reviews for: listing #26822 - Bahamas, Caribbean Cottage rental

Round House at Casuarina bay
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Governors harbour
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $285 - $400 /nt
    $1,750 - $2,650 /wk

sort by:

The Round House

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 8, 2014

My second trip to Eleuthera and to The Round House, and had an amazing time again. I love the location here secluded yet close to Governors Harbour , its one of my favourite drives on the island the track running along French Leave Beach leading to Casuarina Bay. The position of the house is fabulous, Eleuthera untouched at the rear of the cottage as far as the eye can see and the amazing turquoise ocean just steps from the front door.The interior is specious and comfortable open plan with sliding windows and doors all the way round leading to lots of light and refreshing breezes from the ocean. There is a modern AC unit which cools the house pretty fast at night no need for it during the day.The cottage has also been updated since my stay last year with new kitchen counter tops, stove, microwave, foster oven.I was here on a solo trip but the cottage could easily accommodate two adults and two kids as there is a loft with 2 extra beds.
I hope to stay here again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of a Kind, very special and unique

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

This is not the place if you want to be pampered but if you like seclusion, world class beaches to yourself, awesome snorkeling right out your door and a wonderful knowledgeable host it doesn't get any better. Great eats are not that far away but the kitchen is equipped reasonably well if you are staying in. Would we come again? No question about it.

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Round house. We have just upgraded the kitchen this month and hope you can come back soon to check it out!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sand, Surf, Sun, Stars

Review submitted: May 23, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

We have just returned from our first trip to Eleuthera, and the Round House is a treasure. First off, getting to the island was an easy flight from Nassau on Pineapple Air (everyone was at the gate so they left an hour early!). Doon (the host) left the rental car at Governor's Harbor Airport with the key under the mat. Fifteen minutes later we're in the picture postcard village of Governor's Harbour. Turn left, over the hill and onto the beach road. With beautiful French Leave Beach to our right, we slowly bumped along through swaying palms and coastal vegetation. The Round House is unique. Words that come to mind are cozy, funky, easy, creative, comfortable, interesting...open to the beautiful surrounding trees, flowers, breezes, stars, and most of all, the beach and ocean! During our stay we never saw another soul on "our" beach. The sand has a pink cast and on bare feet has more the consistency of flour than sugar, softer than I've felt before. Being less than a 30 second walk from the house, any excuse was used to enjoy what is almost impossible to find these days- peace and solitude. There's a little cabana there on the beach, thatched roof allowing breeze and dappled sunlight inviting a pleasant nap. Pierce a coconut and drink the milk, crack it open and snack on the fresh meat. I can't tell you how many miles we might have walked during our stay, but each step was filled with the feeling of being very close to nature. Doon, the owner and sixth-generation Bahamian, lives next door and was the perfect host, almost like having our own private concierge. Tippy's is highly recommended for dinner. There's also a great bakery in town, the Bahama Bakery, with pineapple and coconut tarts that are to die for. Coming back to reality hasn't been a complete return, because we now have a part of the magic spot forever inside our memories.

Owners response: Yes, you hit the nail on the head: peace and solitude and a spectacular beach 25 steps away are the core of what we offer.
The location is ideal half way between French Leave Beach (less than 1/4 mile away) and Twin Coves Beach (less than 1/2 mile).
10-20 minute walk to Governors Harbour or the Beach House Restaurant (by foot or kayak)- along the world-famous pinksand beach.
It was such a pleasure having you both here - I could see that you really 'got' the magic of The Round House at Casuarina Bay.
I look forward to your next visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sand, Surf, Sun, Stars

Review submitted: May 23, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

We have just returned from our first trip to Eleuthera and the treasure of the Round House. First off, getting to the island was an easy flight from Nassau on Pineapple Air. Everyone was at the gate so they left an hour early! Doon (the host) left the rental car at Governor's Harbor Airport with the key under the mat. Fifteen minutes later we're in the picture postcard village of Governor's Harbour. Turn left, over the hill and onto the beach road. With beautiful French Leave Beach to our right, we slowly bumped along through swaying palms and coastal vegetation. The Round House is unique. Words that come to mind are cozy, clean, funky, easy, creative, comfortable, interesting...open to the surrounding trees, flowers, breezes, stars, and most of all, the beach and ocean! During our stay we never saw another soul on "our" beach. The sand has a pink cast and on bare feet has more the consistency of flour than sugar, softer than I've felt before. Being less than a 30 second walk from the house, any excuse was used to enjoy what is almost impossible to find these days- peace and solitude. On a whim, we'd snorkel or kayak. There's a little cabana there on the beach, thatched roof allowing breeze and dappled sunlight inviting a pleasant nap. Pierce a coconut and drink the milk, crack it open and snack on the fresh meat. I can't tell you how many miles we might have walked during our stay, but each step was filled with the feeling of being very close to nature. Doon, the owner and sixth-generation Bahamian, lives next door and was the perfect host, almost like having our own private concierge. Tippy's is highly recommended for dinner. There's also a great bakery in town, the Bahama Bakery, with pineapple and coconut tarts that are to die for. Coming back to reality hasn't been a complete return, because we now have a part of this magic spot forever held in our memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Second amazing trip to the Roundhouse

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

This is the second time we visited Doon and the Roundhouse. This time my husband and I brought our two teenage daughters. It was amazing to see our girls voluntarily forgo all the electronics they brought with them for the plane ride. Instead, they spent the week listening, observing and interacting with all of the island's natural wonders. If we don't expose our children to nature then how can we expect them to work to protect it? Doon is a fantastic host and more than willing to help visitors negotiate the island. A tip to first time visitors, bring food supplies particulary condiments as they can be quite expensive to buy. We recommend you visit the Glass Bridge but get out and hike to the top of the hill for a spectacular view. Again Doon thanks for a wonderful week. We will be back soon.

Owners response: Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your 2nd stay at Casuarina Bay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
-The McKinney Family

It was wonderful having you all here and it warmed my heart to see you all (including your teenage daughters!) really 'getting' the ever-changing magic of light, colour, moon, ocean, flora and fauna. It's truly a wonder and a gift. Thanks for appreciating it so deeply!
Doon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A beach to yourself!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

If you like a private and secluded beach setting, this place is for you. The beach was spectacular and if we saw 1 or 2 other people on our beach all day, it was a busy day! Very private. The property is not a modern new building, it is more of a typical beach cottage. However, it was very charming and comfortable with all the comforts we needed. You can walk to town and restaurants but it is a half hour walk minimum for someone in decent shape. A car is recommended. Other neighboring beaches were also excellent. Snorkeling right in front of the place was great too. We can't wait to go back. The owner's 2nd property is right next to this building. Can't see it in the photos though. It is worth asking who is renting this other cottage the week you want to go as you will see plenty of them. We were lucky and it was only Doon, the owner who was GREAT to have as a neighbor. This would have been a concern for us if it was a family there because we value our privacy. Overall we absolutely loved our stay and will go back again someday.

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our home. We hope you can back to Eleuthera soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

!! Magnificent !!

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: August 14, 2013

Casuarina Bay and The Round House a special place
indeed. I stayed from Aug 14th/21st and it wasn't long
enough. The beach track leading up to the house
running parallel to French Leave Beach is a very special
drive nature all around you, beautiful glimpses of the
glorious turquoise water running beside you it sets
the scene for arriving at The Round House, it sits back,
elevated surrounded by beautiful natural gardens , at
the rear as far as the eye can see is Eleuthera
untouched. This is a true Caribbean style cottage very
comfortable, unique design sliders and windows all
around inviting the outside in and providing
marvellous ventilation from the ocean below. Doon
the owner greets me with open arms when i arrive ,
makes me feel at home immediately , we chat walking
around the garden one conversation leads to another
which lead us up to the house, it has all the amenities
Free Wifi, TV with DVD, CD Player and a very
comfortable bed and two more in the loft, I was on my
own for this visit but The Round House could easily
accommodate 2 adults and a couple of kids. All the
essentials are provided Beach Towels, Coolers, there
is a modern AC unit which i only had to use for a short
period on a couple of nights as it cools the house
down fast.It's very Caribbean inside and completely
suits the area.I was up at 6.30 every morning for sun
rise on the Cabana on the beach especially allocated
for the round house it is a 20 second walk from the
front door, and the sounds all around you are amazing
, the water lapping ashore, the birds finding their voice
in the morning sunshine the crickets , there is even a
humming bird buzzing around from flower to flower ,
all this sets you up for an extremely relaxing vacation,
and we haven't reached the water yet, beautiful
turquoise blue colour glistening in the morning
sunlight inviting you in for a warm morning swim,
great snorkelling here also and close you don't have to
go out far . There are also 2 superb beaches very close
both short strolls away to your right is French Leave
beautiful wide pink sand beach with lots to explore. To
your left is Twin Coves an amazing place where two
incredible coves meet with excellent snorkelling .
Governors Harbour with many great restaurants ,
shops etc is only 10 min drive maybe less form The
Round House.Very special indeed !

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

David and Beth from Vermont

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

This was a fantastic vacation, our ideal spot is a secluded beachhouse on a very private beach, nearby restaurants, we were able to cook in if we wished, which we did often! The people we met in Eleuthera were very friendly and welcoming. We always felt safe, and made many new friends just walking the beaches! We really enjoyed meeting out Caretaker Bruce, and Doon the owner of the property was staying while we were there and had a great time getting to know her. If you are looking for a wild night life, casino's and shopping, go elsewhere, but if you want to relax, than the roundhouse is the place for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Fourth time back to the Round House in Eleuthera

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

Once again, as this will have been our 4th time back to the Round House in Eleuthera , it has exceeded our expecations.

Hurricane Irene attempted to slow down Doon ( the owner) however both new beach cabinas were completed upon our arrival! We spend two glorious weeks walking the endless beaches with Kaya ( the owner's every faithfull dog) to finding incrediable beach treasures...to our wonderment we had a Message in a bottle wash up on shore ( messages 4 years old) ...swimming /snorkeling every day in the remarkable waters directly infront of the House . Cooking up fantastic gourmet meals with all the fresh lobster/grouper/snapper we'd purchase from the fishing wharfs in GH or Tarpun Bay....dancing @ the Beach House...fasinating conversations with Doon. We love every aspect of this vacation paradise...would I classify it as 4 star resort...no as it has so much more appeal...we come here to get away from our fast paced lives ... to unplug ..and to reconnect with each other...we have never been disappointed.

Thank you Doon for your wonderful hospitality ...wish we would have had more time...and Taja thank you for your updates! Shall see you in 2012

Sonya and Derek
Edmonton Alberta Canada

Owners response: We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful time at the Round house again. We look forward to seeing you back on Eleuthera soon.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Not quite what I expected

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

First, I have to say that I've become a bit of a travel snob. With that said, the house isn't quite up to what is shown in the pictures.

The house is not secluded, nor is it a private beach. While we were there, carpenters worked most every day on a new cabana, and Doon, the owner was staying next door as well. So, don't count on being "secluded". There was always someone around.

The house needed re-painting, and the windows didn't shut completely. In fact, there was no window on the bathroom, just a screen. The tiny bugs that are in the bahamas got right through that, and we couldn't escape lots of bug bits, even spraying Off on ourselves.

The washer and dryer are in the house next door, although we did get a key to the washroom.

We loved Eleuthera and the people. Everyone was incredibly nice to us. At first we were even a little shocked by how nice everyone was. It was fantastic. The food was great, especially Tippy's and The Bistro. If you need a sack lunch to take to the beach, try Pammy's Take-away in Governour's Harbor.

Doon (the owner) was very nice to us, and we saw her around town often, and she always made sure she answered all our questions, and offered suggestions.

Overall, we loved our trip, and will go back to Eleuthera, just not the Roundhouse.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 16 / 20

 

A Fantastic time at the Round House

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

My husband, 9 year old daughter and myself had the pleasure of staying at the Round House for 10 days in August. The Round House was rustic, beautiful, wild and fun. If you are not a fan of lizards and various other small visitors then this is not the place for you but for us it was an exciting treat. Taja and her family were so very warm and welcoming from the moment that we arrived including giving us coconut opening lessons and introducing us to the local types of fish which they speared right off of the beach in front of the house. The beach right outside the door is beautiful and took our breath away every morning when we woke up and realized that, yes, we were in paradise! Just around the corner from the "home" beach is Club Med beach which was completely deserted most of the time and truly the most beautiful beach that we have ever seen. Governors Harbor was the perfect location for us to stay with the beautiful beaches right outside of our door or the option of taking a car ride (we rented one for the entire trip), to any one of the stunning and almost empty beaches on the island. The friday night Fish Fry is well worth a visit and JJ's Conch Salad, made right on the beach, is delicious. The bakery has incredible donuts and patties and Sunset Inn has the BEST fried Grouper.
The Round House and Eleuthera is the place to stay for anyone who wants to get away from it all. It is not a resort but it is a home that was lovingly built by hand and welcomes anyone. I would recommend the Round House to anyone who's NOT looking for a resort type feeling in their accommodations, loves nature and is happiest walking around without any shoes on because this is the place to do it!
Thank you Taja and Matt for some of the best vacation memories of a lifetime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thank you so much for your review- we hope to see you again at Casuarina Bay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

The Real Paradise Island

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

What a beautiful vacation! We had an absolutely lovely time and still can’t believe what was available to us out the front door. The beaches were the best I had ever seen. It is somewhat isolated but that was what we were looking for. The house is located 20 minutes from the Beach Bar Restaurant and a walk into town is about a half hour. We are looking forward to a return visit as soon as we can.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Round House Splendor

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

We enjoyed a fantastic week at the Round House. It was everything we wanted and more...secluded, romantic, peaceful, charming. The property was very well-maintained and clean and had all of the amenities listed which really made it feel like home. The town of Governor's Harbor provides just about everything you will need for your stay and is just a couple of minutes away by car. It's a lovely little town and the people are very friendly. Some food in the grocery stores can be expensive because it has to travel so far to get there. The local fisherman bring in their catch every day around 3:00 and there is a fish fry every Friday night. There are many restaurants at all different price ranges that you can enjoy . We had dinner at three of them. The rest of the time we cooked at "home". We did not do much sight-seeing because it really wasn't on our agenda. What was on our agenda was rest, relaxation, romance, conversation and a gorgeous beach right in front of us. Speaking of the beach, it is very secluded. We only passed three people the whole week we were there! The owner, Doon, was next door. She is a fantastic woman and was not in the least bit intrusive. Her daughter, Taja, handled the rental and was courteous and professional. One thing to be aware of...sand fleas. This in NO way reflects the Round House review. Just make sure you have some bug spray. We adored the Round House and intend to go back next year. Thank you Doon and Taja!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

A stretch of paradise

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

The soft pink coral sand beach... the vibrant blues of the ocean...the symphony the ocean breezes plays as it rushes through the trees...the excitement of exploring the beaches for the "treasures" the surf" has delivered for us overnight...the sense of "coming home" as we amble back to our Round House for thick tropical smoothies to refresh us after a full day of doing nothing but enjoying all the moments of the day ..alittle snorkelling...alittle kayaking...a'lotta beach shopping ( my husband's phrase for every time I walk the beach I come back dragging yet another treasure)...reading endless books...getting to know the resident family of geco's ...or just floating in the crystal clear water to cool off. This is what has brought my husband and I back to Eleuthera for the past five years...to unwind and reconnect ...no blackberries. no i-pads...just us.
This perfect wee little Round House is our home while we are in Eleuthera...do all the dishes and cutlery match? nope...are there plastic wine glasses…absolutely! But wow the gourmet meals we have created within that wonderfully functional kitchen could never be replicated in our own...trust us we've tried! This piece of heaven offers so much more than any five star cloned resort we've ever stayed in…as soon as you walk in the door it welcomes you as if you were apart of the Mckinney family. You will know why if you are fortunate enough to meet Doon, Casuarina and Taja...they are as welcoming as that wonderful wee Round House!

Thank you Doon, Causarina, Taja ( and Kaya) for once again allowing us the opportunity to fill your Wee Round house with more wonderful memories.

Sonya and Derek ( Edmonton, Alberta Canada)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful stay at the Round house!

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

This place is exactly what you are looking for if you want almost total isolation on an island in the Bahamas. The beaches were literally our own, with the exception of one day (out of 7) where we shared a beach with two other poeple. You can walk for miles along the beaches in front of this house and see nobody along the way. The house itself is perfect. Not anything fancy, just the basics with a full kitchen, comfortable bed, full bath. It's small and cute - but you shouldn't plan to spend much time there given what is about 20 yards from your front door!! A couple of tips if you stay here:

- Go to Twin Coves Beach (about a 10 minute walk to the north along the shore) BEST beach around!
- Go to Island Farm Produce to find fresh fruits and vegetables (kinda hard to find good fruits and vegetables we found out until we discovered this place!)

The owner of the house was staying next door in the adjacent home during our trip (we absolutely love her and you'd be lucky to meet her, too). The homes face away from one another but they are indeed close. No big deal really. You simply cannot escape the feel of being on a deserted island while here! We are most definitely coming back to the Round House once we have our little one.

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful stay at the Round house!

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

Josh, Denver, CO
12/02/10 Positive
We recently returned from our 3rd visit in 5 years at
the Round House. What can I say? This place is
fantastic.The weather was perfect 80 degree
days/70 at night. The Atlantic was a little kicked up
but you could still snorkel.The Carribean side was
very calm. The beach and reef in front of the house
are great.Lot's of fish. We actually caught several
varieties of snapper on rod and reel using frozen
squid from the grocery store.I brought a telescopic
rod and it fit in my suitcase easily. Grilling them up
whole on the outdoor bbq was VERY satisfying.We
also caught a bonefish, which was released along
with the snapper we did not eat.
During our 9 night stay we cooked many meals in
the Round House. Hit the grocery store and get
your provisions. We brought some steaks and
burgers from home but we bought pasta,
rice,eggs,plantains,etc... We went through a gallon
of water a day, so I would recommend renting a
vehicle from Edgar, the caretaker. Just load up your
water,Kalik beer,groceries in one trip and ur done
for the week. Then you can do some sightseeing
with the vehicle. We only rented the Tracker for 2
days as we had already seen most of the island on
previous trips. Walking the beaches,reading,eating
and drinking,fishing were the order of the day. We
ate some nice dinners at Tippy's, The Beach
House(twice),and the Friday night fish fry. The
bakery has great bread and delicious patties for
lunch.
By luck,the owner, Doon, arrived towards the end
of our trip and it was great to see her again. Her
stories about the property and her family are really
something. She was most hospitable and we hope
to meet her again on future visits.Thanks Doon! I
can't recommend this place enough. The beauty,
privacy, and seclusion from the rest of the world
will always pull us back. Thank you Taja and Doon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful stay at the Round house!

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

This place is exactly what you are looking for if you want almost total isolation on an island in the Bahamas. The beaches were literally our own, with the exception of one day (out of 7) where we shared a beach with two other poeple. You can walk for miles along the beaches in front of this house and see nobody along the way. The house itself is perfect. Not anything fancy, just the basics with a full kitchen, comfortable bed, full bath. It's small and cute - but you shouldn't plan to spend much time there given what is about 20 yards from your front door!! A couple of tips if you stay here:

- Go to Twin Coves Beach (about a 10 minute walk to the north along the shore) BEST beach around!
- Go to Island Farm Produce to find fresh fruits and vegetables (kinda hard to find good fruits and vegetables we found out until we discovered this place!)

The owner of the house was staying next door in the adjacent home during our trip (we absolutely love her and you'd be lucky to meet her, too). The homes face away from one another but they are indeed close. No big deal really. You simply cannot escape the feel of being on a deserted island while here! We are most definitely coming back to the Round House once we have our little one.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

What a pity!!!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Round House has a great potential, great position and privacy (the Beachfront house is less than 10 metres close but magically you do not feel it). The only problem is that Taja and Doon put no effort in maintaining it. So there are lots of things that absolutely do not match the description they give of Round House. And when things are rusty, dirty, you eat in old plastic dishes, you cook in old rusty and broken pots, you drink in chipped cups, you sleep in bed linen with stains, you sit on pillows torn out, mosquito net is broken (just a small hole but is enough for bugs to get in and eat you), the roof is full of spider nets, toilet and bathtub are black from the dirt, all romanticism fades away, But the money is still flowing into their pockets. We complained and, of course, we asked for a small refund we think that our holidays had been spoiled by these issues. In Round House everything is old, but you are charged as if you are staying in a 4 star hotel. Ours is not a revenge because Doon and Taja refused us a refund. We want to warn everybody about the real conditions of the house. We made a lot of picture which show the real status of Round House. What I really disliked is that Doon told us “I’m sorry", "I told Taja that we must buy new stuff", "we're going to change our cleaning ladies soon" , "I'm moving back to the island and I'll take care of all this" and so on. In reality Doon lives in the island and gives classes of sailing in Governor's Harbour (we saw her two days later).
And this is only the inside of the house: Round House needs to be painted extensively.
What you're getting is an old and very basic accommodation and a beach, theoretically on your own; but you have to consider that Eleuthera has at least 12 great superb beaches that you cannot miss, and Casuarina bay is only one of those. Consider as well that you need absolutely a car, so you will surely like to go around.
Finally the Atlantic coast is most of the times windy (look at the pictures that you see in various sites) and this will not allow you to stay on that side of the island and to enjoy the garden of Round House.
Ciao to everybody and we hope that we will help someone when selecting an accommodation in Eleuthera Island.

Owners response: Atlantic vs Caribbean:
The question of whether the Atlantic side or the 'Caribbean' side of Eleuthera is preferable is entirely personal. 80- 90% of guests prefer the Atlantic side due the extraordinary beaches and SE trades which generally result in far less bugs than on the western side. If one prefers the Caribbean side there are houses to rent there also.
Wind can come from both directions- for the last 3 weeks of March it has been like a lake on the Atlantic whereas the 'Caribbean' side has had constant winds of 15-25 knots. One of the advantages of the middle of Eleu is that it's only 1/2 mile wide so you can easily enjoy both sides of the island without travelling far.

Location:
Many guests love this location and choose not to rent a car because we have 2 of the island's best beaches (ex-Club Med(5mins walk) and Twin Coves) on either side and it's only one and a half miles to Governors Harbour and a 15 minute walk down the beach to the Beach House Tapas restaurant.

Maintenance:
Concerning remarks that we don't put money into the property guests may not realise that - because we are an estate far from the subdivisions (the only inhabited property on the whole beach) we paid huge amounts of money to have underground electricity installed and also to install our own water lines across the island.
As explained in the info binder the rust stains on the new bed linens, toilet and shower were not from dirt but from the old rusty pipes. We campaigned for a long time with the government to upgrade the pipes and this was completed in the first week of March 2011.
We also replace most of our appliances every 2-4 years and have regular plumbing and electrical repairs and gardening work done. The china plates and glasses and the pots have been upgraded (the plastic ones had been added in addition to the china at the request by parents for kids). The broken screen has been replaced.

I agree with the review that the exterior needs to be painted. As I explained to them the job was scheduled and then the
weather didn't co-operate so it had to be postponed so that it was not being done while guests were there. I respect people's desire for privacy and had to wait for a time which wasn't booked. It's currently re-scheduled for 16 April (weather permitting).
We are also adding another beach cabana.

A lot of effort, love and TLC have gone into and continue to go into this deeply loved place.
I encourage you to read the reviews from other guests

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Just what the Doctor ordered!

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

This place is exactly what you are looking for if you want almost total isolation on an island in the Bahamas. The beaches were literally our own, with the exception of one day (out of 7) where we shared a beach with two other poeple. You can walk for miles along the beaches in front of this house and see nobody along the way. The house itself is perfect. Not anything fancy, just the basics with a full kitchen, comfortable bed, full bath. It's small and cute - but you shouldn't plan to spend much time there given what is about 20 yards from your front door!! A couple of tips if you stay here:

- Go to Twin Coves Beach (about a 10 minute walk to the north along the shore) BEST beach around!
- Go to Island Farm Produce to find fresh fruits and vegetables (kinda hard to find good fruits and vegetables we found out until we discovered this place!)

The owner of the house was staying next door in the adjacent home during our trip (we absolutely love her and you'd be lucky to meet her, too). The homes face away from one another but they are indeed close. No big deal really. You simply cannot escape the feel of being on a deserted island while here! We are most definitely coming back to the Round House once we have our little one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful hidden getaway. My "Blue Lagoon"

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

This past July I stayed at the Casuarina Bay roundhouse with my girlfriend. We can't wait to come back. I work a very stressful job and wanted a vacation in the Bahamas away from thoughts of my job and even away from the big tourist resorts. I found the Casuarina Bay house, sent an email and immediately received a response.

The house is off of a sandy road overlooking a nearly exclusive beach and the Atlantic Ocean. We rarely saw other vacationers or locals unless we were in town at the grocery store or buying fish in Governour's at the ramp.

The house is a beautiful yet rustic round house built by the owner. It is not exactly polished but it had all of the amenities that I wanted, full kitchen, bath, and a comfy bed. We loved the open top kayaks, snorkeling in front of the house (We saw a spiny lobster and other beautiful fish!!!) and having the beautiful beaches of Eleuthera to ourselves. It is close to the new BeachHouse restaurant on the Club Med beach so that you can walk there for cocktails, dinner and even dancing.

We have already booked our trip to the Roundhouse at CB for 2011 and plan to make it an annual event.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Round house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2008

We have really enjoyed the Round House and we will continue to come back again and again. We got married here and what a wonderful experience that was. We had the entire beach to ourselves- didn't see another person the entire week. We travelled to other beaches but this one is the best by far. The Round House will always be our special place to come back to. Thank you for a perfect week.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Round house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 8, 2008

Our second Round House getaway was as wonderful as our first. This place is the perfect destination to decompress for these two Chicago bartenders. From the beautiful ocean experience to the supreme coziness of the Round House,it's hard to imagine a more perfect destination. The snorkeling is terrific right on our beach, and the cool cabana is the perfect spot to sip drinks or enjoy lunch. The outdoor shower is handy too.The three mile walk down the beach to Tippy's for lunch or dinner is always fun , especially when the moon is full.Usually we took advantage of the kitchen and outdoor grill and prepared our own meals.This is THE place to get away from it all. We will keep coming back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Round house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2009

We wanted to thank you so much for the best time of both our lives. Your place is so beautiful. It was everything we could of hoped for and more. We had such a good time and everyone we met was so friendly and nice. We are looking forward to visiting Eleuthera an annual trip. Your home was beautiful and just perfect for the two of us, it was so nice having no phone calls, tv, and radio for a week. We actually didn't know what time it was for the first couple days and hard to remember what day it was. lol Again we would like to thank you for everything and we look forward to returning back next year. We did enjoy Tippy's and The Beach House, both great restaurants.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Round house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

My husband and I had a lovely time at the Round House. It was by far the most relaxing vacation we have ever experienced. The island life is much slower than anwhere else we have been and it was much appreciated and needed. The people of the island were welcoming and nice and we loved the traditional bahamian food at the Sunset Inn and the Fish Fry. The island itself is a bit pricey, but when you see the views you can understand why to some degree. The beach at casaurina bay was by far the nicest we had experienced. The water was like crystal, the reefs spectacular, and the fishing amazing. We ate fresh grouper and snapper several nights throughout the week we stayed from teh fish my husband caught right off the the beach. The kayaks ans snorkeling were a highlight. Definitely a little piece of heaven if there is such a thing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Round house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

We chose the Round House based on the comments
found on this page- Hmm... sounded a little too
good to be true. And here we are now adding our
own version to the stack! It really was a little slice
of paradise pie. Crystal clear waters, beautiful
empty beaches, friendly locals, and a new yorker's
favorite: peace and quiet. Eleuthera is only 50 miles
from nassau, but it feels years apart. You won't find
the cheesy tourist traps here, just island living and
plenty of it. Thanks again Doon, Casuarina, and
Taja. We had a blast.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Round house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Round House. It is unique in it's style and construction, the location is spectacular, and it is charmingly appointed. It is not conventional in the hotel/condo sense, and the road to the house is a bit of an adventure (the first time). But these aspects give it exactly what we were looking for...privacy and relaxation. It is difficult to describe the house itself...but easier to describe the feeling you get upon arrival. It's serene, almost blissful. Within hours, we were right at home, and already exploring the surrounding beaches, Kaliks in hand. It's proximity to French Leave Beach (the old Club Med), and Twin Cove could make it one of the best located rentals on the ocean side of the island, and possibly the entire island. It also has the benefit of being close to GH, Tippy's, the Beach House and Coco di Mama. All in all, it was a wonderful experience for my wife and I, we were able to explore most (but definitely not all) of the island during the five days we were there, and having the Round House as place to relax and unwind was just incredible. If you want privacy, a wonderful location, the Round House is your place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Round house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

We had a wonderful time at The Round House, the warm, aqua blue waters, the beautiful wide sand beaches, the solitude! What a little slice of heaven, such a hidden jem. Mia and Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Round house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful relaxing week in the Roundhouse. We felt we were on the best location of the entire island. The character of the house and the beauty of the surrounding area is fantastic. What a great place to unwind and relax, and our only regret was having to leave. Thanks again Taja for your help, we have already decided to stay ten days next time..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Round house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with a trip to the Bahamas – we were looking for a quiet beach location without anyone else around. The Round House and Eleuthera were EXACTLY that. We didn't rent a car, as the grocery/liquor stores were about 1.5 miles away. Most of the days during our week stay were spent walking the beaches in front of the Round House – Casuarina Bay, Twin Coves and the French Leave beach. We brought fishing rods and snorkel gear and had a blast. We ate almost all our meals at the house, with a few visits to the Beach House and snacks on our walking trips into GH for groceries. The kayaks were really fun and we enjoyed some of the old VHS movies in the evening when we were too tired to walk anymore. So happy to have found the Round House and we plan to visit again when our kids are a bit older. Thank you for sharing your home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Round house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

What a wonderful getaway we had at the Round House! The house was just as we expected from the website, quaint island living! Casuarina Bay was lovely and private. We enjoyed snorkeling in the clear water and relaxing on the beach. The pink sand at Club Med Beach was quite unique and beautiful as well. Would definitely recommend renting a car for at least part of your stay as it would allow further exploration of the island and convenience with shopping for necessities. We were lucky enough to be visiting while Taja and Casuarina were staying in the house next door, and were able to catch a ride with them to Ten Bay Beach on the Caribbean side of the island- unbelievably tranquil waters and a fabulous snorkeling spot! We enjoyed one meal at the Beach House and one at Sky Beach Club, but the prices were too extravagant for daily dining. We would definitely recommend the Round House to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing and carefree retreat. Taja, thanks again for all of your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not Exactly What I Expected

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Overall, we had a great time in Eleuthera and would return. However, I would not stay at the Round House again. The big disappointment is that I was misled into thinking the Round House offered privacy on a secluded beach. It is described as a perfect place for honeymooners and "clothing optional" sunbathing. I suppose that is true if no one is staying at the property next door. Fortunately, the people staying next door were extremely friendly. However, I'm sure they would not have appreciated the young son seeing me topless on the beach! This is not a "clothing optional" beach. We shared the beach with the family everyday and were able to use the cabana only once during our 7 day stay because they were out exploring the island that day. The description of the Round House gives the impression of full use of the cabana. Details revealing that the cabana is on the Beachfront House side of the beach is left out and the family had privilege to it everyday. We had to ask the family to use two of the lounge chairs and had to position them at an incline under a palm tree to seek shade. Beach umbrellas are not provided and we were unable to find any for purchase in Governor's Harbor. Unfortunately, I spent far too much time in direct sunlight and listening to kids playing that week when my dream was to have a private beach laying in a shady cabana with my books and my sweetheart. In order to escape the sounds of children playing (I don't hate children but keep in mind I was expecting privacy), a nice walk to French Leave or Twin Coves offers the privacy we were there for. However, the trade-off for privacy is that you have no shade and no lounge chair. Oh, and we couldn't find the hammock, had no wash cloths, had only two bath towels (which could be a problem if more than two guests are staying), non-working dishwasher and phone, & a shark inhabiting the reefs in front (which was actually a good story to tell!). I should also mention that the one window unit must be turned off during the day since it cannot keep up if temperatures are in the 90s. Therefore when there is no breeze there is no relief from the heat if you cannot find shade. The only solution is a nice walk down French Leave to the Beach House Restaurant which we loved!! Try the plantain tostones with your Kalik!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: The entire Casuarina Bay beach is shared with only our one other house (which usually only has 2 people in it) and one house at the far end of the beach - total number of people on the beach very rarely is more than 8 spread out over the 1/2 mile of beach! Few places in the world offer such seclusion on such pristine coastline. There is plenty of space to be topless 99% of the time on most of the beach directly in front of the house and on the dozens of exceptional beaches on Eleuthera with no one on them. lease do read they many other reviews from guests who did enjoy complete privacy during their stay. We do regret that these guests did no have more time in the shady beach cabana- sounds like they had wonderful sunny weather and got burnt- do bring sunscreen when traveling to the Bahamas in Summer! It was unfortunate timing that both house and cottage were rented and both groups stayed only on the beach directly in front of the house- most people do enjoy exploring the many other completely deserted beaches on the island- of which are within walking distance. You will be hard pressed to find a review that does not state that the Round house is in a wonderful location on the island. We are currently building a second beach cabana specifically for the Round house so as to make 100% sure all guests have enough shade and hammocks at all time! We do provide plenty of lounge chairs, both on the beach and the 360 degree deck.surrounding the Round house. The dishwasher and phone were immediately repaired and we have added a new bed and other new furnishings. The A/C units are frequently checked and repaired when necessary. We also provide bath and beach towels for all guests who stay at the house. If there are more than 2 guests staying at the house of course we provide additional sets of towels- no need to worry about that! There is also access to a washer and dryer for guests to use. We also love the Beach House restaurant and recommend walking to it along the beach (about 20 mins) to enjoy excellent food and drinks and a beautiful ocean view.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with a trip to the Bahamas – we were looking for a quiet beach location without anyone else around. The Round House and Eleuthera were EXACTLY that. We didn't rent a car, as the grocery/liquor stores were about 1.5 miles away. Most of the days during our week stay were spent walking the beaches in front of the Round House – Casuarina Bay, Twin Coves and the French Leave beach. We brought fishing rods and snorkel gear and had a blast. We ate almost all our meals at the house, with a few visits to the Beach House and snacks on our walking trips into GH for groceries. The kayaks were really fun and we enjoyed some of the old VHS movies in the evening when we were too tired to walk anymore. So happy to have found the Round House and we plan to visit again when our kids are a bit older. Thank you for sharing your home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

A Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

We were thrilled to find that The Round House, the property and the beach were as good as, no make that better than the way they are described here. We spent 10 days celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and could not have found a better spot. If we were to create a list of all of our personal desires for a vacation destination, Casuarina Bay would easily fulfill them. Catch the fishermen when they come in, get your fresh fish to throw on the grill. We ate so much fantastic fresh fish, grupper, conch and lobster! (My husband became a Conch Salad expert) You don't get fresh fish like that in New Mexico!! We appreciate that the family have kept the vegetation on the grounds natural and true. Also that they are involved in preservation of marine wildlife. I can't begin to tell you how peaceful and beautiful our trip was. We only saw other people on the beach 3 times in the 10 days we were there. Long walks on the beautiful beaches! The ocean is awesome. You don't even need to snorkel you can see beautiful fish from the Kayak! We will definitely be going back....already racking up the sky miles and putting money in the vacation fund ready for another trip to paradise. (The owners and the caretaker were very helpful.)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased you had such an amazing stay at the Round house and on Eleuthera in general and look forward to having you come back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

This house was everything we had hoped for. Small and intimate, steps from the beach, very romantic and lovely. It was perfect. We would return, with a few caveats. Hope for a new bed, a corkscrew and some sort of grate for the grill, paper towels and toilet paper stock as well. If you want privacy ask who is renting the house next door. Our neighbors were a family with 3 kids and 2 dogs, fortunately both the kids and dogs were well behaved! Bring food, seriously. There is very little in the grocery stores with respect to decent fruits and vegetables, the meat and poultry are of the "mystery" kind and it is VERY expensive to eat out with prices not justified. Rent a jeep for at least a part of the trip - some of the far flung beaches are AMAZING.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful relaxing week in the Roundhouse. We felt we were on the best location of the entire island. The character of the house and the beauty of the surrounding area is fantastic. What a great place to unwind and relax, and our only regret was having to leave. Thanks again Taja for your help, we have already decided to stay ten days next time..

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

We very much enjoyed the solitiude and fabulous beaches at the Roundhouse. We loved the walks to Tippys coming home on the beach by moonlight and lunch at Sky Beach Club was superb. The cottage itself has a very warm homey feel, not too fancy, but a place where you feel very familiar and at home. We hope to return one day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

We had a wonderful time at The Round House, the warm, aqua blue waters, the beautiful wide sand beaches, the solitude! What a little slice of heaven, such a hidden jem. Mia and Jim

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Round House. It is unique in it's style and construction, the location is spectacular, and it is charmingly appointed. It is not conventional in the hotel/condo sense, and the road to the house is a bit of an adventure (the first time). But these aspects give it exactly what we were looking for...privacy and relaxation. It is difficult to describe the house itself...but easier to describe the feeling you get upon arrival. It's serene, almost blissful. Within hours, we were right at home, and already exploring the surrounding beaches, Kaliks in hand. It's proximity to French Leave Beach (the old Club Med), and Twin Cove could make it one of the best located rentals on the ocean side of the island, and possibly the entire island. It also has the benefit of being close to GH, Tippy's, the Beach House and Coco di Mama. All in all, it was a wonderful experience for my wife and I, we were able to explore most (but definitely not all) of the island during the five days we were there, and having the Round House as place to relax and unwind was just incredible. If you want privacy, a wonderful location, the Round House is your place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

We chose the Round House based on the comments
found on this page- Hmm... sounded a little too
good to be true. And here we are now adding our
own version to the stack! It really was a little slice
of paradise pie. Crystal clear waters, beautiful
empty beaches, friendly locals, and a new yorker's
favorite: peace and quiet. Eleuthera is only 50 miles
from nassau, but it feels years apart. You won't find
the cheesy tourist traps here, just island living and
plenty of it. Thanks again Doon, Casuarina, and
Taja. We had a blast.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

A wonderful place and the time of yaer was just as great as the beaches were basically ours alone! 14 Nov-21 Nov.
We had a great time and the Roundhouse was perfect as the beach in front to the right and the left. Highly recommended. Many thanks Lynn & Jim

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

My husband and I had a lovely time at the Round House. It was by far the most relaxing vacation we have ever experienced. The island life is much slower than anwhere else we have been and it was much appreciated and needed. The people of the island were welcoming and nice and we loved the traditional bahamian food at the Sunset Inn and the Fish Fry. The island itself is a bit pricey, but when you see the views you can understand why to some degree. The beach at casaurina bay was by far the nicest we had experienced. The water was like crystal, the reefs spectacular, and the fishing amazing. We ate fresh grouper and snapper several nights throughout the week we stayed from teh fish my husband caught right off the the beach. The kayaks ans snorkeling were a highlight. Definitely a little piece of heaven if there is such a thing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 22, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We wanted to thank you so much for the best time of both our lives. Your place is so beautiful. It was everything we could of hoped for and more. We had such a good time and everyone we met was so friendly and nice. We are looking forward to visiting Eleuthera an annual trip. Your home was beautiful and just perfect for the two of us, it was so nice having no phone calls, tv, and radio for a week. We actually didn't know what time it was for the first couple days and hard to remember what day it was. lol Again we would like to thank you for everything and we look forward to returning back next year. We did enjoy Tippy's and The Beach House, both great restaurants.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We loved Casuarina Bay and our week at the Round House. We took off our watches when we arrived and didn't put them back on until we got to the airport for the return home! We ate out once a day and always enjoyed our meals...Dolcevite's was our favorite but we could walk to the Beach House and enjoy a fantastic Mango Margarita and a tapa! The Club Med Beach is pink sand and beautiful! All the water is very clear and perfect for snorkeling!!! Except for the roads, we loved our Eleuthera vacation. It's not for everyone though...if you like something to do...shopping, nightlife, golfing this is NOT the place for you! If you want someplace to relax,read, contemplate, and just "BE" this is the island and the Round House is the place! Excellent location!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

This was our first Round House getaway. And we loved it! We could not have imagined a more perfect destination. We could go on and on describing all the terrific places and experiences we encountered. The Round House offers you all the amenities to prepare a simple or gourmet meal. Within an hour walk on the beach we enjoyed Tippy’s food or a 30 minute drive brought us to the Dolce Vita restaurant. We fell in love to the “Potcakes” that always were around when we walked on the beach or to Governors Harbor. This is the place were you can relax. We plan coming back continuing encountering this wonderful place and island.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Our second Round House getaway was as wonderful as our first. This place is the perfect destination to decompress for these two Chicago bartenders. From the beautiful ocean experience to the supreme coziness of the Round House,it's hard to imagine a more perfect destination. The snorkeling is terrific right on our beach, and the cool cabana is the perfect spot to sip drinks or enjoy lunch. The outdoor shower is handy too.The three mile walk down the beach to Tippy's for lunch or dinner is always fun , especially when the moon is full.Usually we took advantage of the kitchen and outdoor grill and prepared our own meals.This is THE place to get away from it all. We will keep coming back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 26, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

The Round House is a beautiful getaway. We are already planning our next visit! The house is so peaceful and the beach steps away. what a wonderful place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A Round House Honeymoon

Review submitted: July 15, 2008   Date of arrival: June 9, 2008

Wow! is the best way to start. Want a romantic honeymoon without the business around you? Want to get away and feel the beauty and intimacy? Well, we did just that at The Round House at Causarina Bay. The cottage is as pictured. When you pull into the driveway, it looks very small from the outside, almost like a shed. Yet, when you approach it and open the door, it is as pictured on the site. The beach is beautiful! It is an adorable cottage set in beautiful surroundings. The locals are all very kind. The sunset and the food, especially the coconut pie, are phenominal at the Sunset Inn. We wanted a get-away with a little sightseeing and a lot of quiet restful honeymoon time. We got everything we were looking for. There is a Friday night fish fry in Governor's Harbor that was fun. We went diving and it was spectacular. We are new to diving but after being home and talking with experienced divers, we know that we had really great dive experiences at Valentine's. The book in the cottage telling you all about the island are interesting and helpful. Thank you Doon and Taja for everything! We loved our honeymoon! It took us a little adjusting to get used to not having stores open at all hours but, it was certainly easy to adjust to island life! We are looking to see when we can return.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2008   Date of arrival: July 4, 2008

The Round House is the best. We had a great time relaxing, snorkeling and just enjoying the most quiet we have ever experienced- definitely will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 18, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We stayed in Round House last week (may 10-17th 2008). It was beautiful. The view from the front porch is spectacular. We loved the easy access to the beach and the beach was private! loved the kayaks. it is very remote but quiet. if you like people, night life, or noise this is not the place for you. you should stick with resorts !

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: March 24, 2008

We have really enjoyed the Round House and we will continue to come back again and again. We got married here and what a wonderful experience that was. We had the entire beach to ourselves- didn't see another person the entire week. We travelled to other beaches but this one is the best by far. The Round House will always be our special place to come back to. Thank you for a perfect week.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 1, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home. It was very enchanting with views over the ocean and hillsides and viewing the moon through the almost every wondow was majical. We have had a truly realxing time here in a wonderfully beautiful place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 15, 2006   Date of arrival: November 15, 2006

What a paradise! We love your place. Thank you for sharing all with all. The beaches are unbelievable and views everywhere. We had a wonderful trip and plan to return with our 2 girls and friends. Thank you for sharing your dream.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 15, 2005   Date of arrival: August 15, 2005

Second time in Eleuthera and second time here at Casuarina bay. Probably the closest to paradise that we will ever get. Love the beauty, the people and the water. There is a majic about this place that is hard to describe but that hopefully will stay with us for a long long time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 2, 2003   Date of arrival: December 2, 2003

"We came here unsure of what to expect and were so pleasantly surprised! From the coziness of the Round House to the beauty and solitude of Casuarina Bay to the pleasures of exploring the island, all our hopes for the vacation were exceeded."

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 2, 2003   Date of arrival: December 2, 2003

"We think that the Round House, the way it is situated in a lush tropical setting, the privacy and the beautiful beaches make it one of the most romantic getaways anywhere….."

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 2, 2003   Date of arrival: December 2, 2003

"What a perfect break from Pittsburgh winter as well as our usually hectic pace. It was a rare opportunity to be together without interruptions and share the beauty of this magical place. Beauty beyond words, the colors, water, sand, sky, watching the Atlantic meet the Caribbean, the sunsets, the sunrises, the lizards, the shells, the flowers, the fish- all the best!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review