reviews for: listing #26770 - Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina Cottage rental

Beach/Golf/Fishing Cottage/Pet Friendly
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Shangrila
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $350 - $775 /wk
    $900 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

GREAT PLACE!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Upon arrival I was greeted by neighbors smiles and the owner Mike finishing up on detail work. The cottage was neat, clean and very roomy for my party of 4 adults. Carolyn keeps the house looking great and was very helpful when I needed assistance with anything. I spent a lot of time on the piers and even though I came a little too early in the season, the fishing was great. The location is very near many attractions. You will not find a place this wonderful for the price anywhere!
I will be planning on booking again this fall for sure.
Two thumbs up Mike on a great stay and well maintained place. I look forward to staying again soon.

Owners response: Richard,

Thanks for the great review. Glad the fishing was good. Thanks to Carolyn and Donna for keeping our cottage so inviting. We look forward to serving you again, soon.

Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Comfortable & Pet Friendly!

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

I had a most perfect vacation get-away in crane cottage with my dog Ted. It was so nice to arrive after a long car drive to such a clean, bright and cheerful, well-kept cottage. The location is perfect and the accommodations so comfortable. The neighborhood is welcoming and very friendly. Ted LOVED the large shady front and back yard surrounded by towering Carolina pine trees. Within walking distance is the intracoastal waterway with two wooden piers for fishing or boating. Kayaking through the scenic marsh was perfect on a warm and sunny day. Make sure to bring your camera! The owner, Mike, also provides bicycles and the area is perfect for a long and relaxing bike ride. Ocean Isle Beach is only a 5 minute car ride. I would highly recommend a vacation stay in Crane Cottage. Two paws up from Ted!!!

Owners response: Sandy thank you so much for the great review and thanks to Carol and Donna for keeping the cottage bright and cheery we loved having you some of the pictures you created are still hanging on the walls in the living room hope you come back next year thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Comfortable & Pet Friendly!

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

I had a most perfect vacation get-away in crane cottage with my dog Ted. It was so nice to arrive after a long car drive to such a clean, bright and cheerful, well-kept cottage. The location is perfect and the accommodations so comfortable. The neighborhood is welcoming and very friendly. Ted LOVED the large front and back yard surrounded by towering Carolina pine trees. Within walking distance is the intracoastal waterway with two piers for fishing or boating. Kayaking through the marsh was perfect on a warm and sunny day. Make sure to bring your camera! The owner, Mike, also provides bicycles and the area is perfect for a bike ride. Ocean Isle Beach is a 5 minute car ride. I would highly recommend a vacation stay in Crane Cottage. Two paws up from Ted!!!

Owners response: Sandy, thank you so much for staying with us. Thank you for your excellent review. Thanks to Carolyn and Donna for keeping the cottage briht utiful. I really appreciate the beautiful artwork you create and the picture of the sailboat is up in our cottage now. We look forward to serving you again next year thanks Sandy, Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT!

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

This property on Crane Rd. was the perfect long term get-away for myself and my furry companion Ted! The location is convenient to all attractions nearby. I had a great time here, neighbors are very friendly and owner Mike is a super great guy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tucked away but close to everything

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

Loved loved loved the house on Thrush Rd. It is always so hard to find a place to stay that allows dogs. This property was big enough for 4 adults and 2 dogs with plenty of room to spare! The property was quiet and wooded giving the dogs lots of space to play and run. The covered porch in the back was a great place to hang out and relax and enjoy a few drinks. The house was 5 minutes to Ocean Isle Beach and everything we needed. The fishing pier was only a short walk too. Would have liked to have had basic cleaning supplies and kitchen supplies provided but that was easliy fixed with a trip to the store. Also had some issues with the internet but Mike was very responsive in getting it fixed. We will definately be planning another trip back this summer!!!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Near Waterway

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

The location was great for using our boat and driving to the beach. We put the boat in each day to explore the inland waterway at the boat ramp. The neighborhood was very friendly and the house manager extremely helpful.

Owners response: Carol,

Thank you for you excellent review. As always the credit goes to Carolyn and Donna for keeping our cottage so nice.
I am glad you enjoyed our piers and boat ramp. I hope the fishing was good. We look forward to serving you again next year.

Mike

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Friendly and Relaxing!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We stayed at Crane Cottage the week of 3-30-13 with our four children and dog. The house was clean and very inviting. Bringing our dog was a great option, and we were relieved to see that although the owner allows pets, you would never know it! Since our dog is house broken and well-behaved, it is always a relief to discover a clean, odor free, pet friendly home.
The owner was readily available with any questions, and we were able to rent several bikes for our children to ride as well.
Our family spent the majority of the day taking walks, riding bikes and relaxing on the pier. It is also a short drive to the beach, however our children barely wanted to leave! The neighbors are extremely friendly and our children were able to make several friends during our trip. Moreover, one neighbor lent us their crab trap and we enjoyed fresh crabs and mussels for dinner.
We did not go out to eat one time or visit any tourist attractions, yet our children said it was their favorite spring break, by far. We will definitely be back, and hope to make this an annual trip to Crane Cottage!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kate,

Thanks for your excellent review. We love our piers, boat ramp and great family atmosphere in Shangrala. We look forward to your staying with us again. Thanks to our two fabulous cleaning ladies Carolyn and Donna for keeping our cottage so beautiful.

Mike

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thrush Cottage - Fantastic!

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Thrush Cottage for three weeks, it was superb! The location was great for all the activities and places we wanted to frequent. Just a short drive to the golf courses, beach, Myrtle Beach, and Wilmington. The amenities of the cottage, location, and hospitality cannot be beat! The neighborhood is so friendly and peaceful. It was a 'home away from home', we didn't want to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I can't thank you enough for your kind review. It is very much appreciated by myself and our fantastic cleaning lady Carolyn. I hope you enjoyed the new flat screen TV's as I much as I enjoyed putting them in. Look forward to seeing you next year.

Thanks,
Mike

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Our family of four stayed at the cottage for a week and had a fabulous time! The cottage itself was clean, inviting, homey and spacious to welcome visiting family and friends for our reunion. Loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mary Jo,
Thanks for you kind words and the wonderful tip you left Carolyn our fabulous caretaker. Please come stay with us again.
Mike

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Thrush Cottage

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

This is the best of both worlds; beach living and quite relaxing time near wooded area. This 3 bedroom to 2 bath home is a wonderful place to spend a week or month. My family (four adults)spent a month in this relaxing environment. There is plenty of room in the kitchen for everyone to help, huge from yard for the dog to play in, great back porch for grilling and sitting an enjoying the evenings of cooler air. This rental has everything from washer/dryer to potholders, and everything in between. The setting of the house is a quiet oasis, but with Myrtle Beach and Wilmington not even a 1/2 hour away, you can easily get the night life you crave. Ocean Isle Beach, Sunset Beach and Holden Beach are just a short drive away, and for the fisherman out there, there is two piers just down the street for your fishing needs, and right on the intercoastal waterway. The sunsets off that pier are amazing and cannot be beat anywhere in the world.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks to Carolyn and Donna who keep our cottage so beautiful and thank our clients for your kind words. We do think our beach, and our cottage are beautiful. Please come stay with us again.\

Mike

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Saltwater Life

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

My children and I had the joy of spending a month at the cottage. It was wonderful, the house is stocked with all you would need, it is big and very comfortable. We are 4 grown adults and totally enjoyed being within minutes for the ocean at Ocean Isle Beach and also with in minutes from Shallotte. To say we used the piers for fishing is an understatement, it was like having our own private pier and the sunsets from the pier were amazing.
I will suggest that you come and stay here, we loved it so much we are moving to this area instead of Wilmington.
Mike is easy to reach and a wonderful host.
Do yourself and stay here, relax and watch the sunset and enjoy the stars at night.
Thank you so much Mike.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Holly,
Thanks so much for your kind words and special thanks to our cleaning ladies Carolyn and Donna who keep the cottage so beautiful. Please come stay with us next year.
Mike

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful family get-away

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

My family and I and stayed here for a week in July and we absolutely loved it. The place was clean and well maintained. It had a very "homey" feel to it. We loved sitting out on the screened in porch in the evenings. It's very close to beach, which was great. My husband loved the fact that he could just walk down to the pier and fish whenever he wanted to. The owner and his caretaker were very helpful and friendly. I have recommended this place to all my friends and family and I'm looking forward to going back there myself. It was truly a wonderful place to stay and there's plenty of restuarants and other attractions nearby to keep the kids entertained. It's close to everything.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Carolyn,
Thanks for your kind words and thanks to our fabulous caretakers Carolyn and Donna who keep our cottage so nice. We look forward to your coming back next year.
Thanks,
Mike

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

My family and I stayed here over the 2012 Labor Day weekend and we couldn't be more pleasantly surprised. The cottage was extremely clean and well taken care of. It had all the amenities we needed for our stay (including a washer and dryer) and there was plenty of room for all of us, including our dog. The location is perfect since we were only minutes from the beach on Ocean Isle and Sunset Beach. We were even close enough to take a drive to down to Myrtle Beach. Mike was a great pleasure to work with and the family and I are hoping to make this an annual tradition. Thanks Mike!

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. I can't give enough credit to our fabulous cottage caretaker, Carolyn, who keeps our cottage so beautiful for our guests. We look forward to having you stay with again next year.

Mike

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Place for a Great Price

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

My family and I stayed here over the 2012 Labor Day weekend and we couldn't be more pleasantly surprised. The cottage was extremely clean and well taken care of. It had all the amenities we needed for our stay (including a washer and dryer) and there was plenty of room for all of us, including our dog. The location is perfect since we were only minutes from the beach on Ocean Isle and Sunset Beach. We were even close enough to take a drive to down to Myrtle Beach. Mike was a great pleasure to work with and the family and I are hoping to make this an annual tradition. Thanks Mike!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words. I can't give enough credit
to our fabulous cottage keeper, Carolyn, who keeps the cottage so
beautiful. We look forward to you staying with us next year.
Mike

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your charming Thrush Cottage, it is perfect! Cozy, relaxing, beautifully decorated, quiet, peaceful,  very accommodating and the location is the best!  It is obvious that every attention to detail has been made throughout your home thanks again for sharing with us, we enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the excellent review. Carolyn, our cleaning lady, does a fabulous job of keeping the cottage so beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thrush Cottage Review

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Thanks for the use of the Thrush Cottage for the week.
It's a beautiful place. I loved the back deck and the fact
that it was tucked away and quiet but only a few minutes
from the beach.

I haven't been on an actual vacation nor to the beach
in about 20 years and was glad to have picked this
place to stay with my wife and son.

Thanks again.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words and special thanks to our fabulous cleaning ladies Carolyn and Donna who keep our cottage is great shape.
We look forward to serving you next year.
Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Crane

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 7, 2012

We stayed at the Crane the second week of May. Our primary objective was fishing the whole week and visting a friend who lives at Sunset Beach. We really enjoyed the screened front porch, the parking space for the boat, and the location since it is very close to the Intercoastal Waterway. The owner was extremely nice and helpful with the reservations. Maid service was included and that was very helpful for three quys not having to clean the place on departure. I would recommend this place to stay at and have told a lot of people about this place who visit this area. Sea-Ya!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

what a great place

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

the place was very nice.we had a great time.the owner (mike) was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure we were happy.i hated to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. Please come again.
Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thrush cottage provides perfect solution

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

I have never been more satisfied with a vacation rental. The owner and the housekeeper are available at any time. Beautifully decorated home......... private location............ just a few miles from the beach which is great to eliminate the chaos and traffic. This is not just a home, this is relaxation at its finest. Easy access to numerous different beaches. Also available for use are new mountain bikes, fishing equipment, surf equipment, grill. I'm an avid vacationer and I will make this my summer getaway. Oh, and guess what? It seems that the people that use this place decide its best to leave stuff behind. So, we walked in and were able to do laundry, dishes, and there was even food in the cupboard. Not provide by the owner, but it shows you the level of sincerity of the previous tenant. THIS IS A MUST. Don't let the cheap price scare you, this is nothing short of luxorious.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you to Carolyn and Donna who keep our cottage so beautiful and thank you, our wonderful clients who keep coming back. We hope to see you next year,

Mike

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Good location

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Our 2nd. yr to stay in the owners place,close to water,etc.,Have to drive to beach or any attractions,property needs upgrading. Renters pay for extra tv channels and internet,otherwise,it serves our winter stays.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. Per your suggestions we have installed all new beds and new carpets. New Flat Screen TV's have been added in the master and guest bedrooms. The porch was repainted and new rockers added. Thanks for the nice tip you left for Carolyn and Donna. They do a great job keeping our cottages beautiful.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review