reviews for: listing #26837 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

Lovely Toucan Play 2
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $90 - $150 /nt
    $500 - $950 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 10, 2014

My son has asthma and the pollen in Atlanta has been brutal this spring. His spring break had been miserable up until the moment we decided to take a last minute "short" vacation to Gulf Shores. We needed to find a place fast and on/near the beach that would also allow us to bring our maltese. We found Toucan Play 2 and Eric was so quick to respond and he got us squared away immediately. We arrived in the late afternoon and had no trouble finding/accessing the house. This was my first trip bringing our maltese or staying in a place that accepted pets so needless to say I was a bit apprehensive. I must say how blown away I was with how clean the house was. We've stayed in many places in Gulf Shores - primarily The Beach Club - and the cleanliness of Toucan Play 2 was far superior - not kidding.

We had great weather and great views of the gulf and the bay. We will definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love this place and Location

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

I have stayed at both Toucan one and Two.. One is my favorite, but both have the same amenities, and are well maintained. My last visit was one, but it made me realize how perfect both units would be for a family reunion. It also has grills located below the unit in the parking deck, along with picnic table. the view from both sides of the unit are excellent. Even though Gulf Shores has plenty of Excellent restaurants, If you enjoy grilling out, and eating in. This is the place. Great for romantic getaway and sight seeing. Can't wait for my next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

toucan play 2

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

1--yes 2-it was nice,but needed some minor repairs 3-yes 4-there wasn't much to do in the area unless you drove aways and we were limited because we had a dog.for us,it just wasen't what we expected,but someone else might enjoy it.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation at its best!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Toucan Play 2! The house was perfectly located on Fort Morgan and we enjoyed peace and quiet. The beach was not busy and the views were fantastic! The owner responded quickly when we had an issue. We felt safe and at home here. We will definitely rent this house again when we return to Gulf Shores!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great vacation!

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

Great little vacation house! Was very clean and set up very nice. Had more amenities than advertised! Not set right on the beach but a short walk from it made for an amazing and relaxing vacation experience! Me my wife and siblings had a wonderful time, one of our best vacations yet! Don't be afraid to drive though, a small grocery store is close by but town and store are 20 minutes away. If you want seclusion and peace, this is the place for you though!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Toucan Play 2

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

I stayed in Toucan Play 2, and had an excellent time. I was able to take my pet which gave me constant companionship, and actually enjoy my Vacation. The Property is very well maintained, and the living quarters was astounding. There were a few added surprises, (towels folded like little puppy dog, wash clothes folded like seashells.) Renting and communication about renting was very well established, Had NO problems at all. I'll definetly be going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for those kind comments! We do strive to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as we can.I'm glad you were satisfied and enjoyed yourselves.
Regards, Eric & Linda

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Toucan Play 2

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

We had a great vacation! Weather could have been a little better, but there's nothing we could have done about that.

Toucan Play 2 worked out great for our family! The property was very clean and well-maintained and included everything the web-site said it did. There were 5 of us, and we had plenty of room. The area Toucan Play 2 is located in was pretty quiet, which was wonderful.

The pictures were slightly confusing regarding the bedrooms - the pictures almost made it seem like there were 3 bedrooms (because there is two shots of the one bedroom, but the comforter is different in each picture), but we were aware there was two.

The short walk to the beach was not a problem at all, and you can get on the beach right off the road next to the property. It was awesome!! You can see the Gulf of Mexico from the back porch, in between the houses that are right on the beach.

We spent a good amount of time at the beach. We also drove to Pensacola in the hopes of seeing the Blue Angels practice, but the weather was too bad for them to fly. We thoroughly enjoyed the Aviation Museum, so it was well worth the trip.

We visited and enjoyed Fort Morgan, which was right down the street.

A few of the places we went to for dinner include Lulu's, Bahama Bob's and Ribs and Reds right in Gulf Shores. We also went to Tacky Jack's 2, in Fort Morgan. We highly recommend all of the places! Lulu's was especially fun!

Eric was a pleasure to work with, and was always very responsive to my questions. He responded very quickly to all of my e-mails, which was great!

We would definitely go back again and stay at Toucan Play 2!! :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed yourselves in beautiful Gulf Shores and took advantage of all the area has to offer.Come back and see us again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

rental

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

The unit was ever thing the owners had on thier web sight and more. The unit was very clean and neat. There was plenty of pots pans dishes and other kitchen stuff.It was a very good location, quite and not far from the beach. We really enjoyed our stay.The owners were very good and understanding with any concerns we had .If we had a question they were right there with an answer.I had been going to gulf shores and staying there, But when I go back I will be staying out here. No hustle and bussel no big crowd to contend with like at gs.It was a very nice place I would recommend this place very highly to any one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Family Stay

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying here :) Kids loved it very much, they didn't want to leave. It's in a great location to what we like. Husband fished and loved that we could bring our boat to park as well. We will definately be back soon. The owners are very nice and wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Vacation 2012

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We were totally pleased with this location. Our family consisted of my husband and myself, our two daughters ages 20 and 17, and our dog. We were very pleased with this property. The layout was great, it was clean and well kept.
Eric and Linda were great to work with throughout the renting process and throughout our stay. We liked being away from the hustle and bustle of the main beach area.
We visited many attractions during our week long stay, Surfs UP dolphin cruise(only $10 per person), Mobile Delta Air-boat Express-alligator tour, USS Alabama, U.S Naval Aviation Museum in Pensacola, FL, and the beach of course. We ate at The Hangout, Lambert's and Tacky Jack's 2(this was a little pricey).
The beauty of this rental was we could cook and use the full kitchen, we grilled steak one night and had BLT's another. Burris Fruit Market is a must stop!! Great fruits and vegetables AND breads!!
Thanks Eric and Linda!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Memorial Weekend

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

This was our 4th stay at Toucan 2 and it was wonderful. We love the easy beach access and the family environment. The beach and water is always nice and the place has everything you need. We will be back again. We took a fishing trip out of Tacky Jacks 2 down the road very close. Caught some fish and made some memories.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Surf and sand in Alabama!

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

My wife and I had a great time on the beach, in the water, and in your very nice vacation home. Hope to come back soon! Thank you Eric and Linda!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome time

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We had an excellent stay. Place was very clean and well stocked with all the supplies we needed. Walking distance to the beach. Great location and quiet area for relaxing vacation. We shared a vacation with my husband's best friend and his wife. We had enough space that we were not crowded. The price was very reasonable.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good Views and Great Location

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

My wife and I had a great three weeks. Close to the beach and the duplex was
clean and well equipped. We had our small dog with us and there were a number
of other dogs that we regullarly encountered on the beach.

In february there wer not a lot of people on the beach and the weather was
a mix of cool sunny days and cloudy days but we were able to spend some time
walking on the beach all but two days. It is windy with a clear view of the gulf
out the back doors and the bay out the front.

Great stay would do it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: I'm glad you had a great time!
Look forward to have you stay with us again!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review