reviews for: listing #26840 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Condo rental

Penthouse Brisa Azul (Blue Breezes) steps to Mamitas Beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mamitas Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $285 - $475 /nt
    $1,795 - $3,995 /wk
    $2,800 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Couldn’t agree more with the reviewer below who “can’t imagine a better condo at a better location"

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Our family of four spent an amazing time at Playa Inn. The unit is beautiful, clean and comfortable and has magnificent views of the ocean – from three levels! It is located in a great part of Playa – the north side. The condo building is just off busy, restaurant-lined 5th Avenue and in the same block as a fun bar called PG’s that sometimes has live bands but we were never bothered by noise, probably because the unit faces the ocean and is just one block back from the beach. We have stayed in “downtown” Playa (south of 18th/Constituyentes) many times, but find this area (“Little Italy”) to be our favorite, especially for families.

The unit itself is tremendously spacious and comfortable and would accommodate more people than our small group quite comfortably. The upstairs bedroom was perfect for our teenage son and could have been shared with one or two more, as there is a futon in the room and an adjoining, spacious bathroom.

The quality of finish and furnishings is very high – the pictures, despite being lovely, do not fully convey the level of comfort of the unit. The bedrooms are comfortable and private. The bathrooms were clean and kept spotless by the regular maid service, and the kitchen is well stocked. A friendly delivery service brings 5 gallon jugs of water on a regular basis, for a very small fee. The washer and dryer are right in the unit; we normally hung our laundry out on the line on the terrace which was an additional convenience. The unit also has two folding beach chairs, so you have the option of paying for loungers at Mamitas Beach Club (right at the entrance to the beach) and having drinks and food brought out to you or grabbing a few (cheaper) cervezas at Oxxo (a block away, right on the way to the beach) and sitting for free. We did both and enjoyed each option.

Beyond the comfortable interior, the outdoor spaces are wonderful. We had imagined spending a lot of time on the top two (of three!) terraces, but found that we spent just as much time on the main level – having breakfast on the terrace, a game of cards, or just enjoying the view of the ocean. The courtyard pool was a wonderful oasis on hot afternoons. On a previous trip, in a different condo, we enjoyed a roof top pool and did not think we would spend much time in the pool here, but we spent nearly every afternoon floating, swimming, reading and lounging by the pool. It was beautifully maintained – always clean and welcoming.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Playa Inn, the Condo with the Mostest!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

This is the location my family wants to come to when we plan our family vacations! Our older children fly independently to Cancun International Airport then catch the PDC bus (ask airport officials, easy to find) and the condo is a short walk from the bus terminal. A passport, flipflops, bathing suit, t-shirt and shorts are all you need to put together an unforgettable and relaxing vacation experience! Once you arrive at Playa Inn everything comes together so beautifully. Condo is equipped with everything. The property owner (my friend) is an experienced traveller and landlord. You need to check this out!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding condo for a family vacation or three couples

Review submitted: February 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

This condo was so spacious for our family of 6. There was plenty of space for the two families and myself. I loved the natural ocean breezes with ocean views on every level. The third, rooftop balcony with oceanview was amazing! The amount of exterior living space of the three balconies gave us so much room. The location was perfect. The beach was a few minute walk along with shops and restaurants. Everything was convenient. You could get frozen yogurt, coffee, sandwiches, pizza, beer all within a block walk. The beach was by far the best beach we saw in Playa. Great for swimming, no rocks, which is a problem at a number of beaches in Playa. All in all I can't image better condo at a better location. This was my second time staying here and I will be back next year and stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Penthouse Condo Near Everything

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Beautiful condo 2 minutes from Mamitas Beach, which we felt was the nicest beach in Playa. We had nice views of the beach without the noise of the beachfront clubs. It was also very convenient to the restaurants & shopping of 5th Ave.Top floor penthouse unit has 2 bdrms w. 2 full baths on main level with nice porch; Another bdrm,full bath, & open patio on 2nd level; Also rooftop patio @ 3rd level.
Nicely decorated & very clean & well maintained. It's certainly large enough for a much larger group than our family.
We would highly recommend this condo!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spacious penthouse fully equipped & great location

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

We just made our reservations for Brisa Azul and will be returning to PDC for one week in April 2010! This will be our forth visit to PDC and the third stay at this wonderful penthouse condo. I have a secret to share with gals whose husbands have a hard time finding time for vacation...bring them to Playa Del Carmen! It did the trick for me! This condo has all the amenities to bring ease and comfort to your vacation. Not only is Brisa Azul beautifully decorated and architecturally stunning, it is spacious, clean and new, and filled with comfortable furniture. There are plenty of clean towels and bed linens. It's got a great modern kitchen, three really nice tile and granite bathrooms and three good size bedrooms with really comfy beds. We love hanging our on the terraces when we're there. Brisa Azul has three spacious terraces which offer privacy and amazing views of the Caribbean. The roof top terrace is fun for coffee and sunrises and sunsets and cocktails! Because it is conveniently located it is very easy to walk from one end of town to the other. Fifth Ave. is just one block north and the beach is one block south. Everything is flip-flop casual. It is possible to shop on Fifth Ave. for your groceries but it'll be more expensive and limited. We grocery shop at Mega which is a short walk and where locals shop for their families. Shopping there is a cultural experience and the store has it's own tortilla machine where you can watch fresh tortillas being made! And, make sure to put aside a couple of extra dollars ($2 including tip) and hire a cab so lugging your bags home is easy. If you don't feel like cooking try La Frigata (next block north) for fish tacos (three tacos and two beers $7) and La Capri Choza on Fifth Ave. is my favorite for dinner. If you want to visit Cozumel the docks for the ferry is a short walk. There are wonderful reefs for snorkeling in PDC, our favorite is Coco Beach (up near 40th.) Bring your gear, the condo has a diving flag for your use. Look for travel guides on 5th to take you to your adventures. This is a gated facility with a security guard and maintenance worker. It has conveniently been outfitted with a combination lock box for the keys so there is none of the frantic last minute search for the keys! Everything is there...you'll love it...we do!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a home away from home

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

In short, Brisa Azul rocked my world. The attention to detail in creating a comfortable environment made my stay in Playa Del Carmen all the better.

I look forward to staying there again soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing spacious Penthouse in primo location

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

We recently spent 11 days at Brisa Azul penthouse in January 2010. There were 8 of us (including 2 couples) and the spacious layout of the apartment - 3 bedrooms / 3 bathrooms (!) made for an overwhelming pleasant experience and even afforded privacy for the couples. Everybody was on different holiday schedules but their combination key & lock system made it super easy for everyone to come and go without having to worry about extra keys or being locked out. The proximity to the Kool beach club and 5th avenue shopping/restaurant row was key and for a long stay the washer & dryer unit came in very handy.

There are 3 different outdoor patios: perfect for meals outdoors, hammocking, sunning and sunset cocktails overlooking the ocean. The kitchen was well appointed and with a few trips to the nearby Mega supermarket we were well stocked for the stay and able to cook a lot of meals (breakfast, lunch & dinner) and have snacks available to us.

The owner, management company and Playa concierge services were a pleasure to deal with and whenever we needed anything (more potable H2O, extra towels) they were very responsive. All in all a great place to stay and we would readily go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice place, bad ending

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: February 24, 2009

The condo was super. The location perfect. However, $50 was retained from our deposit for a cell phone charger that supposedly went missing.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Yes, it was the first time I kept money from a deposit. I am sure they will find the charger sometime among the mass of electronics they brought with them.
Kate

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Maximizing enjoyment at Playa del Carmen

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

At the epicenter of Playa del Carmen, this spacious condo at Playa Inn is the perfect vacation spot. There is something for everyone: whether it is going to explore Mayan ruins, or investigating the reef via scuba diving and snorkeling or reading a good book on the beach there is a variety of activities. One of the best attributes is that it is only steps away from Mamitas beach!
The condo is immaculate, and comfortably fits a large family or several couples. The hammocks on the terraces and the view from the top deck are like something out of a movie. It is easy to spend well over a week here. In fact, it is hard to even think about going home. I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I would love to come back to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

My best vacation ever!

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 4, 2008

I spent 4 weeks here in this fabulous condo, and have nothing but great things to say about it. The view from the rooftop was incredible; the sunsets were breathtaking. The pool, always clean and a great size, was a welcome variety to the beach. Speaking of the beach, it is an easy 2 minute walk to Mamitas, a very happening place! Not only is it close to the beach, it is right in the center of activity on Avenida Qunita, with every kind of restaurant and shop. I ate somewhere different every day. There was never a lack of things to do. Within the condo, there is more than enough space to be either indoors our outdoors, with a nice ocean breeze on the 3 terraces. It is big enough for privacy, even if 3 couples are here. I highly recommend this condo to anyone looking for the full Playa del Carmen experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review