beach.
Added to this, St. Pete's Beach and Tyrone Shopping Mall were both only a short drive away.

We can thoroughly recommend Flamingo Cottage! - Ken and Elaine Mahoney, Norfolk, England

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review